Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When were you last involved in fisticuffs?

• 06-11-2009 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭

When is the last time you actually had a fight? A physical fight where you squared up against another person and laid down the law to the best of your ability.

Be it self defense in a mugging, or just fighting your friends in a pointless drunken brawl?

I havent had a fist fight in 22 years, since I was ten years old when I grabbed the other guys and pushed his head through some railings, where he got stuck :rolleyes:

Are we a violent race of people, or do we rather flight than fight?

Personally I'd rather avoid this type of thing, but how often do you find yourself unable or unwilling to go without expressing your anger in a punch-in-the-face kind of way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

ill fight ya for your shoe laces boss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

is this some sort of sick joke?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Archeron wrote: »
    When is the last time you actually had a fight? A physical fight where you squared up against another person and laid down the law to the best of your ability.

Be it self defense in a mugging, or just fighting your friends in a pointless drunken brawl?

I havent had a fist fight in 22 years, since I was ten years old when I grabbed the other guys and pushed his head through some railings, where he got stuck :rolleyes:

Are we a violent race of people, or do we rather flight than fight?

Personally I'd rather avoid this type of thing, but how often do you find yourself unable or unwilling to go without expressing your anger in a punch-in-the-face kind of way?

The use of the word "fisticuffs" must mean that your last fight was about 200 years ago, and not the 22 specified.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

I thought fistcuffs was some sex fetish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was never in a fight =/

Always somehow manage to talk my way out of nasty situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I look forward to reading this thread when some people say how they were in loads of fights, but that it was always instigated by other people, every last one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Bout 2 years ago. I LOVE fighting but would rather not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Bout 2 years ago. I LOVE fighting but would rather not

few slaps at the 4lights is it ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Bout 2 years ago.

Same here, was jumped around two years ago.

Hate fighting but when you get a box to the back of the head followed by futher thumps you have to defend yourself.

Destroyed the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 kenneth5

I got into a drunken fight with a stranger outside a nightclub two weeks ago. Came away with two black eyes and a bloody nose. Completly deserved them too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

strongr wrote:
    few slaps at the 4lights is it ya?
    Never had the pleasure of the 4lights, it was all about the peace park and summerhill corridor :p

TheZohan wrote:
    Same here, was jumped around two years ago.

Hate fighting but when you get a box to the back of the head followed by futher thumps you have to defend yourself.

Destroyed the guy.
    That was me, not how it happened....mmmm /spends tehzohans money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

8 years ago out side the Black Horse in Inchicore.

It was a 2v2 Tag team match. I think we where the Bush Whackers and they where The Legion of Doom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Never had the pleasure of the 4lights, it was all about the peace park and summerhill corridor :p

i always loved the irony of meeting in the peace park for a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Honestly, seeing men fight is the biggest turn off ever for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

If it was you I'm not surprised you don't remember. And no that was your own money. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Hoestly, seeing men fight is the biggest turn off ever for me.

But i iz hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Only ever had 1 in my life. My brother in law kicking out at my wife. Well, that couldn't go on without a bit of input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

just over a year ago, day after last halloween
    Some skanger decided to start smashing up the stairwell where I live, physical intervention was required to resolve the situation. :)

Oddly enough he looked like someone had punched the head offa him already.. his skangery face covered in bruises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I had a fight with a girl in my class when i was 9..she really pushed my buttons and I think may have called me a 'Jehovah Witness' because I used to get out of mass because I wasn't Catholic (or a JW) so I knocked her over a table. She roared claiming I had broken her back, but I got off scot free cos she was a mopey whinger anyway and the teacher didn't like her.

Not fisticuffs as such but one drunk eegit 'lay a hand' on me one night recently in a pub after one of my friends spilt his drink by accident, I was sober and to make things pleasant offered to pay for his drink (as he has started to shout expletives at my friend who was very apologetic) but when he listed about three drinks including a double vodka and red bull I told him to take a hike, I'd only buy the one that was knocked and the cheeky fecker tried to push me into some sort of fight?? Quick glance to the barman who signaled security. Such a knob. Felt sorry for his girlfriend who stood there looking mortified and intimidated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Bambi wrote: »
    Some skanger decided to start smashing up the stairwell where I live,

You live in a stairwell!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Never been in a physical fight and hopefully that will remain the case.

Besides, only boys call fisticuffs. Real men call duels; pistols at dawn is the proper way to win honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭mcmc

Im a lover, not a hater!!

Lover of women, you sick people!!!

Ill try make peace my fellow man but if that fails, a loaf in the nose will sort 'em:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I've only ever been in one fight when I was 8, and it ended with me and a bloody nose. I got my revenge the next day though:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Last proper fight was probably about 10 years ago when I was in school. We were all crammed into the locker area, climbin all over each other tryin to get our books out at the end of the school day. One lad I never particularly liked pretty much bulldozed me out of the way to get to his locker. Im not usually agressive but somethin just snapped and next thing we were on the ground knockin ten bells out of each other! :D

It was all forgotten about soon after though. Never resort to physical violence kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

About four months ago in a disco, I was sober.
    I was going out to the smoking area with a few of the boys and I was at the back of the group walking out and I got blocked off by a group of girls(that thought they were God's gift to the world:mad:) and this scumbag pushed me and I went to walk off because I was in a pissy mood, he pulled me back and hit me a slap in the jaw, I floored him with two boxes, a left to the ribs and a right hook to the jaw.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

A recent survey has shown that posters are 68% more brave when posting about incidents on boards than they are in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

ya, Because thats the question that was asked:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Banter Joe wrote: »
    You live in a stairwell!?

I do indeed, you must visit sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

The last time i was in a proper fight was when i was about 9 or 10 with a boy who lived around the corner from me. He was mean :(

Last new years i slapped one of my friends in the face because he smashed a vase over another friends head at a party. All very drunk and disorganised. We can laugh now......ish

I hate fighting though. Even shouting at someone gives me the shakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

There were skelps thrown in the schoolyard when I was 17. I didn't win but I landed a beauty of a haymaker on the chaps jaw. I got a black eye myself and he got a very swollen jaw and a broken thumb. Like gents, we shook hands soon afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

ya, Because thats the question that was asked:rolleyes:

Sarcasm and hostility in men is a horrible trait too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I hate people who go out on a night out and drink too much and get into a fight. If you can't handle your drink or get aggressive when you drink then...... maybe you shouldn't drink!! Take up hash or something. I'm kind lucky in the fact that I'm 6ft 4" and no one starts fights with me. Couple that with the fact that when I drink I get ultra friendly and then you get the reason why I simply don't get into fights. Where's the fun in fighting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

mcmc wrote: »
    Im a lover, not a hater!!
    I think the phrase is "I'm a lover, not a fighter." :P

Last fight I was in was about 2 years ago (note I'm 16). Some fella was being a bollox and I just lost it. No harm was done though. We're friends now. Ahh back then, so young, so foolish :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Sarcasm and hostility in men is a horrible trait too.

Ara get out of that. Women love sarcasm in men *

* See what I did there. Very smart, I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

About a month ago, drunken fighting with a friend. I got destroyed and then got kicked out of the house. Tip: don't try wrestle to the ground a guy that could lift several of you.

Previous to that, I was about 12, started out as some playful childish boxing which was taken too seriously by the other guy and quickly got out of hand. Pretty sure I won that though, and the guy I fought went to jail a few years later.

Tends not to be me that gets targetted by scumbags on nights out though, tends to be my friends. Credit to them, though, they're great at talking their way out of that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Only been in a couple of fights and they were when I was in primary school...

I'd like to get in a fight again to see how I get on, but in controlled circumstances where I can't actually get hurt.

Like fighting someone who's tied up, or in a wheelchair or somethin... Or both !

I'd kick some serious ass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I was never in a fight =/

Always somehow manage to talk my way out of nasty situations

^^ This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

About a year ago. Didn't win, but didn't lose badly either. Guy was an asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I haven't had a fight since secondary school, thankfully.
    Two women fighting is just as bad.
    Most guys are probably imagining foxy boxing or mud wrestling, but real fights with two girls swinging out of each others hair and shouting abuse... so completely rotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

About a year ago, me and my bro jumped 4 guys, before that me and my bro tackle about 5+ guys, before that me my bro and a few mates got jumped by an arseload of people...

In all cases, the law never knew who to help out or who to arrest :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Geez. Be nearly 2 years for me since I was in a proper fight (where fists were actually thrown). I normally talk my way out of things and I'm fairly tall (6ft 3'', not skinny or stocky tall, but propotionate) so most assholes just talk hard rather than throw anything.

Was in the local niteclub at the side of the dance-floor supping my beer when I saw a dipstick dancing agressively around 2 girls I knew (rubbing them up with his hands and kept going back to them after they pushed him away.)

I went down to dance with the girls to keep him away before he shoved me and then put his head towards mine and we did the head to head thing for a few seconds before he threw a sly dig into me. I grabbed him, tripped over the girl behind me (:P) and dragged him down with me.

The fecker fell on top of me and had a good chance to hammer me but before I even knew it I grabbed him by the neck with one hand and grabbed his belt with the other and threw him over me and did a switch-aroony with me on top of him. Gave him 3-4 good hard punches before a friend pulled me off him and he got chucked out.

I'm fairly well known around my town and I'm known to rarely get on the wrong side anyone without good reason so when it was heard that this fella started on me a vigilante group of people gave him a good local town lesson without me even knowing!

I never saw him again :P though I spent the next few days with a pathetic black eye people at work could notice :( but the women loved me for doing it :D

Unless the situation called for it I don't throw the first punch, don't need any crap from the Gardai and seen too many friends and people wind up in court for silly fights. Plus there some sick bastards out there with knives, a few people I know have being on the receiving end of them - one of them getting the side of his mouth sliced ala - The Joker (though not as big and nasty...........or cool in a Dark Knight way :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PrideInBattle

Got jumped by two fellas in Prospect last weekend (near Whitechurch if you know it)
    Was twisted as well, in no state to defend myself.

Came home with a few bruises not too bad, then I found out who was the first fella to hit me, I demolished him.

He's trying to bring me to court?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yep, that's the way cowards go now. I know plenty of those types who will start a fight with people but don't throw a punch, when the other does the coward runs immediately to the cop shop and *BANG* the other poor sod has a summons.

Again, that's why I don't throw the first slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PrideInBattle

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Yep, that's the way cowards go now. I know plenty of those types who will start a fight with people but don't throw a punch, when the other does the coward runs immediately to the cop shop and *BANG* the other poor sod has a summons.

Again, that's why I don't throw the first slap.

I've no proof that they jumped me either, already had 3 guards at my house since it happened.

Sorry mammy, love ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

jiltloop wrote: »
    I'm 6ft 4" and no one starts fights with me. Couple that with the fact that when I drink I get ultra friendly

How friendly exactly? Think I would prefer a hiding :-)

Last fight was 5 years ago. More a hiding than a fight to be honest. Only landed one punch on the scumbag before his even scummier mate stuck a pint glass in my face and the two of them proceeded to kick the **** out of me.

Surprised I'm not the only one to lose a row. Always thought AHers were well hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Real life violent encounters, loads. But thats because I worked as a bouncer in bars and clubs for over 15yrs.

Other than that, I'm fighting in the Irish Judo Open (Masters cat.) tomorrow - if anyone wants to light a candle and say a prayer for me!... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Twas two year ago now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I was never in a fight that i recall anyway. I would probably lose horribly if i was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Got jumped by two fellas in Prospect last weekend (near Whitechurch if you know it)
    Was twisted as well, in no state to defend myself.

Came home with a few bruises not too bad, then I found out who was the first fella to hit me, I demolished him.

He's trying to bring me to court?!

I fear your username doesn't help your image in this situation :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Woke up covered in a lot of blood this morning, dont think its my own...