Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man locked up for no dog licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

They should have just fcuked his dog while he watched.. that'll learn him

Why do i post this stuff?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

woof justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

wilson10 wrote: »
    Ok, I believe that the law must be enforced but I think that this is an absolute disgrace. The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.[/URL]

They're barking mad, is what they are. <:mad:>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

god love the poor fella!!! dont you only get asked for a dog lisence if your dog attacks some one???

and in these recessionary times they spent a huge amount of the tax payers money for a payment of €12.70....thats something to be really annoyed about!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

These are the type of offenders we need the Death Penalty for.

The simple solution is to buy a dog licence

These are the type of offenders we need the Death Penalty for.

The strange thing is some people are serious when they seek the death penalty for these offences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

orourkeda wrote: »
    The strange thing is some people are serious when they seek the death penalty for these offences

Yeah, I am, he owns a fcuking Shih tzu, he shouldn't be allowed live! :P

But seriously, Overcrowding in Prison's, I know violent offenders that get released on a regular basis because of this, yet he was imprisoned.

He is a twat for paying though, if he hadn't paid he would probably have been released the next day!! He would have gotten TR and been told to report back in a few weeks by which time he would be just released. (Most likely anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Yadda yadda, picture of kind-looking man with puppy, blah blah, had to pay for major heart surgery, legal separation from wife, blah, blah...

So what, we should just let people not pay stuff? Alright they should have reminded him, if they didn't already. but hey, what d'you expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

bet he'll pay it next time.

Huzzah, The system works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Thats a disgrace especially after seeing the Prime Time Investigates where all the scumbag knacker social welfare frauding b@stards just get a slap on the wrist for defrauding the state of millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Hmm I am sure he will paws next time he decides not to pay a fine.

Although I agree the judge should have let him go walkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Surely community service would be a more fitting sentence for such a case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The judge should have said 'neigh' when asked to impose a custodial sentence.

Ah god damn it. :mad:

They should have just fcuked his dog while he watched.. that'll learn him

Why do i post this stuff?!

Dogging, quite literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jumpy wrote: »
    Hmm I am sure he will paws next time he decides not to pay a fine.

Although I agree the judge should have let him go walkies.

They'll hound him until he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

DonJose wrote: »
    Thats a disgrace especially after seeing the Prime Time Investigates where all the scumbag knacker social welfare frauding b@stards just get a slap on the wrist for defrauding the state of millions.

Took the words right out of my mouth DonJose.
    Looks like they are starting zero tolerance from the ground up, but it will never get past doggies in this country.

Shur a dog is truly a man's best friend.
    If you don't believe it, just try this experiment.
    Lock your dog and a social welfare fraudster in the boot of the car for an hour.
    When you open the boot, which one is really happy to see you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Ok, I believe that the law must be enforced but I think that this is an absolute disgrace. The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Dundalk-man-still-shocked-after.5895993.jp

In fairness he wasn't locked up for not having a dog license, in much the same way as no-one gets locked up for not having a TV License.

You get locked up acting the eejit with the court, either not turning up, not explaining yourself properly in front of a judge, or not making some effort to pay the fine, even in installments.

But 'Man locked up with murderers for not having dog license' or 'Mother of 5 locked up for not having TV License' are much better newspaper headline.
    Shame so many people fall for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.[/URL]

Yeah, screw them pigs for doing their jobs.

It is terrible that you can be put in prison for something like not having a dog license but to blame the Gardaí?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

Yadda yadda, picture of kind-looking man with puppy, blah blah, had to pay for major heart surgery, legal separation from wife, blah, blah...

So what, we should just let people not pay stuff? Alright they should have reminded him, if they didn't already. but hey, what d'you expect?

Yeah, right guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

€11m in payouts for 55 victims of Donegal garda corruption

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/836411m-in-payouts-for-55-victims-of-donegal-garda-corruption-1456282.html

I am not anti Gardai, but I do see a gapping divide between what joe public is prosecuted for in Ireland, compared to what officials in state departments can get away with... and by that I mean departments accross the board. see link (no members of the Gardai served any time for any of these acts of persecution and corruption)

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Yeah, screw them pigs for doing their jobs.

It is terrible that you can be put in prison for something like not having a dog license but to blame the Gardaí?

The gardai cant win. The next time some skanger gets off on a technicality they'll get blamed for this too.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/836411m-in-payouts-for-55-victims-of-donegal-garda-corruption-1456282.html

I am not anti Gardai, but I do see a gapping divide between what joe public is prosecuted for in Ireland, compared to what officials in state departments can get away with... and by that I mean departments accross the board. see link (no members of the Gardai served any time for any of these acts of persecution and corruption)

I would say that there are very few if any police forces that have not abused their position to some degree. This doesnt just apply to the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

In fairness he wasn't locked up for not having a dog license, in much the same way as no-one gets locked up for not having a TV License.

You get locked up acting the eejit with the court, either not turning up, not explaining yourself properly in front of a judge, or not making some effort to pay the fine, even in installments.

But 'Man locked up with murderers for not having dog license' or 'Mother of 5 locked up for not having TV License' are much better newspaper headline.
    Shame so many people fall for it.

There was a genuine problem with the post in his estate. He even has a letter of apology from an post (don't know how they got it to him though).

This was the first visit he got concerning the matter.

Don't you think the guards could have had enough compassion to give him a couple of days to pay the fine, remember this was Saturday.

Come to think of it, were they being paid overtime to take him all the way to the Joy. Don't they have any real policing to do in Dundalk any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

The only reason this is harsh is because the man wasnt receiving his post and I genuinely feel sorry for him. Perhaps its An Post everybody should be giving out about.

Otherwise he wasnt sentenced to jail for not paying €12.70 he was sentenced for not heeding warnings, not turning up in court and not paying the fine.

So sensationalist Joe Duffy shyte about him going to jail for not paying for a dog license is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Ok, I believe that the law must be enforced but I think that this is an absolute disgrace. The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.

That has got to be one of the most ridiculous notions I ever heard.
    The problem is the actual evidence and prosecution of such complex issues is very difficult to prove. It isn't theft or criminal to do your job badly generally a fault in the system. It is hard to even name one state employee who is perceived as doing wrong who actually did anything criminal.

Man gets churned in the system due to failings of the post office is what happened here. I'd rather see that then every possible excuse being used.

The thing to note here is the guy was aware of the fine after an apparent mail malfunction, couldn't afford the fine and then went to jail. There is no mention of him trying to do anything about the fine once he found out about it. That seems strange that the judge would sentence him for 20 days if he could prove the issue with the mail. Sounds like somebody is not telling the whole truth. I would suspect he is lying or acted incredibly stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Essentially that's what's happening though, just because they introduce another step in the process so technically it's the courts your upsetting and not some silly dog license law doesn't mean it's not the fact you don't have a license that's getting you locked up.

This does show how inadequate the justice system is at dealing with cases on an individual basis. The justice system turns smart people into simple cogs in a system. It's not any person thats in charge it's a book on a shelf somewhere that convicts you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

There was a genuine problem with the post in his estate. He even has a letter of apology from an post (don't know how they got it to him though).

This was the first visit he got concerning the matter.

Don't you think the guards could have had enough compassion to give him a couple of days to pay the fine, remember this was Saturday.

Come to think of it, were they being paid overtime to take him all the way to the Joy. Don't they have any real policing to do in Dundalk any more

The guards may have hated what they were doing (I doubt they took any pleasure in it anyway).
    But they can't show any compassion, they have little or no leeway once the courts have made a decision. Rightly or wrongly its the nature of the system we have and if a court told a gardai to do something and he didn't then he can easily find himself getting lambasted by that judge.

I actually think there is a hole in this story somewhere. The 'letter from An Post' should have been enough for the judge to slow the process down, give him more time to pay the initial license fee. Is it possilble that he still didn't co-operate even after this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Wow, insane, I think the stupidity of the system that sent him to Jail alongside the rapists and the murderers needs to be questioned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

ScumLord wrote: »
    Essentially that's what's happening though, just because they introduce another step in the process so technically it's the courts your upsetting and not some silly dog license law doesn't mean it's not the fact you don't have a license that's getting you locked up.

You get locked up for not paying the fine no longer anything to do with the licence. It isn't technically what happens it is actually what is happening. Essentially the fine was for not turning up. He probably had a licence by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭samson09

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Dundalk-man-still-shocked-after.5895993.jp

He only has himself to blame. If he had only known that he did not have to consent to whatever B.S. Act or Statute they charged him with violating he would have saved himself the hassle of going to prison.

Its about time people woke up to this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

hobochris wrote: »
    Surely community service would be a more fitting sentence for such a case.

Listen to the guy being interviewed on Joe Duffy, he already does alot of voluntary community service.

I'd dare anyone to listen to the poor man being interviewed and not be moved by his story, the chap has been terrified by his experience.

'Caring Ireland' my bollox, its a disgrace that this gentleman was put through the ordeal of going to Mountjoy prison, or anyother punishment for a dog licence ffs!.

But go on you people who sit comfortably at your computer and laugh, listen to him before mocking - its only yourself your letting down!.

samson09 wrote: »
    He only has himself to blame. If he had only known that he did not have to consent to whatever B.S. Act or Statute they charged him with violating he would have saved himself the hassle of going to prison.

Its about time people woke up to this nonsense.

Your talking rubbish.

The first time this chap knew there was a bench warrent for his arrest, or even that he was to appear in court was when his sister informed his that the local paper had ran a story on him from their court reporter.

Believe it or not, there are vulnurable people like this in our society who won't have the safety nets afforded to real scrounging feckers like Pamela Izevbekhai and her ilk.

At the risk of sounding like a bleeding hearted liberal, which most people here will know I'm not - but this is a case where Irish society has failed a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I am not anti Gardai, but
    I do see a gapping divide between what joe public is prosecuted for in Ireland, compared to what officials in state departments can get away with... and by that I mean departments accross the board. see link (no members of the Gardai served any time for any of these acts of persecution and corruption)

Sure....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Listen to the guy being interviewed on Joe Duffy, he already does alot of voluntary community service.

Why didnt he spend a little bit of his time to go get a licence for his dog?

I guarentee you he knew he needed a licence but figured that because no one ever asks to see it he wouldnt bother getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

I'd dare anyone to listen to the poor man being interviewed and not be moved by his story, the chap has been terrified by his experience.

'Caring Ireland' my bollox, its a disgrace that this gentleman was put through the ordeal of going to Mountjoy prison, or anyother punishment for a dog licence ffs!.

But go on you people who sit comfortably at your computer and laugh, listen to him before mocking - its only yourself your letting down!.
    What is the point of having penalties for breaking the law if they are not to be enforced? What is the point of having a law forcing people to buy a Dog license and then doing nothing to them for breaking the law? Who would follow a law that does not have penalties?

I don't care if this guy is mother f'ucking Theresa - the law is there for a reason and he knew he was supposed to have a license.

"the chap has been terrified by his experience" - great! maybe he will buy a license for his dog the next time. Lesson learned.

Next!

Your talking rubbish.

The first time this chap knew there was a bench warrent for his arrest, or even that he was to appear in court was when his sister informed his that the local paper had ran a story on him from their court reporter.

Believe it or not, there are vulnurable people like this in our society who won't have the safety nets afforded to real scrounging feckers like Pamela Izevbekhai and her ilk.

At the risk of sounding like a bleeding hearted liberal, which most people here will know I'm not - but this is a case where Irish society has failed a man.

I don't think you understand what I'm saying. If he had known how to handle himself in court properly he could have knocked the issue on the head. What I'm talking about is very real and more and more people are becoming aware of it. "It" is called sovereignty.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Why didnt he spend a little bit of his time to go get a licence for his dog?

I guarentee you he knew he needed a licence but figured that because no one ever asks to see it he wouldnt bother getting it.

You haven't listen to, or heard a thing of this until this thread have you? (and tell the truth).

Is there fvck all capacity for compassion left in this God forsaken country?.

Btw, the man was given the dog as a companion by the LSPCA.

The man has been through trials and tribulations that only for the grace of God more of us don't go through, the last thing on this mans mind was a dog licence - a dog licence, for crying out loud!.

Sometimes I feel like tearing my bleed'n hair out at the capacity for stupidity we have in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is there fvck all capacity for compassion left in this God forsaken country?.

Where does compassion begin and end? People with a story sad enough to rate over 7 out of 10 on the sad story o meter dont pay for stuff? Or do we have another way ? Just let everyone do as they please.

Getting sent to jail is afairly long winded process, they didnt just fine him and haul him away at the same time.

Funny how he suddenly handed over money afetr being in the cell for 12 hours.

Plus I like how you try to tabloid up the situation for more effect "Btw, the man was given the dog as a companion by the LSPCA". The story said he went and got himself a dog

"Dominic was jailed after he forgot to get a €12.70 licence for his dog, Nemo, a Shih Tzu he adopted from the dog pound to keep him company in his new home"

Sometimes I feel like tearing my bleed'n hair out at the capacity for stupidity we have in this country.

I know, deciding that laws dont apply to you is quite stupid really. Although it's not too bad, all you have to do is go bleatign about how unfortunate you are on the radio and you have the whole country of bleedign heats up in arms. There are far more people in much worse situations that could do with your sympathy (and more) if your dishign it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

samson09 wrote: »
    I don't think you understand what I'm saying. If he had known how to handle himself in court properly he could have knocked the issue on the head. What I'm talking about is very real and more and more people are becoming aware of it. "It" is called sovereignty.

Did you even read the article?

He was not in court. The courtcase went on without his knowledge. He was arrested at his home on a saturday evening and driven to mountjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Stekelly wrote: »
    Where does compassion begin and end? People with a story sad enough to rate over 7 out of 10 on the sad story o meter dont pay for stuff? Or do we have another way ? Just let everyone do as they please.

Getting sent to jail is afairly long winded process, they didnt just fine him and haul him away at the same time.

Funny how he suddenly handed over money afetr being in the cell for 12 hours.

Well not quite, but kind of. He was not in court. He didnt know he was summoned. Because he didnt turn up at court, a warrant for his arrest was issued, and the guards arrested him at his house on saturday evening and drove him to the joy.

Read the article before you comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Sending people to jail for non-payment of fines is ridiculous anyhow,especially at a time of chronic prison overcrowding.
    Community service and naming and shaming in the local newspapers should suffice,imo.

wudangclan wrote: »
    Sending people to jail for non-payment of fines is ridiculous anyhow,especially at a time of chronic prison overcrowding.
    Community service and naming and shaming in the local newspapers should suffice,imo.
    He was already named and shamed and then he didn't pay the 600 odd euro fine thus he was arrested and sent to prison.

He should not have gotten a dog if he wasn't going to pay the license. People need to take these laws seriously and not have the "Ahh sure it'll be grand" Irish attitude to them. Surely if he had time to pick up the dog and get the dog set up at home then he had time to pay the license.

Anyway he seems to have learned his lesson so is probably unlikely to re-offend. Although I believe a large percentage of ex-cons do re-offend.

syklops wrote: »
    Did you even read the article?

He was not in court. The courtcase went on without his knowledge. He was arrested at his home on a saturday evening and driven to mountjoy.

Tbh I only skimmed through it. Regardless, he would have been served a summons to appear in court and this could also have been dealt with in a similiar fashion. A summons is only an invitation to attend, you are not obliged to do so.

This story only highlights how the legal system is no longer concerned with justice. The courts that currently operate in this country are run strictly for profit, revenue extraction is the name of the game. All courts are registered companies trading for profit. Don't believe me? Search for your local court on http://www.dnb.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

What is the cost of a dog license?

What do the government do with money they receive from ^ ?

drdeadlift wrote: »

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/environment/animal-welfare-and-control/control_of_dogs
    Individual dog licence costs €12.70 and is valid for one year.
    The revenue from dog licences finances the operation of dog control services in local areas throughout the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mickthedick

Have we lost it hear in Ireland, putting an elderly man in jail for no dog licence?. Subjecting him to the indignity of Mountjoy, the guards, the prison service are there anybody who can make decisions or are they doing the job without using common sense. As for Mountjoy , it's not suitable for housing his dog . Mountjoy is a open sewer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The revenue from dog licences finances the operation of dog control services in local areas throughout the country.

And if the guy hadn't adopted the dog how much would it have cost the state to look after/ put down the poor mutt?

A hell of a lot more than €12.50

It's a disgrace, anyone that gets a dog from a pound should be entitled to a free dog license for life, the law needs to be changed or common sense used.

drdeadlift wrote: »

€12.70.

The money from dog licenses, along with most of the money the government collects from taxes and other methods of cash extraction, goes towards paying off the national debt.