If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

We've pissed off Michael O'Doherty....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I believe he might be talking about us.

I do wish people would distinguish between blogging and posting.

I also wish that "journalists" wouldnt perpetuate the myth that you are anonymous on the internet.

Anyway, The Herald... estimated circulation of 86,000. Claimed readership of say, 200,000.
    Boards.ie ABCe audited readership of 1.55 Million.

Yeah, they should be worried.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

We are posters not bloggers! I'm getting sick of being called a blogger!

*leaves to reheat mouldy pizza*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

What's with all the lonely bedsit with leaky roof, heated by one element heater while microwaving old pizza imagery he seems to be trying to conjure up.

I've never heard of him before, but he really does sound like a cunt.

P.S. Michael if you are reading this, I will gladly say that to your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Yeah I was expecting to see a poll on that thread and was wondering how he determined he was ranked 5th.

Lazy? Quite the commitment to trawl through the thread and count the votes I'd say.

For someone who has such contempt for "bloggers" and their opinions, he showed a lot of committment. Even with people he has no time for, he still had to see how much of a bruising his ego took. What a fool.

EDIT lol at the newly added poll lads, this should really take a hammer blow to O'Doherty's ego. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is this the fella who's magazine ssaid bad things about yer man tiger woods missus in a desperate attempts to shift some copy? If so, lolz, the ironing etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

The odd thing is while everyone was circle jerking over how much they thought he was useless, if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

Which makes me wonder, If someone from AH decided to make good on their wild promises of standing for election, would we then be allowed to call them a dribbling cretin if the mood took us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

cant be arsed reading the herald or this thread - so I still dont know who Michael O'Doherty is.

Meh !

and also I agree with the above comment - we are "posters" not "Bloggers".... or even.... Boardsies !!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

And rightly so as would any poster including myself, please read the Charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,586 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No one should be referred to as a "c*nt". Its not necessary and we should stay above that.

I love the irony of his complaint about being abused online, a complaint embedded in an online article wherein he generalises about internet users as "witless, charmless nerds, whose only use for newspapers is to catch the drips coming through the ceiling of their squalid bedsits, as they pour out the contents of their underdeveloped little minds on a blog, while chowing down on reheated slices of pizza"

He is a blogger who no one knows who attacks people on his blog for being "bloggers" who no one knows who attack people. I need a lie down.

Also, I would reply to him, and debate the other side of this... but his blog doesnt have a comments section.

Oh the Alanis Morrisetteness...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

i like my pizza cold, reheating is for losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

All i want to know is who are these nerds on boards with pizza slices and why aren't they sharing the wealth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

TheZohan wrote: »

No, really? are you sure? Wow, what a shock.

My point was the abuse can be handed out by users here about any public(ish) figure almost without limit, yet if they came on here and visited the same level of vitriol on the same people who'd freely called them a "Cretin", "retard" or "dickhead" and they'd be banned.

Which seems to be a bit of a double standard and also makes me wonder what'd happen if someone from here moved into the public eye, y'know - the entire second part of my post you sidestepped to state the obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i have no idea who this guy is and never heard him being mentioned before but really dont care eitheir

No, really? are you sure? Wow, what a shock.

My point was the abuse can be handed out by users here about any public(ish) figure almost without limit, yet if they came on here and visited the same level of vitriol on the same people who'd freely called them a "Cretin", "retard" or "dickhead" and they'd be banned.

Which seems to be a bit of a double standard and also makes me wonder what'd happen if someone from here moved into the public eye, y'know - the entire second part of my post you sidestepped to state the obvious.
    Because people who put themselves in the public eye, professionally should take the rough with the smooth. Outright abuse, though (as I've indicated above) isnt allowed.

I think we're heading a little off topic here though.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

sky88 wrote: »
    i have no idea who this guy is and never heard him being mentioned before but really dont care eitheir

And worse still: any 'online spats' with 'bloggers' will only convince him that he has some kind of worth or importance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The odd thing is while everyone was circle jerking over how much they thought he was useless, if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

Which makes me wonder, If someone from AH decided to make good on their wild promises of standing for election, would we then be allowed to call them a dribbling cretin if the mood took us?
    TheZohan wrote: »

My reply to your post stands.

Maybe you should have made your point clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Owner of VIP magazine, and a judge on TV3's Total Xposure show.

Again, who exactly is he and why should I care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

mmmmm. . . . pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

One thread, entitled "Who's the biggest gob****e in Ireland?", ranked me at number five. Seriously, I was ranked as a bigger gob****e than Mark Little -- how can that be right?

I started that thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

He is a dickhead and I'd love to tell him to his face if I knew who the **** he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

journalists. :mad:

Calling O'Doherty a journalist's a stretch though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

There's no way he's never been called a twat to his face before, he must be delusional..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well not having heard of him before, just those 2 facts make me think that he is complete knobhead

+1 on both counts. Never heard of the guy, and given what he's involved in, I'm unlikely to want to encounter either himself or his output.

Basically, no-one whose opinion is of any relevance over and above anyone else ? Actually given the vacuous and pointless "celeb" culture of both items mentioned, it's probably even less so.

And the following smacks of a severe sense of self-importance :
    .....walk around Dublin 2 without any security.....

Is Dublin THAT bad that an average unknown might need security ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

DeVore wrote: »
    Oh the Alanis Morrisetteness...

DeV.

It's like 10000 spoons when all he needs is a life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I know a guy called Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Why would I leave the house to call some guy a tosser if I can do it from the comfort of my own home? If anything I'm being considerate of everybody.

Also Googling yourself is stupid and people that do it are losers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

He probably won't be ordering any pizzas if he eats out now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

just realised, I had him mixed up with Ian O doherty. Whoops. Nah, Michaels a twat. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

When I stand for election, and I will someday, you can call me whatever you want.
    I'll start a thunderdome thread just for you to give me all the abuse you want.

krudler wrote: »
    One thread, entitled "Who's the biggest gob****e in Ireland?", ranked me at number five. Seriously, I was ranked as a bigger gob****e than Mark Little -- how can that be right?

I started that thread :D
    Who the **** is Mark Little?
    Apparently this other dude was Campbell's catering employee of the year 2003.
    Fair play. That's a sizeable company.

Anywho, TV3 is Ireland's equivalent of ITV. I watch neither. They do not have tv shows that appeal to me.

I do not read the herald or other magazines as they have become containers for opinion pieces on yesterday's news.

Does that make me a fat, pizza eating loser?
    No.
    Several other things make me a fat, pizza eating loser (or whatever it was he said. I can't be arsed going back and looking). Eating too much pizza for one. However, not reading opinion pieces in newspapers does not.

@DeV. Yeah, I caught the irony too.
    I wonder if he was clever enough to do it deliberately. I suppose I'll never know because I don't read fluff pieces.