Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kenmare Sept 12th 2009

• 31-08-2009 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭

Many on here doing it ?

Just wondering what sort of training people are doing for next 2 weeks.
    I did a 90k/21k brick at race pace on Sat morn still feeling it a bit so will take an extra rest day today.
    Tues - Easy 10K run
    Wed - 3hr bikehills/45 mins run
    Thurs - Swim Session
    Fri - bike to work, maybe do few laps park on way home
    Sat - 1hr time trial/2hr run
    Sun - Swim session

I am wondering what should I do the following week. Never done anything this long so never really need to 'taper' my training ?

Also what are people planning on wearing for the bike. After Sat morning I think I will have to reconsider wearing just the tri-suit, was very cold out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Many on here doing it ?

Just wondering what sort of training people are doing for next 2 weeks.
    I did a 90k/21k brick at race pace on Sat morn still feeling it a bit so will take an extra rest day today.
    Tues - Easy 10K run
    Wed - 3hr bikehills/45 mins run
    Thurs - Swim Session
    Fri - bike to work, maybe do few laps park on way home
    Sat - 1hr time trial/2hr run
    Sun - Swim session

I am wondering what should I do the following week. Never done anything this long so never really need to 'taper' my training ?

Also what are people planning on wearing for the bike. After Sat morning I think I will have to reconsider wearing just the tri-suit, was very cold out there.

Jesus that is some week of training! With a Full race over distance/race pace workout just done :eek: Its just 12 days to the event so IMO that wednesday brick looks like too much. You already proved to yourself you can go the distance hard so why do you need to do 2 more heavy bricks within 7 days and a week out from the race? I may be corrected on this of course but I reckon you have the work done and in the bag dude and may gain more benefit from a decent taper at this point!

I'm wearing my Tri Suit under the wetsuit, however, I'll have a light jacket in transition in case its milling on the day...

So

Who's doing the Lost Sheep? Not expecting this to be a long list :rolleyes:

MCOS
    Pocherello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

MCOS
    Pocherello
    hunnymonster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 DaveyByrne

I'm doing it... haven't trained very well in the last 2 weeks, but did some decent stuff before that. Did a 80k cycle and 20k run on Sat... rough!

I'm wearing a tri top, but I've got a micro rain-jacket in my bike-pouch for when I'm cycling. I've done the cycle route (about a month ago) and when it rains up at the top of the mountain it gets cold - particularly on the descent. Actually I don't think it was raining properly, but the clouds were so low it seemed like rain and I was soaked.

Be careful on the descent after the caha pass (second mountain)... the temptation is to go very fast, and there are a couple of sections of nice road that go straight into small (20m) patches of broken road and gravel which are absolutely LETHAL at high speed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Weather guy on RTE last night said that there is a high pressure zone on the way and depending what happens in next few days he hinted that we might be in for some decent weather... then he kinda laughed and said sure it couldnt get much worse now could it !

Would be great though if we didnt have to worry about jackets etc and could really attack the descents if it stays dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Spins

I hear the run route has changed and the start time?
    Does anyone know where one could look at the new route map?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Spins

I'm doing it.
    Poncherello, sound to me like you've done more than enough and if you don't take it easy this week and rest up, you may have done too much. Then again, I know nothing about you, maybe you recover real easy compared to me. Anyway, best of luck! Did my last hard session (45k bike and 8k run race pace) last night, looking forward to a full weeks taper this week....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

The Cork Tri website has the 2009 briefing doc available with a partial map and a description. Start time is listed as 8.15am for the swim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

MCOS
    Pocherello
    hunnymonster
    pgibbo
    Spins

I think a certain lady in the bunch there is going to hand us all our asses :rolleyes:

I'm so knackered after all the races this year. The only reason I took a transfer entry was realising himself is the race ref so I would be in Kenmare that weekend anyway. Might as well do something if I'm going to be there.

I hope the weather improves before Saturday. It's wet, cold and windy in Galway - hope it's not as bad in Kenmare. Coming down the descents could be very interesting if it's a wet day. :eek:

It's very wet in Cork. I actually had to go back and get the car this morning, road was too wet/flooded to cycle :-(

Settled weather is expected with a strong anticyclone centred over or close to Ireland and dominating our weather giving us dry pleasant weather. Thursday, Friday and Saturday will be dry with variable cloud amounts but sunny spells expected in all areas and winds will be light. Top afternoon temperatures will be typically in the high teens 17 to 19 degrees C. Winds will be very light or calm by night leading to cool, misty foggy conditions at night and in the early mornings, minima typically of 5 to 8 degrees.

So 3 swim caps and some sun lotion :D

Anyone who did it last year have any info on the water stations on the run ?
    Thx

Anyone who did it last year have any info on the water stations on the run ?
    Thx

Good question. Debating if I should buy a fuel belt for this event for water and gels. Might be a bit daft if I'm not used to running with one. Any thoughts on this?

Given the unpredicable Irish weather, even though it is forecast good for Saturday, I was wondering do people take extra kit with them for a HIM? For a Spront or Olympic distance it's not as big an issue. But I am wondering what kit/clothing people are bringing for the run and cycle on Saturday. Should I invest in a pair of those arm warmers for the 2 climbs, etc, etc. Cheers

Ah now, unless you are relatively cold blooded you will be grand. I was going to have a light jacket for the bike in T1 just in case of a downpour but fat chance of that this weekend (I'm staying optimistic :D). I'd just overheat in long sleeves on the run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 jollybean

Does anyone know what the profile of the run route is like. It used to be a relatively flat one...what's it like now as i think they changed it in the last year or two???

There will be 4 aid stations on the run with water and Gatorade, and one on the bike at Glengarrif as per email from race organisers.

If you do a search of previous threads I think there is a few that mention the run route being challenging with a fair few 'rollers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

There will be 4 aid stations on the run with water and Gatorade, and one on the bike at Glengarrif as per email from race organisers.

If you do a search of previous threads I think there is a few that mention the run route being challenging with a fair few 'rollers'.

No rollers, its just flat, maybe not perfectly, but its flat.

Ok perhaps a silly question but I have not yet had the experience of a water station on the bike so wondering how it works. I'm sure it will be on a flat piece of road (does on exist in Ireland :confused:) so that you are not hurtling towards it at top speed.

Do they hand you the bottle and you slow down and take it? That would be a bit dodgy...

Like I said silly question but how does a bike water station work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

I'm doing it - first Half.

For one reason or another practically no training over last month (apart from SK tour) - determined to finish it if I have to do a Welch/Ingraham type crawl!

See you all on Sat

Funkyzeit wrote: »

See you all on Sunday.

Why whats happening Sunday?

Best of Luck Funkyzeit and Poncherello, spins, hunnymonster and pgibbo :)

MCOS wrote: »
    Why whats happening Sunday?

Best of Luck Funkyzeit and Poncherello, spins, hunnymonster and pgibbo :)

Ditto MCOS. Best of luck to everyone on Saturday. :cool:

I've just been with the physio (some knee trouble I'm having). I was hoping he was going to tell me not to take part (I've zero enthusiasm for another event at the moment) but he said to go ahead and see him afterwards. Oh well, back to the excuses drawing board...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭ChickenBalls

Keith123, please read the charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭potsy11

I have a touch of a chest infection and I am in 2 minds as to do this race tomorrow.

I was off work for 2 days this week. I felt ****ty at the start but now I feel fine apart from the small coughs with green mucus (uchh.Sorry!).

Am i crazy to do the race?

Any advice?

Potsy

Mens
    1 Keane
    2 McCrystal
    3 Woods

Womens
    1 Elena
    2 Wolfe
    3 Lizzie Lee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Thanks Tunney. Any idea of the times?

Bambaata wrote: »
    Thanks Tunney. Any idea of the times

*Think* 3:57 won the mens, McCrystal was 20 minutes down on him. Not sure on the rest.

keane 3:57 (amazing 20 mins ahead)
    McCrystal 4:17
    Woods 4:21

Masslova 4:42
    J. Wolfe 4:48
    Lee 4:52

I didn't do it in the end.

huge problems with the organisation. Had I been ref I wouldn't have signed the race permit. Beautiful day for it, people suffered in the heat but it was fantastic for those of us who love heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

huge problems with the organisation. Had I been ref I wouldn't have signed the race permit. Beautiful day for it, people suffered in the heat but it was fantastic for those of us who love heat.

Didn't notice any major probs HM - what happened? Noticed a few people giving out due to lack of marshalls on the run (and too many around trans)

Savage time by Keane...

Had a great day and delighted to finish in sub 6 for my first HiM (and only second tri this year) especially given the severe lack of training.

Scenery going up Healys pass on the day that was in it was absolutely spectacular (for those of us who were slow enough to enjoy it!) Kinda blessed that the run route had a fair bit of cover in terms of shade.

Anyone see the psycho loosing the plot outside transition pre race - had a problem with tyres and was roaring abuse at his wife ! I noticed someone in his age cat got DQ for abusing marshall so assuming it was him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭cantswim

didn't notice any major problems with organisation either.

can't imagine how anyone could go wrong on the run. it was out and back. keep going till the turn around.

the scenary on the bike was amazing given the day that was in it. couldn't have asked for better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭potsy11

I did the race in the end and boy did I suffer.

Should have quit but kept at it until the end. It was about 40 mins off my time.

I saw and heard that lunatic. I saw him on the run as well and gave him back some of the abuse he gave his wife, marshals and Athletes.

I heard the run was slightly longer than it should have been but I reckon we are only talking about 300-600m so not a biggy. The cycle was short of the 82km and they probably could have done with an extra marshal or two on the bike course.

Aid stations were well prepared for the weather. I was in the second half of the group and there was still plenty of water to have my usual shower to cool down!!

I did see 3 people go down on the run due to exhaustion/dehydration.

Other than that a great race in what can only be described as one of the most scenic places on the planet.

I'll be back next year to conquer the course proper.

keane 3:57 (amazing 20 mins ahead)
    McCrystal 4:17
    Woods 4:21

Masslova 4:42
    J. Wolfe 4:48
    Lee 4:52

I didn't do it in the end.

Heard there was a bad accident on the bike (which wrote off a 8k bike) but didn't hear anything else. kenmare is not renowned for its organisation but I thought it was improving, last year was certainly good.

Cannot say I noticed any of the bad organisation myself, but then what would a green horn like myself know. What a great event. It really felt special finishing it. I was delighted to come in well ahead of my target time. Given I had never done any of the distances in training or a race I was very happy. I completed with a 5:34:50.

I could not get over the going of Bryan Keane. He was flying on the run. Why is it none of the elites even acknowlege you when you given them a shout when they come against you on the run. Actually one of the top 5 did but cannot remember which of them it was. I was seriously impressed by Maslova also. She's a super athlete.

Another super time by MCOS. A top 50 finish in sub 5 hours. What a guy! :eek:

Unfortunately we missed the night out as we had to head back to Galway. I assume it was a cracker. Never got to Jam either tunney. Was gutted! :(

The scenary on the cycle was incredible. The first descent was class. I have never experienced anything like that before. Exciting stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

pgibbo wrote: »
    I could not get over the going of Bryan Keane. He was flying on the run. Why is it none of the elites even acknowlege you when you given them a shout when they come against you on the run. Actually one of the top 5 did but cannot remember which of them it was. I was seriously impressed by Maslova also. She's a super athlete.

Imagine having to smile and say hello to 250 people as you are trying your hardest to get a podium in a national championship after 4 hours of exercise, you choose to say hello to a couple of people so its not that hard for you, but a lot of people would cheer them, bryan was interviewed at the end and was asked what the hardest part of the race was and he said having to say thanks to other people competing that were shouting at him.

He was different class though, 1.15 for the run, and he was cruising, was talking to him after and he was just doing it at his long run pace as he has 3 big races coming up, what a sicko!

Imagine having to smile and say hello to 250 people as you are trying your hardest to get a podium in a national championship after 4 hours of exercise, you choose to say hello to a couple of people so its not that hard for you, but a lot of people would cheer them, bryan was interviewed at the end and was asked what the hardest part of the race was and he said having to say thanks to other people competing that were shouting at him.

He was different class though, 1.15 for the run, and he was cruising, was talking to him after and he was just doing it at his long run pace as he has 3 big races coming up, what a sicko!

I know he is a fantasic athlete but to be honest the athlete who I think deserves huge praise is the full time worker who is a new dad that finished second.

tunney wrote: »
    I know he is a fantasic athlete but to be honest the athlete who I think deserves huge praise is the full time worker who is a new dad that finished second.

Will that be you next year tunney?

All those guys looked to be cruising and like everything I suppose, when it's done well it looks easy. It was very impressive to see but beggars belief how they can do it. I can understand how the pros do it but for someone that works fulltime and has a new born or family at home it's just amazing!

what is it in the water at aid stations this year? Everyone seems to be having babies (no not me!)

tunney wrote: »
    Heard there was a bad accident on the bike (which wrote off a 8k bike) but didn't hear anything else. kenmare is not renowned for its organisation but I thought it was improving, last year was certainly good.

There could have been a few more marshalls alright. Yeah That guy was hit by a motorcycle near the top of the Caha Pass.

Super event and I'd recommend to anyone but its tough too. I heard they ran out of water at the finish at some point?

Well done MCOS super time, read your report.
    Was a super day. Really tough event.
    Did 5.15 myself and very pleased with that.
    Suffered on the Caha Pass a bit and was passed by a fair few up there.
    Had to stop twice on the bike to relieve myself, tried to go on the move but couldnt, need to learn how to do that !
    Enjoyed the run and passed a few back over last 5K.
    It certainly is not flat.
    Will be back next year to knock 30 mins off that time.

Well done MCOS super time, read your report.
    Was a super day. Really tough event.
    Did 5.15 myself and very pleased with that.
    Suffered on the Caha Pass a bit and was passed by a fair few up there.
    Had to stop twice on the bike to relieve myself, tried to go on the move but couldnt, need to learn how to do that !
    Enjoyed the run and passed a few back over last 5K.
    It certainly is not flat.
    Will be back next year to knock 30 mins off that time.

Well done Poncherello. 30 mins is quite agressive on a tough course like that. Where and how are you planning to shave off 30 mins?

Swim 2 mins
    Transitions 3 mins - i could have made a cup of tea for the amount of time i spent in T1 !
    Bike 15 mins - after 2 yrs on a heavy racer I will upgrade this winter and also train thro winter for first time
    Run 10 mins - Once I get the bike fitness to the level it needs to be at this should take care of itself

Swim 2 mins
    Transitions 3 mins - i could have made a cup of tea for the amount of time i spent in T1 !
    Bike 15 mins - after 2 yrs on a heavy racer I will upgrade this winter and also train thro winter for first time
    Run 10 mins - Once I get the bike fitness to the level it needs to be at this should take care of itself

Thanks Poncherello. Makes sense when you break it down like that. The only concern I would have is that conditions were ideal on Saturday. If the weather is wet and windy that will make the swim and bike a lot more difficult. Based on that, is it better to pick a better / higher finishing place rather than time? Like you I know I can make improvements on next eyar too and am considering the toss on time versus placings. I know what you mean about transitions - 5:08 and 2:38 for me - taking the p*ss and should be a hell of a lot faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Bambaata

ill be hoping to do this for the first time next year so reading all your comments is great. how did your nutrition plans go for you all? Is there any one thing you would do differently?

Yeah conditions were excellent no doubt, will be more of a challenge if the wind blows alright.
    I dunno about worrying about placings. Unless you are up there in the top 20-30, I would say in my limited experience that the longer you go the more important it is to race against yourself rather than worrying about where you are in relation to the field.

Bambaata wrote: »
    ill be hoping to do this for the first time next year so reading all your comments is great. how did your nutrition plans go for you all? Is there any one thing you would do differently?

personally I was happy with my nutrition. I ate 2 hours before the the race started and sipped High 5 energy drink between then and the race starting. The only concern I had was the chicken burger in the chipper and 11:00 the night before. Thankfully that didn't effect me. Couldn't be avoided though as it took us 6 hours to get to Kenmare and we missed registration, etc.

Once I got on the bike I drank only water for the first 30 minutes. I alternated between a bar and gel for every 30 minutes on the bike. 30 mins was a nutri grain elevenses bar, 60 mins a gel, 90 mins a granola bar, 120 mins a gel, 150 mins a nutri grain elevenses bar & a gel at 180 mins. I also started to take High 5 energy drink 15 minutes after my first gel. I also only took water 15 minutes either side of each gel. In total I drank 750ml of High 5 on the bike and 1.5l of water.

On the run I walked each of the 4 water stations and drank 2 cups of water. I only took a gel after 45mins of running. I think I would have been wiser to maybe take a gel at each water station. I only took one for the whole run at water station number 2. Other than that I think my hydration / food strategy worked well for me.

You should defo do it next year. It's a great event with some amazing athletes on show - even if you do only see them at the start and again on the run for a fleeting moment! :D