Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new license

• 16-11-2009 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭

just heard a neighbour was refused a new license on the grounds he is no longer in a gun club!!!
    70yrs old,retired soldier.doesnt shoot anymore, now whats he gona do? rob a bank!!!!:rolleyes:
    anyone else hear of similar stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

what does he need a firearm for if he doesnt shoot anymore?

pass it on down the family!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭bayliner

his son lives in australia and the daughters dont shoot!!
    selling it now...... this wasnt the point i was just trying to see if anyone heard similar stories, i could easily get his license sorted if he really wanted to, but hasnt showed much interest in doing so.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Sorry bayliner, but if he "doesn't shoot anymore", why did he even apply for the licence? Or am I missing something?:confused:

Not much chance of showing "good reason" if you're not "shooting anymore" is there?

It doesn't surprise me that this resulted in a refusal - but how do you mean
    i could easily get his license sorted if he really wanted to
    ? How could YOU easily get HIS license "sorted"? Is this really the sort of information you'd want on a public forum?:D

If he want's to keep the firearm for sentimental reasons, maybe he should consider having it deact-ed - I'd be pretty sure this would be allowed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Sell it, de-activate it, give it to someone close, surrender it. Thats his options. No more. No less.

There has been an estimated 25,000+ firermas surrendered by people in similar situations. That was part of the reason for this new application process. A nine page application, information through a sieve, misunderstanding of rules regulations. All this lead to people thinking a re-application wa simply too much trouble and so they handed in, sold or de-activated their firearms.

If he doesn't shoot but does not want the gun sold or de-activated why don't you or someone else he knows take it and license it?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

ezridax wrote: »
    Sell it, de-activate it, give it to someone close, surrender it. Thats his options. No more. No less.

There has been an estimated 25,000+ firermas surrendered by people in similar situations. That was part of the reason for this new application process. A nine page application, information through a sieve, misunderstanding of rules regulations. All this lead to people thinking a re-application wa simply too much trouble and so they handed in, sold or de-activated their firearms.

If he doesn't shoot but does not want the gun sold or de-activated why don't you or someone else he knows take it and license it?

25 000 licences surrendered:eek:-where are you getting them stats ezridax:confused:-that seems very high:)

Numerous Gardai and the FPU fella i was speaking to reckoned it was in and around this figure. Now i don't know if thats so-far or projected but either way thats the number i was quoted and its a number i'm passing on.

Its of no concern to me whether its right or wrong (take that in the context in which i mean it). Think about it for a minute though. 250,000, or there abouts, licensed firearms. How many people will think along the lines of "sure i never use it, i'll get rid of it" or lads with 2,3,4 firearms thinking they only use 1,2,3 of them and its not worth the effort to license and maintain a firearm they rarely use or never use. Then there are the lads that have 2+ firearms and rather than get the extra security will sacrifice a firearm to stay within a lower security level.

If i'm wrong i apologise now, but as stated i'm not trying to be right nor am i saying the numbers given to me are 100% correct, but as with most things i know no btter so must rely on others for this information.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Numerous Gardai and the FPU fella i was speaking to reckoned it was in and around this figure. Now i don't know if thats so-far or projected but either way thats the number i was quoted and its a number i'm passing on.

Its of no concern to me whether its right or wrong (take that in the context in which i mean it). Think about it for a minute though. 250,000, or there abouts, licensed firearms. How many people will think along the lines of "sure i never use it, i'll get rid of it" or lads with 2,3,4 firearms thinking they only use 1,2,3 of them and its not worth the effort to license and maintain a firearm they rarely use or never use. Then there are the lads that have 2+ firearms and rather than get the extra security will sacrifice a firearm to stay within a lower security level.

If i'm wrong i apologise now, but as stated i'm not trying to be right nor am i saying the numbers given to me are 100% correct, but as with most things i know no btter so must rely on others for this information.

im not picking a hole in your post ezridax, im just shocked that this early into the new set up , that so many guns are not going to be licenced, this is bound to have a serious knock on effect for dealers:)

I know you're not nit-picking, sorry if it came across as aggressive. I was as skeptical as you and i really do think its a projected figure. I know the first batch is gone (not fully processed but time wise) and the second batch is on the way, but i can't see 25,000 gone in already. After saying that i wouldn't be surprised if some people have preempted things and surrendered their firearm now, which to me would be silly. They have an extension (some till may next year) so why not hold onto the firearm till then as you have plenty of time to think but if you hand it in early your options are gone.

yeah I think its a figure based on ten per cent of guns not being licenced when this is all over type of scenario, which will probably turn out to be quite a good guess I reckon, ive been hearing from some disgruntled folks talking about not relicencing guns as it is, especially the older stuff which has no great monetary value..the grinders in Ireland will be the only wheels of Industry turning during this Economic collapse:rolleyes:
    Talking to a gundealer up here in Donegal this morning and he reckons hes about ready to close shop-nothing doing-a flood of stuff onto the market wont be of much help to those guys.:)

...............a flood of stuff onto the market wont be of much help to those guys.:)

No, not in the least.

A mate of mine is a dealer and he said that his a** cheeks unpuckered a bit when he started getting licensed people in to collect guns they had put deposits on 3,4,5 months previously. I asked "is that you back on the straight and narrow" and he said "no, it will clear a back log and bring me almost up to present" (cost wise) As you said fs he now has to face the flood of second hand guns being sold or given to people because their owners no longer want the hassle, responsibility, cost of the firearm and all the stuff that goes with it.

Was only thinking though, i wonder what the finances, cost, profit would be of opening a second hand store attached to an already existing dealers shop would be. You know, a lad wants rid of his gun, so rather than surrender it, the dealer takes it in, has it licensed to the store (if thats the correct way to phrase it), refurbishes it and sells it on. If it gets up and running (second hand shop) he can start to pay for guns that are not in bad condition, repair/refurbish it and sell it on. I know this seems like it already exists but i'm not talking trading, just a simple surrender or sale to a designated second hand firearms section of an already existing dealers shop.

Someone out there thats good at maths and finances get your calculator working. Is this feasible? Would it work? More to the point would it solve anything?

No, not in the least.

A mate of mine is a dealer and he said that his a** cheeks unpuckered a bit when he started getting licensed people in to collect guns they had put deposits on 3,4,5 months previously. I asked "is that you back on the straight and narrow" and he said "no, it will clear a back log and bring me almost up to present" (cost wise) As you said fs he now has to face the flood of second hand guns being sold or given to people because their owners no longer want the hassle, responsibility, cost of the firearm and all the stuff that goes with it.

Was only thinking though, i wonder what the finances, cost, profit would be of opening a second hand store attached to an already existing dealers shop would be. You know, a lad wants rid of his gun, so rather than surrender it, the dealer takes it in, has it licensed to the store (if thats the correct way to phrase it), refurbishes it and sells it on. If it gets up and running (second hand shop) he can start to pay for guns that are not in bad condition, repair/refurbish it and sell it on. I know this seems like it already exists but i'm not talking trading, just a simple surrender or sale to a designated second hand firearms section of an already existing dealers shop.

Someone out there thats good at maths and finances get your calculator working. Is this feasible? Would it work? More to the point would it solve anything?

That idea would be dependant on whats being surrendered, truth be told i reckon there will be quite a bit of junk guns being given up , which are for all intents and purposes not worth the licence fees and which wouldnt have much of a market at any rate..so they become grinder fodder:D.
    The Irish shooter has developed quite discerning tastes now for good gear and ancillary equipment, all due to the celtic pussycat:rolleyes: ..not like back in my young days in the seventies, if it held a cartridge and and had a straight barrel you were good to go, even if it was held together by some stout string!:eek::D

There is that aspect to it and i wouldn't expect a dealer to take in crap plus i doubt if they would. It would be on a viewing basis. Bring in the gun, if it fires but is in poor or average condition and worth the time then go for it. If not tell the punter no thanks, its beyond repair.

There may also be the NCT type aspect. Dealers that have authorisation from the Gardai to act as dismantlers/destroyers of guns. A lad brings in a gun. Its crap and a no hoper. Dealer gives the lad a Garda recognised letter/note (whatever) to verify he has taken possession of the firearm and it has been destroyed. Parts are then sent/collected to/by Gardai each week, forthnight, month.

I'm sure none of these ideas are practical but as i said i have alot of time on my hands to think. You know what they say about idle minds......;)

Hey foxshooter243, did you get a chance to read this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055742378 . Goes along the lines of what i was trying to explain last night. Maybe it was a once of but maybe its a "niche" in the market???

dCorbus wrote: »
    Sorry bayliner, but if he "doesn't shoot anymore", why did he even apply for the licence? Or am I missing something?:confused:

Not much chance of showing "good reason" if you're not "shooting anymore" is there?

It doesn't surprise me that this resulted in a refusal - but how do you mean ? How could YOU easily get HIS license "sorted"? Is this really the sort of information you'd want on a public forum?:D

If he want's to keep the firearm for sentimental reasons, maybe he should consider having it deact-ed - I'd be pretty sure this would be allowed.

PM sent dude:D

Hey foxshooter243, did you get a chance to read this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055742378 . Goes along the lines of what i was trying to explain last night. Maybe it was a once of but maybe its a "niche" in the market???

I did and as soon as I read it I thought erzidax may have a point!:)

PM sent dudebiggrin.gif

Thanks Bayliner, Got that PM - That clarifies the situation and certainly explains more of the background. Makes a lot more sense to me now!:D
    Thanks dC

NO PROBS DC, its a closed case now as he wants to sell the gun and not for turning:rolleyes:.... cant rem the name of it now but its a double trigger under and over so wont be easy sell, in james mcbrides now, so end o story:D......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

Getting back to the 70 year old, it does seem that Not being a member of a gun club could be used to refuse a license, but I bet if the gun was a valued sporting weapon that man would have found a club to join.
    Clay pigeon shooting is a good enough reason to have a gun,ICPSA, NARGC is not mad expensive and Countryside Alliance is same.
    What about good old fashioned vermin control on a number of farmers lands.
    Anyway my point is, if the Gun is important to a person, they will find a way.Talking Shotgun of course.
    Now a .270 is a different kettle of fish altogether.

he was a member of my club, but no longer, at his age he would become an honourary member and it wouldnt cost him a dime!! i offered him this but he insists on selling it now so its over,

it seems the guards want you to be insured in "some" way before offering a license??? who knows!!!!

Not sure if insurance is required to be licenced with a FAC - Although I would strongly doubt it (Perhaps some of our more "legally-minded" posters could clarify this?)

However, it seems to me to eminently good-sense and good-practice to make sure that one has the proper insurance in place when out shooting either on the range or out hunting. God forbid that something might happen to either you as a shooter (accidents, while fortunately v. rare, do apparently happen) or to a member of your party or of the public - if you have no personal or public liability insurance in place, this could break you - both emotionally and financially!:eek:

Even if not a member of an "authorised range" or "authorised club" (and under normal circumstances usually insured this way), I understand that the relevant insurance for field sports, such as hunting, shooting, fishing, etc., is readily available via FBD, the IFA, Countryside Alliance, NARGC, etc. - So there are plenty of options for the field sports shooter / hunter out there to avail of.

I know this is "slightly off-topic":D.
    So feel free to delete / ignore as required:D