Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Christmas Mega merge thread.

• 11-10-2009 8:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭

Its pretty obvious that the users of AHs want Christmas talked about.
    And that's what this thread is for.

ALL Christmas threads will be merged into this thread, but we would appreciate it if you posted in this thread to start with.

Happy Christmas from the AHs mods!

This thread is not here for people to give out about Christmas threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I <3 Sharpshooter :D

But I <3 Christmas much more.

37 days!!

Today's Christmas eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

ugh. but seriously, are people are not severly disappointed when it actually does come around? I like christmas, but its so hyped up for such a long time, it completely ruins it imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

ugh. but seriously, are people are not severly disappointed when it actually does come around? I like christmas, but its so hyped up for such a long time, it completely ruins it imo.
    Nah man, it depends what you're looking forward to. TBH, I just love the days off, the Christmas tree, the Christmas shit on TV, the lights the family together and I've got no more tests to worry about until summer! :D Also, there's abit of happiness in the air. Lately I'm noticing it's beginning to look alot like Christmas, everywhere I go.
    brummytom wrote: »
    Today's Christmas eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve
    Can't wait for Christmas eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Merry Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I'm looking forward to some unreal Christmas dinner and just being happy at home. We kinda need something in our house to cheer us up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

I cant watch the one where the lad gets his girlfriend a white christmas (vodafone?) :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Yay :D:D

Anyone started shopping yet?
    #Can't wait for xmas dinner!

It's November... :(

(I usually do look forward to it though, but only like a few days beforehand.. .wish i could get excited now. Dunno how some people do it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

SV wrote: »
    Yay :D:D

Anyone started shopping yet?
    #Can't wait for xmas dinner!

I've only 2 pressies bought, way behind where I was this time last year.:(

But my tree is up as are the dec's. \0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Can't wait for Christmas.

I hope Santy doesn't have to take out too many loans to keep us happy..:pac:

Jaysus, I hope he didn't have shares in Anglo Irish anyway. :(

Can't wait for Christmas.

I hope Santy doesn't have to take out too many loans to keep us happy..:pac:

Jaysus, I hope he didn't have shares in Anglo Irish anyway. :(
    Is Santa unionised? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wish I liked turkey, my mam makes mountains of it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

ohhhh christmas thread \0/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

phasers wrote: »

I've always preferred ham myself. Doesn't really matter as we have both. :)

My mam used to wait 'til the turkeys made turkeys.:pac:

It's actually the one thing about Christmas I dislike.
    It's too bland, hardly any taste at all.

No wonder cranberry sauce and gravy sell out at Christmas time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I was dreading the (give a, give a, give a, give a) Garmin ad on the radio this year - that yank (wannabe yank!?) woman voice was like listening to a more masculine version of anastacia.
    They've replaced her this year, but the memories are too painful when I hear the current ad:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Christmas was looking good...then I got a 6 point ticket. And now christmas is looking bad :(

But Sharpie I don thee banhammer with colored lights and streamers! :pac:

there was nothing depressing about that add, it was sunset on the beach, he was playing a conch shell, and that voiceover was evidently stoned.

Happiest beach evar if you ask me. And the Irish get great phone deals in contrast to the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Turkey leftover sandwiches is what makes the week after Christmas and before New Years my favourite week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've always preferred ham myself. Doesn't really matter as we have both. :)
    Oh I love ham! Especially on a sandwich with brown sauce :)

Problem is I'm the only one in my family that eats it so we only get this tiny, scabby bit that doesn't last me more than one meal!

Turkey is a stupid meat, it's like eating cardboard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

!

This thread is not here for people to give out about Christmas threads.

Can we give out about Christmas here or does that get it's own thread?

Overheal wrote: »
    But Sharpie I don thee banhammer with colored lights and streamers! :pac:

I know who to ask about that, it would be fun.
    ball wrote: »
    Turkey leftover sandwiches is what makes the week after Christmas and before New Years my favourite week

Nooooooo!!!

I put mine in a curry, to give it some flavour.

Ham sambos are nice though.:pac:

Besides a nice round of roast beef sambos always go down well.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Fuck the coke add, it's all about the James' Gate, add.[/size]
    Ever since we got the crappy new edition of the Coke ad (the one WITHOUT the trucks) this is my fav. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

YAY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

*plays Fairytale of New York*

Anyway, you're all wrong tbh the best part of Christmas dinner is the STUFFING!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

IvySlayer wrote: »
    YAY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

*plays Fairytale of New York*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

dloob wrote: »

He sounds like he was just told he is about to die.
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Fuck the coke add, it's all about the James' Gate, add.[/SIZE]

That is a great advert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

WindSock wrote: »
    Can we give out about Christmas here or does that get it's own thread?

Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

ball wrote: »
    Oh I love ham! Especially on a sandwich with brown sauce :)

Problem is I'm the only one in my family that eats it so we only get this tiny, scabby bit that doesn't last me more than one meal!

Turkey is a stupid meat, it's like eating cardboard
    I know who to ask about that, it would be fun.

Nooooooo!!!

I put mine in a curry, to give it some flavour.

Ham sambos are nice though.:pac:

Besides a nice round of roast beef sambos always go down well.

Toasted Turkey and Ham sandwiches FTW,yum.

Me and the missus are putting up our first christmas tree this year,didnt bother last year and well we were in Oz the year before that!

Got told today were getting 200 euro in vouchers from work,so not too shabby

jackncoke wrote: »
    Toasted Turkey and Ham sandwiches FTW,yum.

Me and the missus are putting up our first christmas tree this year,didnt bother last year and well we were in Oz the year before that!

Got told today were getting 200 euro in vouchers from work,so not too shabby

Nice one, go all out. :pac:

I always stock up with Cheese and Onion at Christmas and people love it when I ask them if they would like a Cheese and Onion Toasted sambo.

They get sick of Turkey & Ham so quickly.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

The poll wasn't asking people if they want a megathread. You know that?

tallaght01 wrote: »
    No but lets play it out. If we get ludicrous volume in here with multiple tangents we can advocate a seasonal subforum later, and move all the SSF stuff into it, leaving one sticky to direct users to it. but tbh i dont see that happening (the volume) and im sure a megathread will suit. A subforum also sounds like a mod-ache.

There is now a mega thread in After Hours to discuss all things Christmas.

If you are unhappy with that then bring it up in the appropriate forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

There is now a mega thread in After Hours to discuss all things Christmas.

If you are unhappy with that then bring it up in the appropriate forum.

Honestly, the desire to just tell people what they can or can't do, rather than let things just flow has gotten out of hand in the last few months.

Anyway, I won't clutter up the thread with any more moaning.

Honestly, the desire to just tell people what they can or can't do, rather than let things just flow has gotten out of hand in the last few months.

This is the last time.

I went by the Poll.

How is that telling people what they can and can't do?

The Christmas thread is now open.

If you have a problem with that as I said before take it to the appropriate forum.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

The true spirit of christmas in the last few posts with the fighting... Love it.

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    The true spirit of christmas in the last few posts with the fighting... Love it.

What fighting?

** Christmas Thread **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

You and tallaght arguing/tallaght giving out about you... All the same really.

We are trying to give what the posters in After Hours want.

Can we get back on topic now.

Christmas. \0/

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

*sings loudly to drown out the fighting*

Chestnuts roasting on an open fire,
    Jack Frost nipping at your nose,
    Yuletide carols being sung by a choir
    And folks dressed up like eskimos!

Everytime I hear the first line, directly afterwards a voice in my head makes a shrill laugh
    AAAAAAAAAhahahahahahaha

Damn you advertising!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭ColaBeDamned

I cant watch the one where the lad gets his girlfriend a white christmas (vodafone?) :(

What do you want for "crimbo" laoisforliam? :p

Ah yeah: like two bickering estranged relatives ye are. But hang on: Where is the food? I dont normally put up with family squabbles unless theres a) presents and b) those little cocktail sized sausage rolls that you can fit on a toothpick. I love those.

edit: give your loved one a Flying F*ck this christmas. Only 19.99 Sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I love Christmas, got back to Ireland for last weekend and could feel that sense of anticipation around..
    Back in Abu-Dhabi now but will make it back once more before Christmas.
    Unfortunately I'm here for the Event so I'm going to miss the celebrations being in a Muslim country and no Ham... Oh well roll on Christmas 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Getting pissed and telling your cousin how much of a twát he is, watching the royle family special for the 4,325th time, eating 4,325 calories a day for three days in a row, getting pissed and telling your girlfriend's dad how much of a twat he is, disguising your hatred of of woolly jumpers, watching others disguise their hatred of your last minute €2 shop novelty gifts.

Yes, yes, yes please. I LOVE IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 lockie83

My mother is putting up her Christmas Decorations tomorrow!! Which is too early IMHO, but saying that she was really sick last year on the run up to Christmas so I think she really wants to enjoy Christmas this year.

So with that in mind what decorations do ye guys put up for the festive season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

This thread was created on the 11th of October!! OCTOBER!!

It wasn't even Halloween yet and it is not Christmas until Decemeber.

Santa - All I want for Christmas is for you to give the crappiest presents ever to anyone who does the following before December 1st:

1 - Buys decorations, lights, presents, wrapping paper etc
    2 - Has Christmas dinner
    3 - Buys a christmas tree
    4 - Decorates their house
    5 - Makes mince pies / christmas pudding
    6 - Buys christmas presents
    7 - Sings christmas carols
    8 - Anyone who produced christmas magazines / brochures / catalogues / sweet wrappings

.......the list goes on.....

Who in their right mind wants to celebrate christmas in october / november. Weirdos! :eek::eek::eek:

I like Christmas but not when it is made to last for 3 months!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Won't this get really messy? I mean, there are many Xmas topics... surely we can't put them all here? Impossible to discuss and reference...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

you are missing the point kingtut, by buying now all of that stuff is cheaper. :D

I bought two packs of xmas crackers (8.50 down to 2 euro) back in july. now that is what you call being prepared (or tight fisted )

I wont put up decorations till 2 weeks before but i have been buying pressies since mid sept. lots of things to get and loads of bargins around plus no last minute rush.:)

come xmas eve i will take a walk in town and enjoy everyone going mad trying to get the last minute stuffing,breadcrumbs,beer or whatever.my local shop ran out of bread last xmas eve and i overheard one woman say "what time will the bread be delivered tommorrow?" she complained when told the shop stays closed xmas day.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'm buying a christmas tree for my room today :-p it's gonna be great!