Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your type

• 29-10-2009 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

I was just looking at the male form appreciation thread and I did a quick search for my posts. I shouldn't be surprised but I am alittle, I normally go for fairer haired guys but it seems I quite like darker haired (and lots of it!) guys, they all have some sort of stubble/beard.

Here's a list of them
    -Eric Cantona (older dark haired with a beard but I so would)
    -The guy from tru blood, moonbaby posted it but I replied that I must start watching it and I have :D (he's fairer haired (looks darker in the pic) with a nice bit of stubble in the pic but I prefer him in the pic than the show)
    -The guys from the film Defiance (all older and stubbly and only one fair haired guy but I like the other one better)
    -Nick Oliveri (bald with a long kinda beard and covered in tattoos)

People used to say my type was fair haired men(not lads/boyish types) but now from looking at my own posts I think it doesn't matter the hair colour maybe with more of a lean to darker haired guys, I still the the men but my tastes may have gotten older but I love a guy with a face hat or stubble.

Just wondering do other people have types and have they changed at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Ewan McGregor in Trainspotting....mmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I kinda have a type I prefer, but I am attracted to all manner of women.

The type I prefer is basically average with my sort of mind(incredibly sick minded:D) who is willing to try anything once.

Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I kinda have a type I prefer, but I am attracted to all manner of women.

The type I prefer is basically average with my sort of mind(incredibly sick minded:D) who is willing to try anything once.

Simple really.

I was forgetting all about personality:o. With that it's the odd thinking guys that do it for me, guys that appear to think 'normally' just bore me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Looking back my type as a guy would have been physically, tallish, slim athletic types, wth strong features. Mentally, Arty and very clever, but don't know it. Emotionally often tender. Both blonde and brunette. No red heads yet:). Women who are aware of their bodies and themselves and move in a way that's unconscious but oh god. Quite a few Latin types, with a side order of slovakians. Many insecure that I thought I could "cure" or help at the time:o:D Often I did too, but for other guys to follow. I'm the ideal in betweeny guy apparently.:D

Orla K wrote: »
    (older dark haired with a beard but I so would)
    How you do.....(*falls on mod sword as my co mods would have a far worse fate in store for me:)*)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Wibbs wrote: »
    How you do.....(*falls on mod sword as my co mods would have a far worse fate in store for me:)*)

:D chancer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Wibbs banned until he unbans himself.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

My type used to be anything with a pulse...but now, still warm will do...:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't really have a physical "type," at least not a consistent one. I used to be into dark-haired guys, now I have a thing for fair Scandinavian types. Sometimes I go for guys with really soft features (large eyes, fine boned, etc) other times I just love a good, strong masculine face. Sometimes I like guys with big curls and other times I like guys with short, cropped hair.

One thing that has to be said is I don't think I've ever been with anyone with eyes that weren't blue. Not to say I wouldn't, it's just kind of happened that way.

Don't like really muscley guys (though nice arms are a +1) or obese lads, but I have no problem with chubby or skinny guys at all. Prefer average though.

As far as personality goes that's definitely a constant. Intelligent, sense of humour, VERY laid back (I don't tolerate neurosis well), adventurous, confident, liberal in regards to drugs and human rights, up for anything any time, free spirit, and not religious.

I was forgetting all about personality:o. With that it's the odd thinking guys that do it for me, guys that appear to think 'normally' just bore me.

What a shallow, egotistical (rabble rabble rabble!!) (Only joking, please don't ban me:()

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

maple wrote: »
    :D chancer.
    Silverfish wrote:
    Wibbs banned until he unbans himself.
    This is why I love em. They know my type* and that's a sap.:D

*even kept it on topic. Professionalism I tells ya. Goes off to report post himself.....

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

/runs off to get Xiney.

she'll put manners on you! :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

In regards physical attributes no real type, have been with both small and voluptuous all the way to tall and lean. Emotionally etc... someone who is comfortable in themselves. Nothing sexier than a woman who thinks they are hot (but not in a i'm going to prick tease you all night and annoy every man in the place by thinking i'm americas next top model way) Someone who carries themselves with confidence, elegance and has that glint in their eye :)

But if I had to pick a type per se physically wise probably Caroline Morahan :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 AmazingMan

My type is someone who would never even consider the ridiculous limiting question the thread poses

gosh, aren't I clever and different from the rest of the crowd eh? (hence the amazing tag)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Sickeningly, I've noticed a pattern lately that diverges completely from what was always my chosen path, attraction-wise. My longest relationship was with a gorgeous girl who loved me deeply. She was beautiful, intelligent, quirky and loved all of the same bands, movies, tv shows etc that I did. She challenged me and we had great conversations. My taste (or lack there of) is now somewhat different. Lately I've noticed that I tend to go for really pretty girls with whom I have little or no emotional or social connection. Girls who couldn't argue me out of... whatever analogy fits. Girls who I can't really debate with because I'd win in 5 seconds flat. Girls that don't even really like me very much at the beginning..... Apparently, I like a good chase. But apparently, I don't like much of a reward..... *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Mine seems to be the type that has no interest in me.Its a vicious circle :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I don't like fat chicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Tall (5'7"+), dark haired, stubble, nice eyes, a smile that makes me smile, nice toned arms, able for a bit of banter, good manners, creative, wears the casual look of tshirt/hoodie and jeans/combats.

I've been in relationships with blondes but really dark-haired men catch my eye on first glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I tend to go for tall, types of average build, usually dark. Not thin, but not very fat and not necessarily toned either. I like a bit of a belly. That way I feel more secure about my own wobbly bits :D

Personality-outgoing and funny but intelligent enough to debate with. Someone who will watch a hard to follow film without asking questions the whole way through but who would also be up for a mindless comedy. Someone who will buy whatever paper is there, be it the Times or the Star. Basically someone who is intelligent but doesn't lord it over people the way so many "intellectuals" do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

My type...

Looks - brown (never really went for blondes) hair, blue eyes, must be taller than me, nice arms - apart from those I don't really have any spefications... looks aren't the most important, its all about the butterflies for me

Personality - funny (the ability to make me laugh is the one thing a guy has got to be able to do for me), sensitive, can take a joke, smart (not into braindead chat), confident, independent, exciting, adventurous

I strayed my my type once (the guy had more confidence issues than me and trust me, that is saying something!) and I won't be doing it again (mainly due to the fact I'm engaged to a guy who FULLY fits the bill :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I am attracted to all sorts of men, but I do have certain attributes that I prefer! So if I were to build my perfect guy, he'd be somewhat like this:

Looks - dark curly hair, tall (well, taller than me), burly, nice stubbly/beardy, hairy chest, brown eyes, possibly glasses...

(embarrassingly, this all corresponds to my most recent ex :o)

Personality - funny, intelligent, practical (like, can fix things!), open-minded, empathetic, dark and silly sense of humour, confident, even a bit cocky!

Ah, I dunno. Could go on all day. I just love boys :D

K4t wrote: »
    I don't like fat chicks.

Liar, and I have the pm to prove it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i dont think thre any point saying this that and the other but Sophie Dahl kinda girl, I think shes got a serous beauty and the all important curveyness mmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

A girl shorter than me, dark hair preferable but not essential, nice eyes,good sense of humour, not overly "girly girl" but likes girl things, same interests in movies and music are always a bonus, pretty but not overly aware of it, who isnt afraid to let me see her at "her worst" i.e no makeup, hair up, baggy pj pants and a hoodie (which I find adorable anyway)

Oh and curves, its all about curves, no stick insects for me. As long as she jiggles in all the right places I'm a happy camper :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

My type is someone who has that look in his eye that lets you know there's a whole lot more going on with his personality/outlook/history* than he's telling you. Nothing worse than having anyone tell you what sort of person they are......thanks but I'll figure it out for myself

*no prison breakers please :pac:

Warfi wrote: »
    My type is someone who has that look in his eye that lets you know there's a whole lot more going on with his personality/outlook/history* than he's telling you. Nothing worse than having anyone tell you what sort of person they are......thanks but I'll figure it out for myself

*no prison breakers please :pac:

I HATE that, "oh I'm mad I am" ,are you now? "I'm really artistic" (meaning I just bought a camera and take nothing but black and white pictures of trees and park benches, I'm so, like, deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

The type of guy that would make me look twice is generally very tall 6ft +, dark, broad, stubbly and dressed kinda ruggedly/outdoorsy! Oooh yeh!

But the guys ive been with and have fallen for have ranged drastically tall,short,big,little etc. Its generally personality that gets me in the end, so a funny guy with brains is a winner no matter what he looks like.

Its all about chemistry to be honest and im constantly surprised with who it happens with sometimes.

krudler wrote: »
    I HATE that, "oh I'm mad I am" ,are you now? "I'm really artistic" (meaning I just bought a camera and take nothing but black and white pictures of trees and park benches, I'm so, like, deep.

Also if they're telling you what they're like, in reality they're actually telling you what they'd like to be. The reality is usually completely different!

But I can't blame other people doing it either....I went through a phase of doing just that, around the same time I realised that 'I had to put myself out there'! Unfortunately, it took me a while to realise I had the wrong end of the stick :o

Al part of becoming the fabulous, flawless person I am now :pac:

krudler wrote: »

It is worse when they start telling you what sort of person you are!
    Despite you being stunned that they can still breathe, while rabbiting on about themselves so much.
    I think that is a Dublin thing though.
    At least I haven't seen it elsewhere.

My type is upsetting me at the minute. I seem to keep finding myself attracted to doubles of my ex. :o
    When I'm supposed to be aiming for the opposite.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    It is worse when they start telling you what sort of person you are!

I had something like that happen to me last Sat in Dublin! Chatting away to a man, he starts talking about his job, I ask him some questions about it, he then tells me that I'm looking down on him!! :confused:I made my excuses and went back to my friends.

Moral of the story-people with low self esteem who blame me for their low self esteem just aren't my type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Moral of the story-people with low self esteem who blame me for their low self esteem just aren't my type.
    Yeh same happened to me a few weeks ago. It was like the guy was projecting all his insecurities on me and somehow i was the bad person when i know i wasnt. He'd purposely try and wind me up..and i mean tried really hard. So when he got the reaction he wanted i.e me in a mood i was then the "moody one" with anger issues...jees! It takes alot for me to lose my temper so you can imagine the effort he put in. See ya later :rolleyes:

anniehoo wrote: »
    Yeh same happened to me a few weeks ago. It was like the guy was projecting all his insecurities on me and somehow i was the bad person when i know i wasnt. He'd purposely try and wind me up..and i mean tried really hard. So when he got the reaction he wanted i.e me in a mood i was then the "moody one" with anger issues...jees! It takes alot for me to lose my temper so you can imagine the effort he put in. See ya later :rolleyes:

Just get out quick while you can! Don't even try to 'put them right' when they start pointing out your supposed flaws because invariably conversations like that only go down hill. Go back to your friends and do what you came out to do....enjoy yourself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

With that it's the odd thinking guys that do it for me, guys that appear to think 'normally' just bore me.

Marry me.

Oh I'm just joshing M'dear.

My prefered type of girl is:

A wee bit smaller then me

Brunnette or equally someone with wild colours in her hair... E.G. Pink or purple (Dunno why that's really specific)

Rockerish dress sense (NEVER A SKANGER WITH TRACKSUITS)

Glasses (Sexy)

Kind of a geek. Like me :).

Bubbly looking cheeks (Love these, extremely cute)

Not a size zero stick insect!!!

Kind, caring, loves her freinds and family, down to earth.

Can't think of much more.

Edit: Looking back, I'm way too picky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

as long as theyre quite tall theyre my type:D

I've been thinking about this all night now (damn you orla :P) and have come to some conclusions.

A) The Type of girl I want to go for is not the same as the type of girl I do go for.

B) I now know what the type I want to go for is.

Looks; Average height, Dark hair, eye's which she knows how to use (Can throw fcuk me eyes in moments of pure lust). Body type really doesn't matter as long as they are not an insecure mess about it,

Personality: Someone who is comfortable enough in their body that when they trust me they will let me explore, Someone with the confidence to say what's on their mind, Someone whose self-esteem is high enough that I don't have to constantly validate them, Someone with an open mind; open to everything from new sexual experience's to new food, Someone personable, someone I can trust, someone I can get along with, She must NOT ditch all her friends when she has a BF, she must be intelligent without being condescending.

Overall, personality trumps any looks for me. But I LOVE the female body I am totally and utterly enthraled by it, so the most important thing is, no matter her body type, she lets me explore, have fun and can relax.

Also, if they are basically polar opposite of my mother, we are onto a winner me thinks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

For physical attributes, the only thing that's consistent is that I like a man who's my height or taller and lean. I'm apparently not attracted to men with big muscles or an unnecessary amount of extra weight because I've never dated a man like that (nor have I wanted to).

Personality wise, I like someone who's very intelligent, calm, and has a witty sense of humor. I really like the geek chic personality and overall style.

Also, if they are basically polar opposite of my mother, we are onto a winner me thinks!!!

...and I fall at the last hurdle :(

You don't know my mammy, basically if you matched iwth the whole first part, you are her polar opposite!!!

Freud may have said we all marry our mothers, I disagree, I am not marrying anyone similar to my mother. I love her, but I resent her so I can't!!!

I wouldn't pay attention to Freud.....he came out with so much stuff that was completely off the wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Hm. Personality for me is the most important thing. I used to be attracted to/attract intelligent 'intense' types but this type of person now actually makes me run a mile.

I am actually now turned off by people who wear their supposed intelligence like a badge of honour. I am also intolerant of 'Arty' or 'Political' types as everyone like that I have ever known has turned out to be a pretentious narcissist. Can't stand em and their boring droning thinking the world is their audience and assuming everyone is blinded by their incredible, original insights.

Intelligence is fine as long as it comes with humility too.

Anyone claiming they are 'deep' is also a turn off. To me its a euphamism for self absorbed and tending twords depression.

Ability to be happy is extremely important and a low maintenance personality. I am easily pleased with food/entertainment etc and I really enjoy my current BF who is the same as me on this front. Its such a relief not to have to deal with intellectual vanity!

Looks wise. Jesus looks like my ideal man, stubbly beard, long curly hair. Soccer player build. Athletic and toned but not overtly muscular.

I dislike overly muscular men. If a body is created in the gym and looks it then forget it. Vanity is a huge turn off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

Looks wise: Dark hair and eyes, dark brown eyes being the ideal. Preferably olive/tanned skin.
    Taller than me but not crazy tall and not too skinny either, major turn off. I like a guy who has those lean athletic muscles not body builder style.

Stubble, tasteful and original tattoos are good, good dresser, glasses can be great on some guys, nice fore arms and hands are yum as well.

Personality wise: a good sense of humour and an ability to laugh at himself
    Not too attention seeking/narcissistic
    His own interests, great if it's something other than soccer, but that's still preferable to no hobbies/interests at all

Ideally someone who is interested in the arts and reading but that's not absolutely necessary

Overall a guy who is easy to talk to, enjoys a laugh, is affectionate and not a game player who loves me just as I am, flaws and all:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I guess for me, eyes would have be important...I like sharp intense eyes that show the girl's intelligence-the colour isn't really important. As for physical attributes, height doesn't matter, but I'd like them to be somewhat athletic and involved in some physical activity...if fitter than me, then all the better!

Personality-humour would be a very big requirement, plus intelligence. I guess the ability to make someone laugh-I rate that highly. If done intelligently, then even more so.:)

As for common interests...well, I'd like there to be a bit of a difference between us here. I don't know why-maybe its cause I'd want people to have a bit of their own space too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Lookwise arms and hands would be the main thing I look at and I like tall bloke, not sure why but I always go for dark haired men never for blond men.

But the main thing I go for is just confidence, love it.
    Plus a sense of humor goes a long way;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Physically, I like nice eyes and a nice smile.
    Nothing nicer than seeing someone smile and look genuinely happy :)

Personality-wise, I like someone who has a good sense of humour, someone who can make me laugh. Someone who's kind and caring. Someone who has passions in life.

That's it, in short :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

If they're taller than me, it's a flippin' good start! I'm 5'10".

That and making me laugh. I don't ask for much. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A poet, a warrior... and of course a lover not a hater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

beggars cannot be choosers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭niallith

for me phyically , i like someone with nice eyes and smile , and i guess a girl whos tallish would be a bit of a help as im 6'4 :P but not a must,
    personality, just someone who is nice,caring,friendly and preferably has some common interests with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

beggars cannot be choosers...

True, but like my last post in this thread...us beggars can have dreams, too.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Physically ... I tend to go for tall (preferably 6 foot plus) guys, which is odd because I'm not really that tall myself! I like them broad and muscley, but this is odd - I don't really like defined muscles, like 6 packs and stuff, just pure bulky strength, if that makes sense! The three most major relationships I've had were with a redhead, a blond guy, and a dark haired guy, so there isn't really a pattern there ... if I had to pick though, I probably prefer dark hair coz I like my men stubbly! I also really love guys with unusual eyes, my fiance has these really dark chocolatey brown eyes - like Maltesers! :D Also - big strong hands are soooo attractive - mmmm ...

As regards personality, I could probably write an essay on all the odd little traits that are important to me, so I won't even start!!! But the three most important things are ... (1) I love guys that are passionate about something - I don't care if it's cars, football, music - I don't care if it's something I'm interested in at all - as long as there's something that they really love and have a genuine interest in. (2) I like guys with ambition, who aren't afraid to act on it. I'm not snobby about what that ambition might be, and I don't necessarily mean it in relation to their career, but they need to have a major focus in life outside of me! (3) I wouldn't like to go out with someone with a negative attitude to life and stuff in general. I went out with someone life that before and would not ever go there again.

Looking at the guys I've gone for in the past though, I find it hard to identify a distinct "type". I've gone for emos, rock guys, artsy guys, sportsy guys, business suit guys, cool guys, nerdy guys, pretty boys, and even a few not guys!!! :o The only thing I can think of that they have in common, is that most of them were a tiny bit younger than me (I'm talking less than a year for most of them, I'm not a cradle snatcher!) Possibly that's because I'm sort of immature in some ways.

I just like boys in general :D