Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it with managers?Have you ever had a boss that was an absolute numpty?

• 10-12-2009 9:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else's managers ask them to do a task with a brief explanation of what they would like you to do?

You do said task.

They then proceed to p!ss all over you work saying thats not what they asked for and why didnt you do it such and such a way.

I often wonder "why the fcuk didnt you just do it yourself you bint!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

sorrywhat wrote: »
    Does anyone else's managers ask them to do a task with a brief explanation of what they would like you to do?

You do said task.

They then proceed to p!ss all over you work saying thats not what they asked for and why didnt you do it such and such a way.

you have a job. woop de doo :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

It's called the Peter Principle.

"In a Hierarchy Every Employee Tends to Rise to His Level of Incompetence."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

vinylmesh wrote: »

Bad as things are - most people still actually do mate. Recessions don't make ****ty work situations evaporate nor remove our right to discuss them.

I worked in a place before where nothing I ever did was right. After 7 months of this crap I was gone. Should have realised after 2 weeks that I did not belong. Guys were amateurs and were constantly stressed. One foreign boss kept second guessing my English - suggesting things like the practice of storing files should be referred to as 'filling'! My request to be provided with formal training received a response along the lines of 'the train is moving - you have got to be on the train.' I laugh about it now of course.

topper75 wrote: »
    Bad as things are - most people still actually do mate. Recessions don't make ****ty work situations evaporate nor remove our right to discuss them.

+1 & QFT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

You do said task.

Why didn't you ask for more details about the task requested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Met a couple of right planks in my time alright.

I used to work for a large chain of supermarkets, at the meats section. On my way out the door I was called back by one of the newer managers, one of these lads with delusions of their own self-importance. And told that the chicken fillets weren't straight enough.

In fairness that's like calling back the fruit & veg lad and telling him he can't go home because the bananas aren't bent enough.

So I came in the next day with a tri-square in one hand and my notice in the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I feel sorry for you OP. Best thing for that is to ask your manager to email you exacting details of what they want, to cover your own arse and to make sure there are no crossed lines.

I worked with a client like that before and they ALWAYS changed spec, in the end I made sure that the only communication we had was via email and it worked out a treat. If they said that it wasn't what they wanted I'd forward on their email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I still just can't fathom the audacity of the OP shaking his big job in our faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I still just can't fathom the audacity of the OP shaking his big job in our faces.

Im a her.

Ya see, you can go back as many times as you like with this one and say this is definitly what you want but the end result the manager always seems to want to put their own mark on it. Which why I wonder why ask me to do your work in the first place!

I wonder how I can make their day miserable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

They then proceed to p!ss all over you

Let me guess, Ryanair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

You do said task.

Steven Gerrard, is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

TheZohan wrote: »
    I feel sorry for you OP. Best thing for that is to ask your manager to email you exacting details of what they want, to cover your own arse and to make sure there are no crossed lines.

I worked with a client like that before and they ALWAYS changed spec, in the end I made sure that the only communication we had was via email and it worked out a treat. If they said that it wasn't what they wanted I'd forward on their email.

Emails? Specs?

I thought you were the NYC naked singing cowboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

My manager get me to do all the work. When I do a great job she takes all the credit and in the rare instances where I do something wrong she gets me to take the credit. What a woman...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You do said task.

Happens all the time, often because they get different orders while you're working on the task. Then they forget to tell you and so your job is wasted.

Bad requirements process = bad result.

cosmic wrote: »
    My manager get me to do all the work. When I do a great job she takes all the credit and in the rare instances where I do something wrong she gets me to take the credit. What a woman...!

Are you sitting beside me?? This sounds a lot like my manager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Nearly everyone thinks they are better at the job than their boss. Just remember, it's their ass if something isn't done right and the shit'll roll downwards from there.

OP, why didn't you just ask for clarification? To me, that'd make you a better employee.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Doodee wrote: »
    Why didn't you ask for more details about the task requested?
    +1. I dont see why you couldnt ask for clarification if you didnt get what she was asking you to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Well when you have said job 'completed' send it back asking if there are any amendments required. When the amendments (if any) have been made, ask HIM/HER to sign it off.

Its on their head then :)

Worse than that though (and what I frequently encounter) is my boss taking credit for the really GOOD work I do.

That pisses me off far more than someone moaning about a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

TheZohan wrote: »

ye,do it like this man said :D

the best thing to protect yourself is that you make sure no one cross any lines of others - make evidence.you just pretend the innocent look of 'i just follow every word you said,my dear manager' and show him what he wanted/said,and then wait for his red face:P obviously you will need to ask every details beforehand,EVERY details!!

reminded me of some as*hole in working place try to bully me newbie and get owned in the end:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

vinylmesh wrote: »

its not often i get to say this but FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Are you sitting beside me?? This sounds a lot like my manager!

Nope I'm sitting alone in my office :( I should really be working now...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Kiera wrote: »
    +1. I dont see why you couldnt ask for clarification if you didnt get what she was asking you to do?

You obviously haven't worked under some proper ****ing eejits so.

I can think of 3 managers from past jobs where they would detail a job to do, and tell someone to do it. Clear cut, and straightforward instructions to any human being. Of course, the managers moronic mind would describe one thing, while they mean another.

The result? The job was done incorrectly according to what the manager wants done. Who did the job? The pleb. Certaintly not the managers fault...!!

sunnyjim wrote: »
    You obviously haven't worked under some proper ****ing eejits so.

I can think of 3 managers from past jobs where they would detail a job to do, and tell someone to do it. Clear cut, and straightforward instructions to any human being. Of course, the managers moronic mind would describe one thing, while they mean another.

The result? The job was done incorrectly according to what the manager wants done. Who did the job? The pleb. Certaintly not the managers fault...!!

Oh I have believe me and have learned to ask for more clarification due to this.

Think about it, your boss will think more of you if you ask questions and do the job right. Instead of saying nothing and messing it up.

See thing is I do always ask for clarification and I go through what she wants. Ill send the task to her and ask her to view it but there is never a time she come back and says thats grand. Its always "Thanks but can you add in here...etc etc".

I think she just likes to have her mark on everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Oh I have believe me and have learned to ask for more clarification due to this.

Think about it, your boss will think more of you if you ask questions and do the job right. Instead of saying nothing and messing it up.

Exactly. Anytime I encounter new staff, they always try to quietly ask me how to do something, and you can sense the almost 'embarrassment' from them for asking.

What I always tell them is, better to ask and do it right, than do it wrong and have to do it again. You'll learn in the process.

See thing is I do always ask for clarification and I go through what she wants. Ill send the task to her and ask her to view it but there is never a time she come back and says thats grand. Its always "Thanks but can you add in here...etc etc".

I think she just likes to have her mark on everything.
    Its like someone else said in this thread. The buck stops at her so she just wants it perfect so she doesnt get in trouble and therefore wont take it out on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Some people get promoted to management level despite poor communication skills. Some people keep changing their minds about what they want. Others just want to get their oar in on a 'finished' project for the sake of asserting their superiority - often without making meaningful changes.

It sounds like your boss is one of these above people or - having seen their vision - genuinely feels that a few positive improvements could be made on it. This situation happens in every working environment. Is she as polite as you indicate in your more recent post? If so, maybe you shouldn't get het up or take it personally - so long as a person is professional, I don't see the problem in looking for teaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sorrywhat - just had a look at the post I asked you to make on boards. That's not really the message I wanted to get across. I was more hoping for a 'praise managers' type angle. Please fix this asap and revert back to me before tomorrow's blue sky day meeting.

Cheers,

Mr. Manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

topper75 wrote: »
    My request to be provided with formal training received a response along the lines of 'the train is moving - you have got to be on the train.' I laugh about it now of course.

you should have been more proactive, and adopted a blue-sky thinking attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Bah, I'm a contractor. Other people claim the credit for everything i do but manage to blame me for all their **** ups.

I don't care, it means they keep me on and I get paid a lot of money to be someone else's fall guy.

OP, remember, KTTM - keep taking the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This has always inspired me in whatever workplace I've been in:

When God made man, all the parts of the body argued over who would be boss...

The brain explained that since he controlled all the parts of the body, he should be boss...

The legs argued that since they took the man wherever he wanted to go, they should be boss...

The stomach countered with the explanation that since he digested all the food, he should be boss...

The eyes said that without them the man would be helpless, so they should be boss...

Then the arsehole applied for the job.

The other parts of the body laughed so hard that the arsehole became mad and closed up.

After a few days, the brain went foggy, the legs got wobbly, the stomach got ill, the eyes got crossed and unable to see.

They all conceded and made the arsehole boss.

Moral? You don't have to be a brain to be boss. Just an arsehole.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

You do said task.

I find if you fcuk it up a few times and are good at acting like you genuinely thought that you did it as they wanted, they'll soon stop asking you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

The last few years has seen it be really easy to be a manager. Businesses were expanding. Sales targets were being forever broken. Contracts for new work were flying in. There were always new projects on the horizon.

Then the bust...

You now have people in positions of authority and responsibility they should have never found themselves in. They don't have the skills, intelligence or competence to be where they are. They got there by default. Expanding businesses needed new managers for new growth and any tom, díck or harry that applied was getting their foot on that management ladder.

Sh!t is starting to hit the fan now in so many business. They are finding they do not have the leaders to help them out of the mess they are in.

***rant over*** gotta head to work now and show manager how to turn on her computer. :rolleyes: (BELIEVE ME ....i have had to do this on several occasions!!!)

Inspired by an earlier thread today, has anyone had a boss who was an absolute muppet - not necessarily mean, just someone without any real idea what they were doing?

I've got a lovely boss, but he actually doesn't have a clue. I fear it's endangering the company and by extension my job. I'd go into details but this is a public forum: suffice to say he's doing fairly stupid things consistently, running around from issue to issue like a headless chicken without resolving anything, and delaying any single fecking decision endlessly.

Has anyone ever had this problem, and how did they deal with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

geeky wrote: »
    I've got a lovely boss, but he actually doesn't have a clue.

mine is unnecessarily cnutish and also hasn't got a clue. so shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Arent they all a shower of f*ckwits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Most of my bosses through the years have been
    A) a55holes
    b) thick as two short planks and
    c) utterly useless and incompetent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I am the boss, just in general not a boss of any certain thing. I consider myself nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

I got a bit of IT work during the college summer holidays a good few years ago.
    Boss came down to my desk one day and said/asked ... "Will we do Java"
    "Do what in Java" I asked, and his reply was, "I dont know, but I hear a lot of people talking about it, so I think we should do it too"

After staring at him for a minute I just said, "Right, I'll look into it" ... and that was the last I ever heard from him about it.

He also had a habit of sitting on my desk and chewing my biros and he would frequently try to show me something on the computer and get angry that the mouse pointer didnt move when he was moving the mouse. He was actually moving the stapler and would shake it franticially to try to get it to work. He finally copped on when he heavily tapped it a few times off the desk to try and get it working but only managed to fire a staple into his finger :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I had a boss who was a cross between David Brent and Ian Beale. A person for whom the term "cunt" was surely coined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

geeky wrote: »
    Inspired by an earlier thread today, has anyone had a boss who was an absolute muppet - not necessarily mean, just someone without any real idea what they were doing?

I've got a lovely boss, but he actually doesn't have a clue. I fear it's endangering the company and by extension my job. I'd go into details but this is a public forum: suffice to say he's doing fairly stupid things consistently, running around from issue to issue like a headless chicken without resolving anything, and delaying any single fecking decision endlessly.

Has anyone ever had this problem, and how did they deal with it?

Geeky, get back to work.
    We'll work out your notice later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Yes.
    Lets just say that cleaning the place at the end of the night, to proper health standards, is considered bad as it takes one or 2 more hours of labor.
    Cutting corners and not cleaning items that have and will come into contact with food is ok so long as you finish up early.

The fool isn't able to identify what will or will not get a restaurant shut down. And he's a lazy bastard too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    "Do what in Java" I asked, and his reply was, "I dont know, but I hear a lot of people talking about it, so I think we should do it too"

After staring at him for a minute I just said, "Right, I'll look into it" ... and that was the last I ever heard from him about it.

He also had a habit of sitting on my desk and chewing my biros and he would frequently try to show me something on the computer and get angry that the mouse pointer didnt move when he was moving the mouse. He was actually moving the stapler and would shake it franticially to try to get it to work. He finally copped on when he heavily tapped it a few times off the desk to try and get it working but only managed to fire a staple into his finger :o

That isnt true, it couldnt possibly be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

That isnt true, it couldnt possibly be!

Your missing the point, the point is you need to push the thanks button on that post as fast as possible before you realise that yes it is definitely aload of sh1t!!

Thanks for that, but what do/have you guys do/done to deal with the situation?!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

my boss owns two internet cafes and barely knows how to turn a pc on... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Must be a numpty..he hired you:p

dylano_k wrote: »
    Must be a numpty..he hired you:p

Cheers Dylano, but I'm the one keeping the thing going :)

I actually posted this as a serious problem in the personal issues forum, got told to get jobhunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

When I had part-time jobs, in school and college, I had a few. I've been lucky since I started full-time work though. They've been sound and competent by and large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Saint_Mel wrote: »

We used to do that to the interns too. Was always funny seeing would they discuss it with co-workers or not. The looks on their faces when it happened, and also their parting words when going back to college.

It's kinda nice, Kinda leaves them feeling like they know better and will really make it some day.