Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's nothing like.....?

• 17-11-2009 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭

So I was saving a lost kitten from a tree the other day and started thinking of little things that you just think "Ooh, there's nothing like...."

Mine are:

A hug from your Mammy. (Or loved one):)

Cold drink on a hot day.:cool:

Hot drink on a cold day.:P

When you wake up and think "OOOUUUUGGGHHHH!!!! Work/College
    now........... Oh wait a sec, It's Saturday!!!! :):):) LIE IN!"

You get a random compliment.;)

I'm sure you Loungers have better ones then mine.

Ready..... GO!!!

EDIT: Minidazzlers ones are too good not to have in the OP.

A really good poo!!! It's why we have the prostate

Having a girl you fancy tell you that you are hot.

A kiss with a girl you fancy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

A cup of tea made by my Mum.

A hug from my Dad.

Uncontrollable giddy laughter.

Toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

A really good poo!!! It's why we have the prostate :P

A cuddle on a cold day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭emma82

Being told you are loved and the most important person in someone's life

Hug from your mammy when things are really bad

That proud look i get off my Daddy when he hears me on the work phone

When my wee nephew turned round & said- my loves you

Hot water bottles on cold toes

Coming in from 2 days away & having the dog lick the face off you cos she missed you!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

A really good poo!!! It's why we have the prostate :P

Oh jesus these are awesome.

Why didn't I think of these?

Especially this:
    Sinall wrote: »

Uncontrollable giddy laughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

smell of freshly cut grass

getting into bed when the bed-linen has just been changed

getting out of bed in the middle of the night to get a drink/go to loo and then getting back in and snuggling up beside your oh who is all warm and toasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

sam34 wrote: »
    getting out of bed in the middle of the night to get a drink/go to loo and then getting back in and snuggling up beside your oh who is all warm and toasty...

...as they scream at your ice cold touch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

When you've been working or doing something like sports outside all day and you get soaked to the bone - jump in a hot shower, so good you almost cry a little!

Taking off heels after a night out, bliss!!

The first real espresso of the morning, mmmmm

Getting the last parking space in a full car park, get in!

Christmas morning champagne (tradition in our house)

Tucking into your hangover food of choice, eg. doirty burger/pizza/fry up, mana from heaven

Turning over and snuggling up again on a rainy Saturday/Sunday morning

Going for a wee when you've been holding for ages/ are drunk

All I can think of for now:P:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Waking up without a hangover after a mad night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Waking up being 'little spoon' to your favourite 'big spoon' :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Waking up feeling like you've been asleep for hours and then realising that its only 5am and you've a few more hours before you have to get up for work. Love that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Sex for the first time with a new partner:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

sam34 wrote: »
    smell of freshly cut grass

getting into bed when the bed-linen has just been changed
    Mackleton wrote: »
    When you've been working or doing something like sports outside all day and you get soaked to the bone - jump in a hot shower, so good you almost cry a little!

Tucking into your hangover food of choice, eg. doirty burger/pizza/fry up

Turning over and snuggling up again on a rainy Saturday/Sunday morning

Going for a wee when you've been holding for ages/ are drunk

These....

and

A really good cup of tea.

That sense of relief when you get exam result and you passed when you honestly genuinely deep down in your soul thought you actually failed.

The morning after the night before when your so happy you could burst and you feel like a kid on Christmas morning because you have just kissed or had an amazing night (doing anything, dancing, drinking, hanging out with etc :) ) with someone you really like....

Something probably a bit like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

having a couple of cheap-but-nice beers while aimlessly browsing boards.ie after just having an amazing hot shower after getting caught in the coldest, heaviest downpour in galways history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

There's nothing like....

....waking up in the morning and feeling someone's arms wrap around you. (Only if they're someone special, mind you!). It's safe, it's warm, there is not much better really.

....a really good cry. Maybe it's just me but god, if I'm feeling bad, I just love curling up under my duvet and having a proper sob!

....sharing a silence with a person that isn't awkward. I love the kinda silence where you just don't need to say anything, especially when the air feels like it is sorta full of emotion and saying anything would just ruin it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

there's nothing like;

your own bed

having that first pint after an extended period of not drinking

waking up when you've no work/college, wind and rain outside lashing your windows, turning over, pulling duvet closer and falling back asleep listening to the rain.

Telling someone who really deserves it, to fook off. Likewise telling someone who really deserves it that they're awesome.

Smell of freshly baked bread. nom nom nom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

A big hug from mammy :)

When my gorgeous niece tells me she loves me

When a client loves their hair :)

When I get to sleep in

A wee after holding it for 3 hours

A morning kiss from your oh

My grandad telling me Im his favourite :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Will wrote: »
    your own bed

Telling someone who really deserves it, to fook off. Likewise telling someone who really deserves it that they're awesome.

Smell of freshly baked bread. nom nom nom

These. epecially your own bed, after you have been away from it a few days and then sleeping like a frigging starfish in it!! :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

For me, nothing beats a cuddle from my OH. It's extra special because we usually get a max of two nights together a week. I love feeling him pressed against me with his arms wrapped around me. It's just magical. It makes me feel indescribably safe and loved.

Other than that, a really good cup of tea. Watching something involving Jared Leto on Youtube. Singing aloud to power ballads. Kissing. Getting into bed. Waking up in the middle of the night and realising you've still got hours to sleep. Staying in a fancy hotel. Handing in an assignment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Awh man! I freakin' miss my bed! :( Stupid living in London in horrible campus accommodation! :mad:

There's nothing like.........................

Being cuddled and spooned by my OH.

Making him smile by doing romantic little things for him.

Sitting in front of a coal burning fire in my pyjamas in the middle of winter when hailstones are bashing the earth.

Chilling out with my friends on a Saturday afternoon watching films and catching up.

Having a hot shower after the gym and having himself come in and join me ;) (Soapy, sexy fun!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

There's nothing like…

…escorting someone you like home after a night out together.

…being thanked for small things, holding a door open or buying someone a drink etc.

…being inside on a rainy day.

…listening to your favourite records on vinyl.

…giving up your jacket or hoody to a girl you like on the way home.

…being told "I love you" so I've been told.

…a night in watching HD documentaries or a good comedy movie.

…girl using your shoulder or arm as a pillow.

…there's nothing like a good chat with a friend you haven't seen in a while.

…a lone drive when your feeling down on a nice windy back road.

Jaysus I sure do have enough of them don't I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

Being told you are beautiful first thing in the morning even though your hair has styled itself into a mullet and you have eyes like Alice Cooper after he'd been caught out in the rain

Being late for work because you OH asked you to stay in bed for a cuddle

Being told by your family that they are proud of you

Getting dressed and realising your clothes are now too big for you

Being curled up in bed with a good book and hearing the downpour of rain banging on the window

A memory from ages ago popping into your head and you still can't stop laughing about it

Thats all I can come up with now but I'm feeling all warm and nice after thinking about them... :) I officially love this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Coming home after being in another country after an extended period of time, and your mother sees you come up the driveway and releases the dogs, who can barely contain their excitement at seeing you for the first time in months/years and nearly knock you to the ground out of sheer love and happiness. The pleasant shock that comes with realizing they've remembered after all this time is quite nice, too. You really, really can't beat dogs for love.

The feeling of laying curled up and warm with my OH; the safety of his arms around me. I love that feeling. Also love coming to bed after staying up a little longer than him, and he's just asleep and so warm and I can steal his warmth. Bliss.

Going back to Canada after months or years away and eating the biggest best Harvey's burger ever. And having a good old Tim Horton's donut and a glass of rootbeer. Then going out of town just to get the best poutine money can buy. Just can't get it anywhere else! God, now I want poutine..

Going out for a ride during the summer and racing through the vineyards; whoever your riding partner is picking one lane and you the other, always winning on the smallest pony. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Getting into a cold bed at night with my boyfriend, covered by a huge fluffy duvet and having to snuggle and shiver together for 5 mins before you heat up :D

Being alone in the house on a wet weekend morning with nothing to do but put loud music on and dance around in your pjs while doing the housework singing at the top of your voice. Hairbrush microphone optional but recommended. Hall & Oates always a winner.

The look on the face of someone I love when they get a Christmas present from me which is not what they expected, but something they re-he-he-he-eally wanted :eek::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

puting in a heal turn while snowboarding and get a face full of snow.... nothing better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

liah wrote: »
    Coming home after being in another country after an extended period of time, and your mother sees you come up the driveway and releases the dogs,

Did anyone else think of Montgomery Burns? :pac:

Nice post :)

For me, there's nothing like nailing a song on the piano that I've been practising for ages, especially a song I love.:)

Teaching a lesson that took ages to prepare, assessing the children afterwards and finding out they all understand :)

Heading out for the night with friends, and laughing all night at nothing :)

Waving and smiling at another driver who's quite angry that I'm not following the rules of the road in a car park :pac: :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

When my five year old grandaughter puts her little chubby hand up for me to hold:).

When she puts her armes around my neck and tells me she loves me more than holy god:)

Getting into bed with fresh clean linnen.

When the whole family are together.

holly1 wrote: »
    When she puts her armes around my neck and tells me she loves me more than holy god:)

:):):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Getting into a bed with new sheets.

Piping hot irish sausage sambos.

A 3 in 1 tray in Charlies after a night out.

That first drink on a friday after a hard weeks work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Huge breakfast roll the morning after a good night out

Cold frosty pint of Bulmers on a hot, sunny afternoon

Waking up the first morning after you finish your exams and just knowing that all the stress is gone (at least for a little while anyway!)

Getting a really good workout on a day when you had to force yourself off the sofa

Code compiling first time and working straight off, no errors, warnings or bugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

That feeling when you wake up and realise you have another four hours to sleep before getting up..or realising it is Saturday..

Waking up with my OH's arms around me. I smile like a goon

Getting an impromptu hug or compliment from him or someone from whom it means a lot

Hearing the lashing rain outside and knowing I don't need to get up

Knowing I don't have much work in the eve and can curl up in bed with my duvet and hot water bottle

Knowing someday I'll have my own house and couch and can do that when I like, especially with himself:)

Nailing a routine in dance class..which happens very rarely but when it does, oh boy does it feel good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Code compiling first time and working straight off, no errors, warnings or bugs

Rare but yes it is amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Mine's a Christmas themed one:

Wandering round a freezing Christmas market with a grilled Bratwurst topped with lots of ketchup and fried onions, buying lots of unusual little gifts.

Having all your friends round for mulled wine (with loads of brandy in it), home-made mince pies and board games. :)

Me and my husband have a tradition where we take a day in December, sleep in, get up, unplug the phone, light the fire, sit by the tree with all the fairy lights on, and wrap presents and eat cheese and drink sparkling wine, pretty much all day. This usually ends in a movie marathon and a Chinese. Awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

There's nothing like...

Seeing someone you love laugh or smile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

walking to work or to the shops in the morning and random stranger saying good morning to you or afternoon or evening. Or walking a long and girl you dont smiles at you allways give me a spring in my step

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Me and my husband have a tradition where we take a day in December, sleep in, get up, unplug the phone, light the fire, sit by the tree with all the fairy lights on, and wrap presents and eat cheese and drink sparkling wine, pretty much all day. This usually ends in a movie marathon and a Chinese. Awesome!

Oh wow, this sounds so cool! :)

Hopping into a fresh bed, after you've melted every muscle with a soak in the tub, and buttered yourself silly with delcious smelling potions.

Being near the one your mad about after a couple of days apart.

The first cup of tea.

Talking to an old friend you havent seen in age, and remembering just why they are so awesome. As you fall off the chair loling.

Being used as cuddle toy by your feline overlady.

Eureka moments, after hours of mitreing over a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭golfgirl

When the whole family are together.[/QUOTE]

Lovely and simple holly1, like it!

The perfect golf shot.
    A cat curled up by the fire.
    Kicking through Autumn leaves.
    Skiing in rhythm.
    Swimming in the sea.
    Hot bath, chilled music, candles.
    Sunday lunch with family.
    Saturday night tv and glass of red wine.
    Walking home after work with ipod playing thinking of funny stuff and laughing to yourself.
    Reminiscing with best friends about anything and everything (even though you've heard it all before).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

There's nothing like seeing someone you love light up when they see you. Ah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭tuom

Like others:

getting into a fresh bed

Having all the housework done

Fridays
    Good black and white movie, open fire, raining outside,
    Being at the airport going on hols

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

Lying in bed with your Oh, your arm around her and her head resting on your chest - blissful.

Seeing people smile - always makes me feel good whether I know them or not

When your parents tell you how proud they are of you

When you're singing away to a tune in the car, look across and the person in the car across from you is singing away to the same song
    and the 2 of ye just burst your ****s laughing....always cracks me up.

Dancing like a complete eejit in a club and not caring!

When you've been apart from your OH for months then get off the plane and walk through the doors to see her standing there... second best feeling in the world, the best is the hug and kiss that follow....the world just stops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Lucky bastards with yer OH's and love! Bah humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Coming in from the freezing cold and wet into a warm house and , thawing out, and having a mug of tea and a plate of hot toast in the pjs.

Fago_25 wrote: »
    Lucky bastards with yer OH's and love! Bah humbug!

:D Ya gotta love the venom :pac:

That's all I have to love :(sob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

warm bed
    getting a nice txt from himself
    whenever i'm on top of my work (rare)
    getting a new batch of polaroid film
    getting a message from an old friend
    when someone makes something for me
    framed photographs
    babies laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

a good cuddle when your down. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Butterflies in your stomach when you catch him looking your way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 symbolwoman

Clean sheets after a relaxing hot bath
    A walk on a beach on a winter morning when nobody is around
    Hugs from the OH
    Meeting friends you haven't seen in ages and being just as it used to be
    Having all the house work done.
    Waking up to a snowy landscape outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

whenever i'm on top of my work (rare)

These.

Spending the day with herself and just being able to do whatever we want.

Walks during Autumn, preferably through a golden forest.

The first pint of the night.

Having a great night with a group of friends you haven't been out with in a while.

Finding out that the manager isn't going to be in today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Sitting down in the summer in a beer garden on a warm summer's day with a pint, but (the important part) swans and ducks swimming around the lough in front of you, kids chasing them and dogs running about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Climbing into bed after buying new sheets with a tidy room and knowing you have no work the next day

Waking up on a day off to find its absolutely miserable out, but you have no reason to leave the house, the fridge is stacked with food and you have a pile of dvds to watch while on the couch, heating on, mug of tea in hand, laughing at everyone else trudging to work in the rain and sitting in traffic in the crappy weather, ohhhh yeah :D