Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most stupid thing you've overheard.......

• 01-11-2009 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭

I get a great laugh at reading some of the things on overheardindublin.com so thought we could share a few of our own here - stories/misinterpretations/incorrect use of a word etc!

People who say 'pumpture' instead of 'puncture' [very common!]
    Someone who commented on my 'lovely sequences' on my top when they really meant 'sequins'.

I'm sure there are more but it's dinner time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Dinner at 2pm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bangers last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I once heard a girl on the 17a complain on the phone about how hard it is to have sex with someone in their job without the whole office finding out.

I asked her where she works and went to submit an application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

"What's the capital of Africa?"... hahaha!

"Did you know that semen contains vitamin E or something like that?"

"Really? I better start swallowing then"

Starbucks is weird sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

unts,unts,unts......

soundsham wrote: »
    unts,unts,unts......

Is the C on your keyboard broken?

no, the K is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

That_Guy wrote: »
    Is the C on your keyboard broken?

Nah I think he just doesn't like hard trance or 'dance music' in general.

I overheard a converation in a pub between some senior figures in the local UDC about plans to pederstrianise the main thoroughfare of Dundalk....for anyone that knows the town they'd know precisely how stupid such a notion is, but should not be surprised when it still goes ahead in the next few years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I get a great laugh at reading some of the things on overheardindublin.com so thought we could share a few of our own here - stories/misinterpretations/incorrect use of a word etc!

People who say 'pumpture' instead of 'puncture' [very common!]
    Someone who commented on my 'lovely sequences' on my top when they really meant 'sequins'.

I'm sure there are more but it's lunch time!

fixed!

"So I only fake orgasm when I masturbate"..

I've never heard it but used to say it alot walking by people :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

"It's called sarcasticness you idiot."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Im missing the ANY key from my keyboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

Chimley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

no, the K is though

Looks like it's fixed so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

Chicargo

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Atwork

NAMA will be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

When i was on honeymoon last year in mexico one of the hotels we stayed in had suites named after famous artists, performers and the like. A yank tourist stood at reception and saw the Pavarotti suite being advertised for $299 per night like so "Pavarotti-$299" and said "Wow, Pavarotti, I didnt know he was coming here". I just said "Ya, but i dont think he's singing live" and left it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭WeWillBeReborn

Some guy asking me what was the most stupid thing I've ever overheard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If he was asking you then how did you overhear it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Is a Panda a bear?"

"Where is Wales?"

"I'll ring the gardai if you don't stop stalking me"

<_<

>_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭WeWillBeReborn

SV wrote: »
    He asked me, so I heard it, so I overheard it. Simple :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

He asked me, so I heard it, so I overheard it. Simple :)
    Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I've said a lot of stupid things myself.

"Where's Prague... Isn't that in Portugal?"

Someone asked me if I knew who Mark Twain was

"He's that guy who writes quotes!"

I said both of those things a few years ago, but they still mortify me to this day!
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭MatthewVII

On the 46A out to UCD a few years back, a few D4ish girls sitting a few seats down talking about the Pride and Prejudice movie (Kiera Knightley version)

Fop #1 : "I thought it was really good"

Fop #2 : "yeah, but I can't believe they got away with making such a rip-off of Bridget Jones' Diary"

Oh dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Was jumping on the bus to Navan the other day when a man shouting over to me: '' This bus going to finglas?''

''No Navan.''

''Finglas?''

''NAVAN''

''FINGLAS?''

''NAVANNNNNN''

''Oh right, cheers bud.''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭BlackMamba

"Athy is a county, right?" -said by one of my friends....never letting her live it down.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Was on a bus upstairs a few years ago there was four scum heads with set of golf clubs they obviously had nicked out of someones car ,this was the conversation

"heeer Damo how much de ye think we will get for these??"

"How the Fcuk do i know maybe 40 or 50 euurro"

"Ah bollix....fcuk it anyway!!!"

"Whats wrong with ye Anto??"

"The Boll*ks has his name printed on the fcuking Sticks.............look Christy O Connor Jnr "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭jif

furiousox wrote: »
    Chicargo

thats an abreviation for "honey..get in the car...come on! lets go" see :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

no, the K is though
    Stee wrote: »
    Looks like it's fixed so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Cheetahs run at 180mph

heard that in Dublin zoo years ago!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Sticky Fingers

Overheard recently at the zoo ( Americans involved )
    "They are big, what are they ? "
    "They're fruit bats" I said
    "Oh, What do they eat ?"
    "Eh?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

"is Elton John gay?"

"I can't spell NUIG!"

"Where did you get a coconut from? oh, Africa was it?" "ah, Tesco..."

"You don't hear much about *Spells God* G-O-D these days.." "who the hell is G-O-D??"

“So if you had your nipple pierced would you have 3 holes with milk instead of 1??”

from an 18 year old- "did your mother sing at my wedding?"

quotes from my homies:D!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

"He made it up. It was, like, totally fictionary"
    -bloke from Spin 1038 morning crew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

This is slightly different but ..

Years back down at the Trip To Tipp festival concert (if anyone remembers that) a mate of mine lost the head with us for laughing at him.

It started with him telling a story about the week before about him not getting served in a pub in town. He said:

"Lads, last week the bouncer let me into The Ivy Rooms but the barman didn't look the like of me and wouldn't serve me and got me kicked back out" :)

We just laughed a little at this stage and were about to tell him what we were laughing at but he started to get really wound up and said:

"Lads, he didn't look the like of me, allright!, what the f**k is so funny about that".

We were all drinking cans in a field some were stoned and he just was getting more and more irate. At this point we were crying laughing and was going ..

"You's are a bunch of w**kers, are you's saying the bouncer didn't let me in?? What's the story?? I'm f**king telling ya's ... you's are a bunch of pr**ks!, ya's know that".

He got close to throwing digs at one point and it must have been 15 minutes before anyone had the breath left from laughing to tell him what he said and why we were laughing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I remember someone asking the teacher in school - 'Who was the unknown soldier?'

Also, overheard some D4 young wans talking about the Michael Collins film, and explaining about the Bloody Sunday Massacre - saying that it happened during an Ireland V England soccer match...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

"Thats the wrong hole, you're hurting me"

michael collins thing reminds me of coming back from a match one day through beal na blath and 1 lad telling another
    "this is the spot where michael collins died",
    2nd guy says "ya 'tis a dangerous bend alright isn't it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Being in a market sqaure in Tangiers in Morocco and hearing some very loud english tourists repeatedly asking a taxi driver for directions to the
    'Djemaa el Fna' ,the famous morrocan square where snake charmers,singers,acrobats,child boxers,fortune tellers et al perform daily, and which happens to be in Marrakech,137 miles away.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭tim0ney

Three generations of inner-city dubs [all female]. The 20-ish mother turns to the 40-ish grandmother, in some distress: "Ma, oi need ta go toileh!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Upon hearing someone singing 'under the sea'
    ..."aw I love the lion king"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

In work, every single fcuking day, a girl will say to her friend in a whisper-y but still loud voice, "Ask that girl to get you a bigger size / see if they have more / ring another store. Go on, ask her. Just ask her!".

Yeah. I can fcuking hear you. JUST ASK ME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

Could just be a South CO. Carlow thing but we pronounce the word "thrown" as "tron" (as in Lloytron).
    Also "ask" is "axe".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

BlackMamba wrote: »
    "Athy is a county, right?" -said by one of my friends....never letting her live it down.:D
    Funny you should mention that, but when I send anything by post, I address it to The County of Athy or County Athy & whether I put Co.Kildare underneath or not, it always gets there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

What's in the box....

1: I heard someone in Tesco say "Look they sell bags of cat ****e" Pointing towards cat litter.:)

2: Two old women on a bus, "So basically by 11 o clock that night I reckon I'd rode at least 60 percent of the people in the room";)

3: Some drunk fella walking into a chinese resturaunt talking to his mate in "funny Chinese accent" : "ah Me'so'sally. I lika flied Lice, Mee luv you long time. vely vely long time" He then complains when he's barred for "NO REASON" - He walked into a CHINESE RESTURANT for cryin out loud!!!:mad:

3: Some dude talking to his mate "I'm tellin ya man, Chicks dig fat guys" :cool:

4: Fella: What d'ya reckon makes Jay excited?
    His Mate: Ooh that's a hard one.
    Fella: So it wasn't just me he told.
    His mate: Oh god!!:eek:

5: Some yank tourist comes upto me in Dublin and says "Sorry Ma'm (I'm a bloke)Do you know where Belfast is?"

6: Buncha rag-a-muffins on the dart:

Guy 1: "What ever happened with you and that little cracker, "Jess" that night?"
    Guy 2: "Ah, y'know, made a woman out of her"
    Guy 3: "Hang on a sec, I was told she went with your brother and you got stuck into some fat chick"
    Guy 2 not knowing he knew this: "Ah balls. (In defeated tone) SHE wouldn't even have a go of me":o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

In the UCD Student Bar:

I just put on the song ''Unchained Melody'' by the Righteous Brothers.

From the next table I hear:

'Ah jeez, I love this song! It's from that film, ''Ghostbusters''!'

'No it isn't you gob****e, it's from ''Poltergeist''.'

Eh, lads, the film is called ''Ghost''...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

One of my less politically aware friends one day...

*me talking to someone else about Al Qaeda*
    Friend: Who's Al Qaeda? Is he that terrorist?

Thought Al was his first name! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

SV wrote: »

0WNED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Novella wrote: »
    In work, every single fcuking day, a girl will say to her friend in a whisper-y but still loud voice, "Ask that girl to get you a bigger size / see if they have more / ring another store. Go on, ask her. Just ask her!".

Yeah. I can fcuking hear you. JUST ASK ME!
    Can you get me a bigger size?