Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guilty gym bunnies

• 01-01-2010 2:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Is there anything worse than what I call the new guilty gym bunnies? You know the ones, they join in January as part of their new years resolutions and get in the way for about 6 weeks the disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Bugnug wrote: »
    Is there anything worse than what I call the new guilty gym bunnies? You know the ones, they join in January as part of their new years resolutions and get in the way for about 6 weeks the disappear.

yeah, we all know the ones, pain in the t**s but in fairness a lot of people who start off in gyms as part of new yr resolutions DO keep it up, for life so everybody deserves the benefit of the doubt, its great to see people breaking a sweat rather than sitting on their butts :D IMO its slighly arrogant not to give the january gym bunnies a fair shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

These people help to keep your subscription to the gym cheaper in exchange for a crazy busy gym in January. Don't you feel it's a fair trade off?

They're entitled to spend their money how they wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

This is a misnomer, "bunnies" in this context has connotations of nice fit ladies in lycra.... but this thread has nothing to do with them..... i demand a title change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

corkcomp wrote: »
    yeah, we all know the ones, pain in the t**s but in fairness a lot of people who start off in gyms as part of new yr resolutions DO keep it up, for life so everybody deserves the benefit of the doubt, its great to see people breaking a sweat rather than sitting on their butts :D IMO its slighly arrogant not to give the january gym bunnies a fair shot

Yes I agree and I think we have a serious problem with overweight unhealthy people in this country. All I am saying is that certain types of people and they know who they are get a rush to the head in the new year because they have gone overboard at xmas. They join the gym, get in the way and leave after 2 months. Why not start of with walking and see how it goes, its one of the best forms of exercise and its free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Yes I agree and I think we have a serious problem with overweight unhealthy people in this country. All I am saying is that certain types of people and they know who they are get a rush to the head in the new year because they have gone overboard at xmas. They join the gym, get in the way and leave after 2 months. Why not start of with walking and see how it goes, its one of the best forms of exercise and its free.

That is arrogant! What are you like the invisible man in the gym? :p

dolliemix wrote: »
    That is arrogant! What are you like the invisible man in the gym? :p

Whats arrogant? Explain.

Are you one of these people I am talking about? Do you use a gym?

Saying that people who pay the same amount of money as you do for a service are getting in your way. How exactly do they get your way. How come you're more important than them.

Yes I do use a gym. Thats why I'm posting on the fitness thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

Saying that people who pay the same amount of money as you do for a service are getting in your way. How exactly do they get your way. How come you're more important than them.

All bunnies are equal but some are more equal than others :)

enry wrote: »

lol

They get in the way by cloging up the gym for 2 months and then disappearing. I have no problem queing for machines and with everyone paying their way. I am simply asking people to give it some serious consideration as I use my gym at least 4 times a week, I have a family to get home to and I want to get in and out as fast as I can. What part of this is so complicated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

They get in the way by cloging up the gym for 2 months and then disappearing. I have no problem queing for machines and with everyone paying their way. I am simply asking people to give it some serious consideration as I use my gym at least 4 times a week, I have a family to get home to and I want to get in and out as fast as I can. What part of this is so complicated?

It's not complicated at all, but you're coming across as having a bit of an attitude tbh. As has very correctly been pointed out it's the January influx that helps keep membership down so we should thank them, not give out about them :)

Not complicated at all! It just doesn't reflect very well imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

Seeing as everyone has to start off somewhere it doesn't really bother me.At times it can be fustrating but recalling what I was like when I started helps me get over it.It's nice to see some new face in the gym too.

g'em wrote: »
    It's not complicated at all, but you're coming across as having a bit of an attitude tbh. As has very correctly been pointed out it's the January influx that helps keep membership down so we should thank them, not give out about them :)

what she said! it does come across badly, like so what if you are in a rush to get home, you are no more important than the average bunny who has paid her (edit / his) membership! i never mind q'ing for anything as long as people arent faffing about on machines ..

g'em wrote: »

Thats not true, my mebership costs the same all year round.

yes, but if there were less members in your gym your annual membership would be higher, unless the gym is going to make less profit, and this doesnt happen! we might all love to have the full run of gym with only a few other people in it but its not possible in the real world :D

what she said! it does come across badly, like so what if you are in a rush to get home, you are no more important than the average bunny who has paid her (edit / his) membership! i never mind q'ing for anything as long as people arent faffing about on machines ..

You people obviously dont get what I am saying. Again I repeat, please take time to consider long term gym members when you decide to join the gym for 2 months. Consider waling for a while and if it works out great then join the gym if you want.

No, i think you'll find that it is you sir missing the point!!

i think "us people" understand alright but maybe just dont agree? Remember you are posting in a board frequented by long term gym goers .. i still dont understand what your problem is if people want to pull out after two months? that two months is extra revenue for your gym, which will mean better facilities and cheaper membership. also, we get to see more bunnies in January which helps the post xmas blues, maybe some not so nice bunnies, but there is a downside to everything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

Seriously? No. Of all the things I'm likely to consider when deciding whether to join a gym or not, inconvenience to existing members is very unlikely to cross my mind. The gym does NOT revolove around you. I say well done to anyone joining a gym... maybe they only last 2 months, thats better than not trying at all.

Tipsygypsy wrote: »
    Seriously? No. Of all the things I'm likely to consider when deciding whether to join a gym or not, inconvenience to existing members is very unlikely to cross my mind. The gym does NOT revolove around you. I say well done to anyone joining a gym... maybe they only last 2 months, thats better than not trying at all.

I have quite cleary said all along fair play to people for giving a shot. Again, give it some serious consideration, try starting of with walking and see how it goes. If I joined a new gym as I have done on a number of ocassions I have always been aware of the fact that there may be long standing members there. Its called manners.

:confused: Who is being unmannerly by joining a gym in January and trying it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

you need to get the [EMAIL="f@ck"]f@ck[/EMAIL] over yourself pal.

if you dont want to see a crowded gym in January and February, buy your own home gym.

The thing about it is that no one here has agreed with you thus far, and you're refusing to acknowlege that you are well off the mark with your initial statement.

Yes, there will be more people in the gym for the first 8 weeks, and yes, there will be a natural drop off after that. you already know that.

Build a bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Mahahaha you are smrt.

you need to get the [EMAIL="f@ck"]f@ck[/EMAIL] over yourself pal.

if you dont want to see a crowded gym in January and February, buy your own home gym.

The thing about it is that no one here has agreed with you thus far, and you're refusing to acknowlege that you are well off the mark with your initial statement.

Yes, there will be more people in the gym for the first 8 weeks, and yes, there will be a natural drop off after that. you already know that.

Build a bridge

exactly..

in my gym everybody is treated as an equal, just becase ive been a member for 3 or 4 years doesnt mean i would look for respect / manners from a newbie ... everybody was a newbie at some point, even you Bugnug, unless you were born in your gym :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Yapamillias

Nobody DECIDES to just go for 2 months, they embark on a lifestyle change with the same goals as youself but without the coping skills to maintain it. You pay membership, they pay membership...please take time to consider the short term NEW gym members when you go back to the gym at January.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Sooo... the OP's complaining about people who join a gym and leave after 2 months. Would he prefer if every person who joined in january went consistently all year round?

Hanley wrote: »
    Sooo... the OP's complaining about people who join a gym and leave after 2 months. Would he prefer if every person who joined in january went consistently all year round?

thats what i was thinking, if somebody has a problem with their gym being "clogged" up surely 2 months of hardship is better than 12 :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

New people joining who don't have any 'manners'.... are ya kiddin me pal?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

January/February are always the busy months in gym im glad that im off for whole January so can go to gym during day when its some bit easy to do what you want without having to wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

Personally don't see it as that much of a big deal unless some of the newbies are blatantly obnoxious or rude which is just as likely to be found with veteran weightlifters and such. Especially cos newbies probably won't spend so long on each machine/bench whatever before calling it a day and being tired out.

Only bad part is I want to go down and get some pointers from a trainer about my form on compund lifts, they'll probably all be busy doing up starter routines and assessments or whatever. Ah well :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

enry wrote: »

Four plates good, two plates bad.

DamienH wrote: »
    Four plates good, two plates bad.

I was trying to think of something to fit it into but my auld brain is a bit slow today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

Just leave them alone ffs, it is arrogance saying they get in the way IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Massive Muscles

As was said before these people should be applauded for subsidising our fees. How many members could a gym sign up if they went all year, 4 times a week? Probably about 10% of what the sign up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

It is attitude like that which puts people off joining gyms!

I live in a one-bed flat so I don't have space to store large objects such as a bike, cross trainer or medicine ball, nor I don't want to walk the streets on my own in winter. Walking around the neighbourhood soon gets very boring.
    I'd much rather do a varied cardio workout in a gym.

Fair enough if they're being gobsh1tes in the gym, then of course they can feck off, but if they've paid their fees, then they have as much right to be there as you, whether you like it or not.

It is attitude like that which puts people off joining gyms!

I live in a one-bed flat so I don't have space to store large objects such as a bike, cross trainer or medicine ball, nor I don't want to walk the streets on my own in winter. Walking around the neighbourhood soon gets very boring.
    I'd much rather do a varied cardio workout in a gym.

Fair enough if they're being gobsh1tes in the gym, then of course they can feck off, but if they've paid their fees, then they have as much right to be there as you, whether you like it or not.

my advice to anybody reading this who is thinking of joining a gym, go right ahead, dont be put off the folks who say newbies get in the way, most of us dont give a f**k :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

my advice to anybody reading this who is thinking of joining a gym, go right ahead, dont be put off the folks who say newbies get in the way, most of us dont give a f**k :D

exactly! I couldn't give a toss either. I don't talk to anyone when I work out, I'm just there to do my thing and go home.
    When the newbs are on the treadmill, I will try another machine like the stepper, or something a bit more advanced. It is a good time as any to try something different.

I'm more annoyed about the fact that I can't get to the gym today in this weather, than about some newbie who can't input their data on the cross trainer. There are enough machines to go around in my gym, so it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

If I joined a new gym as I have done on a number of ocassions I have always been aware of the fact that there may be long standing members there. Its called manners.
    Im going to join a gym again in a week because i can afford to again, do i have your permission to join in january? or should i wait until march? dont want to be rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

I'm going to have to call bs on that.

Only 9% of people continue to use the gym after the initial 3 month period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

As was said before these people should be applauded for subsidising our fees. How many members could a gym sign up if they went all year, 4 times a week? Probably about 10% of what the sign up now.

You have no idea how correct you are.

T-Square wrote: »

can you provide some sort of link? thats TOTAL bollix! in my gym there is a slight decline after first few months but no way 91% drop out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

T-Square wrote: »

hard to believe that figure,the gyms would be empty. id say its more over 50% from what ive seen in my local gym/gyms ive used previously.

anplaya wrote: »
    hard to believe that figure,the gyms would be empty. id say its more over 50% from what ive seen in my local gym/gyms ive used previously.

47% of statistics are made up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

90% percent of the time, they work all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

47% of statistics are made up..

66% of people disagree with this

modmuffin wrote: »
    66% of people disagree with this

my head hurts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

my head hurts

Thats a symptom of January Gym Stress.
    S'like road rage but with Treadmills.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

d'Oracle wrote: »
    90% percent of the time, they work all the time.

60% of the time it works every time, no?

And I've said it before and I'll say it again... I don't like statistics or averages. The average person has one ball and one tit. Go find me one of them.

Hanley wrote: »
    60% of the time it works every time, no?

And I've said it before and I'll say it again... I don't like statistics or averages. The average person has one ball and one tit. Go find me one of them.

It's feasible but it would be awfully distasteful of me to explain it!!!