Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dept of finance petrol bombed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Ed_

genericguy wrote: »
    biggins, this isn't the way to deal with your anger. nice try though!

I don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Must be the same guy that tried to bomb the gatso van a few weeks ago, I think its time he changed tactics and got himself a jcb...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm thinking that Biggins would have done a proper job and called on Battlestar Galactica, instead of wasting time and money on such a feeble attempt with a bit of petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Biggins was with me last night *cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

I assume this is why there were 4 fire engines on Lr. Mount Street, at the dept of Finance building beside where the Irish Dairy Council place is. at about 11.15 last night.. I didn't see any smoke or whatnot however.

I don't know what RTE are on about, as I'm quite certain I was not under the influence when I saw 4 large fire trucks parked where Grattan court is.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I assume this is why there were 4 fire engines on Lr. Mount Street at about 11.15 last night.. I didn't see any smoke or whatnot however.

Staff put it out before the brigade even arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

anniehoo wrote: »
    Biggins was with me last night *cough

Durrrrtyyyyyy.

I reckon it was The_Citizen. Hasn't been able to vent his anger on boards for a while, so lost the plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

It was Arthur Brown.

He has his crazy ideas in that crazy world of his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Well if you're gonna do this class of thing, now's the time. Won't be many people able to afford the petrol after the next budget.

I for one am delighted that some nutjob is as mad as hell and not prepared to take it anymore. If more people firebombed govt buildings the politico's might sit up and take notice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I assume this is why there were 4 fire engines on Lr. Mount Street, at the dept of Finance building beside where the Irish Dairy Council place is. at about 11.15 last night.. I didn't see any smoke or whatnot however.

You must be Sherlock Holmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

I reckon it is part of a cunning plan by Mary Coughlan to deflect attention away from the Roddy Molloy incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

TO Arthur PETROL BOMBERS
    :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

TO Arthur

To Fire-starter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

mikom wrote: »
    To Fire-starter.

But it was so early, I doubt the guy was twisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Bambi wrote: »
    Well if you're gonna do this class of thing, now's the time. Won't be many people able to afford the petrol after the next budget.

I for one am delighted that some nutjob is as mad as hell and not prepared to take it anymore. If more people firebombed govt buildings the politico's might sit up and take notice jump up and run for the fire exits:)

fyp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Amateur hour, has the guy never seen V for Vendetta?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Long Onion wrote: »
    I reckon it is part of a cunning plan by Mary Coughlan to deflect attention away from the Roddy Molloy incident.

She'd need to invade Iran to deflect attention from that lout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I absolutely understand the anger and frustration that would drive somebody to do something like this.

However, is Brian Lenihan really worth getting a criminal record for.

To paraphrase the old saying dont get mad get even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I for one am delighted that some nutjob is as mad as hell and not prepared to take it anymore. If more people firebombed govt buildings the politico's might sit up and take notice :)

{Two weeks later}

"Damn civil servants, costing us money, getting FREE flame retardant clothes to work in.:mad:
    Bastids sould by their own, they're on a gravy train"

But seriously, petrol bombs don't solve anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Ed_ wrote: »
    I don't get it.

That's cause you're a noob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Pity they didn't use more petrol...

If the Garda outside called the Fire Bridgade, then why didn't he arrest/see/chase the person responsible? Not allowed leave his post (even though they were firebombing the building he's got to protect)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

orourkeda wrote: »
    I absolutely understand the anger and frustration that would drive somebody to do something like this.

Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Shouldn't have too much difficulty catching the guy...

Now let's see, what enemies have the Dept. of Finance made lately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That was just a street party, someone put "don't stop believing" by journey on a ghetto blaster which caused spontaneous dancing in the street. Some fool called the emergency services which just joined in when they arrived on the street. It was a mess, 6 people where hospitalised. Journey should be banned in public spaces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

its a smoke screen.;)

there is so much incriminating evidence in the DoF the shredders can't cope so they decided to torch it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

But seriously, petrol bombs don't solve anything.

You're right, we need incendiary devices or better at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

for a country full of semtex they use petrol bombs:rolleyes:amature:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

ScumLord wrote: »
    ........Journey should be mandatory in public spaces.

As much as I hate FYP-posts, eh, FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

davyjose wrote: »
    You must be Sherlock Holmes.
    Yeah wise guy, but the RTE article said it was on Merrion St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Stee wrote: »
    As much as I hate FYP-posts, eh, FYP
    Your a cruel, sick man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

ScumLord wrote: »
    Your a cruel, sick man.

If caddyshack taught me anything, music by Journey played publicly can only result in good things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

Ed_ wrote: »
    I don't get it.

Basically, biggins worked for the government (not a politician) and resigned as he is outraged by what the government is doing. He now has plans to run as an independent candidate in the next election. Do a search, there was a big thread about it a few weeks ago.

I am telling you this because I was once a noob and also found it annoying not knowing the backgrounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0928/finance.html

biggins, this isn't the way to deal with your anger. nice try though!

When I heard this on the radio this morning that was my initial thought.

I need to get off boards a bit more. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Has anybody seen my woolly hat? I seem to have lost it.

Seriously though when im suggesting protest in the Politics forum: ^ Thats not what im referring to. Settle down lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

This is what happens when the ordianary man/woman is driven to despair by this goverment, no doubt the man/woman has been made unemployed and has been driven to his withs ends by this shamfull and shameful goverment, scumbags:mad:

Gotta love the adverts that come with this thread,
    "win £250 Petrol vouchers" & "find singles online" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 kt217

bambi is right i wish a few more of them was done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Stee wrote: »
    If caddyshack taught me anything, music by Journey played publicly can only result in good things.

"Any way you want it" from 0:30 onwards.
    The impromptu party scene from the Simpsons Burns Baby Burns isn't on youtube.

Or did a Journey street party actually happen in Dublin? :confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Oh yeah, this is just awesome.

Petrol bombs will really help solve everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Are we sure it didn't just self combust, what with all that highly concentrated inflammable hypocrisy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Can't say i'm surprised. It's only a matter of time before riots break out. I just hope the gardai will be alert this Friday, because I have a feeling all hell will break loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

"A garda on duty outside called the Fire Brigade just before 11pm and five units attended the scene.

However, security staff had already put out the small fire."

Calling out 5 fire units to a "small fire" that was already put out by a couple of security guards.

Seems ironic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Violence is never the answer.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Violence is never the answer.

Except if you're on a quiz show and the question is "What V is a rough or injurious physical force, action, or treatment?"

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Except if you're on a quiz show and the question is "What V is a rough or injurious physical force, action, or treatment?"

Perhaps....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Vagina?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

dsmythy wrote: »
    Perhaps....

BZZZ "no, the correct answer is violence. thanks for playing, now fcuk off"

Oh man, i always get the easy ones wrong!

Vagina?

That's your answer for everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Vagina?

....and then you ask yourself why you don't have a girlfriend? :p