If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

O'Briens goes into liquidation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭DubTony

Jaysus, the way people are talking here you'd think they were morally bankrupt.

They made decent sandwiches and used better ingredients than most places tend to.

Grand they were expensive, but a good sandwich for a fiver was bearable.

Actually their ingredients all come from the same place your average Spar or Centra gets their ingredients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

DubTony wrote: »
    Actually their ingredients all come from the same place your average Spar or Centra gets their ingredients.

Really?

Speaking to someone who works in a Centra, they definitely get worse stuff than Spar. And Spar are meant to get worse stuff than O'Briens.

Tbh, I wouldn't know for definite, but that's what I was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

So they're selling soggy sandwiches now ?

No they are launching their new sandwich flavour milkshake. The BLT milkshake is a refreshing hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

Kone wrote: »
    Jaysus, I was worried there, I thought it was O'Briens Off Licences! (I thought to myself if off-licences are going bust in Ireland maybe the economy is in worse shape that they're letting on!) ;)

Well where I live in the West of Ireland the off licence seems to be the business to be in. Most people are staying in now instead of going out. So grabbing a takeaway and a few wines or beers. Stayin in is the new goin out. The pubs must be doin their nuts.

Back to topic O'Briens sandwiches were rotten, overpriced and extremely bad value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Whats with all the subway bashing on this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Good ridance. O'Briens was Celtic Tiger greed personified. €8.50 for two sandwiches and a cup of tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Was in work about 3 months back and that Sweeney guy came in. I recognized him because he is on the front cover of his book, and he came in to look at where his book was (shelved under S for ****e) and then promptly left.

makingbreadbook.jpg

9780717145515.gif

Obviously he never read the ****ing books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

I've seen people mention that sandwiches from O'Briens are €6 and €7. What sandwiches are these, considering the chicken and bacon triple-decker is/was €5.65?

grenache wrote: »
    Good ridance. O'Briens was Celtic Tiger greed personified. €8.50 for two sandwiches and a cup of tea.

Compared to what?

That's less than €4 a sandwich. Most places in town charge that or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

grenache wrote: »

Couldn't agree more, went in once, saw the prices and left. I couldn't ever bring myself to pay that much for 2 slices of bread, some ham and salad. I guess it's a free country, if you wanna pay it off with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Most places in town charge that or more.

Which town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭TJJP

If it's not too late there is a Recession Survival Kit Course here:

http://www.brodysweeney.ie/training_course_13.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭DubTony

Really?

Speaking to someone who works in a Centra, they definitely get worse stuff than Spar. And Spar are meant to get worse stuff than O'Briens.

Tbh, I wouldn't know for definite, but that's what I was told.

There are a few different suppliers to the deli trade. O'Briens had a deal with the biggest. Centras and Spars would be free to pick from 3 or 4 different suppliers, so there could be a difference from time to time.

Put it this way, the stuff in a pre-pack Freshways sandwich is the same as what's in an O'Briens sandwich.

Which town?
    Dublin. Or any large city centre in Ireland.
    There are a few different suppliers to the deli trade. O'Briens had a deal with the biggest. Centras and Spars would be free to pick from 3 or 4 different suppliers, so there could be a difference from time to time.

Put it this way, the stuff in a pre-pack Freshways sandwich is the same as what's in an O'Briens sandwich.

Probably so. ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Which town?

When someone says "in town" on Boards, it inevitably refers to Dublin. The Dubs also don't seem to realise that there's more than one O'Connell St in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Dublin. Or any large city centre in Ireland.

Damn it... No we're gonna get people asking this thread to be moved to the Jackeen forum ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

When someone says "in town" on Boards, it inevitably refers to Dublin. The Dubs also don't seem to realise that there's more than one O'Connell St in Ireland.

Does it?

Frada's from Galway so he wanted to know which town.
    What's wrong with that?

There are lots of towns all over Ireland, and I'm sure no matter where you are from if you say you are going to town, it's just a matter of where you are from.

IE: The person you say it to irl knows what town you mean.

/I guess it's just different on the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Frada's from Galway so he wanted to know which town.
    What's wrong with that?

Absolutely nothing - I was going to ask the same question myself. I hope I've not de-railed the thread to the jackeen forum! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Rsaeire wrote: »
    I've seen people mention that sandwiches from O'Briens are €6 and €7. What sandwiches are these, considering the chicken and bacon triple-decker is/was €5.65?

Do they mean the cost when you include the tea or coffee which most people buy with the sandwich.

Freshways sandwiches are expensive too.

If my lunch was a slice of ham between two slices of Tesco sliced pan I wouldn't be happy. I like nice food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Will you be having some chips with that shoulder ;)

The Dubs forgive you.

Brillinat feature on morning Ireland this morning. The franchise owners will be the real people who suffer here. Up to there hilt in debt they will prob go into liquidation. The shop will close then reopen again as a cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ennis is considered "town"
    in the Midwest Clare Forum. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Yes his sandwhich was 6-7 euro but I would rather pay that for a healthy snack than 3.99 for a heart attack in a fast food resturant

You are joking,yes?
    You think heavily processed "meat",mayoinaise,imitation butter and calorie-rich,nutrionally devoid,starchy white bread is healthy?
    Wow..just wow!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

Degsy wrote: »
    You are joking,yes?
    You think heavily processed "meat",mayoinaise,imitation butter and calorie-rich,nutrionally devoid,starchy white bread is healthy?
    Wow..just wow!.

Some people also think chicken fillet rolls are healthy when there is nothing nutritionally valuable about them that can't be obtained elsewhere. Glutenous trash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Ive never been a fan of O'Briens but they are a huge employer so it would be a shame to see them go. Munchies is by far my favourite sandwich shop, god I wish it was lunchtime now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Whats the big deal about "hand cut" sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

It's a complete lie. Every time I saw someone making a sandwich in O'Briens they used a knife.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

mike65 wrote: »
    Whats the big deal about "hand cut" sandwiches?

I was in a place once that advertised "thick cut" sandwiches.
    Further investiagtion proved they were,in fact cut by a thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭normanbond

Dunno about you guys. I've been going to O Briens for last couple of months for breakfast ( when I can sneak away from work!). €4.95 gets me breakfast sambo, coffee and a read of the morning paper. def lot cheaper than Spar etc. and i get the chance to chill on a leather couch and oogle at the cute brunette whipping up the latte's!! yum, yum..

Hope O Brien's survive or my morning treat is history!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 264 ✭✭timbel

Sorry, I was thinking of just bread, butter and a slice of ham/chicken :o
    For a 5 day working week:
    Loaf of hovis brown broad for around 1.50 (16 slices in a loaf so another 4 would bring this up another 37 cent.....assuming you use 4 slices a day for your lunch), 10 slices dennys ham for about 3.50. Didn't factor in the cost of butter, but wouldn't be over 1.00 a week I'm sure!!

Admittedly a euro or so a day for a lunch of 4 sandwiches is cutting things to the bone, but I'd say a person could easily get by on 2.50 euro a day if they spent wisely and filled a plastic bottle with tap-water.

When you compare this though to 7 quid for a sandwich (which may or may not taste good or fill you, I don't know because I've never tried them!) and 2 quid maybe for a cup of tea, you can see the amount of money lost by not making your own lunch.

As somebody who has been making a sandwich for lunch for years, heres a breakdown:

Bread 18c (1.80 per loaf)
    Mayo 8c (2.20 per jar)
    Ham 50c (€4 for 8 slices)
    Cheese 10c (3.00 (block)
    onion 3c (69c for 1kg net)
    Lettuce 10c (69c for lettuce)

99c per sandwich

Take into account that O'Briens are buying their ingredients much cheaper than supermarket prices (probably half price anyway) and you see the profits per sandwich before overheads are taken out.

so €1,000 a year you can save, and you can make the sandwich the way you like - not thrown together by some disgruntled employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,277 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Rsaeire wrote: »

That's what I was thinking. It's probably because I work in D4 where everything is pricey enough, but O'Briens isn't that much more expensive than any of the other sandwich shops around. I'm not a massive fan of Subway. O'Briens might not be the healthiest option around, but I'd say there's nowhere near the same amount of salt as there is in a subway roll.