Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Is it Now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I took a week or so off running, and am now back into a 8 week HH advanced 10k schedule. Since Hal considers 5 or 6 miles a long run, I'm adding a bit more milage to the program, but the emphasis will be on taking the marathon fitness I have now, and adding some speed. I want to try for a 38:XX 10k soon (current pb 40:40), but the emphasis will be on the imra races this summer, so I'll also be doing some hill specific workouts.

Tue: 8 k with 3k at tempo pace. I'm giving up the garmin for a while, so tempo pace means "bloody fast for 3k".

Wed: 6x400m at mile pace- again, each one felt like it should, as in hard. Jog 400 in between.

Thurs: 5k easy (!)

Fri: 8k easy up a hill.

Sat: Ran the Powerscourt Ridge course, from Crone Woods up Maulin, over and up Djouce, back via Powerscourt. Total 15.5k, over 900m of ascent.
    I ran this with three Kiwis, all experienced distance runners. Lots of cloud and rain throughout the run, more rain as we ascended. This was my first time up Maulin, and I was incredulous when told that it was scaled 3 times during last years 3 lap Uni race- its steepness needs to be beholden to be believed. Nonetheless, the legs felt good going up, first steep hill in a while. We passed lots of walkers wearing ponchos, and drove on up the slow unrelenting climb to Djouce. The rain was coming down harder here, and the wind picking up a horizontal gale, so we first two gladly sheltered on the leeward side of the big rock that marks the summit- waiting for the other two to catch up. There were about 20 walkers huddled there too! Visibility was way down at this stage.
    From there we took off down a great descent, crashing through puddles and over rocks, and it was great fun to continue this long descent while having a bit of a sparring match with my partner. We were matched for most of the way down to the river, but as the stones got larger, his lack of fear showed, and as I pushed on the brakes ever so slightly, he quickly opened up thirty meters on me. I learned an awful lot on how to run downhill from watching his fearless technique.
    We waited for the other two at the bridge, and then made our way up and around the Powerscourt Ridge, which gave up a stunning view of the misty waterfall. Back to the car park, and off to the pub for lunch and talk of running. This was a great route, great run, and I felt I got my mojo back after Rotterdam:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Good to hear you found your mojo :)
    I wish I could have joined ye, even despite the rain. Another time.

I had a bit of DOMS after the weekends climb, so took it handy for a few days.

Tue Gentle strides after warm up.

Thurs 10.5k hilly loop, including 20 mins tempo run. Felt good during this run, went hard up the hills, and was running 3:45min/k for the middle third. Surprised myself in that I was on course for a sub 40 10k at 8k in, because its pretty hilly and I jogged into the first couple of k. However, the object of the run was the tempo session, so I happily slowed over the final couple of k.

Gentle strides in the evening, and a jog, while I was training some kids. About 3k.

(I'm trying to go metric, what with the interweb and all, so I'm going to annoyingly repeat "k" as often as I can, like a child with a new cuss word. K. KKK. kkkkkkkkkkk. M'k?)

Fri 5.25k, including 7x400m speed session. Did these 400's looping round a grassy cattlefield behind my house, very wet and boggy. Between 80-90secs each one, the going was heavy underfoot and there was a hill in the loop, should do me some good for imra running.

Sat 2 may 17k mountain run.

Did a recce of the Ballybraid imra course, one of my favourites. There's a long slog uphill through forest, a climb to the top of Mullacor, across boggy slopes to Derrybawn Ridge (from where you get some of the best views in Ireland), and back across Cullentragh and down to Glenmalure at the finish. Very boggy underfoot in places, so its very easy to lose your footing. I am really looking forward to this race.

Sun 3 May 14k hilly run, aisy enough, just shaking out the legs from yesterday. Started showering rain on the way back: its great to be bald and running in the rain:)

Tue 5th May Easy strides.

Wed 6 I had intended going to the imra race, but a sick child kept me at home, which was mildly frustrating (don't worry, I get the bigger picture!), as I had just got a brand new pair of Salomon Speed Cross2 off road shoes, and was itching to try them out. Got out for 6k or so later, around a muddy forest path (and with some wine in me to "check the grip" as I ran unsteady;)); can I just say THESE SHOES ARE THE BOMB! I felt like I could run up walls in them; great fit, lacing system, they are light, they have some motion control, and the grip is second to none! I went down a fast technical downhill, and was blown away by how steady I was on the feet- no slipping even on mucky corners. The only problem with these babies is they make me go too fast downhill: I now need a new pair of lungs. Can't wait to try them out for real.

Thurs 7 After training some kids (under 5's, very hard to keep their interest up for an hour, I got them to run like Shrek, and then ran out of "magic fast dust" that I sprinkled over each of them), went to the forest to get my weekly 400's out of the way. Last week I did them with uphills, today it was a steady 8x400 on good flat trail. Each one was a second plus or minus 77 secs, happy enough with the progress over the past few weeks I've been doing them. 4k warm down.

Sat Ran a bit of leg 4 WW Relay, then up Paddock Hill and up Scarr. About 12k or so, with a fair bit of ascending. This was my first time up the Scarr route proper; I had run over it last year as part of the Circuit of Glenmacnass, in which I scraped all skin from my heels, owing to ill-fitting wet runners. Four days later, I bandaged up the ankles, and desperately tried to run the Scarr race proper, lasting about 400m before my feet exploded in wet blood, and I limped down for my first DNF:mad:

So I had a bit of unfinished business with this mountain! We were lucky with the day, fresh winds ensured visibility was awesome. Its not a bad trudge up for the first part, but before long you're climbing, and just when you reach one peak, another appears. Also, the wind goes up another notch on the Beaufort scale as you traverse each peak, so what you have in effect is a series of five or six peaks, each of which seems to get harder than the last. A gale welcomed us at the top, but one of my buddies reckoned this was the best view from any mountaintop in Wicklow, and he's been up a few! Hard to disagree: you really feel on top of the world here. You can also see the routes of lots of the better and harder imra races.

The descent is only fantastic, lots of bog and heather to cushion your fall as you gallop down. You know you're a hill runner when you learn the stumble/fall/roll-back-up-again-without-breaking-stride technique! Great run.

Tue 12 May More hill running, did about 12k or so scouting out the first half of my WW relay leg, the 6th one. Smashing sunny day, with a fresh breeze. The climbs not too bad, although I won't be saying this under race conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

That hill running lark sounds wicked. Also thinking of converting all my running to Kms for simplicity ;)

MCOS wrote: »
    That hill running lark sounds wicked. Also thinking of converting all my running to Kms for simplicity ;)

I'm quite happy to leave road running to the "romans" who like to run on a civilized surface and compare time/distance;) , I prefer the overall experience hill running gives you. Recommended for everybody!

(See what one solitary bad road race does for me...):)

I woke up from a dream where I turned up to run this race, and didn't have my compass, so that tells you how much this race has been on my mind:rolleyes:

From the off, ran up the forest path in the company of SJ and Adrian Tucker, for 3k. I was going at a pace that was harder than I usually do in races, but I knew if I could keep it up for 3k, I could "rest" on the walk up open mountain to the top of Mullacor. AT took off when we exited the forest, even though he was walking, he did this sort of powerwalk I gotta learn, he was flying up tha hill. SJ was ahead of me too as we rounded the cairn, and started flying down the boggy slopes towards Derrybawn Ridge.
    Up and down the undulations till the end, and as I ran I was passed by PeterX and Bernard Fortune on their return, four bobtail deer(!) crossing over the ridge, and Cormac O Ceallaigh, who was having a great race. On my return, I managed to catch Dermot Murphy, who was having problems in the mire. The wind against us here was fierce, but by now we were nearing home. Across the heather, I was behind DM along the narrow path, and in fact should have gone past him here (its real hard to resist a rest when your legs are burning!), because C O'C kept putting distance between us.

Along a final climb, no problems, and as I reached the last steep descent, I had no need to look back, I could hear runners catching me. I let rip here, although Cormac was too far ahead to catch, I managed to kill off any challenge from behind. Finished in 7th, a couple of mins behind SJ, a couple of mins faster than last years race despite the heavy going, and if you had offered me any of those three things before the race, i'd have pulled the arm from your socket.

Pity there was no team prize, coz we'd have walked it. Nonetheless, this was a great, brilliant race; this is why I love mountain running so much. :D

Great report. You were quite close to me when I turned at the end of Derrybawn ridge. I daren't look behind me until the final forest stretch as I felt ye guys catching me (in my minds eye). You're a freak to be able to run faster in the conditions today that last year :)

In races like that bright jackets should be compulsory :) I was able to keep AT's orange jacket in view along Derrybawn. I daresay ye guys were able then to have a bead on my yellow skinnyness.

The toughness, muck, wet and fun is a unique mix that hill running gives you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,518 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great result! Is that one of your best finishes or have ya done better?

You're a freak to be able to run faster in the conditions today that last year :)

next year I'll be a superfreak, superfreak, be superfreaky, yoooowww!
    Great result! Is that one of your best finishes or have ya done better?

Cheers Krusty, today was my best result by a country mile. What's good to know too is that I feel I could do better, if I tweak the training a bit. I'm excited about hillrunning.

Mon22k recce of leg 7 WW relay, Ironbridge to Tinahely. I most definitely still had the race in my legs, found it hard to catch my breath on the first uphill. Daithi BC, on the other hand, was in great shape, and bounded along at a handy pace. Luckily, Coillte had felled some trees along a trail, so branches were strewn everywhere, I ran fast through and over the branches, and lay out my stall to Daithi, who walked them rather than twist an ankle. Ha! These are my hills you're in now, boy!;)
    We caught up with SJ and ultraman at half way, and I showed UM the rest of the route while the two speedsters flew away. Great evening for running.

TueEasy strides, laps of grass track.

ThursRan an easy 5k forest run, and was easily goaded into doing it again, so 10k the lot.

SatGot up early, left the car in Shillelagh, and ran to Crossbridge, to meet BeepBeep67 for his recce of leg 8. The fields and trails at the start were the best I've ever seen them, recently cleared of gorse and bushes. The surface was solid enough too. No real climbing involved, just 200m or so of running through cow slop, before you hit the roads for the remainder. Nice run, good to meet a new running partner, and a super fast finish down to the end of the leg. 20k in total.

Mon 25 May

26k or so around and up Annagh Hill. About 10k into my loop, there's a steep climb up the side of Annagh, up grassy mountain (its the tree line opposite The Gap pub, for anyone who knows the area. You have to walk it all the way up, but I was practicing different types of powerwalking, trying to see what was the fastest/most efficient. What I came up with was, rather than walk up with hands on knees, its better to lean forward and droop your arms out in front like a Neanderthal, so your upper body helps with the upward motion. I'll try it out next imra race, and see if I can keep up with the big boys:D

Nice track along the ridge, with fantastic views, and then a fast downhill, incorporating fast ducking under tree branches, great fun. This was my longest run since my last marathon 7 weeks ago, felt ok, but I was glad to get it finished, in about 2hrs 15mins.

Nice running. I was wondering if it was possible to run up that hill alright :). Trust you to do it. Well done.

Tue Couple of laps of a pitch, few strides.

Wed 14k tempo run, i hour duration. Something of a mixture between tempo and fartlek this, I went hard whenever I came to an uphill, also went hard for 10 minutes flat section in the middle. The legs are really getting used to uphills now, pain comes quite quickly, but I seem to be able to run through the pain for relatively long periods. Took it easy on the downhills, I've done enough fast downhills of late.

Thurs 9k. Warm-up, 10x420m between 77-80 secs, warm down. I did these on a grass pitch, barefoot. It was a great feeling to run thus, made my feet feel very light. Set out to do 10, by 5 this was down to 8, at 8 I said just one more, and then lied to myself again, to get in the 10th:)

Sat 30th May

21k. Did another recce of leg 7, this time with a couple of lads from one of the Crusaders team (so I pointed them in the wrong way many times;)). Took it handy enough, I was happy with the ease I was climbing hills, overall a great sunny warm day to be running. At one of the last gates, I hit a branch (was wearing shades so didn't see it in the shadows:cool:) and fell heavily on my shoulder. The arm didn't move at first, and I really thought I'd done damage, but thankfully it was ok after a minute or so- but I'll have a sore shoulder for a while. The first thought as I fell on the ground- I kid you not- was omygodomygod I'm off the team omygodomygod...:D

Leg 6, Wicklow Way Relay report

Standing in the rain, chatting to Ultraman, my Garmin died, and as I put it in my pocket, Slogger Jogger turned the corner. I had given him a tough 60min mission, never expected him to do it, so I ripped off my jacket at Ultraman, slapped hands, and took off. Passed the first runner after 200m or so, then my speciality, went to hurdle a barrier, whacked my foot and tumbled hard, sh*t, get up you moron, and started the slog uphill. I had two recce's done of this stretch, so was pleasantly surprised it was shorter than I remembered. Two days previous my two kids (6 and 4) had run up 1.5k or so, then we held hands and ran down fast ("No Daddyyyy stooooppp runninng....No don't stop running daddy!!!).
    Watched out carefully for the turn into the forest, and started on that slog. Towards the top I saw a runner, and bit by bit ate up the ground between us. Upwards again, and where I would have walked last year, experience helped me run all the way and pass another. The crest came sooner than expected, and soon my legs were taking in a nice run down to the road.
    Managed to run faster here, and I saw two heads on the second uphill ahead. Again, I just kept slogging away, passed one (she put up a fight but I soon had her;)), the other lad I knew I had to get before he interfered with my downhill, so I squeezed the juice out of the legs and passed him before the crest.
    Flew downhill, my new shoes were ideal in grip (Salomon speedcross2), and kept it up until I hit a slight incline, legs wanted to stop here, small though it was, like they were telling me to make up my mind: "uphill or downhill, buddy?" but soon I was over, and started opening the stride again.
    When I hit the steepest downhill, I let rip, faster than I'd gone before, branches brushed aside, each footfall quickly calculated, tried going even faster... this was so much fun! I grandstanded a bit on the final stretch, probably running my fastest ever 100m into the finish, and slapped Daithi on his way. Shouted something American like "I LOVE THIS RACE WAHOOO!!!", but I was so happy. That was my best hill run ever.:D

European Trial, Clohernagh

This uphill only race was a real test. I hadn't managed to recce the course, so was relying on map contours and photos to give an indication... chance would be a fine thing! This run needs to be experienced to be known, end of story.

Signs were ominous when we first got to registration, it seemed as if most of Irelands top hill runners were here, with just a few notable exceptions. Also, those that usually finish races around me, (the rugby-shirted, the porkers, the clean-road-shoe-wearers) were thin on the ground.

The first two k are along a flat tarmac road, and gave a good chance for the field of 50 to stretch out a bit before we hit the narrow trails on the hills. A lot of prior talk had been on tactics- was it better to knock off runners with a fast opener, or sit back and pick them off with a steady run up the hills? In the event, I put the boot down a bit, and passed SJ after a k or so, and moved up the field. I knew I'd suffer a bit later, but then it was hardly going to be a cakewalk for anyone. As we hit the zig-zags and began our ascent, runners started to find their place. I passed a couple of lads who obviously weren't expecting climbs like these, but was passed in turn by a few more. SJ overtook me soon enough, nothing unexpected about that, and I would follow in his wake throughout the race. The ascent wasn't unbearable, although very much tough going, a case of putting the head down and keep motoring upwards. But as we left the trails for more rugged terrain, the incline got harder, and after a while I was walking for stretches. Others around me were doing similar, and for a while any ascending was a mixture of walking the tough bits and jogging when you could. My legs were on fire, and I was breathing as though a young Brigitte Bardot had walked into my life and offered to help with my ascents.

Every time a crest would be mounted, another would present itself, and all the time the gradient was getting worse. A string of runners up ahead were all willing the end to come soon, but it would be a long way yet. Raighne passed me first, and I had nothing in the legs to respond. Next it was Rusty Cogs, and I can truely say I was happy to see him pass me, for it meant that his long spell on the sidelines with injury was past him, good run man. From here to the end it was a matter of just finding the energy to finish. I honestly thought about dropping out, but when I feel like this in a race I take it as showing I'm giving it all I've got. Again this crest would be taken; again another would appear. When would this bloody climb end. All the while, panting runners behind let you know that if you relented a bit, they'd be past you in no time. Finally, finally, the end came, and I was never happier for a race to end. Uphills aren't my strongpoint, so I was overall happy enough with where I ended up, and I have an enormous respect slack-jawed awe for the time Brian McMahon did.

Jogging back down after was very nice, the views are magnificant, in every direction, and the race was worth it for these alone. I got talking to a few runners going down, and the chat about the race, and craic and good humour, you wouldn't get anywhere else. One of the leading ladies was curious about Boards AC, and was lamenting the fact that we don't have a ladies team. This is something that needs to be rectified- if there are any girls reading who fancy a shot at imra (and I accept that healthy, internet-using girl nerds are thin on the ground;)), you have a great chance to form a team that can win team prizes.

Back at the pub, and a sit in the stream, to get some relief for the legs. It wasn't long before talk turned to the final Lenister Championship race in August, which will be a relentless up and down of this Cloughernagh route (obviously pain memories are short memories). Peterx declared that this would be the race of the season, and who could argue with that? To finish off this great day, a couple of pints in the sun, chat and banter with other runners, second mans' Kevin Keane slinky spandex outfit, all for seven bleedin' euro, sure where would you get it? :D

Wed 17th, Scarr

I'm going to have to rename this blog, as I *hate* running uphill lately;).

Arrived early, having parked my car in Laragh and cycled the few kilometers to race start. Bahind me was Enduro, who doesn't know what an internal combustion engine is, and cycled from Dublin. And then went on to win the race in most spectacular fashion:eek:

Went for a warmup with the in-form Raighne, the course was dry and it was a fresh evening for a run. As we gathered at the start, there was a bit of a delay, which caused the anxious bunch of runners to bunch forward. From the off, this bunch hit a bit of a bottleneck and I was pushed from behind, in turn elbowing my way through a few runners who weren't too happy! Up the ascent, I saw SJ beside me, and knew I was going off too fast. The legs hurt from early on, and it was a matter of how long I could keep running. Across the boggy trail, and when we hit the ascents again, a couple of runners started putting a bit of distance between me. I was passed by Mags Greenan here, as I was on Saturday, as she continued her steady run through the field. Legs felt very heavy, and I wanted to drop out, but I told myself I wouldn't walk till I saw others doing so too. When the climbs got steeper I powerwalked, and let distance grow and a couple more slip by me too. I didn't feel too good, but others felt worse, and I managed to pick off a couple of runners who had gone out too fast. Second lady Moire passed me, as did a junior runner, and I was so glad when the summit finally came (actually it came sooner than I had remembered!).

The wind was fierce on the turnaround, and was pushing us right as we ran. No matter, there was a great downhill to come, and I opened up my stride and picked off a runner. Passed by the junior guy (what an amazing talent he is!) and was closing on Moire. She knows these hills well from her recent Wicklow Round completion, and it was to my advantage to be able to follow her racing line. Chasing her took us past another runner, and I passed her on a fast descent. In front there was a pearl necklace of multi-shirted runners on the trail ahead, so it was a matter of running fast and closing the gap. Oops, too fast! I had a great fall running down where I hit the mud with my arm outstretched like Superman when he flies, and travelled prone thus for 20 meters or so, before I climbed back up and resumed striding. Great fun!

On the final downhill, there were a couple of guys ahead of me, we were all travelling at the same pace. Ahead again was another, who I figured was too far ahead to catch. But as soon as this thought passed my mind, I figured I'd give it a try, and really went for it, just opening up my stride and turning the legs over faster, by the gate, I passed one, and kicked for home. I got the other two, and although I was panting, and really glad for the end, I just ran out of track as I was closing on Mags, but she finished before me.

After the race I was knackered, and unsure of how I felt about my performance. I had a decent start, before losing it on the last 2k of climb. I had a great downhill, and had the happy feeling of sprinting past three on the bend for home. If I can find a way to keep plugging away on those last 2k uphill, I'll move up the rankings, but I'm not sure I have it in me to do that.

Great to see and meet so many Boardies out there tonight, and it needs to be said- Enduro, that was an amazing run!

Sun 28th, Lugnacoille 10k hill race

Just arrived in time to register, and got settled for the off. I figured it would be good and dry, so I wore my speedX2, I seemed to remember more grass on Lug from last years race. The plan was to take it handy on the initial climb, and I managed to almost get to the top of Camara Hill without walking. From there it was a matter of run/walk, taking off a few places and losing a few too. I was happy to be in the company I was, and it was interesting to see so many powerwalking- I'm still on the fence as to whats the best option, slow and steady to the top, or run bursts and walk the harder climbs.

At the turnaround, I was feeling pretty good, and was surprised to see Mike Cunningham ahead, he's usually further up the field. But from talking to him later, he was carrying an injury, and was just treating it as a downhill run. He took off over the rocks, no fear in the man, and opened up a fair gap on me- I was a lot more tentative than I usually am over the rocks, but soon came a great grassy stretch where I let loose, and quickly made back the ground on him. However, by this stage, the soles of my feet were on fire- I had been playing in the sea yesterday in a stony shore, and was suffering for it now. No matter, I chased him down and we made a couple of places in doing so.

But when it came time for the final downhill off Camarra, my feet were giving up- every footfall hurt like hell! In retrospect I think more cushioned shoes would have suited better, but these are the choices that are part and parcel of hill runs. I was dreading the stile that would lead to the last stoney trail to the finish, and was passed by three lads here. If I have any running talent of note, its a downhill kick, but alas I had to suffer them passing me and I could not respond. At the finish I tore off the shoes and applied an icepack, and looking at my soles after, they are red raw, and burning me even now.

So in general I was happy enough with the run, and where I was at the end, but have a bad taste from not being able to hold off those last three runners. Sometimes you can come away from a race where you are down the field (like I was at Scarr) but are happy because you managed to pass a few at the sprint finish. Today it was my turn to be passed, and it was not a nice feeling at all:mad: Anyway, I was joking with one of my rivals (Paul Mitchell) after, he remembered not being able to catch me at Ballybraid, and today he made sure he turned the tables! He won't be running CofG, but will do Mount Leinster, so we'll have our "head-to-head" there:D

Of such little battles throughout the field is IMRA made.

Thurs 2 July

25k around Valentia island, Kerry. I woke up early, and headed out just after 5am towards Bray Head, the southernmost tip of this island off the Iveragh peninsula in Kerry. Nice and bright, I had only early waking birds and large scampering hares for company- passing fields full of sleepy cattle and sheep. The views around this area are stunning, across to Portmagee, along the cliffs, all the way to the Skellig rocks. I ran up the hill to the old message house, where cable massages would come in from the States, then up and around the grassy hill, through low cloud and avoiding the steep fall into the Atlantic, which I'll save for another day when I'm feeling suicidal and dramatic.

Back down to the road, and along the back side of the island, looking over to the Blaskets, past the highest point on Valentia (which in true Kerry fashion you need to pay to hike up to:rolleyes:), across to beautiful Glanleam and down to Knightstown, where the red clock tower rang for 7am. Still not a sinner about, excepting the packs of large-legged hares. I smelled rashers frying from some house: the West was finally awake. Another mile on the flat road had me home in time for porridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Thurs 2 July

25k around Valentia island, Kerry. I woke up early, and headed out just after 5am towards Bray Head, the southernmost tip of this island off the Iveragh peninsula in Kerry. Nice and bright, I had only early waking birds and large scampering hares for company- passing fields full of sleepy cattle and sheep. The views around this area are stunning, across to Portmagee, along the cliffs, all the way to the Skellig rocks. I ran up the hill to the old message house, where cable massages would come in from the States, then up and around the grassy hill, through low cloud and avoiding the steep fall into the Atlantic, which I'll save for another day when I'm feeling suicidal and dramatic.

Back down to the road, and along the back side of the island, looking over to the Blaskets, past the highest point on Valentia (which in true Kerry fashion you need to pay to hike up to:rolleyes:), across to beautiful Glanleam and down to Knightstown, where the red clock tower rang for 7am. Still not a sinner about, excepting the packs of large-legged hares. I smelled rashers frying from some house: the West was finally awake. Another mile on the flat road had me home in time for porridge.

Sounds like a nice run

MCOS wrote: »
    Sounds like a nice run

Yeah, it was one of those special runs that you'll always remember:)

Wed 8th July, 20k mountain recce

It was a toss-up today between running a race at Ballinastoe, or doing a late recce for Circuit of Glenmacnass, which will be run this Saturday. In the end I chose the recce, as my back has been a bit stiff lately, and I also want to have fresh legs for the weekend.

I set off armed with map, compass, jacket, whistle, to mimic the race. Took it handy out of the forest, there's a few short cuts that I wanted to test;) (Rules state that you must visit Start-Brockagh West-Tonlagee-Glenmacnass Waterfall-Scarr-Finish, in that order. How you get there is up to you). Once you summit Brockagh, there's a track of sorts to follow, but its very wet and boggy up there, it wasn't long before my shoes and socks were soaking. Tried a few variations that deviate from the straight path, but any advantage in not going over high points has to be balanced by slow running through heather, which is quite high at the moment. Also I went up to my thighs in a couple of bog holes at various points. Tonlagee itself soon loomed large, and I tried to follow deer paths that led to the summit. I'm reading Cormac McCarthys' "The Crossing" at the moment, and I felt I was a character from his book, as I followed their trail, watched by a pack of retreating Sika deer. Anyway, this route wasn't as direct as my straight up climb from last year, and I'm unsure which is the best option to take on the day. (In any case, you'd hardly expect me to show my hand, knowing that Slogger Jogger will read this?;))

I did a bit of scouting once I got to the summit, for the correct path to the waterfall isn't at all obvious, and its very easy to go astray when racing down. Suffice to say that my compass will be in my hand on the top. As I crossed back the summit, I saluted three walkers who had just arrived- kitted out with enough stuff to climb Everest. I always feel a bit uneasy encountering walkers. It's all in my head, but I know I'd feel my walking achievement belittled if I arrived on some summit, with backpack, poles, boots, wooley hat, etc., to find some guy in shorts and singlet who's just ran up it... but I'm probably dwelling on it too much.

The run back was uneventful, just trying a few more routes and weighing them up. The views were awesome throughout the run, lets hope for such visablity come Saturday. Good luck to all running it.

Nice one. Hopefully we'll get decent weather for it. Looking forward to it and I too will have compass in hand at the top, to prevent a reoccurence of last years faux pas.

Ah, I'm feeling generous tonight, so I'll let you know the magic direction is EAST after the summit. Also I placed a line of stones denoting direction to take , a couple of meters past the summit marker.*

*all this info copyright Boards AC, 2009. Not to be used by Rathfarnham, Clonliffe, Crusaders, Sportsworld, or even GEN, should they so lower themselves.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

As I crossed back the summit, I saluted three walkers who had just arrived- kitted out with enough stuff to climb Everest. I always feel a bit uneasy encountering walkers. It's all in my head, but I know I'd feel my walking achievement belittled if I arrived on some summit, with backpack, poles, boots, wooley hat, etc., to find some guy in shorts and singlet who's just ran up it... but I'm probably dwelling on it too much.

they're not thinking belittlement, they're thinking "mentalist" :)