Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highs/Lows 2009

• 02-12-2009 1:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭

So what are your highs and lows of 2009.:)
    Here are a few of mine.

Lows:
    Getting divorced
    Working too much
    Being broke

Highs:
    Getting divorced
    Meeting my bf
    One of my best friends asking me to be her birthing partner
    Moving to the country with my dogs
    Meeting new friends
    My dad coming over to visit me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Lows:

Was a little Depressed for a while.
    Not being able to move to Dublin.
    Not getting Drunk nearly Enough.
    EDIT: Just remembered, the worst one.....being told by a girl that she was Preggers when she wasn't at all!! Told on the 2nd January while still hungover....took her 6 days to tell me she wasn't...the longest, scariest 6 days of my life TBH.

Highs:
    CArlow in February to see The Corona's, Spent 48 hours drinkin! :)
    Electric Picnic, I rocked it on one of the Dance Stages and was paid for it!
    Scored a rather Good number of girls I think :)
    Gained some funny stories.
    Lanzarote, because I got some great half naked pictures of me.
    My Confidence has gone through the roof! :) I am borderline cocky now! :)

That's it TBH, this year wasn't that good and went by quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Highs:
    Had an amazing holiday to Italy with my boyfriend, one of our best ever.
    Getting my contract at work renewed for another year when everyone around me seemed to be losing their jobs.

Lows:
    Broke, mostly my own fault and seriously regretting that now.
    Think I'm about to / have to break up with aforementioned boyfriend of 10.5 years as its becoming clearer everyday that we want very different things from life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

lows:
    best friend murdered.

highs:
    finished college.
    3 months away in chicago.
    made some great new friends.
    got a 1.1 in college.
    got a job.

thing is, I'd trade all the highs + more to cancel out that low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Lows
    Being in serious debt
    Mate died of heart attack
    Family issues

Highs
    In New Zealand
    First ever nephew
    Started college again and making some pretty damn amazing friends

I too would cancel out all highs forever just to have my mate back.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

Lows:

Leaving Japan (After 6 months teaching there), in August to come home.
    Dad losing his job (like countless others).
    Not Knowing if I can stay here in Spain for another 6 months (soon to be rectified me hopes).

Highs: What can I say, it's been a very good year!

Going to and travelling around Japan, living and working there, unbelievable experience. Countless memories that I will have forever.

Being at home for just long enough to catch up with friends and family and get bored again, then off to Spain til Christmas. Loving it!

Making great friends from both countries, that I will hopefully have for life.

Having the opportunity to have these experiences.

Passing another great year with all of my family and friends still around me.

P.S. Sorry about your friend Creamy Goodness *Hugs*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Highs:

Moving in with my boyfriend.
    Amsterdam with him, Tenerife with my mom and Edinburgh with my friends, good year for hollydays!
    Taking baby steps towards setting up my own business, getting there...
    Getting my cat, who I got through Boards! He was going to be put down if no one gave him a home.
    Realising how brilliant my boyfriend is, he looked after me so well during one of the lows.
    Became even closer to my Mom, didn't think it was possible.

Lows:

Watching two of my best friends bury loved ones, I wish more could be done to help people suffering from depression. Holding my friend while she screamed and cried beside her boyfriends coffin was the single most awful feeling ever.
    Being sick for two months, struggling every day to get on with work and not cry from frustration that I wasn't getting better, and it ruining the first few months living with my boyfriend.
    Hating my job and being bullied by my boss, but hopefully outta here in 2010!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Low:
    Long periods of unemployment after finishing college.

High:
    The birth of my nephew.
    Passing my exams in college. That was a first.

Overall, a pretty good year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Lows: My brother's death.

Highs: Getting a job
    Moving abroad and loving it
    Having a rain free summer.
    My oh moving over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

highs

Finding 50 euros in my car.
    Not being a fvcked up as I once was.
    learning about this thing called satisfaction and stuff.
    Being able to hug my old man again.. for some time i went very distant.
    Not smoking weed in over 15 months which to me is one fo my biggist regrets and
    acomplishments...
    My circle of friends.

low's........
    Not going snowboarding.
    figureing out thats some things should just stay in the past even if its something you really want. but kinda good to.
    biggist low, faragh factitt dieing she was one of my pin ups....
    (whats going to happen when rachel welsh dies...:eek: )
    I dunno as yeasr go this was one of self discoverey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Highs
    Getting my contract at work, after years of freelancing
    Getting fit and losing weight
    Getting my licence and car
    Re-connecting with an old friend and visiting her in Amsterdam with my best friend
    Meeting one of my best friend's brand new daughter for the first time!
    Lots of family time this year

Lows
    Nothing major, thank God. I suppose when New Year's Eve hits I'll be regrettful that I didn't push harder at work or follow through with some half-hearted plans to go travelling.
    I feel I should have gone further in my career in 2009 and should have sorted myself out a bit more, but I guess that's what New Years Resolutions are all about!
    I definitely worked too much this year though

But not a bad year, all in all.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Lows -
    • My dad developing cancer and nearly dying
    • Feeling in a rut with my job and place in the world for most of the year
    • Feeling lonely
    Highs -
    • My dad getting better and now on the road to recovery! :)
    • Finally learning how to drive - it's such a great feeling
    • All the festivals and gigs I went to during the year, all of them were great for different reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

coconut5 wrote: »
    Lows -
    • My dad developing cancer and nearly dying
    Highs -
    • My dad getting better and now on the road to recovery! :)

That's good to hear.

Lows:
    • Being constantly Broke
    • Always having college assignments piling up on me
    • Mam getting a pay cut (Made household moral come to an all time low)
    • Falling out with two good mates
    • Grandad always being ill (He's not gonna make it much longer)
    • Still single
    Highs:
    • Oxegen (What a weekend)
    • Falling out with two good mates (I'm much happier without them)
    • Getting a Job in T'summer
    • Losing that job and getting another better one
    • Finishing 1st Year in college
    • Making some cool new boards friends
    • I wasn't ill at all, so GOOD HEALTH!!!
    • No Deaths in my family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Lows
    -Being broke constantly
    -Putting on so much weight and not being able to shift it
    -Stress of my A levels
    -Moving out of home
    -Nearly losing my job!

Highs
    -Getting into UCD :D
    -Moving in with himself
    -Getting good exam results
    -Meeting new friends and staying close to old ones
    -My family moving into a new house
    -Going to Australia! (Granted I havent done that yet but I will)

To all the people that have lost someone this year, my condolences.

You always think you're bad until you hear about someone elses hardships.

Biggest regret of 2009 - not studying hard enough for my exams - I got where I wanted but only just!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Highs:
    This song!

Going to Wacken to the best festival ever!
    Having a non stop party from January to May in college with 5ive as the theme of it!
    Meeting my GF =]
    Finally running 10km!
    Having a bunch of the coolest best mates ever!

Lows:
    Fecking up college and leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Oooh this is going to be a long one, been a bit of a mad year!

Highs:

-Graduating with my 2.1 honours in Media and Production Management - was a long year between work and college and no grant and I thought at one stage I wouldn't get it finished - but I did, yay! I had my Aunty and my two best friends with me and it was one of the best days of my life :)
    -Realising just how amazing my friends actually are, they listened to all my rants throughout the year but also didn't hesitate to tell me to shut up and get on with it when I needed to!
    -Getting a job I love straight after my course finished, after doing interviews in the middle of my freaking exams!
    -Getting a tax rebate of 2k; after a year of worrying about money 24/7 it really really lifted my spirits!
    -Getting over my dentist phobia (after about 15 years!)
    -Becoming alot more confident
    -Getting two of my best friends together (and they're still all loved up! ) :)
    -Having my Aunty stay with me for a week and finally having the money to treat her to thank her for being the amazing person that she is. We went out to see this house she used to work and live in 40 years ago and they let us in to look around and everything! I took a photo of her outside the house and she's delighted with it, it made my year to see her so happy. She never thinks about herself and she's been a mother to me all of my life, I'll never be able to repay her but I'm damn well going to try!
    - Getting my tattoo, I love it!

Lows:
    -Constantly worrying about money during my course, getting into serious debt, and thinking in March I'd have to drop out of college. I've never been as stressed out in my life as I was then, honest to god.
    - Limited nights out during col due to lack of time and lack of funds!
    - My Aunty being in hospital, freaked me out alot because it made me realise she's getting older :(
    - Family problems
    -Worrying about one of my best friends because she was extremely depressed for a while.
    -An ex who turned out to be a compulsive liar and complete and utter bolloxhead and a few guys who weren't quite up to his par but still wrecked my head a bit!
    - Losing my camera at my Grad

Overall I think it was one of the hardest but also one of the best years of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

Lows:
    • A close family memeber of my OH's passing away suddenly, we were both very close to him, and miss him every day since.
    • My poor OH going through so much grief in one year
    • Being so screwed over and taken advantage of, by very bad evil people in business, lost too much money, time and sleep
    • Having month after month of no excess money
    • Friends not understanding the no money thing
    • Living day to day for most of the year
    • Family member falling off the wagon...again.
    Highs:
    • Through adversity becoming even closer to my OH, who is most definitely the one, for better or worse!
    • Becoming self-employed and having so much work satisfaction, even if I'm not rich...yet :)
    • Planning my only sisters wedding
    • Everyone else coming down the standard of living I've been accustomed to since being unemployed then self-employed, and things getting cheaper as a result.
    • Getting to go to Spain with the OH after the hardest time ever, and really relaxing for the first time in months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Lows
    - College
    - New manager in work
    - College
    - Death of a family member
    - College
    - Constantly being broke
    - ...College

Highs
    - College
    - Any new friends I made, and all the great ones I have
    - Having a job
    - Didn't get drunk once over the year!
    - Bob Dylan at the Point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Highs so far this year: Qualified as a masseur with over 82% in all of my exams this year, Running the Dublin Marathon in under 4hrs (my first one) my classmates...ledgebags always good times to be had:D Going to Planetlove, seeing Metallica and Black Stone Cherry, spending some of my summer in various counties while having good good times with other boardsies:) Meeting many other new boardsies at beers, catching up with a good friend after 10 months with little contact. Taking up hurling and now doing very well at the end of my first season:) And now the few lows: not taking as many chances in life with both opportunity and women, saying dumb shi* to people i care about, not being able to buy a ticket for Muse this year(fave band) and living on a student budget sucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Highs
    1. Finishing my degree with a 2.1, proudest moment of my life so far!!
    2. One of my closest mates had a baby this year, the first in out group. She's a beauty!
    3. My best mate got married in August, I was a bridesmaid.
    4. Started taking better care if myself,got some nice clothes, wearing more make up and just feeling better about myself
    5. Decided that me and the BF would move in together as soon as I could afford it (probably be next year)
    6. Went to Croatia with my mam,had a blast

Lows
    1. Being stressed out up until May from college, it was the hardest year of my life
    2. My granny going into a home after a bad fall, luckily she's doing grand now
    3. Not being able to find a job:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭maherro

Lows:
    -disappointed with my final degree result (II-II)
    -being unemployed throughout the summer
    -Family member v. v. sick, really doesnt look like they're going to get better
    -stress over my inability to get my s*** sorted
    -constant lack of money

Highs
    -Really learning who my friends are
    -getting my masters
    -doing really well in entrance exams to medicine
    -finally moving out of home

Altogether Ive had better years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

lows :

Family issues
    loosing my job

highs:

Realising i have the best family in the world,and when **** was thrown at us throughout the year we looked after eachother. even if somedays they annoy the crap outta me :P

Having three of the best friends anyone can ask for.. and having some pretty crazy nights out with one of them.. love them to bits

Letting go of past issues, and finally being happy

I know it sounds very cliche but it has been the worst and best year of my life so far..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Highs :

- Went to New York with my mam. Firstly, I've always, always wanted to go to NY so it was great to get to go.
    More importantly though, had such an amazing time with my mam. It was really nice to spend time, just me and her and I'll always remember it. We weren't always that close but it's been getting better and better and that week just made me realise how lucky I am.

- Dropped outta college and decided to repeat a LC subject so that I can do the course I actually wanted to do in the beginning, Medicine.

- Passed my driving test in February.

- Living with Anna Molly 'til September, we had some good times. I really miss her now. (2k8/2k9 alz n 4evzz haha!!! :))

- Another year with my grandad. The icing on my cake :)

Lows :

I'm not gonna mention any because I think it's better to focus on the positive aspects :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Highs:

I got to work in a publicity department of TV company this summer. It was amazing, I learned so much and it was a great experience.

I've made some really great new friends this year. They know who they are and I'm always thankful for their support and loyal friendship.

I stood up for myself and gave a friend some harsh, but truthful advice, over the summer. This resulted in us not speaking for months, which was incredibly hard. Last week, she text me and thanked me for being honest with her. I'm glad I went with my gut and have helped her, even if it took a while for that to be realised.

Despite some tough times, my sister is loving her college course ... I'm very proud of her.

My brother made the U19 Munster rugby squad, even though he's only 16. Seeing him play in the old Leinster stadium this year was fantastic.

I started opening up to my parents about my personal life a lot more and found that it's made our relationship much stronger. I couldn't ask for two more supportive, better parents. They're amazing.

A text from my dad on my 21st Birthday. I'll always remember it.

Things started to go right, on the romance front. Before this year, I was a complete and utter disaster! So happy that I've had some good experiences now.

Many, many excellent nights out with my friends (More in 2010!)

Lows:

People breaking my trust.

Caring too much about what other people think and allowing myself to get upset over their opinions.

Fighting with friends.

All in all, it has been an amazing year. I've had a lot of fun and any of the negatives have been forgotten, resolved or moved on from. I look forward to 2010, a new chapter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Lows:
    -Disappointing Leaving Cert results,and having to repeat.
    -Losing many friends.
    -One of my closest friends being sick and nearly dying twice this year.
    -Couple of deaths in the family.
    -The disastrous start I had repeating.
    -Prevailing loneliness for a long time.

Highs:
    -Disappointing Leaving Cert results making me realise that I have potential and I can get what I want in life if I try. I am in control,and I think that the disappointment was a very well disguised present. I'm so glad I didn't go to college,because settling isn't my style and I have another chance now.
    -My friend recovering each time <3
    -Making new friends and realising just how much deadweight I had in my life.
    -Learning SO MUCH about myself.
    -Settling into school and excelling.
    -Realising what's important. And none of that was what I was chasing before.
    -Realising how lucky I am,in so many ways.
    -Realising who I really care about and finding out just how much one or two people care for me.
    -For probably the first time,excitement in the face of the future :)

It's ironic,up until a month or two ago,I thought 2009 was a disaster. But I was looking at it in totally the wrong way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Highs.

Going on the best holiday of my life with the love of my life.
    Doing a good bit of travelling around Europe to various gigs.

Lows

Being dumped by the love of my life. I'd sell my limbs to get him back :(
    The crushing depression caused by being dumped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Lows
    Moving away from Ireland

Highs
    Moving away from Ireland
    Getting to go on hols to the one country I've always wanted to visit, and having it surpass expectations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Lows:
    - My granny's health rapidly deteriorating
    - My laptop dying and not being able to afford a new one

Highs:
    - Graduating from my Masters and therefore finishing college finally after 6 long years
    - Getting a job (albeit a temporary one) with a great company immediately afterwards that is really good for my CV
    - Went back to New York for 2 weeks
    - Seeing Kerry Ellis's final Wicked :)
    - Am going on holidays to London next week
    - Decided to move to London with friends (seriously cannot wait)
    - My family. Just 'coz.
    - Our new kitten :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Lows
    • Finding out my Dad has as an ongoing heart problem
    • My Grandad dying suddenly
    • My Uncle dying after a year of being ill
    • Finding out I need about €2,500 to fix my boiler
    • Having a good chunk of my take home pay taken away
    • Being ill and needd 2 courses of Steroids and Antibiotics to clear it
    • Starting to hate my job
    :(

Highs
    • Having the most fantastic first year living with my Boyfriend
    • Finally having the house to ourselves
    • Being at the Semi Final and Final of the Heinekein Cup
    • Having some lovely breaks in Ireland with the Boyfriend
    • Celebrating our first anniversary in style...:D
    • Having a job
    • Finding out I'm going to be an aunt.
    • Telling some toxic people where to go finally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Highs:

• Graduating top of my class - I worked incredibly hard for it so I really was extremely proud of myself for it! :cool:
    • Getting a very good job, the money's not great but if I pass all my exams I have job security for the next three years, and that counts for a lot.
    • Having some good times with all my old friends; making some new friends; and getting a certain toxic friend out of my life - and even better, out of the country - hopefully for good.
    • Having some good times with my amazing fiance, he really is the best in the world.
    • All is good with my family.
    • Just looking back over the year, I can think of so many happy memories and jokes and nights out and fun stuff in general ... nothing too major, but it's the little things that count! It was, I suppose, a fairly uneventful year in a way, but still a really good one, if that makes any sense!!

Lows:

Well, to be honest, compared to the other posts on this thread any "lows" I had are really too pathetic to even mention! No one close to me has died either this year or ever (fingers crossed, touch wood etc), I haven't had any major disappointments or regrets that I can think of.

The only thing that sucked a little was not being able to get a job for the five months between finishing college and starting my "grown-up" job, that was crap because I got no holiday at all, I missed lots of nights out etc due to lack of funds, and I got into a bit of debt - nothing major at all, and totally manageable, but I'd still rather not have.

Oh and also I'm not liking where I'm living at the moment, should really have been a bit more clued in when looking for somewhere to rent, but I'm out of here after Christmas so it's all good.

But yeah, basically the highs far outweighed the lows. Funnily enough though, when I think about it, the year from summer 2008 to summer 2009 was by far the best year of my life - I don't think anything could beat it ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Highs

1. My salon being open a year :)
    2. The salon going from strength to strength
    3. My niece starting school
    4. My brother getting married to the woman of his dreams
    5. Breaking away from a cnut of a friend:confused:

Lows

1. Loosing too many to suicide
    2. Falling out with my dad
    3. Loosing touch with friends
    4. Not being able to say no to people and turning into a doormat

2010 is gonna be much better - Im gonna make sure of that :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Highs;

Finding out more about myself

Lows;

Finding out more about myself :)

To do;

Make the same list this time next year more a high on the first point. Though I am quite a different person now than I was this time last year. In subtle ways of course, but defo different. In a good way.

EDIT PS princess-lala fair play for building a biz. Even more so considering the times. It's not easy at the best of times. Kudos. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

Highs:
    Gettin an amazing DIP
    Learning to drive
    My first year working in a real job
    Everything that involved my BF or my mates
    Amazing sporting moments like Grand Slam win, Beating Man U twice in one year and meeting Brian O Driscoll

Lows:
    Doin the foooooooooooooooooooooooooookin DIP.
    Breaking my back.
    Not gettin the job after working my ass off all year....
    The bank being idiots repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

The majority of this year has been a bit meh, but November was pretty cool! Not dwelling on any negatives anymore, if I can help it. Positivity all the way.

Three main highs:
    Won an award in work, which was totally unexpected.
    QOTL. Best weekend in a long time. Even if someone did steal the new wipers off my car and replace them with banjaxed ones, and attempt to steal my hubcaps. Little Offaly feckers!
    Passed my driving test.

Roll on 2010!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Novella wrote: »
    Highs :

- Living with Anna Molly 'til September, we had some good times. I really miss her now. (2k8/2k9 alz n 4evzz haha!!! :))

Man, I miss living with you.

Highs:
    • End of college, before summer
    • Living with the Oof!
    • Calvin Harris + FINALLY hooking up with a friend
    • A future high: I'm going away for Christmas.
    • Getting out of a ****ty relationship

Lows:
    • My friend died in February.
    • Recent depression, boooo-urns.
    • College work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

Whats your best moment of 2009? It can be funny, embarrassing or just sentimental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Got my momo bike this year.. best moment was filtering between traffic on the way home one night,I banged down a gear too enthusiastically and the font wheel went airborne, I passed about six cars before I could wrestle the front wheel back onto the road.

It was very scary at the time but luckily the helmet covered the scared look on my face.. and even more lucky was that I managed to put the front wheel down without crashing.

It must have looked awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭DancingDaisy

Graduating with a first, driving to Glendalough without killing myself or my passengers, realising I have the best friends in the world, and going on my first holiday in six years :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

mine was a fun moment. Was in NY only for a couple of days, literally with a friend. While I was there one of my best friends was also there with friends, so we planned to meet in the middle of times square. So surreal being in times square with my friends and just going out for dinner with them :) Then proceeded to go out, get drunk, find money and head back to the hotel :)

lovely fun moment of 2009 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

have to say electric picnic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

The Ladies Lounge turning into the Reeling in the Years forum was a particular highlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Highs;

-Realising I didnt fail miserably in the Leaving (Did a lot better than I though I would)
    -Reconciling with a lot of my year in school, not friends, but I dont hate them now.
    -Hurt (Nine Inch Nails) at Oxegen, words fail me.
    -Making some new great friends (And a certain someone).
    -Getting job(s)
    -Starting college
    -Realising what I'd kinda like to do in later life.
    -My dad getting another job after nearly a year

Lows;

-Missing my course by 5 points
    -Family being sick in general
    -Immediate family being asshats
    -Starting college
    -One of my jobs
    -Money in general prior to employment......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

have to say electric picnic :)

Have to agree totally!! :) Was absolutely class!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Hmmm, there's been a few highlights and typically I can't think of any but one that comes to mind was kissing Lovefoxxx on the cheek:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

a impromptu bbq hosted by my friend that i mentioned in the other thread before i flew off to chicago the next morning. it was the last time i saw him.

he had kept it under wraps that he had a girlfriend for a couple of months with no one having an idea. i made an assumption that he was seeing one of the people at the table and i was right and he spilled the beans to me in a msn conversation whilst i was killing time at heathrow for my flight to chicago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Lows:

-depression (been going on for years)
    -loosing a few friends because of my own inability to feel comfortable
    -being broke (I owe money and I don't think I can afford the car insurance in january)
    -thinking there was something really wrong with one of the cats health, I thought I would of had to give him away
    -feeling completly lost in life
    -feeling alone
    -still being in love with him and knowing I'm never going to see, hear or talk to him again, it's been over two years since he died

Highs:
    -adopting a three legged cat
    -taking in the other cat and making him better (health and personality)
    -having a car and driving (and everybody saying I took to it like a duck to water)
    -getting car fixed
    -Andy talking like a fortune cookie
    -deciding after I took in the cat to go back to college and study vet medicine
    - future one finding the kitten his home (I got posters)
    -I was voted as second secretary for next year which means I didn't do a bad job this year even if I didn't have to do much.
    -the ploughing was fun, got lots of free stuff, got drunk for free got in for free got free perfume
    -the exhibition went well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

Hearing my little girl call me mammy for first time:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Highs:
    • Our baby son, due in March/April next year
    • My husband for always making me smile no matter how tough things get
    • Going onto yearly scans for the re-occurence of my cancer from Feb and getting the all clear last Feb
    • Finally putting on some weight
    • Renewing our vows this Christmas (was very ill the first time)
    • My brother getting serious with a lovely Cork girl
    • My new nephew
    • Adopting a baby seal called Bart up north and seeing that he will be released soon
    Lows:
    • 5 miscarriages this year, we still miss all of them
    • the crash that we witnessed in February (we were about to cross the road at a crossing and someone had stopped their car, another car went plowing into them and pushed the car 50M, we could have been killed, as was it was upsetting)
    • dad being ill
    • Shane being ill
    • being broke

Whitewater rafting, through awe inspiring canyons, on a crystal clear emerald green river in Bosnia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭frizzefreckles

the entire weekend surrounding my wedding in august but prob the best moment was realising i had made it up the aisle without falling flat on my face :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Highs:
    Finishing my BSc with a 2:1, and being accepted onto a masters course
    Running the Dublin Marathon, and finishing in a time that was better than my pie in the sky goal of 4:30 (I ran it in just under 4:25).
    (don't laugh) Seeing Lordi in the Button Factory, never thought it was possible to set off so many fireworks indoors!

Lows:
    Being so miserable when I got a job in Galway that I moved home less than a month after I started it
    Being broke all the time
    Having an abscess under a tooth 1 week before my semester 2 exams, having to have the tooth extracted, and then having an allergic reaction to one of the antibiotics I had to take
    Missing the Opeth gig in October because I had so much college work due that week