Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your favourite word?

• 20-10-2009 3:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

I have a few words i like and i managed to get the word "Behooves" into a transaction at work yesterday..very pleased with myself..i also like the word "Magnanamous" especially when used as a form of sarcasm.
    Is there a word you like to shoehorn into your conversation just for the hell of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Spell the fcukers properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Cnut. Just switch the u with the n and there's my favourite word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

'Shoehorn' is a word I like to er, em fit into a sentence on the odd occasion

Degsy wrote: »
    I have a few words i like and i managed to get the word "Behooves" into a transaction at work yesterday..very pleased with myself..i also like the word "Magnanamous" especially when used as a form of sarcasm.
    Is there a word you like to shoehorn into your conversation just for the hell of it?

Talking about cattle were we??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Swarthy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

SALE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Talking about cattle were we??

See now..if you had the runs from your bad diet,lets just say...it would beehoove you to go to the toilet and talk about it in detail afterwards.
    You see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

"piss flaps"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

Camel-toe

It's hyphenated which makes it one word

(I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong)

See now..if you had the runs from your bad diet,lets just say...it would beehoove you to go to the toilet and talk about it in detail afterwards.
    You see?

Not having cloven feet it might behove me perhaps.

Where are you posting from....Provincetown;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

GEEBAG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Antidisestablishmentarianism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Not having cloven feet it might behove me perhaps.

Where are you posting from....Provincetown;)

Yes..i'm posting from Provincetown.
    In a behovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Glockenspiel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Haggart. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Fandangled. Has to be prefixed by 'new' and be said by an old person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

genericguy wrote: »
    GEEBAG

I really love this word for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I started this thread a few months ago and twas moved to the Cuckoo's Nest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Schadenfreude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ohohoh

Crispies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

well,boo-hoo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Valhalla

scudzilla wrote: »
    bollox

Is it Bollox or Bollocks (or if ur a dub Bollix)??

Love the word 'Sleibhean' (or is it sleeveen) myself, its just a powerful one. 'You sleibhean...' or 'your mans a fookin sleibhean'.... and so on and so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Spell the fcukers properly

That's four words.

Sorry for your troubles son.

Seems there's a thread there for "Word of the Day"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Rohypnol :D

wudangclan wrote: »
    well,boo-hoo!
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

WindSock wrote: »
    Fandangled. Has to be prefixed by 'new' and be said by an old person.

Do you mean "new-fangled"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

?

it's the sound babies make when they don't get their bottle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Marmalade. Don't know why, it just feels right.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

tech77 wrote: »
    Do you mean "new-fangled"?

No, I prefer it when the sayings are mixed up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Probably "Salubrious". Use it all the time. "Pighead licked her big toe and swallowed all the bits and pieces that detached themselves from her toe-skin. It left him feeling warm and salubrious inside"

It's weird but when Pighead uses the word salubrious it sort of makes that sentence sound grand and noble. Without using "salubrious" it would probably end up sounding a bit yukky. That's the power of words.

wudangclan wrote: »
    it's the sound babies make when they don't get their bottle :)
    But I didn't say boo hoo! *PhysiologyRocks stamps feet and sulks*:)

On a side note, I've never actually heard a baby say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I didn't read the OP, are we just posting random words?

In that case:

Box, toaster, aluminum, maple syrup - no I take that one back. I'm gonna hold on to that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭icanhearjimi

My favourite words have to be .........
    Slippy, Slice, Wet, Burst, Scaldy,
    But the best of them all has to be..............Tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

Audacious/ audacity, dandible, rupture, pugnacious, triffling.

Dandible is the best though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

flump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

"piss flaps"

"Beef Curtains"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

severance

Just like the sound of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Apostrophe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Maconkey

Pokerface

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

I like "magnanimous" as well.
    I like (what i suspect is) its etymology-
    magn- :big
    animous- :spirit.

It's a cool word to be- "generous of spirit". :)
    Not sure how you'd use it sarcastically, OP, tbh.

These are interesting:
    Facile.
    Spurious.
    Facetious.
    Laconic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

Moist. I love just saying it and watching girls cringe. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

Discombobulated

coyle wrote: »
    "Beef Curtains"

"Mutton Drapes"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Gaff.
    Cnut-flaps.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

LD 50 wrote: »
    Moist. I love just saying it and watching girls cringe. :)

OK, I've seen this in a couple of threads. WTF is up with the word 'moist'? How on earth is it in any way cringeworthy? Is it the sound or the meaning?
    What about joist or hoist? Or humid or damp? Or moisturiser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

STAT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

surreptitiously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Daffodil.
    Well that's my second most favourite word...bad things happen when i say my first.