Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attracted to older men?

• 21-10-2009 1:25pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭

When in my teens I always dated lads older than me. Now in my early 20's I still find the attraction. Do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Yup. OH has 8 years on me, and he'd be young by my standards:)

Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against men my own age, and have been with them, and men closer to my own age, and perhaps a year or two younger too, but I find that in the main older men 'get' me a lot better, we have much more fun in many ways, and that they're just a bit more mature and worldwise.

Also they tend to know what they want and seem to be much more straightforward in a lot of ways, and as I like things to be quite black and white this appeals to me greatly. Game playing BS is the biggest possible turn off.

Having said that I have come across one or two fruit cakes who quite clearly were left on the shelf with good reason:pac::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Hell yeah! Always have been. Didn't really date in my teens as I just had no interest in guys my own age - it wasn't a dismissive "oh they're so immature" thing (I wasn't exactly Miss Mature myself) but I just couldn't relate to them. Always found myself getting on far better with older guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭bridgitt

When in my teens I always dated lads older than me. Now in my early 20's I still find the attraction. Do you?
    no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Only up to a few years older usually. I don't find that men become more attractive as they age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

yep i do my bf is 15yrs older than me

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Yeah, I always liked older men. I suspect it may have something to do with my brother being nearly 8 years older than me, so any males I was exposed to at a young age were a good bit older than me. My OH is 5 years older than me, but I can't say I notice the difference. We're at the same place in life and are on pretty much the same maturity level. I imagine I'd find someone of my own age quite immature at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

good you for ya,

16 year old girl + 33 year old man = BABY !!!

then she fecked off with one of his friends while pregnant :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

robbie_998 wrote: »
    good you for ya,

16 year old girl + 33 year old man = BABY !!!

then she fecked off with one of his friends while pregnant :eek:

The age of consent is 17 here, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

stovelid wrote: »

17 is the legal age i think,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

robbie_998 wrote: »
    18 is the legal age i think,

No 17 is correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭loglogbarkbark

I fancy fellas that are older never dated one though I think it because I act very immature.Plus the good ones are married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Jood

I always went for older guys when I was younger, these days I seem to be more attracted to younger guys, think I might be having a mid-life crisis at 27 lol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

so does that rule thing apply for men

of half our age plus 7 really does apply for a man
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭loglogbarkbark

its a certain type of older man though,i mean if your a cretin when your twenty your going to an old cretin at fourty.when i was a teen i had posters of james may ,morrissey and phillip seymour hoffman now they are men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I was just thinking about this. I definitely find older men very attractive. (Hell, I have a thing for Clint Eastwood, and he's past 70...)

Then I realised, well I really fancy some younger men too.

But then my husband is almost exactly the same age as me, and he's the most attractive man I've ever met.

Conclusion: I just like men. :pac:

Faith wrote: »
    Yeah, I always liked older men. I suspect it may have something to do with my brother being nearly 8 years older than me, so any males I was exposed to at a young age were a good bit older than me.
    Same here on the older brother thing.
    I just like men. :pac:
    Me too!

Dudess wrote: »

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Freud would have a field day!!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

oddly... no, not really. have been, but depends very very much on the guy, and in general i'd be attracted to dudes my own age.

saying that, my boyfreind of a couple of years now, is 19 years older than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I was just thinking about this. I definitely find older men very attractive. (Hell, I have a thing for Clint Eastwood, and he's past 70...)

I have a friend whose ex-wife had a ''Monica Lewinsky moment' with Clint.

She talks about it like a badge of honour.

I thought that it was pretty cool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭apsalar

oddly... no, not really. have been, but depends very very much on the guy, and in general i'd be attracted to dudes my own age.

saying that, my boyfreind of a couple of years now, is 19 years older than me.

19 would be just a little too many years for me.....fair play to you, I get what you mean that each guy is different, but since my parents had me in their early twenties anything close to my dad's age is kind of off-putting...:p but since I haven't dated in god knows how long i guess it doesn't matter. Years ago I dated a guy 9 years older than me when I was 19. My friends thought I was weird.....But it was good while it lasted. We were really compatible and still keep in touch, which is great.

I have a friend whose ex-wife had a ''Monica Lewinsky moment' with Clint.

She talks about it like a badge of honour.

I thought that it was pretty cool too.

Explain in detail!!! In fairness though, Clint Eastwood is one of those men who is just all man! The Epitomy really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I'm attracted to men who....I'm attracted to. There is nothing specific that attracts me.

Went out with a guy for 4 years who was my age. Now my boyfriend is 18 years older. Depends on the man.

Oh Jesus Christ, Clint in the 60s/70s...

/salivates

Anyhoo, back OT: as you get older of course, the goalposts move. When I was 19, an "older guy" would have been 21.

Now I'm 31, "older guy" for me means second half of his 30s minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

This chap is pushing 50 and he just gets better with age.

http://blogamole.mtvtr3s.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/johnnydepp_fusedfilm.jpg

'Nuff said. :p

Really though, older men are yummy, always been more attracted to them. I actually have a weird thing about not going out with anyone younger than me, it would really bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I'm 23 and since I was a teenager I've always gone for guys a good few years older, with a few exceptions, and the exceptions generally didn't work out! That said, I recently dated a 33 year old with the maturity of a 10 year old.. so I try not to generalise anymore!:rolleyes::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I used to always go for older men, right through college it was guys in their late 20s / early 30s and I fancied all my older lecturers (think, guys your Dad would play golf with!)

Think it was a phase though, as now I'm finding the reverse is happening :confused:

I was particularly freaked out at my 'baby' sister's 21st this year when I realised I fancied a sizeable amount of her male friends... (I'm 24 but this is a new experience for me!) Early 20s guys are just suddenly really hot to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Once dated a guy 20 years older than me (I was 18 at the time, he was the same age as my mother). My partner now is 9 years older than me. I've dated younger guys too though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

same here also! my brothers are 14 and 17 years older than me.

i've only once dated a man my own age, and never dated anyone younger than me. didnt last long with the guy my own age.

when i was 19, i was seeing a 29 year old.

from 20-25 i was with a man 11 years older than me.

aged 27 i was spent a year with a 50 year old :eek:

aged 29 i had a (very) brief fling with a 41 year old

now, aged 30, while i consider myself single, i am "seeing" a man in his 50's.;)

i really am attracted to older men, and cannot remember the last time i even fancied a man my own age.

it's a combination of maturity, less crap/game playing, and something else - that je ne sais quoi. before anyone suggests it, it isnt a financial/sugar daddy thing, generally i've been teh higher earner in the partnership.

what can i say, i'm just a sucker for silver foxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I always would have said I found older guys more attractive but about two years ago, I met a guy and the first time I caught a glimpse of him, I thought, "I must have him"!

We worked together so we got to know each other. He was sixteen while I was eighteen. I was utterly mad about him but completely put off because he was younger than me. After a few months, he told me that he liked me and I, stupidly, told him I couldn't get past the age difference.

He's eighteen now and I'm twenty and the age difference isn't such a big deal anymore but after two years of just casually seeing each other (to put it nicely!) nothing more will really come of it.

Anyway, to sum up all of that rambling, I've learned my lesson and age isn't a factor for me anymore! If I like someone, I like them and age is just a number. :)

In fairness, it's not that I've actively sought older guys, it's just I always naturally gravitated to them. It doesn't really matter ultimately what age he is.

And in my 20s, it always seemed to be much older guys, whereas I think that's less the case now - possibly because I'm catching up on them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

apsalar wrote: »
    19 would be just a little too many years for me.....fair play to you, I get what you mean that each guy is different, but since my parents had me in their early twenties anything close to my dad's age is kind of off-putting...:p but since I haven't dated in god knows how long i guess it doesn't matter. Years ago I dated a guy 9 years older than me when I was 19. My friends thought I was weird.....But it was good while it lasted. We were really compatible and still keep in touch, which is great.

yeah, it was a wee bit weird... my parents were born in 63/64, he was born in 69, so it's not too close, though his son is 4 years younger than me, and a year older than my own sister. when you stop and think about it, or see it written down, it's weird, but in the vast amount of real life, it's really no issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

stovelid wrote: »

In the UK it's 16 for heterosexual couples and 18 for homosexual couples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

Faith wrote: »
    I suspect it may have something to do with my brother being nearly 8 years older than me, so any males I was exposed to at a young age were a good bit older than me. I imagine I'd find someone of my own age quite immature at times.

I'd be much the same-3 older brothers, eldest brother is 14 years old than me, nearest in age to me is 9/10 years older than me...I was obviously the "surprise!!" daughter!
    I seem to go for older men for short term relationships, oddly enough any long-term relationships I've had, "himself" was always at least 2-4 years older than me...which I wouldn't view as older really.
    Nothing against guys my age (26), I just don't seem to fancy as many of them, as I would older men when I'm out!
    Also, some men really do get better looking with age... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

My GF is a year older than me she likes me as her toyboy.

But seriously though in like 20 years when i'm 44 I can go find myself a hot 18 year old girl like you gals....... Excellent! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

I'm 24 male now and seem to be ending up with a lot of 17/18 year old girls lately. One of them said they just hate the boyish look on lads her age but I kinda look young myself!

I personally just think it's cos lads in their mid 20s have a bit more confidence and game to just talk to girls in nightclubs and ask them out on the street. I happy anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

My worry about men too much older would be the disattisfaction of knowing who is going to die first. That, and the fact if you have kids with him, he wont be around to see the child's high school graduation. It will make you a young widow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

My worry about men too much older would be the disattisfaction of knowing who is going to die first. That, and the fact if you have kids with him, he wont be around to see the child's high school graduation. It will make you a young widow.

Not necessarily so, my father was 12 years older than my mother....she died first.

I've dated men who were 10 years older/10 years younger. Although to be honest I did feel a bit Anne Bancrofty when dating the younger man (the lecherous oul' wan gettin her claws into the youngster who doesn't know his a*se from his elbow).

Prefer 'em to be older.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Now I'm 31, "older guy" for me means second half of his 30s minimum.

Hey..how you doin'?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Yup!

I think it has a lot to do with them being more mature and more emotionally stable than guys my own age (early twenties), in general.

At present, I wouldn't go younger or (rarely) for someone my own age, just as a rule. Although, that might change in the future.

I've been with guys a good bit older and I've found it better. They know how to treat a lady and they don't play any stupid mind games I've experienced with 'younger' guys.

Right now, the idea of being in a relationship with someone who is settled in their way of thinking is really unappealing.
    So the people I'm attracted to tend to be younger, but age never was never a thing that really registered for me. One of my best mates is 78.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Seems to be a bit of a trend with me having a "thing" for older men, but never actually getting into a relationship with them.

(Dear sister in law, if you're stalking my posts again, don't even think about bringing this up at Sunday dinner.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

I would probably consider going out with a guy a little older, but not much really. I would just feel so inexperienced, young and silly. My current boyfriend is the exact same age as me (as in same date of birth and everything), it's nice because we are both in the same stage of our lives and looking for the same sort of thing and would be friends with the same sorts of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭katiemaloe

I definately prefer older guys. I wouldn't date a lad younger than me- Im 30. Most of the lads Ive gone out with have been older, except for 2. I think older lads are smarter, a bit more mature, more interesting, experienced and have lived more. I reckon they are usually more independant too. I wouldn't go for anyone thats approaching my Dad's age though- I have about a 10/12 year limit! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Ive dated a couple of older guys, but usually they tend to be only 3-4 years older, which doesnt really count as theyre emotionally about equal then I think.

Id say Id put a max on 10 years older for a dateable guy (now anyway, Im only 21) but with 35 years between my mam and dad who knows what can happen!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

My Da was much older than Mum, she died before him, with only he to see me grow up (and he's still kicking!).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree. It depends on the guy. The men in my family live to big ages. Most marry younger women. Maybe the two are connected? I dunno, but yes if the guy is average or his genes aren't too great maybe. Who can tell though. You just never know. 90 + is regular in my lot yet I could peg it in a week.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I fancy fellas that are older never dated one though I think it because I act very immature.Plus the good ones are married.

True!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

There are some good looking older guys I know but they have sons (who are actually still older than me:p but only by a year or two). I'd be with the younger models rather than the older*, one I have to say is quite yummy and in the 6/7 years I've been friends with him I only noticed this year there's just something about a guy on a bike in leather, actually his father's the same.

*if they were all available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Conclusion: I just like men. :pac:
    Me too!
    janeybabe wrote: »
    I'm attracted to men who....I'm attracted to. There is nothing specific that attracts me.

This is what I love about The Ladies Lounge; it's a real insight into the female mind.
    yeah, it was a wee bit weird... my parents were born in 63/64, he was born in 69, so it's not too close, though his son is 4 years younger than me, and a year older than my own sister. when you stop and think about it, or see it written down, it's weird, but in the vast amount of real life, it's really no issue.

My aunt's husband was twenty years older than him (something like that anyway) and they were always one of the happiest couples I knew; love doesn't stop to do arithmetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

My bf is 12 years older than me - he was my first serious guy, I was 16 when I met him.

My family had the ****s when I started dating him (I was 17), we now live together and I've never been happier.

My best friend, on the other hand, has dated every type of guy on the planet, is now with a guy 2 yrs younger and I have to say I've never seen her as settled and as content as she is now.

One mans meat is another mans poison as they say :p