Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We've pissed off Michael O'Doherty....

• 27-10-2009 4:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/ive-been-called-a-ponce-a-cretin-and-a-tosser--anonymous-bloggers-are-the-ultimate-cowards-1924607.html
    I've been called a ponce, a cretin and a tosser ... anonymous bloggers are the ultimate cowards

I WOULD be an easy person to assassinate, or even just pick a fight with. I follow a fairly rigid routine, walk around Dublin 2 without any security, and socialise in an area covering a few square yards off Stephen's Green. So why is it no one has ever come up to me and called me an absolute twat to my face?

Perhaps I should explain. The Dubliner magazine held a talk last week about the future of print media, specifically how it's supposed to compete with the internet, and attract readers who have grown up with online blogs.
    Well, without wishing to get too downbeat, if the bloggers of today are supposed to be the newspaper readers of tomorrow, then the print media really is buggered.

Because unless it can adapt its content to cater for witless, charmless nerds, whose only use for newspapers is to catch the drips coming through the ceiling of their squalid bedsits, as they pour out the contents of their underdeveloped little minds on a blog, while chowing down on reheated slices of pizza, then the days of traditional newspapers and magazines are over.

There was a time that comment from the public took the form of a letter to the editor.

The fact that it would so appear tended to make the commentator focus on their job at hand, as they knew that (a) they had to pass through an element of quality control before being published, and (b) the fact that readers would see their name and address at the end the letter. This put pressure on the person not to make a total tit of themselves.

The internet, however, and specifically blogging, has removed this need.
    Which means that commentators have no worries about coming across as ignorant, bigoted, abusive or thick in front of the public. I wrote an article in this paper about Dublin Bikes, and vented my spleen about cyclists.
    I made no bones that it was a personal opinion, and hardly expected everyone to agree with me, though I did go to the trouble of lobbing in a couple of widely accepted facts to back up my argument.

A friend then alerted me to the fact that if I Googled my own name (I've hardly ever done it, honestly ... ) I'd find a link to a blogging thread devoted to hurling abuse at my article.

I should probably have ignored it -- after all, most people who post comments on blogs of this type should be avoided, without throwing into the mix that they're cycling enthusiasts as well.

But I did it and, in the process, opened a door to a world I didn't know existed. Multiple streams commenting not just on my piece about cyclists, but on other articles I'd written, and almost all of them critical of me. Did I say "critical"? "Cretin", "retard", "dickhead", "ponce", "tosser"... you get the idea. I wasn't expecting an online love-in, but I honestly hadn't prepared myself for the dark world I'd entered.

One thread, entitled "Who's the biggest gob****e in Ireland?", ranked me at number five. Seriously, I was ranked as a bigger gob****e than Mark Little -- how can that be right?

What caught my eye, however, was not the lazy, barely articulate stream of expletives. What struck me were comments by people who claimed to know me. One blogger said, "I was in school with Michael, and he was a dickhead then". There were only about 200 boys in my school -- Sandford Park -- so I should know him.

Another contributor seemed to feel strongly that I was a chief factor in the disintegration of western civilisation yet, curiously, he hadn't thought of coming up to me in person and telling me this. He's had plenty of opportunity to do so, as he admits he goes to the same gym as me -- it's a small, city centre gym, so again that cuts it down to maybe 20 people. But instead, he's gone home to his rented room and one-bar heater, and expressed his opinion online. Why?

I don't know who either of these people are because, following in the noble tradition of internet bloggers, the men in question don't give their names. Instead, they hide behind an alias and because they do this, they feel brave enough to say what they really think, the irony, of course, being that anonymous blogging is the ultimate form of cowardice.

I can take criticism. Anyone who is fond enough of themselves to put their mug on TV is fair game. I get paid for my opinions, bizarre and extreme though they sometimes are, and like nothing more than an argument with someone who doesn't agree with a word I say. When people come up to me to talk about my brief flirtation with TV or my newspaper columns, they're almost always complimentary.

Not one person has ever come up and hurled the kind of abuse at me that you'd believe I deserved if all you did was trawl the internet. It's not like I'm physically threatening either, so there's no danger of me simply nutting someone I don't agree with. In writing this, of course I'm inviting more bile from the blogosphere. And in a perverse way, I'm looking forward to it, especially to see if I can attract a response from one single blogger who sticks to these three rules that traditional journalists have to abide by: Your comments stand up to some form of scrutiny; You express them in grammatically correct English; And you put your name at the end. My picture's at the top of this page, and a tiny bit of research will reveal where I can be found. So will a single blogger come out of the shadows and put their name, and maybe their face, to their criticism? I'm not holding my breath.

Gotta love the guy for rolling out all the stereotypes underneath the sun related to the Internet. You've been told people, we're all nerds, we all live in bedsits, we don't use gramatically correct English and we all spout off without backing up what we say with facts.

Had you heard of Michael O'Doherty before he was mentioned on Boards? 29 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 29 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,180 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Who's Michael O'Doherty?!

Sounds like a ponce, a cretin and a tosser tbh!

Signed,

An Anonymous Coward
    (aka basquille c/o Boards.ie)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Too long to read, eyes sore, mind confused! Summarised version please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Personally, I like the guy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Too long to read, eyes sore, mind confused! Summarised version please!

<Sob> People were mean to me on the Internet.</Sob>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

But he is a dick head.

marco_polo wrote: »
    <Sob> People were mean to me on the Internet.</Sob>

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Who?
    basquille wrote: »
    Who's Michael O'Doherty?!

Sounds like a ponce, a cretin and a tosser tbh!

Signed,

An Anonymous Coward
    (aka basquille c/o Boards.ie)

Owner of VIP magazine, and a judge on TV3's Total Xposure show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You know what I hate? Being called a "blogger" for using this site or others like it. I'm not a motherfucking blogger, you lazy technophobic piece of shit journalists. :mad:

The R&R forum's thata way man!

*mwhahaha, ive always wanted to correct a mod!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Awww, he likes forking it out but can't take it....me heart bleeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

LZ5by5 wrote: »

So nobody important then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Who the **** reads the herald anyway.

Although it is a well known fact that Sandford Park school does indeed produce ponces.Nothing new there either.

Well not having heard of him before, just those 2 facts make me think that he is complete knobhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sorry

A friend told him to google his own name? Yeah right.

He's just the type of wankstain that googles himself regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

One thread, entitled "Who's the biggest gob****e in Ireland?", ranked me at number five.
    roflles ^_^

*Rubs hands infront of his one-bar heater*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Anyone else think he raises a valid point?

I should take credit for this article by the way, I've called him a cretin on here, as well as having him in my top 5 of biggest gob****es in Ireland. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

not really.
    does he go to the people that he writes cliched garbage about and say it to their face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

"One blogger said, "I was in school with Michael, and he was a dickhead then". There were only about 200 boys in my school -- Sandford Park -- so I should know him"
    -this made me laugh! yes you should know him and he thinks your a dickhead! my guess is that he is right too

As I said in the OP, he's being pretty sweeping and condescending in regards to internet "bloggers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nodin wrote: »
    Awww, he likes forking it out but can't take it....me heart bleeds.

He's dead right, place is mostly inhabited by cretins who can't spell,can't speak properly, basically nerds who think their opinions are way more valid than anybody else's.

Guy is right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

He's dead right, place is mostly inhabited by cretins who can't spell,can't speak properly, basically nerds who think their opinions are way more valid than anybody else's.

Guy is right

he does write a lot of shit,though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sorry

Here's a picture of Michael at home with his family

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

That says it all then!
    A nobody important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

wudangclan wrote: »
    he does write a lot of shit,though.

Thats why Flutt likes him. They have that in common :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Is he actually talking about Boards there?

I'm confused with all his "blogging" and "bloggers" references.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Is he actually talking about Boards there?

I'm confused with all his "blogging" and "bloggers" references.

No Bob, he must have been talking about another site.

The sad/funny thing is that he counted the votes in that thread to determine how big of a gob****e he actually is... so that he could write about it!

Lazy journalism at its worst :pac:

The sad/funny thing is that he counted the votes in that thread to determine how big of a gob****e he actually is... so that he could write about it!

Lazy journalism at its worst :pac:

Yeah I was expecting to see a poll on that thread and was wondering how he determined he was ranked 5th.

Lazy? Quite the commitment to trawl through the thread and count the votes I'd say.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I believe he might be talking about us.

I do wish people would distinguish between blogging and posting.

I also wish that "journalists" wouldnt perpetuate the myth that you are anonymous on the internet.

Anyway, The Herald... estimated circulation of 86,000. Claimed readership of say, 200,000.
    Boards.ie ABCe audited readership of 1.55 Million.

Yeah, they should be worried.

DeV.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

We are posters not bloggers! I'm getting sick of being called a blogger!

*leaves to reheat mouldy pizza*

What's with all the lonely bedsit with leaky roof, heated by one element heater while microwaving old pizza imagery he seems to be trying to conjure up.

I've never heard of him before, but he really does sound like a cunt.

P.S. Michael if you are reading this, I will gladly say that to your face.

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Yeah I was expecting to see a poll on that thread and was wondering how he determined he was ranked 5th.

Lazy? Quite the commitment to trawl through the thread and count the votes I'd say.

For someone who has such contempt for "bloggers" and their opinions, he showed a lot of committment. Even with people he has no time for, he still had to see how much of a bruising his ego took. What a fool.

EDIT lol at the newly added poll lads, this should really take a hammer blow to O'Doherty's ego. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is this the fella who's magazine ssaid bad things about yer man tiger woods missus in a desperate attempts to shift some copy? If so, lolz, the ironing etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

The odd thing is while everyone was circle jerking over how much they thought he was useless, if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

Which makes me wonder, If someone from AH decided to make good on their wild promises of standing for election, would we then be allowed to call them a dribbling cretin if the mood took us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

cant be arsed reading the herald or this thread - so I still dont know who Michael O'Doherty is.

Meh !

and also I agree with the above comment - we are "posters" not "Bloggers".... or even.... Boardsies !!! :D

if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

And rightly so as would any poster including myself, please read the Charter.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

No one should be referred to as a "c*nt". Its not necessary and we should stay above that.

I love the irony of his complaint about being abused online, a complaint embedded in an online article wherein he generalises about internet users as "witless, charmless nerds, whose only use for newspapers is to catch the drips coming through the ceiling of their squalid bedsits, as they pour out the contents of their underdeveloped little minds on a blog, while chowing down on reheated slices of pizza"

He is a blogger who no one knows who attacks people on his blog for being "bloggers" who no one knows who attack people. I need a lie down.

Also, I would reply to him, and debate the other side of this... but his blog doesnt have a comments section.

Oh the Alanis Morrisetteness...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

i like my pizza cold, reheating is for losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

All i want to know is who are these nerds on boards with pizza slices and why aren't they sharing the wealth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

TheZohan wrote: »

No, really? are you sure? Wow, what a shock.

My point was the abuse can be handed out by users here about any public(ish) figure almost without limit, yet if they came on here and visited the same level of vitriol on the same people who'd freely called them a "Cretin", "retard" or "dickhead" and they'd be banned.

Which seems to be a bit of a double standard and also makes me wonder what'd happen if someone from here moved into the public eye, y'know - the entire second part of my post you sidestepped to state the obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i have no idea who this guy is and never heard him being mentioned before but really dont care eitheir

No, really? are you sure? Wow, what a shock.

My point was the abuse can be handed out by users here about any public(ish) figure almost without limit, yet if they came on here and visited the same level of vitriol on the same people who'd freely called them a "Cretin", "retard" or "dickhead" and they'd be banned.

Which seems to be a bit of a double standard and also makes me wonder what'd happen if someone from here moved into the public eye, y'know - the entire second part of my post you sidestepped to state the obvious.
    Because people who put themselves in the public eye, professionally should take the rough with the smooth. Outright abuse, though (as I've indicated above) isnt allowed.

I think we're heading a little off topic here though.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

sky88 wrote: »
    i have no idea who this guy is and never heard him being mentioned before but really dont care eitheir

And worse still: any 'online spats' with 'bloggers' will only convince him that he has some kind of worth or importance.

The odd thing is while everyone was circle jerking over how much they thought he was useless, if he'd logged in and told everyone involved to cunt off, he'd be banned.

Which makes me wonder, If someone from AH decided to make good on their wild promises of standing for election, would we then be allowed to call them a dribbling cretin if the mood took us?
    TheZohan wrote: »

My reply to your post stands.

Maybe you should have made your point clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Again, who exactly is he and why should I care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

mmmmm. . . . pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

One thread, entitled "Who's the biggest gob****e in Ireland?", ranked me at number five. Seriously, I was ranked as a bigger gob****e than Mark Little -- how can that be right?

I started that thread :D