Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The weirdest thing you've seen on a motorway

• 21-09-2009 12:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

I was just wondering what is the weirdest thing you've seen while driving on a motorway? I've seen some guy singing a heavy metal song and shaking his head up and down and a taxi driver reading a book while driving. Do you have any other bizarre things you've seen?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Once saw an Audi indicating:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I read about some guy in Wexford got done for driving while playing the clarinet (that's not an euphemism) over 10 years ago. said he prefered listening to live music than listening to the radio. Must dig up the story

Last week I saw a lady in a Bora, with a phone to her ear, she also had a dog sitting on her lap. ( I swear. I couldn't believe it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

This has to have been the weirdest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

A cinder block damn near killer me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Bmw x5 veering across from the outside lane to the hard-shoulder while the woman in the front decided to undo her seatbelt, turn around and try to get her handbag from the back seat. She then straightened up before she was about to total her SUV into the side of a bridge support, got into the inside lane and got the chapstick out that was so necessary to risk her and other peoples lives for.

Or the ten minutes of proper lane discipline I saw once. But it was in the north and was ruined by a cork reg car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

A bus parked on the hard shoulder hazards on and 3 girls squating at the back of it on full view to passing traffic, not a pretty sight! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

A set of headlights ..... oncoming... in my lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Fooz

I once saw a hearse broken down on the hard shoulder. It had a coffin on board and the main cars from funeral cortege seemed lined up on the hard shoulder behind it. I thought it was kind of funny at the time (mean of me I know).

I've been met with oncoming traffic on a motorway, but that was in Italy and India, neither country particularly well known for their good driving!

I've seen tools (here) reversing down the slip roads after discovering "****e I'm on the wrong one".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

I saw a bloke in an olde 5 serier BM getting some oral from his whatever she was to him........thought I was seeing things from behind but when I got up to the side and looked down (I was in a big iveco van), her head was in his lap, head bopping up and down, blonde hair everywhere.

Whilst I'm all for a healty sex life, they should have pulled over to perform whatever they wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

Two quite similar incidents on different motorways:

M1; unaccompanied learner driver stops in right lane and indicates towards adjacent slip road in heavy morning traffic.

M8; elderly couple in left-hand lane reverse to off ramp/slip road exit they had obviously missed, 6pm on a friday evening.

As far as I know everyone survived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭iceman777

One Sunday morning on the Athlone bypass at about 11am (near the B&Q tunroff), I was in the overtaking lane and a middle-aged woman was speeding towards me. For a second I wasn't sure if I was hallucinating. I hit the brakes and so did the 2 cars I had started to overtake.

We all had to pull into the hard shoulder and then set off again shaking in our seats as this woman was not going to be able to get off the motorway for another 2-3km at Kilmartin's roundabout and the amount of traffic coming off that roundabout can be very heavy at times.

I'm still trying to work out how she actually got onto the dual-carriageway in the first place, but luckily nobody was hurt (nothing reported in the media over the next few days).

I rang the guards, but they told me that by the time they'd make it to Kilmartin's, she'd be long gone and my reply to that was a few other people could be long gone too, but he thought I was being smart!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭iceman777

And another one just came to mind - I saw another middle-aged woman (just stating facts, not picking on women) with 2 children in the back seat doing a u-turn on the exit to Cornamaddy Road in rush-hour traffic.

I'm still trying to understand how and why. I'd have loved to have been able to stop to look at that story unfold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭matrixroyal

once saw a man sitting in traffic having a wet shave, he was foamed up, had a bowl of water on the dash and the razor in his hand shaving in the mirror.
    When he was finished he emptied the bowl out the window and dried off.

No cuts either, impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Irish People driving in the inside lane allowing faster moving traffic past in the outside lane..... Doesnt happen often but I have seen it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Irish People driving in the inside lane allowing faster moving traffic past in the outside lane..... Doesnt happen often but I have seen it. :D

I fear this is only a vicious rumour or maybe a dream you once had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Driving along the M50, during one of the rare times traffic was moving at proper motorway speeds, look over at a bmw overtaking me, I am doing 130km/h in left lane.... so he is inexcess of that with a map drapped over the whole of the steering wheel as he studies it intently......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Berlingo van rejoining the Outside lane of the M1 northbound, after pulling in to the central grass verge to drop off his passenger (who was crossing the southbound carriageway). Under the bridge at the Naul exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I was driving a 125 Vespa on the LHS lane on the M50 - a car passing me to the right swerves to hit me twice. It then moves in front of me and slams on the brakes trying to make me crash into the back.

It then pulls up beside me - man driving, two kids in the back - the woman in the passenger seat hangs out the window and starts shouting (very difficult for me to make out...) that mopeds aren't allowed on the motorway... She was so self righteous that he thought it was acceptable to risk my life, that of her two kids over something she didn't even understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Was on the M50 South Bound once spring morning a few years ago before the upgrade works started.

Traffic was travelling at around 100 - 120 k/mh when the usual sudden jam on occurred between Ballymun and Finglas.

I was the last car in the queue, as I was the last one through the lights at the M1/N32/M50 roundabout, I was stopped dead for a good 30 seconds & just happened to look in my rear view mirror and could see a car coming at full pelt behind me.

I braced myself for the impending impact, with about 100 meters left the car coming behind me must have spotted I was actually stopped and broke hard. This included a fair wobble or two of the car and a hell of a lot of tyre smoke, I thought at one stage it was actually going to flip. To this day I don't know how they regained control and managed to swerve around me on the centre median.

Needless to say I let them back in front of me , I thought this was the safer option!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I've seen someone jam on the brakes and reverse 100 meters or more back to the sliproad they just passed. I wish I could say that was weird, but I've seen it quite a few times.

One that happened me recently, driving along the Athlone bypass (there must be some very directionally challenged people in that part of the country :)). I in the left lane approaching a car which was going reasonably slowly, so I pulled into the overtaking lane to go by. The other car started indicating left to turn off at the upcoming off-ramp, or so I thought. Just as I was getting alongside the other car, and just when I thought it would be taking the off-ramp, it swerves into the overtaking lane forcing me to break pretty quickly.

I can sort of understand people not bothering or forgetting to indicate, but to indicate completely the wrong direction takes someone "special"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

Uk TV - police patrol or something - 4 students changing the wheel of a mini on the bend on a motorway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Bmw x5 veering across from the outside lane to the hard-shoulder while the woman in the front decided to undo her seatbelt, turn around and try to get her handbag from the back seat. She then straightened up before she was about to total her SUV into the side of a bridge support, got into the inside lane and got the chapstick out that was so necessary to risk her and other peoples lives for.

Or the ten minutes of proper lane discipline I saw once. But it was in the north and was ruined by a cork reg car.
    go on the rebels!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

About 4 or 5 years back, coming from somewhere in the Midlands back to Dublin. I was a passenger in the van. A car in front of us had a high-backed trailer attached.

In the trailer were 2 girls & a boy, all aged between around 6 - 9 (guess) standing up.

The only person in the car was some aul-one (maybe their granny). car was completely empty, and she had her little dog on her lap.

Kids were loving it of course, not realising what danger they were in. She was driving at some speed too; as the kids had to keep ducking down to get out of the breeze.

I still can't figure out what possessed her to do something as stupid & dangerous as that? I bet she'd make them put on a crash helmet to ride their bike, but has no problem risking their lives in a trailer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Saw the google maps car on the M7 a few months back - mad looking yoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JMcCR

I was behind a van on the M9 one morning. It was (mainly) in the overtaking lane and weaving all over the road. I was about to ring the guards and report a possible drink driver when he pulled into the inside land so I could pass. Had a look across as I passed and the guy was doing trying to solve a rubix cube!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I saw a bloke in an olde 5 serier BM getting some oral from his whatever she was to him........thought I was seeing things from behind but when I got up to the side and looked down (I was in a big iveco van), her head was in his lap, head bopping up and down, blonde hair everywhere.

Whilst I'm all for a healty sex life, they should have pulled over to perform whatever they wanted.

I wonder if this guy would be posting that he saw some pervert in van stare in at him while his missus was gettin busy! :D

Wierdest thing I saw on a motorway was a fully grown man standing at the verge of the motorway taking a slash, fair enough, but this guy had his jeans and his pants round his ankles! wtf!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Was on the M8 heading to Cork when I went to over take a car in front as I was moving out he swerved into my lane, then as I passed him there he is eating a f***ing ice cream and swerves again as I pass him. Glad he risked the lives of the five people in my car and the four in his for an ice-cream:(

Same motorway coming back from Cork all traffic had come to a stop just before the first chair turn off. As we approached realise was a single car accident a 09 Accord had filpped over in credit to the car all passengers were standing around the car as we passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jim McDaid! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Saw someone running drunkenly down the motorway one night in the wrong direction (passed by his flipped over car at the next exit).

Saw a car driving full whack down the motorway going the wrong way once, came straight into the fast lane and scared the piss out of me as I had to swerve to avoid a head on. Neither weren't haha-funny but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

alexmcred wrote: »
    Same motorway coming back from Cork all traffic had come to a stop just before the first chair turn off. As we approached realise was a single car accident a 09 Accord had filpped over in credit to the car all passengers were standing around the car as we passed.

Was there ice cream on the windscreen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I once saw both lanes of traffic stopping for a line of baby ducks following their mum...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I saw a flying honda civic on the m50 (Southbound at the redcow junction). The thing was at least 30 feet in the air!!

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Was there ice cream on the windscreen?

No but there was flowers in the back of the car. ice cream man was driving a black 307

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Was on the M11 heading north just past Bray 15 years ago (so not long open). This guy in a Merc overshot an exit by about 100 yards. Instead of going on to the next one, he stopped in the inside lane a proceeded to reverse back to the exit. He had cars swerving and blowing him out of it, but her continued until he was able to exit. Was was nearly in contention for a Darwin award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

last year meet a car going down the wrong side of the m7, doing about 70mph, nearly killed me! Got some fright when he passed me in the fast lane going the opposite way! Guards caught him at the next exit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I saw a van towing a car on the M7 last year. They were using a rope, and there was no-one in the car.

I'm not sure he thought about stopping when he came up with that plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

EPM wrote: »
    Once saw an Audi indicating:pac:

It's more likely that some of the bulbs were gone on his "park anywhere" lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It would have to be the time when i was coming from the Sandyford exit M50 northbound. to see a big tyre rolling by my drivers side window.

Toyota Hylux had just lost its wheel. Wheel spun off ahead and the jeep went down at the front skidding into the side barrier. CrazY:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 wlodi81

phutyle wrote: »
    I saw a van towing a car on the M7 last year. They were using a rope, and there was no-one in the car.

I'm not sure he thought about stopping when he came up with that plan.

Genius at work:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Gtec

- An articulated truck reversing back to the Last exit before the toll on the M8

- The buss Eireann Cork-Dublin Bus reversing off the on M8 ramp north of Fermoy

- And just this morning.... The was an accident south of Cair southbound on the M8 (yes I drive it alot!) which had blocked the road, and AA roadwatch could tell you the road was closed, but there was no Garda car to tell you to get off at the previous exit, so the traffic was backing up at a fine rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

saw a delorean parked on the side of the m4 the other morning, both gull wing doors opened. Interesting looking car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

- And just this morning.... The was an accident south of Cair southbound on the M8 (yes I drive it alot!) which had blocked the road, and AA roadwatch could tell you the road was closed, but there was no Garda car to tell you to get off at the previous exit, so the traffic was backing up at a fine rate.[/quote]

Of course we Irish do not need electronic motorway signs,as we are psychic

Also passed a tractor going down the M8 near Cahir as well but it was ok because he was (surprisingly) keeping to the left:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

Solyad wrote: »
    saw a delorean parked on the side of the m4 the other morning, both gull wing doors opened. Interesting looking car

did it have a flux capacitor on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

PADRAIC.M wrote: »
    last year meet a car going down the wrong side of the m7, doing about 70mph, nearly killed me! Got some fright when he passed me in the fast lane going the opposite way! Guards caught him at the next exit!

That was Jim. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Omcd

Combine harvester on the M50 several weeks ago, not keeping as left as he could have done.

Another time on the M7, couldn't figure out why the driver of a small car ahead was insisting on driving so damn close to the camper van in front of it at 100k's until I got up beside it and realised the car was actually stuck somehow to the back of the camper van, with no driver in it... looked like the camper van had accidently snagged the front of it with its tow hitch - although I suspect it was probably on some sort of proper drawn bar mechanism hidden by the car itself.

The craziest thing - a few years ago coming off the M1/M50 roundabout onto the M50 southbound in heavy evening rush hour traffic and finding not one, but two cars reversing, one in the actual motorway lane itself and the other trying to follow it in the hard shoulder, back around the curve towards the roundabout. Incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Omcd wrote: »
    Another time on the M7, couldn't figure out why the driver of a small car ahead was insisting on driving so damn close to the camper van in front of it at 100k's until I got up beside it and realised the car was actually stuck somehow to the back of the camper van, with no driver in it... looked like the camper van had accidently snagged the front of it with its tow hitch - although I suspect it was probably on some sort of proper drawn bar mechanism hidden by the car itself.
    Almost certainly on an A-Frame:
    http://www.armitagetrailers.com/AFRAMEGALLERY.htm

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I saw a old style horse and cart branded by guiness trotting up the dual carriageway today heading towards dublin. Can't remember where exactly I was at the time. Maybe near Roscrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Comin Northbound on the M7 one day during the summer, was between the Kildare exit, and the Newbridge exit. Was on the inside lane doin bout 130kmh, and some head the ball on a motorbike comes screaming up the over- taking lane, on his back wheel. Couldn't even hazzard a guess as to what speed he was doin. But the really freaky part was.....he was carrying a pillion!!!! Fcuking death- wish merchant.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The weirdest thing that I've seen is people having a picnic along the M7

I own an older 5 series. Never had a Gillian Taylforth though :(