Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Chickflick/romcom?

• 29-11-2009 1:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭

Possibly the film forum is a better forum but I'm trying to find a ladies opinion and where better to look but the ladies lounge :)

I haven't looked at a 'romcom' since the brilliantly awesome "Love Actually" which left me disgustingly all warm and glowy inside as I left the cinema.

Anyway, my GF is back from a long long long time away shortly and we're off to have some alone time and I just want to bring a couple of 'nice' movies along. The problem is my idea of a great movie is Aliens, Predator and Rambo 4 so I'd really really REALLY appreciate it if I could pick your brains for some romantic movies to take along where the two of us can snuggle up for an hour or so and I'm really struggling to think of any movies.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

My favourite movie is Primer. My next favourite is Dog Soldiers, and after that it's full metal jacket.

I liked Sliding Doors, I suppose. Might be a bit dated now. And it has a teeth grittingly annoying montage bit in the middle. But are you looking for a romantic movie she'd like? Cos you mentioned you liked Love Actually, but didn't say whether she did or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Silverfish wrote: »
    My favourite movie is Primer. My next favourite is Dog Soldiers, and after that it's full metal jacket.

I liked Sliding Doors, I suppose. Might be a bit dated now. And it has a teeth grittingly annoying montage bit in the middle.

Also, I think this thread violates the charter a bit.

Oops thread violation I wasn't looking for even if Dog Soldiers (brilliant as it is) wasn't the kinda movie I was looking for :P

*goes to look belatedly at the charter*

EDIT: No, THink I'm okay charterwise... *crosses fingers*

2nd EDIT: No, just looking for ideas. Since Love Actually I've been totally romcom free. I just want nice movies, if she doesn't like it she doesn't like it and same for me. I just have no idea of anything decent in the genre that has been been released since or in fairness there may be gems before that I don't know about. One of my faves for example from way way back is Ladyhawke. I think that movie is brill :D

Just pointing out that assuming all women look at romcoms might not be an accurate assumption.

Any idea what films she does actually like,so people who do know stuff have somewhere to start from? We're not a giant hivemind, you'll need to help us out here.

Ah ladyhawke, loved that movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

I don't think he said all women like romcoms. He just thought he'd get a womans opinion since he is chosing it for a woman. I like 50 First Dates OP. But, I'm a dude...just to let you know...

Just pointing out that assuming all women look at romcoms might not be an accurate assumption.

Any idea what films she does actually like,so people who do know stuff have somewhere to start from? We're not a giant hivemind, you'll need to help us out here.

I appreciat you're not a hive mind but I felt my question was specific enough, Romcoms are hardly a diverse genre and I've really not seen any in a long time.

Maybe it would be better to rephrase the question tooooo:

What's your favorite movie to snuggle up to your other half with along with a bottle of wine ;)

EDIT: Kodh Blokes opinion also fab. *goes to google 50 First Dates*

2nd EDIT: I so have to go get Ladyhawke after remembering it. Ah when he rocks up the church and kicks ass. I'd turn gay for Rutger for just that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

The Notebook
    Romeo and Juliet
    Love Actually
    Moulin Rouge
    Dirty Dancing

They'd be a few of my favourites anyways! Very typical girly films

ohhh just remembered The Lake House. Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. I liked it. It's more rom than com. But there are some funnies in there.

My point is this is like me asking "hey lads, what football match tickets should I get my boyfriend" without saying what team he supports.

Anyway, since the question has been rephrased since, it's not an issue.

2nd EDIT: I so have to go get Ladyhawke after remembering it. Ah when he rocks up the church and kicks ass. I'd turn gay for Rutger for just that.
    Ladyhawke is hugely romantic. Rutger's great. Esp the way the bad guy gets killed.
    Bladerunner's a great bottle-of-wine-and-curl-up-on-the-sofa movie too.

My point is this is like me asking "hey lads, what football match tickets should I get my boyfriend" without saying what team he supports.

Ladyhawke is hugely romantic. Rutger's great. Esp the way the bad guy gets killed.

Bladerunner? Ya reckon? That a very off the wall the suggestion. It's possibly a bit dark for the occasion although I'm sure after a spliff and wine we'd be well up for debating its merits :)

EDIT: Rom more than com is grand and Romeo and Juliet is actually a nice one. Can't beat a bit of SHakespeare. Actually, thinking about it a Midsummers Dream is also a great movie....

Yet another edit: lol, I so have to go find Ladyhawke now. :) It's been too long.

Equilibrium's another decent movie that's both soppy and awesome.

Recently I really enjoyed "500 days of Summer". These arent typically romantic, but I really liked Role Models, and I love you, Man too.

If your looking at older films:

The Quiet Man....(Painfully Oirish for some but a true gem. Barry Fitzgerald was a legend!)
    When Harry met Sally.
    Strictly Ballroom.
    Sixteen Candles.
    Some like it how.
    Life is beautiful.
    Preety woman.
    The original Nutty Professor and Cinderfella.
    Pillowtalk.
    Annie Hall.
    Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind.
    Muriels wedding.
    While you were sleeping.
    Daydream Beliver.
    Enchanted.

Edit: I second Bladerunner.

Equilibrium's another decent movie that's both soppy and awesome.

lol, I hope you're not a bloke cos I may be falling in love with you :P

EDIT: Ah now, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind. That's something I've never seen and heard things about.

He specified romcom. Which is a fairly specific genre. Not at all like asking what match should Bring somebody to. Don't know if there's another special special directors cut of Bladerunner, but the version I seen is definitely sci-fi and not romcom.

koHd wrote: »
    He specified romcom. Which is a fairly specific genre. Not at all like asking what match should Bring somebody to. Don't know if there's another special special directors cut of Bladerunner, but the version I seen is definitely sci-fi and not romcom.

Young Harrison Ford = Rosemantic.
    Which reminds me....Sabrina.

koHd, I am posting as a moderator of this forum and giving due warning that 'what will my girlfriend like / want' threads are forbidden by the charter.

The OP rephrased his question.
    What's your favorite movie to snuggle up to your other half with along with a bottle of wine

The thread has moved on.

koHd, I am posting as a moderator of this forum and giving due warning that 'what will my girlfriend like / want' threads are forbidden by the charter.

The OP rephrased his question.

The thread has moved on.

The rules are fair enough. But it did feel you were posting totally irrelevent films to be 'uppity'. for the want of a better word. In my view the OP is still looking for romcoms by the sounds of it.

I suggested a romcomin the very first reply, now if you don't mind, please can we keep this thread on topic, if you have an issue with the charter or moderation, use the pm function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I don't tend to watch rom coms and will happily cuddle up with a guy and wine to watch requim for a dream (or even planet earth, nature documentry) but thats just me, I'm happier watching something I love than something alrightish.

But, 'the science of sleep is good' same director as the spotless mind and the foo fighters video for everlong (where Taylor dresses as daves girlfriend)

Maybe 'down with love' (only because I like looking at Ewan McGregor and I've a thing about old and old style movies, nomatter how crap they are)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

You seem to really like Love, Actually so why not go with that? It's the perfect rom com for this time of year.

Other snuggle worthy Rom Coms:
    Notting Hill
    While You Were Sleeping - I love the family in it. :D
    You've Got Mail
    Made of Honor
    My Best Friends Wedding
    13 Going on 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Young Harrison Ford = Rosemantic.
    Which reminds me....Sabrina.

Ye gotta love indiana jones, half of the crystal skull one he's running around with his shirt ripped open (if h'es even wearing one.

But as for Sabrina the 50's one with Audrey Hepburn is much better, it's classier with better acting. Actually nearly all her films would be great (the nun one made me cry:o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I'm not into chick flicks at all but the following I will watch

- Bridget Jones (the first one. Colin Firth makes me go all gooey)
    - Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind (excellent film)
    - High Fidelity
    - About a Boy

- em, em......ok, thats all I've got! :D

Might I suggest you also chuck a couple of horrors and comedies in too. There's only so much mush even us wimmin folk can take.

Faves would be Little Miss Sunshine, The Hangover and Dylan Moran live. Fave horrors would be Pans Labyrinth and The Orphanage, with some oldies like Psycho or The Hitcher thrown in.
    I think horrors are the best for snuggling up on the sofa with. I love them but can't watch them alone and all my girlfriends hate horrors so I haven't seen a good one in months! Nothing like fear to bring out the ould lust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I'ma say this once.............

When Harry Met Sally.

ash23 wrote: »
    Nothing like fear to bring out the ould lust!

ROFL :)

Oddly my missus doesn't get scary movies and isn't frightened by them. I'm the one hiding under the pillow normally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

The Graduate.

/end thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smoggy11

Orla K wrote: »
    Maybe 'down with love' (only because I like looking at Ewan McGregor and I've a thing about old and old style movies, nomatter how crap they are)

If you like this watch "pillow talk" with Doris Day and Rock Hudson :) Down with love is a complete rip off of this movie and pillow talk was so much better.

OP if theres different kinds of romcoms... It depends on whether your OH would rather be sitting down to something like 27 Dresses (great film by the way) or calamity Jane, which is what I'm going to be doing on this wet and miserable day! Nothing like a wee Doris to cheer you up :D

The Princess Bride! That's a lot of rom and com.

And Grosse Point Blank was another good one.
    Am I showing my age now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

True Romance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Am I the only person who loved the holiday? Good for this time of year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

My personal favourites inlcude:

Love Actually
    Chocolat - can't go wrong with Johnny Depp and Chocolate!
    When Harry Met Sally
    Moonstruck
    Pretty Woman
    Practical Magic
    Runaway Bride
    How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days
    The Man Who Cried
    Tristen & Isolde (uber romantic)
    Before Sunrise & Before Sunset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Fave horrors would be Pans Labyrinth and The Orphanage, with some oldies like Psycho or The Hitcher thrown in.
    Pans Labyrinth isnt a horror :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

The Wedding Singer - so cute, funny and quirky.
    27 Dresses
    Bridget Jones's Diary

Those'd be my faves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

- Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind (excellent film)
    !

Grrrrr, Not a chick flick by any stretch TBH!! One of the best film's I have ever seen!!

And Grosse Point Blank was another good one.
    Am I showing my age now?

Cusack at his best TBH, that's a very very enjoyable film!! :)

My own favourite Chickflick is "Sisterhood of Travelling Pants", "The Banger Sister", Anything with Mondy Moore :D,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

+1000000 to that. One of my favourite childhood films of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Pans Labyrinth isnt a horror :confused:

Not a horror in the "saw" sense of the term but parts of it freaked me right out. It's more fantasy but come on! The child eating monster is the stuff nightmares are made of! The Orphanage is the same guy, not horror in the "argh!" sense of horror. It's all atmosphere and creepiness and build up and very little gore. Those are the best horrors, they're the ones that keep you awake at night!

Grrrrr, Not a chick flick by any stretch TBH!! One of the best film's I have ever seen!!
    Not really a chick flick but it is about love and romance. Just intelligent ;) As close to a chick flick as I can think I can get. I hate chick flicks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭XxXciaraxXx

kateos2 wrote: »
    Am I the only person who loved the holiday? Good for this time of year too.

I LOVE that movie aswell! Jude Law.................. yes please!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Pride and Prejudice (the recent remake with Keira Knightley). Always gets a few tears too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Moonbaby wrote: »
    "500 days of Summer". These arent typically romantic, but I really liked Role Models
    Pretty woman.

Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind.

Enchanted.
    Mackleton wrote: »
    Love Actually

How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days
    shellyboo wrote: »
    27 Dresses
    Bridget Jones's Diary

I will second all of these! and throw in........ *thinks*

10 Things I Hate About You
    Marley & Me
    Stardust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I can't think of them all now but

Love Actually
    My Best Friends Wedding
    Bridget Jones Diary
    Dirty Dancing

would probably be top of my list!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Some of my favourite rom coms:

Heart and Souls
    Bridget Jones' Diary
    Pretty in Pink
    Legally Blonde
    Chasing Amy
    The Proposal
    Pretty Woman
    There's Something About Mary
    My Best Friend's Wedding
    Say Anything
    Grosse Point Blank
    Look Who's Talking
    10 Things I Hate About You

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I love how to lose a guy in ten days! Matthew McConaghy MIAOW!! I love the end when he goes after her on the bike:D

I'm not really a romcom typa girl but the notebook is supposed to be brill (never actually saw in mind you!)

Also, someone mentioned legally blond - one of the funniest films. Love it.

Down with love was mentioned too, great film.

edit, just read silvervixens list, Pretty Woman, My Best friends wedding, Bridget Jones diary - all brill films

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Adelante

Marilyn Hotchkiss' Ballroom Dancing and Charm School
    Le Fabuleux destin d'Amelie Poulain
    Atonment
    The English Patient
    Love in the Time of Cholera

Adelante wrote: »
    Marilyn Hotchkiss' Ballroom Dancing and Charm School
    Le Fabuleux destin d'Amelie Poulain
    Atonment
    The English Patient
    Love in the Time of Cholera

I think Atonement is kicking around the house on DVD somewhere and has never been watched. I think one of her mates lent it to her and it never got given back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

One movie

PRETTY WOMAN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Adelante

I knew there were few more here floatin around
    Aye fond kiss by Ken Loach me likey
    The consequence of love -personal fav
    Gypo with Pauline McLynn great film

and if you like Ken Loach as a director you have to get "Waiting for Eric",
    its not a romcom but its wee bit of a .... gets you right there kinda film
    and its about Le Roi and MUFC if you like, if you dont you still enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Angelandie

The Notebook, definitely one of the best romantic films ever
    27 Dresses
    A Walk to Remember
    City of Angels
    Hitch - very funny
    P.S I love you - is ok book is way better
    The Holiday

All my favourites
    And while they're not exactly rom-coms still good for snuggling up to watch:
    - The Pursuit of Happyness
    - Ladder 49
    and any good Pixar movie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

dirty dancing
    pride & prejudice
    sweet home alabama
    how to lose a guy in 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I hate them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I hate them all.

You obviously haven't seen "Sisterhood of Travelling Pants 1 and 2"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I am a total sap when it comes to chick flicks or anything vaguely sad. They're a great stress reliever really - crying with a purpose!

I adore:
    Dirty Dancing
    Love Actually
    Grosse Point Blank
    High Fidelity
    Being John Malkovitch
    Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
    Amelie
    Pretty Woman
    Romy and Michele's Highschool Reunion
    How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
    Zoolander
    Miss Congeniality
    I am Sam (I wept from start to finish - Dakota Fanning was excellent, even as a tot)
    Pride & Prejudice
    500 Days of Summer
    He's Just Not That Into You
    Garden State
    Muriel's Wedding
    Waitress
    Juno
    Nick & Nora's Infinite Playlist
    The Banger Sisters
    Erin Brockovich
    Baby Mama

I'm trying to think, but my brain is malfunctioning!