Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brian Lenihan - pancreatic cancer - READ WARNING IN POST No. 150

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭gipo2

I hope he is still around in a few months when HE brings the country out of recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Not my cup of tea due to the budgets he has implemented but i would like to wish him a full and speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭freewheeler

y'know i wouldn't wish cancer on any decent human being but you should all remember that at least Lenihan can rely on getting the best of treatment thats available out there which is more than most working class people can...and also it should be remembered that it was his government which has denied young girls in this country the cervical vaccine which could possibly prevent many of them from getting this awful disease..makes you think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭HQvhs

40% of the country has private health insurance, Brian Lenihan is one of them. The prognosis for pacreatic cancer is not good anyway, and the Cervical cancer vaccine and pacreatic cancer are entirely unrelated. Anyway, it's too soon for all this. I wish Brian Lenihan a speedy and full recovery, no one deserves this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭hick

y'know i wouldn't wish cancer on any decent human being but you should all remember that at least Lenihan can rely on getting the best of treatment thats available out there which is more than most working class people can...and also it should be remembered that it was his government which has denied young girls in this country the cervical vaccine which could possibly prevent many of them from getting this awful disease..makes you think...

Just because you get the best treatment it doesn't mean anything
    your implication is disgusting and I hope you or god forbid worse anyone you know ever goes through cancer, as if you did you couldn't say that and if you do...well that makes me think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Dude, for emergency care it doesn't matter if you're public or private in this country. If you and I drop from a heart attack we'll get seen by the same doctors and in the same order regardless of which of us has private care and which has public.

On the cervical cancer vaccine, it's not even been shown to provide long term protection, it only works against a subset of strains that cause cervical cancer not all of them so if women who get it don't bother to get smear tests due to the vaccine it potentially could cost lives!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Shame on TV3 for their actions today - everyone should have the right to privacy in a matter that is of such a personal nature.

I believe Brian Lenihan is a good, decent man and I wish him all the best.

Absurdum wrote: »
    Shame on TV3 for their actions today - everyone should have the right to privacy in a matter that is of such a personal nature.

Yeah, RTE had it that Joan Burton had attacked TV3 over their breaking of this story saying that it was no one's business but the families which is something I'd definitely sympathise with. The last thing they need over Christmas is media bothering them over whether the diagnosis reported is correct or not.

Absurdum wrote: »

rte handled it with some dignity, as the national broadcaster they had to report on it as the other smaller stations had, but they did it as compassionately as they could and all the time referring to Brian and his family. I watched the TV3 report on their website, they are a shower of disgraceful, tabloid, bottom feeding ingrates, who appeal to the lowest common denominator.
    I can only say regardless of what the actual situation is and of any political point scoring, all the best Brian to you and your family.

Hick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 MyNebulosity

here like eveyone stop with the mean comments, i was talking to a particular member of their family and i was on the phone to that member of the family and she was perfectly fine, wansnt panicking at all. I just got another phone call because she was after reading all these forums and stuff about people saying bad stuff about him. Please just have some repect for the family. If some member of your family had a cancer and it was put on the news and over hyped and like excatly the same thing happend i'm sure you'd hate it. I think it's really unfair on their family and it's causing so much more strain on top of what they have already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭rodberg007

RTE covered it in the Nine O'Clock News at 9.40

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1226/lenihanb_av.html?2674348,null,230

rodberg007 wrote: »
    RTE covered and confirmed it in the Nine O'Clock News at 9.40

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1226/lenihanb_av.html?2674348,null,230

RTE just confirmed that there was reports by TV3 that he had cancer really. David Davenpower just said that he was ill and they were awaiting further tests, no actual confirmation of cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 conall100

Good enough for the government.

What is wrong with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

the best treatement didn't work for Swazye and it's unlikely to work For Lenihan given the aggresive nature of the cancer he has. that said i hope he defies the stats. he did what he had to do for the greater good. if he had not done so then the dole queues would be even longer by this time next year and the international investors would have turned their back on us and we'd all be saying hello to the imf, then people would begin to realise what BL did was measured compared to what they( the imf) would have done to the public service. i genuniely believe he is a fundamentally decent man( i thought this before he was ill) and given the state of the country he was highly stressed and now he is paying the ultimate price for it. i believe his finest hour was when he broke with ff culture and stood up to the unions.

finally i hope the fecker who broke this to tv3 is proud tonight.

conall100 wrote: »
    What is wrong with you?

a blatant moron, he has been banned for obvious incitement already
    if only you could arrange a public mockery it would be much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭redmenace1

hope Leno makes a full & speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Could the job have 'helped' bring this on?

I'd say he has been under killer pressure for the past 18 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

horibble news , hes the only member of goverment i truly respect and like , he has been brave , strong and independant in his role in finance and been that rare thing in irish politics , willing to be unpopular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

For a man that told Cowen and the Unions to fcuk off with their 10 days unpaid leave he proved he had the minerals.

i hope he recovers soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Tonight I've read on boards
    30% chance of surviving past 3 years after diagnosis and 5% of surviving past five years after diagnosis for cancer of the pancreas.
    I've never knew this before tonight :(

Terrible news for the family. No matter what you think of the man's policies, he was brave, independent and took unpopular decisions when it was easier to do nothing and cave to every lobby group.
    I'd even say the most courageous member of the cabinet and no matter who you voted for, it's the cabinet who are going to lead this country. I want courageous leaders and not leaders who appease everyone (like a certain former Taoiseach).
    Minister Lenihan had a job and did it to best of his ability, can't ask for more than that from a public servant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

<snip>

And how would you know?

because i'm his daughters best friend.

edit*: i just realised, alot of you arent going to believe me but i'll gladly prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Sorry, this subject has brought a load of tossers and I was sceptical.

If this is the case, let the family know that everyone in the country wants him to recover, nevermind of your political views or whatever, he seems like a decent man :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

edit*: i just realised, alot of you arent going to believe me but i'll gladly prove it.

Be careful here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

a best friend would not post such private and sensitive information on the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm not doubting you.
    But since you're a family friend I'd advise you not to post such information here.

Just be careful, that's all
    And realy, you're not much of a friend in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Good enough for the government.

SHAME ON YOU!!!!:mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If you want to get at the truth about this kind of thing then p.ie (for all its faults) is a good place to check as a rule, except no one has confirmed it there either.

Johnny Giles, you really are a very low person.

mikemac wrote: »
    I'm not doubting you.
    But since you're a family friend I'd advise you not to post such information here.

Just be careful, that's all
    And realy, you're not much of a friend in my opinion!

yeah i know, i just realised what i did and i'm sorry for it. i'm just really angry and the people for upseting my friend. I can't see her this upset and it hurts me too. I think i'm an amazing friend apart from the thing i shoulnt be saying. I only said it because i was being provocked.