Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Captain Havoc Goals

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lumen wrote: »
    Gaaaah! My eyes!!!!
    I wouldn't complain too much Lumen - last time we saw them they were wrapped in cling-film.

He certainly seems well-practiced at taking the camera into the bathroom and photographing his "lower limbs"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

@ROK ON, should have done, something I still don't like about trespassing despite the fact everyone goes up there.

@Beasty, yeah, I'm well used to it. You can find more photos of my posing in front of the mirror at www.sexynakedsingles.com

@Lumen, oh yeah, says the man who had a skinny and farmer-tanned-to-the-max photo of Michael Rasmussen as his avatar.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Captm there are very few 700m climbs in Ireland. When you said you were going to Mt Leinster I was eagerly awaiting your recounting of an epic battle up the slopes in these pages. Now I feel slightly deflated. Its like chasing a girl, succeeding in getting her to come back to your place, getting her to take her clothes off and then standing back to admire the view.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I have taken your comments on board and in future I will endeavor to write better accounts and have accounts better to write about. If I had of gone up, I wouldn't have got the rest of my planned route done, I hope to do it in the near future with a spin directly to Mt. Leinster and back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Capt. Upon rereading last nights posts I have decided that what was an attempt at humour was actually a little meanspirited. Apologies for that.
    The milage you put in your own on that route is impressive enough.

Spent a weekend around Bagnalstowm and Tullow last year and thought it is a spectacular area to live in. And btw when I was there I cycled back to Dublin, but I didn't head up MtLeinster at all. Just went around.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Capt. Upon rereading last nights posts I have decided that what was an attempt at humour was actually a little meanspirited. Apologies for that.
    The milage you put in your own on that route is impressive enough.

Spent a weekend around Bagnalstowm and Tullow last year and thought it is a spectacular area to live in. And btw when I was there I cycled back to Dublin, but I didn't head up MtLeinster at all. Just went around.

I took it at humour, I've been posting round these parts to know you're OK. My response was also meant in humour, I wanted to post the clip from Fawlty Towers of Mrs. Richards with Basil (definately one of the funniest comedy episodes of all time) complaining about her room and looking for a reduction, but I couldn't find it. I do geniunely intend on heading up to the top soon though.

Cycled home from work, had 14kmph NE wind behind me was feeling fairly strong but had sore legs from the start. 37.25kms done in 1h12 averaging 30.8kmph max 42.6kmph.

I was again feeling very strong, but this time I had fully pumped tyres. Started the clock a bit late but meh. 36.93kms in 1h04 averaging 34.5kmph max 47.3. I may as well hang up the bike because I won't be doing that again.

Cycled home again last night, 38.31kms in 1h15m45s ave 30.3 max 45.5. I also managed to reset my odomoter writting this yesterday, need to double check the setting but it seems ok

Another cycle home, headwind :( Someone in the Kilkenny forum was curious how long the ring road was so I cycled that also. In total 50.54km, in 1h49m58 ave 27.6.

Be the hokey I'm wrecked. Got the train up to Dublin, met DirkVoodoo and coolbeans and we went up to Wicklow via Vico Road, Killiney, Bray up towards Roundwood turned around Enniskerry and back to Bray 55kmsish. I decided cycle back to Kilkenny via Blessington, Baltinglass, Carlow. I tried to get back to Kilkenny for 19h00 to go out with the beginners group but at that time I was about 15mins away, how terrible :rolleyes: but much to my delight :rolleyes: I saw the group coming towards me so I joined in. Toblerone suggested heading to Gowran with a slow group, it turned out there was 3 of us, the faster group went on to Paulstown. I was approaching Kilkenny with 190kms on the clock, decided balls, I may aswell clock up the full 200kms so I turned around and headed out a bit and turned around again. Scores on the doors: 202.98kms, 8h04m07 A/S 25.1 (it was 25.7 before I met the beginners) max 56.7.

Stopped in Blessington for lunch, Havoc style:
    19042010039.jpg

Here's a rather jolie part of the country:

19042010040.jpg

And finally what the route looked like:
    WWBACKK.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well done, super effort Captain Birdseye!

Before I start, I would like to say, please excuse the crap average speed and my lack of cojones. While I was doing this ride, I was thinking about the words I would use here which I have since forgotten.

Easterly wind coming in and the sun shinning, thought I would head to Gorey. The intended journey was Borris, Nine Stones, Carnew, Gorey, Ferns, Kiltealy, Ballymurphy, Thomastown. This route didn't quite work out. I went to Borris, headed on up to the Nine Stones, I'm really happy with how I'm climbing (still cräp compared to everyone else), my new shoes are snug helping me lift the peddles more so than my old shoes. I stop at the Nine Stones to have a drink. There was a fair few cars there, the gates to the mast were open. Everyone just admiring the view then a car drives up and I think in one moment everyone thinks the same: if someone is going to say something, it's going to be to the first car, so a few cars and myself head towards the mast.

As soon as you go through the gates, it starts to get steep. The view is deseptive, from the Nine-Stones you think, meh, it'll take a few minutes but I'd make it until the second you're through the gates, then you know this is going to hurt. I'm thinking this is the steepest thing I'm likely to do for a long time, until: umph, it gets steeper. The road is quite bumpy and a bit of dodging needs to be done which requires effort. I can't fück up, in the time it would take me to clip out I'd be rolling 20kmph backwards, there's no room for error, the legs have to keep turning, no skipping, no stopping. I was going at about 5-6kmph. I get to the top my arms are throbbing, there's a sense of job done until I look down :eek: I'm like a kid who's climbed a tree and then looks down to realise he's 30ft in the air. How in the hell was I going to get down? Due to being a chicken the dodgey road surfaces I decide to go down extra slow, possibly slower than I climbed. When I get back to the Nine Stones, my wrists are böllixed from pulling the brakes. At one point I let go and I hit 20kmph in about a second. When I exit the gates, I think there's something wrong with the bike it's that easy to pedal.

The sun is now hiding as I head towards the Corrabut gap, I'm freezing but my culchie blood has a bit of anti-freeze in it to help me go on. I turn towards the Corrabut Gap but in a moment of stupidity I don't change gear quickly enough and nearly end up on the floor which was narrowly avoided. The road signs have all been rearranged so in my head I was going towards Myshall until I see a sign telling me to go down another road, which I do until I realise I should have followed my head. I pull out the phone, check GPS and decide fück it, I'm underdressed and lost. Head towards Bagenalstown, my average speed is about 17.5kmph I know I need to speed things up but the legs are giving me odd signals. The legs are moving but my body wants to shut down, it was like my legs were fighting my body. Body: "hey lets just collapse in this ditch here, it'll all be over" legs: "are you really that retarded? Lets just get the fück home and quickly"

I stop in Bagenalstown for some food and keep going. I did 94.73kms, 4h37m57s ave 20.4 max 49.2.

I checked www.climbybike.com and it rates this climb as the hardest in Ireland. Mapmyride doesn't have the road to the mast on it so there's no point in throwing that up.

climbybike profile:
    Leinster_Mount_Borris_profile.gif

Look at my new shoes :)
    21042010041.jpg
    Real culchies don't shave their legs :p

On top of the World the hill.
    21042010042.jpg
    21042010043.jpg21042010044.jpg21042010045.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Jaysus! I said it once and I'll say it again you're a machine in man's clothing. A machine!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

coolbeans wrote: »
    Jaysus! I said it once and I'll say it again you're a machine in man's clothing. A machine!
    A hairy-legged machine

Beasty wrote: »
    A hairy-legged machine

I know. I hope he was wearing shorts or something when taking those pics. But you know what? I know he wasn't...shudder:o

coolbeans wrote: »

Not quite but here is the man machine:

Ah Kraftwerk, suitably Euro:cool:.

First time I've recorded from the door of work to the door of the Menchov centre as I usually measure from after the last set of traffic lights in Carlow to either the ring road or first set of lights by the train station in Kilkenny. Dist 41.41, 1h31m49, ave 27, max 45.9.

Yesterday cycled back to Kilkenny against a strong wind and joined up with the beginners in the club. Good turn out about 30ish. Unfortunately I put the computer back on the bike when I arrived in Carlow this morning so the time and the average is down a bit. I did post it from my mobile on the train this morning but the signal was carp so it didn't register. It did read around 81kms at an average of 27.2 but now reads 83.97kms, 3h10m58, ave 26.3 and max 48.9.

Did a short spin with abcdggs Wednesday. Will post scores as soon as I find the piece of paper I wrote them on. Hopefully I won't find this paper.

Cycled home from work. Wind against me, the drags were sheltering the wind making going up hill a bit of a break for once. 41.37kms, 1h40m59, ave 24.5, max 40.2. Think I'll take it easy next week also.

Spin Home, 41.38, 1h37m24, ave 25.4, max 38.9

Saturday night there cycles home, did 40.57km in 1h23m38, ave 29.1kmph max 45.9. As all my jeans were in Carlow, I had to go into Dunnes Stores looking classy in my leggings and jersey. Picked out a slim fit shirt for the evening, I was looking a damn sight better than a couple of years ago.

Cycle home from work, 41.35 in 1h27m04, ave 28.4, max 40.8. Passed a load of lads from Carlow CC. Stayed in middle ring, wind from NW so across me.

Cycled home from work 41.35km, 1h24m22, ave 29.4, max 42.1. Passed Toblerone (we were going opposite directions). I was above 30kmph average until the railway bridge on the way in there at Purcells Inch, this is entirely Toblerones fault as I had to slow down to wave at him as we passed and broke my rythem :rolleyes:

Had a half day so took a long way home. Carlow, Bunclody (via a wrong turn) stopped for food in Bunclody as I hadn't eaten anything all day then onto Kiltealy which is long but not steep ascent, bit of climbing to be done after Kiltealy and a fast descent into Ballymurphy, took the left after Ballymurphy up another hill onto Graiguenamanagh over Coppanagh, quick descent into Thomastown and home. Had a cold sweat but wasn't feeling too bad.
    103.01km, 4h22m45, ave 23.5, max 50.2.
    cwkiltealykk.jpg

All you hethens who don't love the baby Jesus, I've just saved your asses as hell must have frozen over: I climbed in the middle ring. Did the Kanes Bridge, Comer, Muckalee route. New wheels and pedals were finally put on the bike. Strong wind against me and when I got to Kanes Bridge I was averaging 20kmph. Turn left and I'm on to one of the funnest roads in Ireland, it's a wide back-road with low traffic. While on the road, I was thinking that the cleats had far too much float and that I should tighten the pedals when I get home. We get to Comer, there's a queue of traffic which I thought was due to pedestrian crossing but as a filter through it becomes apparant that it's a funeral. I'm in full liquigas so I don't think overtaking a funeral would be appreciated. I go to clip out and I nearly have to twist my knee 180 to clip out, then I realised the cleats were loose. Tighten the remaining two nuts, this also happened the last time I put look cleats on the new shoes. Pegged it in the Kilkenny road, up to Muckalee and after that it happened, I powered up the hills in middle ring in an effort to get the average closer to 25. Another delay, a horse, I go wide, make myself known to the rider and she becons me on. At Ballyfoyle I'm delayed again as I see a clubmate looking like he's in trouble, so I stop but he tells me he's waiting for someone to come for him. From Ballyfoyle to the golf club I don't go below 40, spinning on the big ring. Scores aren't great, 51.6km, 2h05m07, ave 24.7 max 53.3.

Cycled home last night. 41.49km, 1h13m16 ave 33.7 (dropped near the end) max 50.2.

I forgot my computer so I turned on sportstracker which had me lost before I even left Carlow :( It was going to be a good result and all :( I did about 46km in 1h33 ave 29.7kmph.