Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A close encounter of the Clinton kind

• 11-10-2009 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

I was sitting on the balcony of Bewley's on Grafton St. this evening with my other half when we saw a large crowd approaching. Turns out it was Hillary Clinton and she stopped in to get a coffee 'to go'. I shouted at her from the balcony and she looked up and said hello. It was a precious moment that neither I or Hillary will forget for quite some time.

It really made up for the fact that I missed Ozzy Osbourne in Stephens Green yesterday.

I seem to have a habit of shouting at celebrities when I spot them. I saw Bono on Grafton St. some years ago and I shouted at him too. Unfortunately years of fronting the biggest band in the world have taken their toll on the poor lads ears as he didn't even flinch.

Oddly, George Hook seemed to be hanging out with Mrs. Clinton. He was following her like a lost puppy.

Does anyone else have any interesting stories about celebrities you have met whilst out and about? Perhaps, like me, you have some quirky reaction that you always do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Bono probably heard you, but he's had enough of annoying strangers yelling at him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

keith flint waved at me once.

he was on stage and i was in the crowd, but no, he definitely waved at me! or gave me the finger..its all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Biggest celebrity I ever met was Martin Sheen. His mother family is from Tipperary so like many Americans he was here tracing his roots.
    The guy is a true gentleman

Met Pierce Brosnan, nice guy

And Patrick Bergin, you know from "Sleeping with the Enemy" film. Another Tipp man, a right prick!
    Verbally abused me and the rest of the hotel staff I worked with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Please tell me you called her Hill-Dog,
    Pleeeease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

It was a precious moment that neither I or Hillary will forget for quite some time.

If it came to a court case though she'd say she did not have social relations with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I met Willie O' Dea in the airport once. He had a fry up on the tax payers behalf. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Saw the guy (the cashier dude) from the Surf Ad being abused by a crowd outside Club M in temple Bar,

he was very drunk and tried to fight everyone, luckily his friend stopped him from doing any damage.

the crowd were chanting "say the line! say the line!" as far as I know the line is "...or lever brothers will give you your money back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Bumped into Jack Lemmon in Harrods 20 years ago.

Couldn't think of anything to say really, but 'Hi Jack'

He didn't seem to notice.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I've walked past loads of them while living in California. Never say anything to them because i don't talk to strangers for no good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

saw her,and her entourage, as she was coming out of bewleys.
    (the secret service aren't very secret)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I was doing a barbering course on Grafton St. in April and we had to go out onto the street to try and people in to practice cutting hair on. Ryan Tubridy walked passed so I shouted over did he want a free hair cut and that i'd make him look snazzy for the late late. He came over and had the craic for a few minutes but wouldn't let me butcher him. :pac:

Nice guy actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Isn`t she coming up north tomorrow? I`ll be safely hidden away at work though. Thats` if there aren`t bomb scares all over the place, and traffic will be murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Isn`t she coming up north tomorrow? I`ll be safely hidden away at work though. Thats` if there aren`t bomb scares all over the place, and traffic will be murder.

AFAIK she has a Snuke Snuck in her Snatch :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I thought this was going to be about you giving Bill Clinton a blow job for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Took a picture with Pat Kenny.

Top that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

jumpguy wrote: »

Top that.

Took a shot at the president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

phasers wrote: »
    I thought this was going to be about you giving Bill Clinton a blow job for some reason.

Actually, now that you point it out, the title is a little suggestive... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I read title and thought Hilary Clinton UFO in Knock. Bit disappointed now OP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Met the singer from Ash before, walking down by the wacky apple pub in Waterford. Girl I was with started freaking out, and got his autograph. He then turns to me with his ****ing permanent black marker and writes "Tim Ash '06" on my favorite tshirt.

****ing ruined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Was at a golf tourmament in MountJoliet a few years back. Tomas Bjorn was channeling for the lead coming off the 16 green, he walked over towards me and i said "come-on Tommy you can win this", he said thanks and smiled. He then walked up to the 17th and hit a terrible shot.
    I kind of felt like i jinx him.

Senna wrote: »
    Was at a golf tourmament in MountJoliet a few years back. Tomas Bjorn was channeling for the lead coming off the 16 green, he walked over towards me and i said "come-on Tommy you can win this", he said thanks and smiled. He then walked up to the 17th and hit a terrible shot.
    I kind of felt like i jinx him.

I bet he blames you too. :D Tomas Bjorn will exact his revenge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I met Pippa from Home and Away while recovering from a big night in a hammock in Thailand. She was talking to us then walked off embarressed when I clicked who she was. She looked so familiar, I intially thought she was a friend of me ma's. What made it more wierd were the mushrooms I had ingested previously.

WindSock wrote: »
    I met Pippa from Home and Away while recovering from a big night in a hammock in Thailand. She was talking to us then walked off embarressed when I clicked who she was. She looked so familiar, I intially thought she was a friend of me ma's. What made it more wierd were the mushrooms I had ingested previously.

:D Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

You could have shouted 'nwo scum' and flipped a bucket of paint over the balcony. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Jason McAteer once patted me on the head in dublin airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

One of the drummers from T-Rex gets books and DVDs from the library I work in. :) I haven't seen him in a while, hope he comes back again. Nice guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I saw the guy from "One Foot In the Grave" in Kent station in Cork once. I did'nt say anything to him though because i was worried he'd slap me around the head like he did to Father Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was sitting on the balcony of Bewley's on Grafton St. this evening with my other half when we saw a large crowd approaching. Turns out it was Hillary Clinton and she stopped in to get a coffee 'to go'. I shouted at her from the balcony and she looked up and said hello. It was a precious moment that neither I or Hillary will forget for quite some time.

Would have been better to have nonchalantly waved a cigar to catch her attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I met Pippa from Home and Away while recovering from a big night in a hammock in Thailand.
    First or second Pippa? My friend met the second Pippa in Super Valu, Ballincollig (yeah, wtf) - she had just taken on the role and was really pissed off with the way people kept annoying her out in public. And Celia - remember her? Alf's really religious sis - was with her and apologising to people for her crankiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

jumpguy wrote: »

Top that.

I gave him a tour of my primary school when I was twelve :cool:
    He came down to Cork to do a report on the bad conditions of certain primary schools in Ireland.
    ... I had to show him our grotty bathrooms, that doubled up as a staff room!
    He was disgusted!

• Whenever I see a someone famous/semi famous, I instinctively think I know them and say hi before I realise it's so-and-so off the telly :( I met Tom Jones in Heathrow a while back. I usually see a celebrity every time I'm there, although last time it was just that athlete, Roger Black. I was actually staring into space, thinking about the translation I was working on when I heard him say to his wife, 'let's go over there, where nobody will STARE at us' and gave me a dirty look. I hadn't even noticed you until you said that, knob end. :mad:

Low blow, man!
    :(

Made me laugh!

Fair enough!

I'm not going to drag the thread off-topic by discussing why I didn't laugh.

I tend to get reeeally shy when I meet celebrities, people from the telly etc - I do the whole clichéd star-struck thing! :o

I think I get a shock, to discover they're real people! In the same way I get a shock when I see people from Boards out and about! :P

• I gave him a tour of my primary school when I was twelve :cool:
    He came down to Cork to do a report on the bad conditions of certain primary schools in Ireland.
    ... I had to show him our grotty bathrooms, that doubled up as a staff room!
    He was disgusted!

He came into my work when I was living in America and looked really hurt when my colleague asked for his name cos she didn't recognise him - obviously! He was fairly pleasant though and I felt bad for smirking.

Fair enough!

I'm not going to drag the thread off-topic by discussing why I didn't laugh.

I tend to get reeeally shy when I meet celebrities, people from the telly etc - I do the whole clichéd star-struck thing! :o

I think I get a shock, to discover they're real people! In the same way I get a shock when I see people from Boards out and about! :P

I think the weird thing is that there not on a screen and they're in 3d! I wouldn't know anyone from boards if I met them. Must brush up on the know your nerds thread. ;)

It's quite surreal, seeing people you know from online/tv/magazines in person, when they're physically in front of you and you can see them.

You can see that they're an actual ... human being!

I remember recognising someone from Boards during the summer. Had seen their picture in tLL picture thread. Got such a shock to see them in the flesh! I slinked past them and said nothing... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Does anyone else have any interesting stories about celebrities you have met whilst out and about? Perhaps, like me, you have some quirky reaction that you always do?

Oh I do, this is a cracker this one.

I was sitting in this café in Parnell street once, and in walked Jack L. I said 'you're Jack L', he said 'that's me' and I said 'that's gas'.

He then sat down and looked a bit bemused, had a sandwich and a brew and left.

Great memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Jim Corr came in for a browse into our shop in Belfast but I was too cool for school to approach him. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You shouted at Hillary from a Balcony and Secret Service didnt try to shoot at you?

They're getting lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

June Rodgers came into our warehouse last week(clothing wholesaler)and said in her squeaky voice "je mind if i have a gander in here"

I said "have you got a shop?"

shes says "no but im June Rodgers "

I said "i dont care who you are love but if you havnt got a shop you cant come in here "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Hard Larry wrote: »
    Saw the guy (the cashier dude) from the Surf Ad being abused by a crowd outside Club M in temple Bar,

he was very drunk and tried to fight everyone, luckily his friend stopped him from doing any damage.

the crowd were chanting "say the line! say the line!" as far as I know the line is "...or lever brothers will give you your money back"

Served him a few times when I worked in a Burger King, seemed like a decent enough fella. Also served Twink and Ardal O Hanlon (who I co-incidentally met briefly earlier on tonight at a comedy gig, weird) while I was working there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

Balcony
    Shouting
    Vice President of America
    Shouting
    Balcony
    Precious Moment

Spot the odd one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

That wasn't Pippa. It was Gary Glitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

Met Mick Galwey in Dublin airport on the way to Aberdeen. Turned out he was the guest speaker at the function I was going to. Met him again at the pre function meet and greet and had a pint and a cigarette with him out the back later on. Sound guy. His speech involved tales of kicking the shít out of Scotland on a few occasions and Irish Rugby in general. In Aberdeen. In a room full of 300 Scottish people and about 20 Irish lads. We enjoyed the speech and were roaring with applause at every turn. The Scots, not so much.

Shouted at Bertie at the Galway Races one year as well. He roared back "howyiz" and walked on.

Met Brent Pope at a Lionel Richie gig as well. Sound out as well. One of the lads was hammered and all he could muster up was "Hey, hey Popey. Is George Hook as big a mong in real life?". We then took photos with him and the woman he was with and then pushed him out of the way and just took photos with the bird. He creased himself laughing!

Overheal wrote: »
    You shouted at Hillary from a Balcony and Secret Service didnt try to shoot at you?

They're getting lazy.

Not only that but they're getting complacent too. One of them took out a route map from his pocket right in front of me. What if I had people a telephone call away, waiting on roof tops for her to reach her next destination?
    The proverbial excrement would have hit the fan... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I love hearing about people meeting celebs. I've meet a few local celebs like the Corrs (Sharon and I were playmates as kids) and Ireland players like Stephen Staunton (embarrassed myself talking sh*te to him in a club one night)...Gary Kelly, Phil Babb and I forget the rest...Gary Kelly shared his basket of sausages with me and my friend...even gave me one he'd half eaten:). Met Pat Kenny at the Late Late and have a photo with him:o very nice man off camera...while I was there shook hands with Jimmy Carr and either Trinny or Susannah. Was at it again recently with Ryan Tubridy, the week Jermaine Jackson was on it..didn't personally meet anyone on it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

Seen Billy Connolly on Grafton Street many years ago.

He has his jacket hood up trying to conceal himself. When I noticed him and figured out who he was, I was about to say something and he was like, Don't fooking dare lad, I'm in a hurry.

So, a nod and a wink and we were both on our way!!.

Gas Man...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Oddly, George Hook seemed to be hanging out with Mrs. Clinton.
    Hooked-up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

spoke to robbie keane in heathrow bout a year ago, he was sound.

was at dinner in tenerife and chris kamara was sitting beside me at the next table.he was bang on when i asked for a pic, turns out he owns a bar over there.it was "unbelievable jeff!"

on sunset boulevard in L.A 2 years, seen a big commotion with paparazzi up ahead.paris hilton was coming out from a restaurant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Dudess wrote: »
    First or second Pippa? My friend met the second Pippa in Super Valu, Ballincollig (yeah, wtf) - she had just taken on the role and was really pissed off with the way people kept annoying her out in public. And Celia - remember her? Alf's really religious sis - was with her and apologising to people for her crankiness.

This one not sure which one she is. I knew her face so well, she was in the living room every weekday at dinner time. It was the fact that her accent wasn't irish that helped me clock it.