Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Refused admission to Dublin Bus with a folding bicycle

• 08-12-2009 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know whether Dublin Bus has any official policy about folding bikes?

I was refused entry to a bus tonight with a Brompton (which as you know is only about the size of a small suitcase when folded). The bus was also empty. And I was accompanying my pregnant wife home, and she'd already paid for both of us, and he refused to refund her ticket, so she ended up going home alone on the bus.

I've got on Dublin Bus with the Brompton plenty of times before without any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

tomasrojo wrote: »

I was refused entry to a bus tonight with a Brompton (which as you know is only about the size of a small suitcase when folded). The bus was also empty. And I was accompanying my pregnant wife home, and she'd already paid for both of us, and he refused to refund her ticket, so she ended up going home alone on the bus.

I've got on Dublin Bus with the Brompton plenty of times before without any trouble.

Your not allowed bikes on Dublin Bus. Some drivers let you however, but due to insurance they are not allowed.

Now a bag over the bike is a different story.

You just met one of the many DB prick drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Ring Dublin Bus and file a complaint . sure it must be smaller the a buggy when folded up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

W@nker. If it had been in a bag there'd have been no issue at all. I hope you got his name and bus number; get onto the depot.
    Should have opened it up, cycled all the way home in the bus lane ahead of him, stopping him at every bus stop on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Ring Dublin Bus and file a complaint . sure it must be smaller the a buggy when folded up
    It's much, much, much smaller than a folded buggy.

brompton_bike.jpg

kenmc wrote: »
    Should have opened it up, cycled all the way home in the bus lane ahead of him, stopping him at every bus stop on the way.

As amusing as it is, its not doing anybody any favours.

The way DB and their Insurers look on it is, Bus crashes, somebody has a bike on board and it flies and hits a baby in the pram(yes were getting dramatic here). DB isnt covered for the inevitable claim by theparent on behalf of the parent because they are in breach of their insurance agreement.

Its harsh but there has to be a line. As regards to prams, most have brakes on them, as do the wheel chairs. Bikes do too, but they aint the permanently locked type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

ok..so legal policy

Bringing on items
    Bringing on items likely to cause damage to a vehicle

No person shall take or cause to be taken on to any vehicle if requested not to do so by an authorised person any bird, animal, article or thing which by reason of its nature is in the opinion of the authorised person likely to cause annoyance or damage to any passenger or damage to any property.
    No person except a member of the Defense Forces or of the Garda Síochána acting in the course of his duty shall take, or cause to be taken, upon any vehicle any weapon of any kind or any inflammable explosive or corrosive gas, spirit or substance.

No person shall take or cause to be taken upon any vehicle any article or thing, including alcohol, which is or may become dangerous or offensive to any person or property.

If a person who contravenes the above Bye-Laws also fails to remove from the vehicle immediately upon a request by an authorised person any article or thing to which these Bye-Laws relate the same may be removed by or under the directions of an authorised person.

Return to all Dublin Bus Bye laws

http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/About-Us/Dublin-Bus-Bye-Laws/Bringing-on-items/

it does not say anything about the folded bikes. I suppose i'ts up to the bus driver to decide whether to allow/refuse you entry to a bus

ok..so legal policy

Bringing on items
    Bringing on items likely to cause damage to a vehicle

No person shall take or cause to be taken on to any vehicle if requested not to do so by an authorised person any bird, animal, article or thing which by reason of its nature is in the opinion of the authorised person likely to cause annoyance or damage to any passenger or damage to any property.
    No person except a member of the Defense Forces or of the Garda Síochána acting in the course of his duty shall take, or cause to be taken, upon any vehicle any weapon of any kind or any inflammable explosive or corrosive gas, spirit or substance.

No person shall take or cause to be taken upon any vehicle any article or thing, including alcohol, which is or may become dangerous or offensive to any person or property.

If a person who contravenes the above Bye-Laws also fails to remove from the vehicle immediately upon a request by an authorised person any article or thing to which these Bye-Laws relate the same may be removed by or under the directions of an authorised person.

Return to all Dublin Bus Bye laws

http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/About-Us/Dublin-Bus-Bye-Laws/Bringing-on-items/

it does not say anything about the folded bikes. I suppose i'ts up to the bus driver to decide whether to allow/refuse you entry to a bus

2nd line there mate.;) its all about driver interpritation.

Thanks, lads.

I see what you mean, Kona, but it's effectively not a bicycle when it's folded up. It's a small, stable package that stands on its own. It can't go anywhere. It can't roll. It as dangerous as a small suitcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

are bus and rail conected, hate to sound stupid here not knowing but if they are wouldnt they have the same kind of policies, train will allow you a folded up bike on board no questions asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

DB and their Insurers
    AIUI, DB are self insured so there are no Insurers nor an agreement to violate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

When I was in London back in march, some lady brought a darn pitbull onto the bus and a young mother with her baby in a buggy started freaking out at the bus driver. In that case, I can understand and would want that "by-law" applied.

People bring suitcases, buggies and all sorts of crap onto buses (even their drunken selves), I can't see how a folding bike is somehow classed in a different category.

Actually, I remember back in school having a rolled up mcdonalds bag and being refused entry by the driver until I chucked it in the bin, it was the 63 bus and it came once every hour :(

I think there is a simple lesson to take away here, but I won't state the obvious answer in case I incur the wrath of any drivers.

Thanks, lads.

I see what you mean, Kona, but it's effectively not a bicycle when it's folded up. It's a small, stable package that stands on its own. It can't go anywhere. It can't roll. It as dangerous as a small suitcase.

Kinda ****, but there has to be a line somewhere. At the end of the day, the driver is responsible for the bus and its passengers.

I'm going to get a garden refuse sack and fold it away into my Brompton pannier. I'll put the bike in that in future before getting on public transport. Not risking this kind of hassle again.

The wife is going to lodge a complaint about this. The whole incident showed a lack of both courtesy and common sense.

kona wrote: »
    Kinda ****, but there has to be a line somewhere. At the end of the day, the driver is responsible for the bus and its passengers.
    Again, I see what you mean, but I don't for a minute think he thought that a tiny, neat package like that was an encumbrance or danger to anyone. Also, the bus was nearly empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

Just buy the bag for the bike and you won't have that problem again :)

Again, I see what you mean, but I don't for a minute think he thought that a tiny, neat package like that was an encumbrance or danger to anyone. Also, the bus was nearly empty.

I know exactley where your coming from, Ive been there too:(. You just got a prick of a driver.

But you have to understand the flipside of the story too, the guy was there doing his job, and part of that is keeping his passengers safe and bus undamaged. You are also entitled to travel in some form of comfort, while a bike may not be much, when you allow people on with bikes, your opening the door to the muppets who will take the piss, bringing on lawnmowers and other such crap.

Perhaps a call to the Depot to find out what there side is? I wouldnt mentions routes or drivers though.

Writing letters of complaint, holding up busses and throwing the toys out of the pram aint the way to endear yourself to a already fairly anti-cyclist company, which operate 20ton busses in the same 3m wide lane as cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

It's much, much, much smaller than a folded buggy.

brompton_bike.jpg

Nice suit though, where'd you pick it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

it was the 63 bus and it came once every hour :(

...and it hasn't changed (I remember it well)...

but that's counthry life fer ya:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I brought two bike wheels home on the bus last night! No hassle. They could have rolled anywhere!!!!:eek:

Seems awful petty of the driver to not let a folder on.

Writing letters of complaint, holding up busses and throwing the toys out of the pram aint the way to endear yourself to a already fairly anti-cyclist company, which operate 20ton busses in the same 3m wide lane as cyclists.

I didn't hold up the bus though. I protested briefly, mentioned that I'd brought it on plenty of times before and when he was immovable on the subject, I got off and cycled home. "Throwing the toys out of the pram" isn't fair to me either.

I don't understand why he couldn't use his discretion and either
    a) let me travel with a warning not to bring it on again, seeing as I was travelling with a heavily pregnant woman
    or
    b) give us a change ticket for my wife's fare so she could get off without wasting the money

He refused point blank to give us a change ticket, though we couldn't travel as we'd originally planned.

It just lacks common sense or proportion. He did not think for one minute that I was going to cause trouble or an accident.

"holding up the bus" is a reference to a previous poster talking about stopping the bus at every stop, isn't it? Sorry, kona, didn't get the reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

When I was in London back in march, some lady brought a darn pitbull onto the bus and a young mother with her baby in a buggy started freaking out at the bus driver. In that case, I can understand and would want that "by-law" applied.

Thought you were allowed bring dogs onto buses in England? Long as you sit up the back of the bus?

"holding up the bus" is a reference to a previous poster talking about stopping the bus at every stop, isn't it? Sorry, kona, didn't get the reference.

It was a refrence to a previous post not made by yourself.

Well, I'd complain about not being given a change ticket, thats just wrong. These guys get whats coming to them eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭rx8

You just met one of the many DB prick drivers.
    :(. You just got a prick of a driver.

But you have to understand the flipside of the story too, the guy was there doing his job, and part of that is keeping his passengers safe and bus undamaged.

What's your problem with bus drivers.....??

One minute he's a prick and the next minute he's just doing his job !!!

The company do cover their own insurance but no matter what happens on the bus,even if the driver is 100% in the right, I guarantee you the company will still find some way to blame him for something.

Seems to me like a lot of DB drivers are grumpy feckers, both in their driving and how they deal with passengers. I really doubt they were exhibiting such high levels of grumpy feckerishness when they were first hired, there seems to be something about the organisation that makes them that way.

My guess is that their management are pricks to them and so they take it out on the only people they have any authority over-passengers, and occasionally those who they don't have any legal power over but have the ability to bully due to the large size of the vehicle-ie cyclists.

We've all heard the stories about cyclist being squeezed out of the bus lane because there's a "perfectly good" cycle lane/path. These are not the actions of non-stressed people.

By comparison most of the bus drivers here in Cork are much more affable in how they deal with passengers, and much more courteous on the road. now I'm not saying they're inherently better people, it just seems they're less stressed out by the organisation they work for.

rx8 wrote: »
    What's your problem with bus drivers.....??

One minute he's a prick and the next minute he's just doing his job !!!.

Some drivers are cool some are pricks. I said the OP unfortunatley got a prick... He is just doing his job, but SOME bus drivers apply common sense to rules.
    The company do cover their own insurance but no matter what happens on the bus,even if the driver is 100% in the right, I guarantee you the company will still find some way to blame him for something.

Whats that got to do with the price of bread? No need to be bitter about your current/previous employers.

I don't have any idea what working as a bus driver is like, and I have no complaint against Dublin Bus drivers generally.

What happened to me and my wife last night was petty and bordering on vindictive. I don't care whether that driver had had a hard time from management or a sad life or whatever; I didn't do anything to him, and I was just trying to get home with my wife. There were better ways of dealing with the situation instead of talking to me as I were an errant school boy, and applying regulations that were obviously written for bikes that are over 1.5m long and have a marked propensity to fall over when left on their own rather than a stable package that's about 545mm long x 270mm wide with no protruding parts.

birds_eye_view.jpg

The main selling point of compact folding bikes is that they can be brought safely and without disruption onto public transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

The main selling point of compact folding bikes is that they can be brought safely and without disruption onto public transport.

That's the marketing spiel of the bike companies. It doesn't mean that all public transport companies have to accept these bikes on board (which is what are trying to get at, I think)

With Irish Rail, who have an actual bike policy, they state that all folding bikes must be covered. In reality, enforcement of this is patchy at best. I've certainly never been prevented from getting on a train with an uncovered folding bike.

At the end of the day, the bus driver has discretion about what he allows (or doesn't allow) on his bus. Sounds like he could have handled the situation better though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

I don't have any idea what working as a bus driver is like, and I have no complaint against Dublin Bus drivers generally.

What happened to me and my wife last night was petty and bordering on vindictive. I don't care whether that driver had had a hard time from management or a sad life or whatever; I didn't do anything to him, and I was just trying to get home with my wife. There were better ways of dealing with the situation instead of talking to me as I were an errant school boy, and applying regulations that were obviously written for bikes that are over 1.5m long and have a marked propensity to fall over when left on their own rather than a stable package that's about 545mm long x 270mm wide with no protruding parts.

You are 100% right here. You wanted to bring baggage on a bus. There is a baggage rack for that purpose. If it had been me I would've refused to get off the bus until he gave a refund or allowed me on.

Dublin Bus have to respond to your complaint within 3 days. Make a written complaint via email followed by a phone call or two and be persistent. The customer services manager is "Maher Tom (BAC)" <Tom.Maher@dublinbus.ie>. You will have to follow it up, but be firm and polite and explain how appalled you are that the driver:

1. Was unreasonable in preventing you from traveling with baggage.

and

2. Was unreasonable in his refusal to offer a refund to your wife.

Ask if it is policy to force pregnant women to travel alone on the bus and demand a refund for the ticket and that the driver be spoken to about his behaviour.

Ive had several occasions to complain to DB about wanker drivers and in one case I got a guy removed form my route (he wouldn't answer questions from boarding passengers and physically threatened me when I did it on his behalf) and Ive gotten free bus passes of them once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I think it should be made official policy that folding bikes are allowed on all public transport.
    I'm sure some tree hugger in Dublin City Council could do something about this.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I wounder how bus drivers will manage this part of Government policy:
    8.8 Bicycles on Urban Bus Services
    We will support the development of a pilot project for the carriage of bikes on urban bus services comparable to what is currently used on buses in Canada and US

It's sad when the US, and even LA, is ahead of us on something cycling related, page 3 [PDF]: http://www.metro.net/news_info/publications/images/bikes_rail.pdf :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The buses look like this:

bus_with_bicycle.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭billy.fish

As regards to prams, most have brakes on them, as do the wheel chairs. Bikes do too, but they aint the permanently locked type.

Last time i checked these brakes on prams cant defy physics and stop prams flying. Type of lock makes no difference.

However my suggestion is carry a tesco's reusable bag, put brompton in said bag, carry on, stick tongue out at driver

billy.fish wrote: »
    Last time i checked these brakes on prams cant defy physics and stop prams flying. Type of lock makes no difference.

However my suggestion is carry a tesco's reusable bag, put brompton in said bag, carry on, stick tongue out at driver
    I'm definitely bringing a garbage bag or something like that in future.

The main point of getting the folding bike was so that I could get public transport with my wife. I really don't need this type of pointless hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Dublin Bus are pr*cks.
    I try my darndest not to give them my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Got refused onto a bus for having a bag of beer cans before, they weren't even opened and I was just going to my mates. Thought that was a bit offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

I read about a guy who was refused with a cup of coffee one rush hour moring (after a girl with a cup had just been allowed on). He walked to the next stop, got there before the bus and gave the driver an earful before boarding.

Technically you can't consume food and drink on the bus. Though they cant refuse you if you want to bring your shopping on. No doubt the driver would claim he was worried you were going to drink the beer on the bus, and to be fair he may have had bad experiences with drunks on his route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

droidus wrote: »
    I read about a guy who was refused with a cup of coffee one rush hour moring (after a girl with a cup had just been allowed on). He walked to the next stop, got there before the bus and gave the driver an earful before boarding.

Technically you can't consume food and drink on the bus. Though they cant refuse you if you want to bring your shopping on. No doubt the driver would claim he was worried you were going to drink the beer on the bus, and to be fair he may have had bad experiences with drunks on his route.

I can understand that he thought I was going to drink on the bus but I even said I'd sit up the front and went so far as to say that he could keep them in his compartment while we traveled but he was having none of it, think he was just an a$$hole as opposed to a person enforcing Dublin Bus rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭2x4

I never had a problem bringing my folded Brompton onto Dublin Bus in the past. There is a big difference in how DB management treat their drivers. Those drivers on older contracts seem to have greater flexibility interpreting the rules. Those on newer contracts are treated differently and are regularly hauled before management for the slightest infringement of the rules. This can affect their career prospects. So spare a thought for these drivers.

billy.fish wrote: »

4 wheels(in most cases), a brake, a low Centre of Gravity. V 2 wheels and no brake, and a odd centre of gravity.

A pram is far more stable, and as a result of 4 wheels can support itself without falling. Which kinda does have alot to do with physics and design.

The lock prevents the wheels creeping when there are external forces on the pram, eg, bus, hill.

A bike has far more protruding parts than a pram, so is more likely to cause injury. Its also no as convienient to support, with both hands being needed to hold the front and the back.

Yes a folding bike is different, but there has to be a line somewhere. While the bus driver should have made a exemption or given a refund he did neither, but you have to realise why bikes aint allowed on.

If DB did allow bikes, every rainy day youd have dicks trying to get on busses with their BSOs and as a result clogging up gangways. Buses aint designed for bikes. When refused because you could get 7 people in the bus as opposed to 1+bike , they will start complaining and moaning.

Also most people who use buses, well on my route are OAPs, most need to be helped off the bus, even unobstructed gangways are too narrow for them, bikes would just clog this up and possibly cause them injury as well as hassle.

As blorg posted, the US and Canada have busses with racks on the front for bikes, they are designed to take bikes and so they allow you to carry them OUTSIDE the bus, away from people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

4 wheels(in most cases), a brake, a low Centre of Gravity. V 2 wheels and no brake, and a odd centre of gravity.

A pram is far more stable, and as a result of 4 wheels can support itself without falling. Which kinda does have alot to do with physics and design.

The lock prevents the wheels creeping when there are external forces on the pram, eg, bus, hill.

A bike has far more protruding parts than a pram, so is more likely to cause injury. Its also no as convienient to support, with both hands being needed to hold the front and the back.

Yes a folding bike is different, but there has to be a line somewhere. While the bus driver should have made a exemption or given a refund he did neither, but you have to realise why bikes aint allowed on.

If DB did allow bikes, every rainy day youd have dicks trying to get on busses with their BSOs and as a result clogging up gangways. Buses aint designed for bikes. When refused because you could get 7 people in the bus as opposed to 1+bike , they will start complaining and moaning.

Also most people who use buses, well on my route are OAPs, most need to be helped off the bus, even unobstructed gangways are too narrow for them, bikes would just clog this up and possibly cause them injury as well as hassle.

As blorg posted, the US and Canada have busses with racks on the front for bikes, they are designed to take bikes and so they allow you to carry them OUTSIDE the bus, away from people.

I thought we were talking about folding bikes? Which, if I'm not mistaken, when folded have more in common with a piece of luggage rather than a bike?

There are a lot of petty bus drivers, one thing that irks me is when they see someone running for the bus (normally they reach the doors) and the bus driver quickly shuts the doors and pulls off. Of course, there are always the decent ones who actually wait 5 seconds and let the poor person board.

I think it's a kind of King Rat mentality. Big fish, small pond and all that.

I thought we were talking about folding bikes? Which, if I'm not mistaken, when folded have more in common with a piece of luggage rather than a bike?

There are a lot of petty bus drivers, one thing that irks me is when they see someone running for the bus (normally they reach the doors) and the bus driver quickly shuts the doors and pulls off. Of course, there are always the decent ones who actually wait 5 seconds and let the poor person board.

I think it's a kind of King Rat mentality. Big fish, small pond and all that.

Im just saying why bikes aint allowed and why other wheeled objects are. I also said that they *should* have taken the foldup bike. Then again, from experience dealing with the public is not a good job, and it will get to people, it makes you a very pissed off person. This country is full of pricks.

I agree that DB needs a clean out of these pricks, Harsh as it is, recession is the best time, to cut the dead weight and improve companies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I seriously doubt they've give that much thought to it.

Put it in a bag end of problem. So its not the physical properties of the item, its bias against bikes. That said if there was a rule that a folding bike has to fit into a bag of certain dimensions, that would be fair enough. otherwise people would carry all sorts of stuff.

BostonB wrote: »
    I seriously doubt they've give that much thought to it.

Im sure the Company that builds the busses do. They build busses for a market, in our case the UK market.

Put it in a bag end of problem. So its not the physical properties of the item, its bias against bikes.

Exactly.
    That said if there was a rule that a folding bike has to fit into a bag of certain dimensions, that would be fair enough. otherwise people would carry all sorts of stuff.

People do though. I've carried huge parcels onto the bus. My mother-in-law brings a large trolley onto every bus she gets. If it's off-peak, the drivers don't care. Unless you're a cyclist, apparently.

Im sure the Company that builds the busses do. They build busses for a market, in our case the UK market.
    Well, the UK buses do take folding bikes:

http://www.atob.org.uk/Bike_Rail_2.html
    The rules for the carriage of folding bikes on buses are slightly different to those by rail, because bus companies leave the bus driver or conductor a great deal of discretion. If a bike, or any other large item of luggage, looks likely to inconvenience other passengers, the bus driver can refuse to carry it.

Since the bus last night was empty, but for a few passengers upstairs, I hardly think it can be reasonably claimed that my compact, completely folded-up bike would incovenience anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Unless I'm missing something, surely the issue of what the company who builds the buses (Bombardier, Volvo and Alexander in the case of DB) thinks they'll be used for is irrelevant. More pertinent is what the buyer (DB) has in mind when they outline their specifications to said bus builder.

An obvious case in point is Irish Rail's bike-myopia when they came to order new rolling stock for inter-city services. Were there really no coaches available which could carry bikes or did it simply not occur to IR to consider the needs of cyclists? I know which I think is more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

This is just bias against cyclists from a particular driver who was being a wánker. There is no good justification for it. I've brought far bigger packages on Dublin Bus myself and indeed an entire full-sized bike (in a bike suitcase) on the LUAS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

blorg wrote: »
    This is just bias against cyclists from a particular driver who was being a wánker. There is no good justification for it. I've brought far bigger packages on Dublin Bus myself and indeed an entire full-sized bike (in a bike suitcase) on the LUAS.

Bus driving git uses position of impunity to ruin cyclist's day. Nothing new there, except usually we're still on the bike while that happens.

rflynnr wrote: »
    Unless I'm missing something, surely the issue of what the company who builds the buses (Bombardier, Volvo and Alexander in the case of DB) thinks they'll be used for is irrelevant. More pertinent is what the buyer (DB) has in mind when they outline their specifications to said bus builder..
    DB dont send in a brief, they buy off the assembly line. Thats why our buses are exact same spec as in the UK. They dont build specifically for DB. DB can modify the basic package for the Airlink, Ghostbus Etc. The Busses use vovle engines but the body is built by alexander I think. Bombardier busses went bust ages ago, DB stopped using them in the late 90s.
    A bus builder will build a bus that meets the Brief that the company gives its engineers and designers. Seen as they have sold a **** load to DB and the various companies in the UK, they have carried out their brief quite well.
    rflynnr wrote: »
    An obvious case in point is Irish Rail's bike-myopia when they came to order new rolling stock for inter-city services. Were there really no coaches available which could carry bikes or did it simply not occur to IR to consider the needs of cyclists? I know which I think is more likely.

I think some of those carriges actually have bike hooks, or maybe I was seeing things.