Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you drive and what does it mean to you.....

• 08-11-2009 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭

My friend is getting a new car in January and is currently deciding what to go for. Over coffee during the week we had a chat about her various options and she was nothing short of stunned at what I knew on the subject; when she then heard about the routine maintenance I do to my vehicle she was even more astounded that I even knew how to do it.

But I really don't get what all the fuss is about. My car means a lot to me, it's essential to my life and work and I'd be lost without it. So of course I take care of it and take in interest in it.

Am I alone in this?? How do the rest of ye women feel about the subject?? Do you love your car?? Are you interested in cars? Do you take care of your car?? And of course what do you drive and why?! And if you're not a car owner yet what do you aspire to? Feel free to post some pics of your pride and joy if you wish:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I bought my first ever car just 6 weeks ago. It's an 03 Toyota Yaris and of course I love it. I got it because it's supposedly a very reliable car, which is why I spent more than I had originally intended to, and because when I test drove it I found that it was very easy and quite fun to drive.

I don't know much about taking care of it. I'd like to know but I don't have anybody to teach me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Wizard007

Hi Madame Razz, firstly nice one you doing your routine maintenance yourself, so few people do.

I drive a deep burgundy '97 3.1lr Isuzu muWizard import ( trooper engine ). I've had it two years and abselutely love it. Yeah she's kept in good enough condition, cleaned out and gets serviced regularly. When I first saw her, we didn't need something that big but it was love at first sight. My father nearly had a stroke saying women don't need big vehicles, why didn't I buy myself a "nice small car, cheap on tax" etc.

We live out in the sticks and recently had to put a tow bar on her ( broke my heart ) as we now need to tow a heavy unit several times a week. I silently apologise to her every time it's hooked up :o Sad ot what?

I looooooooooooove my Wizard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I drive a 2007 Toyota Yaris (4 door sedan). It's the first car I bought for myself. My previous car was a 2002 Toyota Echo my parents bought for me when I graduated from uni. I liked my Echo, but Toyota had replaced it with the Yaris by the time I was ready for a new car.

I like the Yaris because it's fuel and cost efficient and easy to maneuver. My family has also had good experiences with Toyotas over the years, so I feel it's a reliable car that doesn't have many performance issues.

I love my car and I make sure to keep up with its regularly scheduled maintenance. I know a few basic things about cars, but I don't do the maintenance myself. To be honest, the only cars I'm particularly interested in beyond function are cars prior to 1960. I'm a big fan of classic cars and have several books on the subject.

Xiney wrote: »
    I bought my first ever car just 6 weeks ago. It's an 03 Toyota Yaris and of course I love it. I got it because it's supposedly a very reliable car, which is why I spent more than I had originally intended to, and because when I test drove it I found that it was very easy and quite fun to drive.

I don't know much about taking care of it. I'd like to know but I don't have anybody to teach me.

Congrats Xiney. Bet you're still getting used to the freedom :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i've only ever owned one car, i bought it 4 years ago and it's going fine.

it's a small car, with a small engine, and it's not particularly fancy looking.

i'm not into cars at all, i genuinely take no notice of makes and models.

but, i adore my car. not because of the way it looks, or what make it is, but because of the freedom and independence it gives me.

getting a car changed my life.

i was one of those idealistic people who obeyed the law even back in teh day when it wsant enforced, so i didnt get a car until i could drive unaccompanied (ie on second provisional).

while on my first provisional i got millions of driving lessons and did my test a few times, but never passed.

i remember the heartache of being told "you have not been successful", and having my dreams and hopes dashed.

i had teh money saved, and was just waiting for the piece of paper.

when i got to my second provisional, i got a car the next day and it made sucha difference. not having to rely on public transport, friends, family or taxis.... being abe to sit in and drive whereever i want, and listen to my choice of music while doing so...heaven.

4 years later, i still relish the freedom.

but, as regards car maintenance, i havent a clue, tbh.

everytime i go home, my father checks all the under-the-bonnet-stuff and the tyres.

if pushed, i could do the under the bonnet checks, but i dont know how to properly check they tyres (i can give them a kick and nod pseudo-knowlegably though!)

but, if my life depended on it, i couldnt change a tyre.

i have breakdown assistance with my insurance, so i figure they'll help if the need arises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

I have a 97 green Nissan Almera. It's in shocking bad condition because I've crashed into the pillar in the driveway so many times. If anything goes wrong I get my dad to have a look at it because I don't know the first thing about cars and I'm not really very interested in learning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

My first car was a 96 Micra, loved it but it was a sh!te car, every stone in the road was felt. Swapped it for a Volvo (1.6L), then got a second of the same make (2L) and now on my third Volvo (2.4L).

I don't do any routine maintenance on it or anything though, but it is such a pleasure to drive. The more powerful the car, the more fun it is to drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

I LOVE my car!!

I have a 2006 Navy Fiat Punto (I know!!), I previously owned a 97 nissan micra which my parents bought me for my 18th birthday. But when my driving test came up I decided to take the plunge and buy a new car!

The reason I bought it?? Cause it was pretty and had a new car smell :rolleyes: Yes I know! I wanted a "grown up" car! I love the freedom my car gives me! I love just jumping in and going where I want to!

Emm I don't know a whole lot about cars, I can put air in my tyres, put water in for the wiper, change a tyre and maybe change the oil lol! Oh I can change the wiper blades too lol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Wizard007 wrote: »
    Hi Madame Razz, firstly nice one you doing your routine maintenance yourself, so few people do.

I drive a deep burgundy '97 3.1lr Isuzu muWizard import ( trooper engine ). I've had it two years and abselutely love it. Yeah she's kept in good enough condition, cleaned out and gets serviced regularly. When I first saw her, we didn't need something that big but it was love at first sight. My father nearly had a stroke saying women don't need big vehicles, why didn't I buy myself a "nice small car, cheap on tax" etc.

We live out in the sticks and recently had to put a tow bar on her ( broke my heart ) as we now need to tow a heavy unit several times a week. I silently apologise to her every time it's hooked up :o Sad ot what?

I looooooooooooove my Wizard :)

Like you Wizard007 I'm driving a large 4X4 so the routine maintenance is necessity as you well know:). But I have no bother doing it. Know how to check the tyres and can change a tyre too without issue; worst thing about it is the size of the damn wheels; they're a bit heavy and awkward. Can test and change fuses too; and keep the oil and coolant topped up; just little practical bits really. I mean I have AA cover; but still if I was stuck somewhere with a puncture I'd manage it:)

I was given a car when I started college but my father spent an afternoon showing me all of these things before I was given the keys:o. 'A woman should know how to do these things' he says and 'you can't be relying on the man in your life to do them'. <3 ya Daddy:p

I actually get great satisfaction towing stuff. I love how she just grunts up hills whilst towing a heavy load; and I congratulate her too I'm embarrassed to admit:o

@Wizard007, do you find you get a certain attitude from men because you're driving a big vehicle; I often find that I do. Especially if I'm manouvering into a tricky space or something; there's always an ignorant man with an smug expression on his face just waiting for me to fail; I never do fail tho and I love how it pisses men like that off:P. I go to an industrial type fuel place for my diesel too and queue up with all the famers and builders in their vans and jeeps and get a few quizzical looks there aswell:rolleyes:

My first car was a 96 Micra, loved it but it was a sh!te car, every stone in the road was felt. Swapped it for a Volvo (1.6L), then got a second of the same make (2L) and now on my third Volvo (2.4L).

Is that one of those rocketship S40s??? I had a 2.0L diesel S40 and was always so jealous of that model. Mind you if I drove one of them I'd have been dead within a week:rolleyes::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

My first and current car is my navy 2002 VW Polo. It's not fancy but it feels sturdy and is very easy to drive. I'm only driving a year so by the time I pick my next car I might know a little bit more about them (mechanics and fuel consumption blah blah blah :P)

Have to say though, unless you're driving over rocky roads and hills and need to tow a lot of stuff, I hate those 4x4s. Always see them in cities and towns, mainly women driving around with their two children (not 5 or 6! :rolleyes:) dropping them off to school, blocking the roads and a lot of them can't park them. Obviously this doesn't really refer to you OP btw :P

Alicat wrote: »

Have to say though, unless you're driving over rocky roads and hills and need to tow a lot of stuff, I hate those 4x4s. Always see them in cities and towns, mainly women driving around with their two children (not 5 or 6! :rolleyes:) dropping them off to school, blocking the roads and a lot of them can't park them. Obviously this doesn't really refer to you OP btw :P

I actually wonder about this too tbh. They are expenisve to tax and insure and expensive to run. Why anybody would want to use them as a runabout is completely beyond me. And you need to be a competent driver to drive one well, and clearly a lot of them aren't. They aren't too bad to drive in towns and cities, apart from in Dublin; since I started driving mine I HATE driving it in Dublin, it's big, and awkward, and thoroughly unsuited to it, which leaves me even more boggled at the number of them to be found in the leavy Dublin suburbs:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Madam razz are you sure the big 4x4 isnt really a susuki jimney ? :P

I talk to my car too ( I did have a nicer car but i swopped it with mum and dad due to money and they needed a bigger car so i got there car which is ok but) but yeah when over taking im like giddy up car come on... I'm not saying what i drive :pac: because its old and im embarressed but it gets me to a and b ....

ps I recon you frive a land rover...

Madam razz are you sure the big 4x4 isnt really a susuki jimney ? :P

Damn you; my secrets out:P:pac::D:pac:

Do any of you drive a particular type of car for a certain reason; like do you think it suits you??? I chose mine not just because I needed it, but I went for the type that I did buy because of all of them I testdrove and looked at, it felt very me. It sounds daft but I think it suits me; I have a friend who drives a mini and I think it suits her too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I drive a 98 Mitsubishi Colt, and it's my favourite thing in the world! I've had it a year, its my first car, and I'd be lost without it. And I definitely take care of it (with the help of my OH!), also I'm a little bit obsessive about where I will and will not park in order to avoid dents from other car doors. I like to keep it spotlessly clean, inside and out, and don't let anyone smoke/eat/etc in it!
    Feel free to post some pics of your pride and joy if you wishsmile.gif

OK well if you insist (it doesn't take much persuasion for me to show her off! :D)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2567/3785047642_4b09fa7772_m.jpg
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3584/3784237047_fbc9402718_m.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

I love my car, couldn't be without it.

Sadly my first car which i'd had for a year (97 fiesta junker) died a week before my 21st and i was devestated. But all my friends pulled together and for my birthday all gave me donations towards the car of my dreams!!

I now drive an 02 Suzuki Gran Vitara, and it's beautiful. It's like driving in an armchair! Me and the OH are planning on driving around Normandy next summer in it :) It just puts me in a great mood every time i see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Damn you; my secrets out:P:pac::D:pac:

Do any of you drive a particular type of car for a certain reason; like do you think it suits you??? I chose mine not just because I needed it, but I went for the type that I did buy because of all of them I testdrove and looked at, it felt very me. It sounds daft but I think it suits me; I have a friend who drives a mini and I think it suits her too!

No my lovely wonderfull car does not suit me but needless to say it cost me 300 yoyos a year on insurance and feck all to tax :).....
    but if i did have the money i can asure you id be driving round in something
    nice and unusaual :)

well its true cars do suit you and i wont give you greif you cleerly need a 4x4 if your towing stuff... I like them well i like the one that parked out the back of my house think monster truck /jeep ;)

I wouldn't castigate anybody for what they drive really tbh; each to their own; but certain vehicles really aren't all that practical for certain uses, which always makes me wonder really! But I do agree that nothing compares to the level of freedom that any sort of a car will give you; as long as it goes you're sorted:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

I drive an Audi A4 estate and I love it to bits. Have had three Audi's in a row now and don't think I could ever go back to driving any other car (unless maybe someone bought me a Lexis :-) Anyone??? ). They're the nicest drive I have ever experienced. It's a diesel as well so very cheap to run although it's a 1.9 litre engine, so more pricey to tax in a year than insure.

My Dad taught me to drive in big cars and always instilled their value in me. I know a few friends who started off in small cars and are terrified of driving big cars so he made sure I learned in one. I love driving a solid, heavy car and always feel safer in them (I was in a nasty accident once in an Audi and remain convinced that if it weren't for the strength and weight of the car I'd have flipped three times into a ditch).

I'm pretty good at checking for oil, keeping the water topped up and the air in my tyres checked etc, but Dad does give it a once over every now and again when I'm home. If it ever needs any work though I'm sorry to say I always get a man involved - I got totally ripped off before when I went to a garage as a young female with no clue about cars. Unfortunately I feel like men are just taken more seriously and for less of a ride when it comes to car maintenance and problems.

I'd be lost without my car, really love it. AND I can parallel park it in one go, which is more than my OH can do. Ha.

I LOVE A4 estates!!! Know exactly what you mean about being female at garages; altho I have to say that my last few experiences have been pretty positive. Some are exceptionally guilty of being very intimdatory and sexist, even when you actually know what you're talking about:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Been driving over a decade now so I'd be lost without it, but I think that's only because public transport is so bad in Cork. I lived in Dublin for two years and sold my car before I moved up - didn't miss it at all (only when I was visiting home). Dubs are always shocked by how good I think public transport is up there. :)

I drive a '03 Fiat Punto. Love it. It's wonderfully smooth and light - compared to my last car which was a Polo and extremely heavy and clunky, and always needed serious acceleration. And it was always breaking down but the mechanic could never figure out what was wrong with it.
    Usually Volkswagon is hailed as the holy grail of automobile engineering, whereas Fiat gets the "Fix it again tomorrow" jokes. :pac:

Other than practicality though, I'm not into cars or what they look like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I'm only about to book my theory test:(I'm so behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

First car I cared about was on a car share with my Mum, it had been my Grans, a little daewoo matiz. I called it a golustard colour, as it wasn't quite gold, and it wasn't quite mustard....:) Drove it over to the U.K. several times, not the comfiest of cars for a long term drive, but it got me there.

One time when I was driving throught Scotland, I saw the car's "twin" driving towards me, but a left hand drive version with a roof-rack...car had a full family in it, obviously on their hols, they flashed the lights, beeped the horn & waved like loons at me as we drove past each other (Of course I waved back:D) It's now someone else's first car, but I still smile when I see it tootling round the town...

Now driving (sharing with the Mammy again!) a Renault Modus - the unofficial Top Gear Mammies Son's choice of cars:D It's comfy, full of random pockets/cubby holes, which is very handy, and has a bit of speed when needed, which is always handy! Don't know if it suits me, but it does for the moment....!

Madame Razz, yeah I'm same, able to do all the bits, I'd want to be, garages are such a rip off more over when it's a woman they see landing in, fleece time they think. But when it comes to changing the tyre, I'm grand getting both tyres off and rolling the new one over to the wheel but for the life of me can not lift it up :rolleyes:

Fair play to your Dad, where would we be without them :)

Uphill pulling - Don't you just feel so proud when she performs like that?:)

Yes the attitude from men is gas. Oh I just love it, more over if you're somewhere picking up supplies or whatever and they bring a load of stuff out to "the car" for you, the expression is enough. Even though the Wizard is 12 yrs old, I think they envy her, she looks just fab ( well of course I would think that wouldn't I :rolleyes: )

Alicat, Right, the whole 4x4 thing in cities I just don't get. People live in a city / town, have office jobs, do not own a cow or horse do not haul heavy gear or drive out over heavy/rough ground, why do they need them. And yes, the whole dropping one / two kids to school in a 4x4 does my head. ( having said that I did buy mine because I loved it on first seeing it, but she was 10yrs old at the time and these city / town types wouldn't be caught dead in her :o ) The heaviest work these people do is the shopping once a week. Alot of it is "having the biggest and best" or "to be seen in". Another thing I hate is seeing a shirt and tie in a 4x4, it just does not look right.

I'm only about to book my theory test:(I'm so behind

We all have to start somewhere!!! Just get it done and get driving as fast as you can; it truly is one of lifes essential skills:)

I LOVE A4 estates!!! Know exactly what you mean about being female at garages; altho I have to say that my last few experiences have been pretty positive. Some are exceptionally guilty of being very intimdatory and sexist, even when you actually know what you're talking about:rolleyes:

Ya I wouldn't be the most knowlegable about the real ins and outs of cars and the first time I went to a garage I got totally fleeced :(

Since then I have wised up a bit and I have to say, the one group of men who are genuinely and exceptionally lovely to young women who don't have a clue are AA guys. Every single one I've gotten (and there have been a few :rolleyes:) has been a complete dote. One even recommended a much cheaper and better auto electrician guy who was only around the corner from me rather than me sending the car back to the manufacturing garage which would have undoubtedly been more expensive.

Big shout out to the AA guys. They're awesome ;)

Wizard007 wrote: »
    Madame Razz, yeah I'm same, able to do all the bits, I'd want to be, garages are such a rip off more over when it's a woman they see landing in, fleece time they think. But when it comes to changing the tyre, I'm grand getting both tyres off and rolling the new one over to the wheel but for the life of me can not lift it up :rolleyes:

Bloody heavy aren't they!

Fair play to your Dad, where would we be without them :)

Ah he's great truly:)
    Uphill pulling - Don't you just feel so proud when she performs like that?:)

Yup, I do; I definately do!
    Yes the attitude from men is gas. Oh I just love it, more over if you're somewhere picking up supplies or whatever and they bring a load of stuff out to "the car" for you, the expression is enough.

I hear ya; some of them are ridiculous:rolleyes:
    Another thing I hate is seeing a shirt and tie in a 4x4, it just does not look right.

I confess that day to day I wear a suit because of my work:o

But it makes the looks from men all the funnier:pac:

pookie82 wrote: »
    Since then I have wised up a bit and I have to say, the one group of men who are genuinely and exceptionally lovely to young women who don't have a clue are AA guys. Every single one I've gotten (and there have been a few :rolleyes:) has been a complete dote. One even recommended a much cheaper and better auto electrician guy who was only around the corner from me rather than me sending the car back to the manufacturing garage which would have undoubtedly been more expensive.

Big shout out to the AA guys. They're awesome ;)

It's always good when they speak to you like a human being as opposed to a cretin:pac:. Tho I must say that the mechanic in the garage I deal with now is really really nice, and really helpful; tells it like it is and no BS:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭sophya

Don't have a car yet but my dad has found one for me so a car owner very soon. It's a 2000 Nissan Micra. Just need to get some experience with driving though. I think the worst thing is getting used to the gears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

I adore 'Baby'. I've just moved to the UK and brought her with me.
    She's a little silver '99 hatchback Nissan Almera Sport 1.4L! And I love her.

I do everything from talking to her, to apologising if I bump something!

Its my second car. I had a little 1.2L Feista, which I also adored, her name was Sally! My dad bought her for me when I was in first year college. She was great but dad felt I needed a bigger car and my 21st came up. (I sound spoilt but I promise I'm not!) Molly, my sister got the pleasure of owning Sally!

So we bought Baby one cold March evening and I'll have her 3 years this March and she has honestly not let me down once!

I do maintain her myself, I regularly clean the inside and out, top up oil, water etc!

I'd be lost without my beep beep and I LOVE to drive so I'm happy out!

ATM my dream cars would be an Audi RS4 or a BMW M3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

I was given a car when I started college but my father spent an afternoon showing me all of these things before I was given the keys:o. 'A woman should know how to do these things' he says and 'you can't be relying on the man in your life to do them'. <3 ya Daddy:p

Good on your dad, Madame R, dead right. Everyone should know how to change a puncture as well, just in case.

I taught myself, but I have lots of friends who don't know how to change water, oil, fix puncture or do a charge.

Have some female friends who struggle when parking, even after years of driving, you would think they were trying to back an elephant into a fecking tent.

This is a matter of pride with me, knowing how to do these things. They're not difficult, you just need someone to show you and you're away.

Car stolen and trashed last year, it's coming up to the anniverary soon. Gutted.

Cadiz wrote: »

Have some female friends who struggle when parking, even after years of driving, you would think they were trying to back an elephant into a fecking tent.

My Dad taught me a fool proof method of parallel parking. Think he was determined I wouldn't be the stereotypical female who can't reverse/park do anything except drive forward. Guys do tend to have much better spatial relations when it comes to parking or maneouvering cars though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Only bought mine last month, sitting the test in a month and only said this evening that I love her so much! 26 years walking everywhere, but now i have one I feel so lucky and I love having a car. I must say it everyday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

have a 00 punto, havnt passed my test yet but i love it, unfortunalty mum had to scrap her car recently so shes driving mine at the mo:rolleyes: so not gettin much practise in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Loopsie

i love cars! I work in car sales so lucklily i get to drive something nice all the time perks of the job......
    Im doing car sales about 6 years now but my family are in the business and apparently i have petrol in my veins!!!!
    I know my way around an engine again thats part of my job to know it!
    I know at this stage i wouldnt do anything else..........i love my job
    it was either work with cars or horses!!!

Favourite car of all time was a db9 conv i had for a weekend, amazing.
    If i won the lotto tomorrow id buy a porsche gt3
    day to day i mostly drive my lovely Saab 9-3....most comfortable seats in the world!!!!

Car stolen and trashed last year, it's coming up to the anniverary soon. Gutted.

I just saw this now!!! NOOOOOO!:eek:

That's terrible!! I had a friend who a few years back was driving an 1984 Corsa, cost her like 200euro but it was going perfectly. Bastard little joyriders robbed it from a carpark in Galway and it was found burnt out and wrapped around a pole in one of the estates on the east side of the city. I felt so bad for her; it was all she could afford at the time and she really needed wheels.

One of my worst fears is that my car will be stolen and trashed:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

pookie82 wrote: »
    My Dad taught me a fool proof method of parallel parking. Think he was determined I wouldn't be the stereotypical female who can't reverse/park do anything except drive forward. Guys do tend to have much better spatial relations when it comes to parking or maneouvering cars though.

Aw Pookie mine too :). He died a few years ago and these are the things I remember him most fondly for, especially when I see dollybird style driving :p. And once you know a method it's easy peasy! Yes, annoyingly fellas often seem to have more of a knack for it :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I drive a '07 Mitsubishi Colt so not the "boy racer" version, the "mammy" version, as everyone says! :pac:

It's my first car. My uncle bought it for me as a present. It was Christmas of '06. My uncle is normally very generous with the ching-ching so when I opened my card and it was empty, it was a bit of a shocker! :rolleyes::pac:

Later in the day, after dinner and when everyone was sat around watching movies and eating chocolates, my uncle says to me, "Novella, I'm really sorry I don't have a present for you today, it's just it won't be in the country until the third of January...".

I was so confused and then he announces he's gone and bought me a brand new fcuking car, despite the fact I was seventeen, couldn't drive and didn't even have a licence!

I named my wonderful car Anabelle and we've had many adventures together! She is my first love in car form and she has never let me down. I owe my uncle so much 'cause Anabelle has been the reason behind many brilliant times over the last few years! :)

I can't change a tyre but I have met some lovely men whilst standing on the side of roads looking distressed so I don't think I'll be learning any time soon! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I have no car. Just don't see the need for one really. I live close to town in Killarney. In Cork there are buses. And I can't afford one, gotta pay for rent and college and all that. Never in a million years would a family member buy me car! You lucky things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I don't have a car. I walk and get the bus everywhere. I have an annual bus ticket, so I might as well use it!

Sure, getting the bus might take longer than driving but having a car isn't a necessity for me and I'm watching my carbon footprint (yes, really!)

My dream car would probably be a Honda Integra. I've always thought those cars were cool! Sure, they're big boy racer cars, but they look good! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭goofygirl

I drive a 1991 4WD Isuzu Trooper and I LOVE it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I drive a 15 year old Ford Falcon Futura, 4.5 litre in-line six cylinder CANAL BARGE. The head gasket leaks, everything that could wear out is near worn out, and it's generally a chug bucket.

As for what it means to me, it means I can't afford a new car and that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

I drive a bright green '98 Suzuki Swift and I absolutely love it. I saved up for a year and bought it all by myself along with the tax and insurance, it was the first really expensive thing that I ever bought by myself and I'm utterly proud of it. It has so many dents on it, I don't even want to try and count them (one of which is my fault, I felt awful that day, though in my defence, it was a short poll that wasn't big enough to show on my mirror) and the window at the drivers sit doesn't go up properly unless you push it from the outside but that car is my pride and joy.

I only passed my test over the summer but I have been determined not to be a typical woman driver and learnt to park well. My mum taught me the standard one (though I can only reverse, I can't actually drive straight into a space, I was never allowed to when learning) and apparently now when she parks, she gets guilty when she does it badly as I would have done a better job. My friend taught me how to parrallel park and I'm only getting the hang of it in the past month or two. If I start out right, its perfect but if I don't its hard as the car doesn't have power steering so doing tons of tight manuevers kills my arms.

My current car that I really want is actually just an up to date version of the swift, I love the car and don't want to change it, I just want the modern features. Especially power steering, this whole power assisted steering thing sucks

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I was 25, had only had a couple of bad lessons with the Mammy when I was 17. (She holding on for dear life as I tootled along at 15mph, not confidence inspiring!) I knew I wanted to drive but I was scared so procrastinated. So at this stage I was in full time employment for about 2 years and there I was stressed and annoyed that yet again the bus home hadn't shown up, it would be another half hour til the next one and then a 45 minute journey for all of 3.5 miles. Decided to go on a texting spree to take my mind off it.

Then I came across a number a college friend foisted on me more than a year earlier, a driving instructor. So in my ire at the bus situation I rang and booked a lesson. To my surprise I wasn't scared, in fact I was confident, and even a little bit good at driving. After my second lesson my instructor told me to buy a car if that's what I had planned. 4 days later I drove my 00 Black Ford Fiesta home, my first time in a car alone (twas allowed in those days). I had still never reversed a car. New commute time: 8 minutes.

I passed my test after 9 months driving.

Still going strong after 4 years, has cost me less than a grand in maintainence and repairs in that time. I'd be lost without it now. Even to be able to go to the supermarket and do a "big shop" is a luxury I hadn't known. To be able to say, I'll drop out to Roscam to visit my pal without logistical plans or €50 in taxi fare is lovely.

We'll be getting a family car in January, currently thinking of a 08 Focus Diesel. I'm totally sold in Ford after my Fiesta experience, still planning on keeping the Fiesta though, which will be my work commute car when I get
    back to work.

Aw Pookie mine too :). He died a few years ago and these are the things I remember him most fondly for, especially when I see dollybird style driving :p. And once you know a method it's easy peasy! Yes, annoyingly fellas often seem to have more of a knack for it :rolleyes:.

I'm really sorry to hear that Cadiz. I'm sure you think of him everytime you do something he taught you ;)

Speaking of dollybird driving, I was in a Londis store one afternoon a couple of years ago on campus (won't say where) and there were two girls in front of me in the queue chatting (one dressed all in pink, I'll never forget it). One of them had just gotten a car and her mate was telling her how awesome it was to have a car etc and she was agreeing.

Went something like this:

Mate: Oh my god, that's like, SO cool that you have like, a car now
    New Driver: OH MY GOD I KNOW, I like, totally can't reverse though!!!!

*raucous giggles*

Mate: Oh my god, I'm driving for like, two years now and I STILL CAN'T REVERSE!!!!!

*giggles rise to squealing*

New Driver: Oh my god I so don't feel so bad now!!!!
    Mate: Don't worry about it, honestly, I've been fine so far. Just like, get a guy to reverse for you when you need to.
    New Driver: Oh my god I SO, like, WILL!!!!

Both: AH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

I put down my Twix and left chocolateless for fear of hearing any more :(

I've always been into cars, when I was a kid I was mad into F1 racing and I had a huge collection of model cars. I wanted to be a mechanic! That clearly never happened though!

My current car is the second I've ever owned and I just love it. It's a Volvo S60SE 2.0 Turbo, it's an automatic and it's got heated leather seats! It's an 03, I bought it in 06 and stupidly paid cash for it - probably worth about a fiver now! - but I love it, it's so comfortable, and safe which is the most important thing to me. It's built like a tank, you can't feel a thing when you're inside it. It's my pride and joy but unfortunately I don't look after it as well as I should.

I currently need two new tyres and a service, I'll do it when I get back from my holliers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I drive a 05 Focus, means nothing to me because its not the car I want - I had my pride and joy last year but had to sell it after my father gave me the talk that made me sell it :(

My baby was a Celica and that was my pride and joy :( When the salon is making me millions I will get myself another :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

The first car I had my brother gave to me (his old car) it was a 96 opel corsa. A short while ofter I got it I found out the rear supenission was damaged and would cost too much to fix (my brother called speed bumps fun bumps)

That was earlier this year, I now have a 99 subaru vivio, which I haave named my matchbox. Anyone sitting it the passinger seat has to keep their legs over to the side otherwise I can't change gears (only 1st & 2nd), everyone forgets and I end up hitting their knees. At the moment it needs a new CV drive and I hate the noise it makes when I turn the corner, it's embarrissing.

As for matenince, I can do the normal things like checking for oil and other liquids, I can also check the tyre pressure and recently I figured out how to change the light bulbs.

Still need to learn how to change the tyre, had enough trouble clipping a hub cap on when it fell off. I also REALLY need to give the car a clean, inside and out but I don't care how it looks, what I care about is how it drives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭emma82

my first venture into the motoring world was with Sally! A beat up 97 corsa. She was fantastic!!! Bought her in Donegal & my Bf drove her to kildare & said she ws the worst car ever!
    Some of Sally's best traits included:
    - petrol gauge going from full to empty when you rounded a corner or were on a roudabout
    - over heating if on long journey- queue putting the heat up full blast to take the heat away from the engine
    - the wee smash that broke her front bumper where we discovered a dismembered bird
    - the pebble dash marks on the front bumper from her previous owners fondness to driving behind lorries
    - the bum shaped bump on her bonnet that was made by a football but looked like something else entirely!!!!
    - her farewell party around the stock car rally where she came second in the demolition derny!

My new car is a 06 Suzuki Swift 3 door- much nicer, air con, sports seats, no markings but not alot of character- sometimes the old ones are the best!

Ah the memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I drive a 00 Nissan Micra. I bought it because it's cheap, fuel efficient and low tax. It's dirty on the inside and has a large dent in it from when I crashed it, I haven't bothered getting it fixed as it doesn't affect the car's driving. No idea how to maintain it. It's my first car and I've never driven another. I have a full license just over a year now.

Don't see the point in spending money on it considering I drive for about 10 mins each day on average, and only because I'm too lazy to walk.

Zero interest in cars but I wouldn't say no to a Merc, lol.