Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA in DIT

• 29-08-2009 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭

Is there currently or would there be anyone interested in starting an MMA club? Attended one session in Spartan in Tallaght at the start of the summer then got a job so I couldn't continue. Would love to have the convenience of a club in DIT.

Anyone else interested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭MikeyCyrus

used to do boxing so i suppose i'd be interested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I used to do Karate for a while myself so I'd be pretty much a beginner with the whole UFC thing re submissions but would love to see this kind of club get going

same, never done it before really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 chokehold

I'd be interested in setting up an MMA class here at DIT. I'm currently finishing off a Masters but have been training BJJ / MMA at Team Ryano (based in Baldoyle) for the past 4 years. If there are enough of you interested, I'll go talk to the DIT Sports people this week and try and get something sorted out.

Cheers
    Peter

veery interested... if its not to much of a trek id gladly join, thanks peter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 BayCity

Ill be there!! Have been saying Id try all summer so i suppose I have to now.

someone will have to get in touch with me coz im only goin into year one... and have no idea how to sign up :P

chokehold wrote: »
    I'd be interested in setting up an MMA class here at DIT. I'm currently finishing off a Masters but have been training BJJ / MMA at Team Ryano (based in Baldoyle) for the past 4 years. If there are enough of you interested, I'll go talk to the DIT Sports people this week and try and get something sorted out.

Cheers
    Peter
    Well delighted to hear this Chokehold. If you get the go ahead I can do up some flyers etc if you like. Would this be in Kevin St or Bolton St?

kevins hopefully :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Assmaster_Kronk

Awesome, was looking for an MMA club to join but most of them are a bit out of the way, this would be handy:D

same to be honest.., plus its sumting new... i hope this goes ahead

Maybe if it gets the go ahead we could meet up before the start of the lectures?

Hi Lads,

Good to hear there is interest in this. I will go down this week and find out more about setting up the club. Ideally I'd like to do two / three classes a week so we can get everyone up and going.

I'll give you a shout when I've got more details.

Peter

Magic stuff mate.

awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Ahoy!

im startin in D.I.T. bolton this year so id be well up for it aswell,never done a combat sport but id love to try it out ;)

If this gets the go ahead we could link up with Karate and Boxing for FightSoc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Dec0512

sounds brill boxing for 2 or so years would have a big intrest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭no scope

Well going to do this

Have 12 years of taekwondo under my belt this should be fun

What dit is it going to be in????

Any update for us there mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Never done this before but I would be up for trying it.

be prepared to be thrown around the floor

theres alot of painful moves that will make you squeel like a little piggy

its fun tho

no scope wrote: »
    be prepared to be thrown around the floor

theres alot of painful moves that will make you squeel like a little piggy

its fun tho

MMA is now sexual? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Ak1

Hows it going just joined boards.ie so am a bit fresh.

Starting in kevin street on the 21st,would be well up for an mma club always interested in joining but no clubs near me.

What days do ya reckon you d be trying to get as i train on a mon wed and fri already.

Hi Guys,

It's great to see so much interest. Still trying to get in touch with someone from the sports department. They aren't answering their phones today!

I will post when I get some rock solid information from them

Cheers
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Would this be open to absolute beginners too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Would this be open to absolute beginners too?

Hopefully, I'm in the same boat as you.

As this would be the first year, the class would be geared towards beginners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Grand, and unfit feckers too? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Wally90

hows it going people? ye this sounds pretty good! Keep me posted with any new information! Im going in to dit kevin street this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

id be interested in this.

quite interested actually.

Only thing is, Id be in the unfit/inexperienced camp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 hotboxaerox

was interested in the boxing but would rather mma so if the option is there id do it to!

so weve like 20people already, plenty for a start?

And most people with little or no experience. At least there'll be a level playing field or two

Any news on this if its starting up ??

What campus is it going to be in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

sounds kinda dangerous. but it'd be really handy to know. think of all the people you could beat up, not to mention from a self defense point of view. i might do it once i put some weight back on, i don't think theres any point in me joining now.

best to start at the start :L

There's a lot to be said for trying something new. I've been to one MMA session and it was completely new to me, it leaves you wanting to get better like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 xxasdasdxx

I want to join. I'm an unfit asian dude.

no asians

/joke.

ok fine

i mean it don't even attempt to get in or i will use my mma skills on you

whatever dude.

jesus i'm only joking man. i'm not even doing the mma thing. i didn't mean to make you feel bad like.

It was a joke too. haha

lol you crazy asians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

nothing like ignorance to brighten up your day...

hopefully this goes ahead!!

well there seems to be an interest so i dont see why it couldnt we just have to wait and see ;P

Hi All,

Thanks for your patience. I got a mail from one of the sports officers and the first thing we have to do to get the ball rolling is to have a minimum of 15 members that come from a minimum of 3 different sites within DIT. As for the class, it will be aimed at beginners. All shapes and sizes at all fitness levels more than welcome. If you are interested could you either send me a PM with your name and which site you are based on and your preference of either Bolton Street or Kevin Street as your prefered venue. Ideally I'd like to have a class in both venues. I'll post more details as and when they come.

Peter

Mikey Morris - kevins street (1st year if that makes a difference) and probly kevin street as preference because i dont know where bolton street is :D