Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Losing to my inferiors

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

SLUSK wrote: »
    Are you suggesting I am mentally ill?

Everybody needs some form of help, sadly I don't think the help that you need can be got from the internet. As for being mentally ill, I'm not even sure what is and what isn't also let me re-assure you if your mentally ill then I am too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

I am smarter than them, taller than them, done more stuff with my life like backpacking around the world, lived in different countries for almost four years. I am more well spoken than them(I am talking about my mother tounge here which is not English)

Other than that I have better salaries and more assets than these men.
    First of all man, ignore ALL of this...
    I am aware that in matters of love, logic and reason gets thrown overboard.
    And start to become greatly aware of this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Are you suggesting I am mentally ill?

I wouldn't say you are mentally ill but I would agree with OrlaK....I don't think you're going to get the help you need on this forum. You sound like you hate your life. You sound miserable Slusk. Every post you put up here relates to a negative aspect of your circumstances but you take no one's advice on board. Ever. You say you hate your own country of birth but yet you bad mouth Ireland all the time and you mentioned before that if you could leave, you would. Well you can. You're free to do that. If it's your job that's keeping you here, then that's no reason to endure misery. Money shouldn't be a factor that entices you to sacrifice your happiness. It's very simple Slusk: if you're not happy, you have to make changes and it seems to me that your either going to have to change your circumstances (move city, move country etc.) or change your attitude to your circumstances. Are you actually going to take the advice given to you on board here or what? I know myself that it's not easy to admit your faults and to try and change them. You say you hate every country...in fairness, what kind of stupid comment is that? How can you expect anyone to help you after you say something like that?

If you think you can find all the answers to your problems here on Boards, and the very fact that you keep posting provocative comments up here (that I'm going to presume are serious...you meet all types, I suppose) suggest you do, then you have to be open to hearing thing you don't want to hear (I know how hard that is) and be open to any suggestion of change people make...if not, then we can't help you and yeah, I would recommend you go and see a professional. It boils down to whether you want to remain the way you are i.e. p*ssed off with everything and everyone or do you want to be happier? Read through some of the posts here and get a bit of perspective...you're luckier than most Slusk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Bolibompa

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Slusk I'm not even sure if your serious or not but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt. You're constantly on Boards complaining about this country and about its citizens and to be honest, you seem miserable in this country. You're from Sweden, you're well travelled and educated so I'm presuming you're from a reasonably comfortable background....can I ask you why you're still here? You always make it out like you're here under duress. I'm not suggesting you leave, but the fact that you seem utterly miserable in this country HAS to be apparent to the women you're meeting...and it can't be good for your mental health. If you were happier in your circumstances or at least try and change your attitude to them, maybe you might have more luck. Happy, confident people who are comfortable in their own skin are attractive to the opposite sex. Complaining, arrogant, moaning men do nothing for any of us, believe me.

Change your attitude and you might have just a bit more luck.

I was going to say exactly this. I have been reading boards since 2003 and slusk was the reason I finally decided to post... Been reading far too many of his posts and it's embarrassing. Long rant acoming. :p

I’m Swedish too, been living here over 5 years. Yes, Sweden has better insulated houses, better social care, free education, public transport is second to none, we recycle, we eat healthier, live "greener", men are taller and women fitter, we have no knackers and our summers are warmer and dryer.

Still I prefer it here. I accept the differences and adapt to them. I don’t complain. I’d develop an ulcer if I did. My friends always say I’m stupid for staying, and specially now but moving home just isn’t an option.

I feel at home here. People are more relaxed, wouldn't consider voting for a communist party, immigrants aren't segregated and put up in suburbs, it's ok to wear the same jeans for two days and they don’t have to be Acne either. People still like you even if you can’t dance. I like tea.

I have a theory that because there really isn’t much to improve about the standard of living in Sweden, people start to care about the superficial stuff... a little bit too much. Trying to be perfect is no craic.

I’m guessing you have a well paid job here and that’s why you’re staying. Same job in Sweden would probably only pay half as much. But you should go home if the Irish way of living is getting to you so much it’s become a personal issue for you. It’s quite a burden to have any society’s problems as your own personal concerns.

I don’t know if you are just on here to provoke or if you are just generally a moany person. When you come on here and ask questions about Irish customs and culture in an aggressive and patronising manner; what are you getting at?

Relax a bit, be more humble, do some volunteering with barnardos, open up your mind a bit and try and appreciate what you’ve got. Be more easy-going. I’ll stop before I sound like the sunscreen song..

I doubt you will get my point. :o

One man can come across as sleazy for one girl and charming for another. Why would you even want a girl that would according to you, chose a sleazy guy by the way?

Would I be right in thinking that you also think all girls like gifts and to be treated like a princess? If I’m wrong then why do you even think that your income matters?

You seem uptight and with no sense of humour. I might be wrong and you can genuinely be questioning all the errors (subjective) of Irish living. If that’s the case I suggest you read more books to gain a greater understanding of other cultures and how they developed.

You say you’re smart. You don’t seem smart. You might be a mathematical genius but if you have no cop on it doesn’t matter.

Girls like confident and happy men. Are you happy? :) <---- happy?

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i'm sorry but you seem really weird..... if you really don't know why girls don't like you then you should review your attitude. i would much rather be with a nice unemployed guy who is a little short than be with someone as rude and arrogant as you. you need to get off your high horse and realise that not everyone may think you are as fantastic as you seem to think you are - how dare you say people are inferior to you. you need to get a life - i hope no poor girl falls for your "charms".
    sorry to be harsh but you have got be kidding with your comments!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

o/p, You do not drive a car or own a house. You are automatically going to lose most women before you start. If you tell them about your salary and the 40k in the bank they are going to thing you are a tight weirdo. If you do not tell them they are going to think you are a poor weirdo. You can't win. So don't try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

I am not saying I'm the only one a woman should ever want, I do not have any problems what so ever losing to superior men, but I hate losing to my inferiors.

Well, maybe girls consider a caring, honest, guy who is good fun etc superior to a guy who has such a shallow out look.

So what if you earn more, own a house, and speak fluent Irish. You cannot base a relationship on these things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Jo King wrote: »
    o/p, You do not drive a car or own a house. You are automatically going to lose most women before you start. If you tell them about your salary and the 40k in the bank they are going to thing you are a tight weirdo. If you do not tell them they are going to think you are a poor weirdo. You can't win. So don't try.

I think this is rubbish. I wouldn't choose to go out with a guy based on the fact he has or has not a house and the same goes for driving and savings. Personality is what is important.

Also forgot to ask if "jantelagen" means nothing to you? Are you sure you are Swedish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Bolibompa wrote: »
    Also forgot to ask if "jantelagen" means nothing to you? Are you sure you are Swedish?

I do not believe in socialism.

you missed the point completely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Yes how dare do I consider myself better than that lowlife drug addict on the street corner, no one is better than anyone else, so therefore I am no better than a common thief. Is that the general consensus around here?

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yes how dare do I consider myself better than that lowlife drug addict on the street corner, no one is better than anyone else, so therefore I am no better than a common thief. Is that the general consensus around here?

at the end of the day we are all just people. Money, cars, houses, they are just things. Does your job make you happy? Does it tell you it loves you??? Yes your lucky you have a good job but so what? What about the person that went to college, was working for years and lost their job, they are now on the dole. Do you consider them inferior to you just because your working at this moment? That could be you next week mate with this recession so I wouldn't be so cocky if I were you. As for the 'low life drug addict on the corner', do you know anything about him? Maybe he had such a bad life this is his only way to cope. You don't know him and its a bit rude of you to gereralise things. A bit naive and ignorant in my opinion. OP you should look outside the box and realise there is more to life than money and things. Maybe then you might find a girl that you will be happy with.

haha, you have to admit though, if you're losing out to the homeless junkies you must be doing something wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Actually the general consensus for the last 2pages is that it DOES NOT MATTER where a person is from, what their financial or health status is, or what they do/dont do for a living...People respond to immaterial things like a certain bodily feature, personality type or even just a gut feeling that someone is good for you.

Your above quote
    "no one is better than anyone else"
    said it all really, you can spell it out here for us on a screen, but until it really hits home with you that most people dont care what your salary or height is, you will never take on board the advice myself and many many others have been trying to give you and failing thus far.

The answer to hundreds of threads here in P.I. about how to be more attractive to someone, is that confidence is the key. Arrogance and hatred does only one thing, pushes people away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Hardly...

I am no stunner, I don't have a specific career, I was out of work for over 9 months (due to downturn) - so should a guy turn me down based purely on that? No. Infact I was dating someone who had no issue with me being out of work /unsure of my future career.

You seem to think that because you have all of these things you should win over anyone, but it's not a case of 'winning'. It's a case of matching with someone, and maybe you're not the match, but the next guy (who may or may not be as good looking/talented/experienced as you) might be the match. If you've ever been in love you'll know you don't choose who you fall in love with, it happens, good bad or indifferent. You love someone for who they are, not what they do. It's not like applying for a job and your CV wins you the date. Your CV isn't your personality, it isn't who you are inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

At what point is it proven dangerous to be fat? If someone else is fat it is none of your business. Leave us fatties to our hedonistic ways of living.
    O.P.

Sounds like you're not entirely 100% perfect Slusk. Not that being overweight should prevent anyone from finding love, but it's odd to consider yourself such a superior being and yet leave this out. Seems like you purposely omitted part of the story.

I wouldn't even bring it up if you hadn't first brought physical appearences into the foray by mentioning that you are taller than your percieved inferiors. Odd that you avoided mentioning a weight problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Unfortunately for the OP (and thankfully for the rest of us bald, fat brunettes) the eugenics programme died along with Josef Mengele and the rest of the Nazis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

This thread is getting off topic and trolly plus the OP seems to have no intention of taking any advice given so I am locking it