Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New batch of mysterious lights over Dublin...

Options
  • 10-09-2009 6:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭

At about nine o clock yesterday evening I saw dozens of exetremely bright red lights 'hanging' in the air. I'm an amateur astronomy so I know the difference between a helicopter, a star constellation and my arse! I was out in Tallaght and the lights were from my position directly north away from the mountains and nowhere near the sea. In terms of altitude they extended up to about 35 degrees from my position.

I talked to one guard on the street and he said he knew his place was receiving many calls from people but couldn't give an explanation for the lights. I really don't think they're flares or natural events, I'm starting to think we have a hoaxer in Dublin sending up lanterns! What do people think?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

thats some pretty good hoax! Would be some strong laser no?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Chinese lanterns. Have seen them about 4 times over Dublin during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

It would be great if it was a hoaxer and they are systematically creating these lights to show how hysterical people get about this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion