Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK Christmas #1 Leaked Online! RATM WIN!! RAGE WIN!!!

• 20-12-2009 3:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭

For anyone interested:

#1 RATM - 500k approx.
    #2 Joe - 450k approx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

O RLY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

TechnoPool wrote: »
    O RLY!

Ya rly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Deputy Stagg, I won't do what you tell me to.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

pics link or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Source ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I know its tight.
    Cowell has dumped the price of the crap joe song (to crap all) in order to try and sell the rubbish and get the No1 spot.
    See: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1237259/Pressure-gets-X-Factor-winner-Joe-McElderry-race-Christmas-No-1-slashes-single-price-just-29p.html

So much for Simon not caring about the top spot! :rolleyes:

Well I'm delighted toi see that the RATM song profits are ALL going to charity - unlike the other Simon Cowell rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Biggins wrote: »
    Well I'm delighted toi see that the RATM song profits are ALL going to charity - unlike the other Simon Cowell rubbish.

Your signature is by far the most irritating one I've seen here in a long time, choose different colours for everyone s sense's sake.

Also yay RATM! Fingers crossed they do a tour after this as that would be awesome! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

joe is a charity, he won't be able sing for shit once his balls drop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Why didn't Simon just download it thousands of times himself if he really wanted Joe to be number one.

It'd be a drop in the ocean to him.

Actually only 1/8th of the profits are.

i took a leak on a line once...was pissin against the wind so it didn't work out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Why didn't Simon just download it thousands of times himself if he really wanted Joe to be number one.

Cause multiple downloads won't be counted.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

X-Factor is one of the worst aspects of modern society. I can't stand how much attention it's been getting. All this stuff with RATM is just giving Cowell and his cronies more free piblicity by proxy. The whole system is sick.

mink_man wrote: »
    i took a leak on a line once...was pissin against the wind so it didn't work out...

Um.. haha?

DKZ wrote: »
    Actually only 1/8th of the profits are.

Really? :confused:
    He (the group's guitarist Tom Morello) added that the band would be donating the unexpected royalties to the homeless charity Shelter.

So far they have raised 60,000 in England alone for the charity.

2e3vnu9.jpg

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Multiple Downloads are not allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

Didn't someone say sony MG profit either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

even with RATM being No1, simon still earns royalities from it, one plus from this though is that hopefully x factor has reached its peak and hopefully music, for the sake of music will return

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

X-Factor is one of the worst aspects of modern society. I can't stand how much attention it's been getting. All this stuff with RATM is just giving Cowell and his cronies more free piblicity by proxy. The whole system is sick.

Try being in my office, all the idiots constantly going on about it. Some fat pig of a girl kept going on about how ugly some of the contestants were. The ironing:rolleyes:

I expect Simon will urge an investigation to be launched. Some chart rules have been broken by this campaign.

[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

link? evidence?? The Uk chart show is on BBc radio 1 now.. doesnt finish til 7..

I expect Simon will urge an investigation to be launched. Some chart rules have been broken by this campaign.

How? :confused:
    Its no more different than some of the ways he and others use across the net to sell their more tasteless inflated rubbish!

link? evidence?? The Uk chart show is on BBc radio 1 now.. doesnt finish til 7..

I know, but it usually gets leaked a few hours before. I posted the link on the previous page. :)

How? :confused:
    Its no more different than some of the ways he and others use across the nest to sell their more tasteless inflated rubbish!

The facebook group told members how to download free copies that would count towards the chart.

You could be right but I didn't see that.
    Bedsides I'm sure the likes of Amazon has in place the software guards to stop this possible hack/stealing(?) con.
    I sure that there is out there some system that only allows paid for songs to be accounted for in the purchased based charts.

At the end of the day, whats Simon gong to do? Demand all the charity money donated from the RATM single be repaid back to him?
    It would be the ultimate PR disaster for him. He won't go down this road in a month of Sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You could be right but I didn't see that.
    Bedsides I'm sure the likes of Amazon has in place the software guards to stop this possible hack/stealing(?) con.

I think you could sign up for a Nokia player for your PC and get free credit to download a song,people then used this for the RATM song.It counted towards the chart apparently.

I apologise if this leak turns out to be false btw, but they rarely are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

http://www.music.co.uk/music-news/call-ratm-christmas-number-1.html

This is great, my faith in humanity has been restored a little :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

HMV really pushing for Joe in town today.There was loads of his cds up by the counters and lots of people buying them on Impulse.
    Really hope RATM do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ha. Maybe in 10 years time you'll be shopping in Dunnes in mid December and you'll hear Killing in the Name in between Jingle Bells and Santa Claus is coming to town. That'd be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

do sales count after 4pm considering the chart has started?

irish-stew wrote: »
    do sales count after 4pm considering the chart has started?

Nope, stopped counting last night. Rage have won and that won't change.

So far they have raised 60,000 in England alone for the charity.

2e3vnu9.jpg

The UK you mean. Tom Morello made the same mistake :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Multiple Downloads are not allowed.

Store purchases are different though - didn't Jimmy Eat World go out and buy a few hundred thousand copies of their own CD's so they'd get placed high in the charts, and the avalanche of sales from there secured their popularity (and bank accounts) in the states?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Who buys singles?

laugh wrote: »
    Who buys singles?

A single song download from iTunes is pretty cheap.

The UK you mean. Tom Morello made the same mistake :o

LOL Its all the same to me (wrongly).
    Another big lump of soil above water. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

A single song download from iTunes is pretty cheap.

Ah yea I was thinking €4 or whatever for a single in the shops, my mistake.

http://www.gigwise.com/news/53956/ - "I wouldn't buy it. It's a nought out of ten from me. Simon Cowell wouldn't like it.They wouldn't get through to boot camp on The X Factor - they're just shouting."

LOL, theres an idea. Put RATM through X factor next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    http://www.gigwise.com/news/53956/ - "I wouldn't buy it. It's a nought out of ten from me. Simon Cowell wouldn't like it.They wouldn't get through to boot camp on The X Factor - they're just shouting."

As if you couldn't hate the prick anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

jaysus he's an awful eejit altogether..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭alexcorb1991

http://www.gigwise.com/news/53956/ - "Can you imagine the grandmas hearing this over Christmas lunch?

Now theres an image!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Dunno who this joe guy is, bt he is a bit special. 'simon cowel wouldn't like it' ahahaha

He doesn't even realise the song is almost as old as he is. He actually thinks Rage Against The Machine released a brand new song to try to stop the X-Factor winner from getting the Christmas #1

Seriously deluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Dunno who this joe guy is, bt he is a bit special. 'simon cowel wouldn't like it' ahahaha

Who are these inconsiderate folk buying music that they like. Don't they ask themselves before every purchase "What would Simon Cowell do?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Rage Against the Machine 502,672
    Joe McEldry 450,838

not confirmed though

At the moment they are counting them down

18. The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl - Fairytale of New York.
    17. Cheryl Cole sone, the name of which escapes me.