Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how long are the new licences taking to process?

• 01-09-2009 09:25PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

hi just got my hunting permit back yesterday. ya yesterday lads, imagine they gave me one whole day to fill in the 9 page form, buy my firearms licence, and hand it in to my local Garda. the ranger who covers my area was on holidays if you don't mind:rolleyes:, at his busiest time of year:mad:.

anyway does anyone know how long the gardai are taking to process new licence applications at the moment? will i be licenced by the end of the fallow buck at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

Heard talk that they are taking new applications but they wont start processing them until oct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

RichieRich wrote: »
    hi just got my hunting permit back yesterday. ya yesterday lads, imagine they gave me one whole day to fill in the 9 page form, buy my firearms licence, and hand it in to my local Garda. the ranger who covers my area was on holidays if you don't mind:rolleyes:, at his busiest time of year:mad:.

anyway does anyone know how long the gardai are taking to process new licence applications at the moment? will i be licenced by the end of the fallow buck at all?

From what i have been told by my station they cannot start processing till after 14 sept, then they can start puttting it on computer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

it will be mid oct before there up and running. then they will have to hand load all details into there program,that will take a while .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

jwshooter wrote: »
    it will be mid oct before there up and running. then they will have to hand load all details into there program,that will take a while .

As in issuing licences or just getting the system up and going, cause i've been told the system will be up and running by 15th September. From Gardai, not me.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

i was told a week ago it will be at least 6 weeks .

them are the facts after that its all hear say.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Not going to get into a p***ing match with you. The Garda firearms policy unit and another source told me 15th September, but hey if its October at the earliest then "i'm gonna need a bigger extension". (Jaws, get it)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I know someone working up there(garda hq) i will ask her to check it out tomorrow for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Black ....................................................................................

Amazing ! JW, hasn't said "white" yet :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

In short nobody really knows.
    Brought my application last week to my local Garda station, they couldn't tell me how long it will take :mad:
    They were very nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Excellent:D:D

Not the brightest spark in the fire explain please:confused:

Gave my friend a ring this morning and she currently on holidays wont be back in work until monday so i will let ye know monday evening

moose112 wrote: »
    Not the brightest spark in the fire explain please:confused:

Gave my friend a ring this morning and she currently on holidays wont be back in work until monday so i will let ye know monday evening

e.g.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 DubShooter

I applied for a second shotgun licence in June which was before the new licencing scheme came in.I havent heard anything back since so I'm still waiting.
    Is anybody else in the same boat?
    Would I be better off re-applying for the gun with the new up to date form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I'm not saying it's not a fact that you got told that; but here's the official word from the Garda Firearms Policy Unit:
    The Guidelines are with the Commissioner and should be approved today

Applications will be processed from the 13th September 2009

The forms are staying ‘as is’

New forms have been released to NARGC

Yes, all applicants must provide character references – these are NEW applications not renewals

there only the guide lines, now the program has to be written into the system .
    it will be a number of weeks before they can start processing the applications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

there only the guide lines, now the program has to be written into the system .
    it will be a number of weeks before they can start processing the applications
    Glad to hear you outrank the Superintendent in charge of the Garda Firearms Policy Unit there JW.
    I suggest you give him a quick phone call and let him know he's got it wrong. His number's on the application form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,111 ✭✭✭clivej

DubShooter wrote: »
    I applied for a second shotgun licence in June which was before the new licencing scheme came in.I havent heard anything back since so I'm still waiting.
    Is anybody else in the same boat?
    Would I be better off re-applying for the gun with the new up to date form?

I applied on the 1st of April for my 308. It's now all gone through BUT I still had to then apply using the new form for the new system.

AND I was told I will be first to go into the new system from here in KK.

All on the 13th September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

i was told not long ago that by law they must give you an answer within 6 weeks of applying. But then read somewhere that they must give you an answer within 3 months of applying.
    Which statement would be correct ?
    It will probably take longer than that but just being curious.