Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M3 - Inspection II + other work

• 25-08-2009 5:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

Right, I have a bit of work to get done to the car (04 M3)

Traction control stopped working two weeks ago when I got new tyres put on in a local tyre centre(bought the tyres online).
    Called into the BMW garage (kearys) last saturday and was told they messed up the traction, but he'd have to run diagnostics to make sure.

Thing is, I will be due an Inspection II service in under 4k km. I'm wondering should I get an early service and just get it all done in one go?

I also want to get all the software updated in the car, as well as new maps for the sat nav etc.... is any of that included in a service?
    Possibly looking for some sort of kit for the iphone too.

Anyway, main point here is, do I have any options. Do I have to go to the main dealer or are independent specialists an option? (obviously I want to keep a good service history for resale)
    Are different dealers all the same, or should I get quotes from different places?

Do I have any bartering power with the service guys in there? How do I prevent getting taken for a ride?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

AC Car Sales, don't have the number to hand but i'm sure someone will soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭captainosull

You own an M3, your inspection II is due, prepare to accept some wallet bending over. The traction control is more than likely a broken wire to a wheel speed sensor, done whilst the tyres were being changed - as the M3 doesnt generally not give issues in this department. Shouldnt be too costly id so.

AC Car Sales all the way, they are very reputable, and having their stamp in your book is probably better than a main dealers at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Maps for your sat nav are definiately not included in a service. If you're lucky, they may update the version software for you - but even then I'd expect they'd charge you an hours labour for it.

If you're not wedded to the idea of a full BMW service history, then you have plenty of options. Most BMW indy's have the software needed to look after the car.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

there was a good thread over on BMW-Driver a while back comparing inspections at various dealers and what exactly needs to be done.

if you car has built in bluetooth, theres an iPhone cradle available for the arwrest so it connects straight to the car.

BMW were doing a trade in deal on the Sat Nav discs, where you could upgrade tp the 2009 discs for 100euro iirc.

check here for loads of info.

also here and in particular here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

With an inspection ll, you'll be looking in the region of €1000. You'll even be charged for items that need to be replaced, like discs and pads.

If you're in any way handy, you can do 75% of the stuff on the list yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I got an Ipod attachment fitted last year at a main dealer which required a software update - apparently it takes a full day for the software to reset (?). Anyway it came to over €600 albeit it is the proper set up with all the details through the idrive etc

As for servicing - my most recent service on the 535d which was at a main dealer including oil service, microfilter service, front brake pads, front discs, replacement brake sensor, as well as a few other bits and pieces was €1400. Obviously that is a lot but it seems that the discs are very expensive on the 535. If I decide that I will be keeping the car for quite a few years, or if it was a little older I would be changing to an independent servicer like AC cars.

The Sat Nav discs I'm pretty sure will cost you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Cheers for all the info lads. Great links there too.

I'm in Cork, so I presume there isn't many options down here. I would travel to Dublin to get it done if it was a big enough saving.

What do ye think about getting it done a bit early? I was thinking that bringing the car in twice would be more costly, but would I lose the value anyway on the few k kms?

kceire wrote: »
    if you car has built in bluetooth, theres an iPhone cradle available for the arwrest so it connects straight to the car.
    [/URL]

Ya, I have the cradle unit in the car already, just have to switch for the iphone holder and get the software updated.
    As far as I know this charges and links in the phone capability. I would like something that links in the music to the stereo speakers as well, any of ye know if this setup will do that???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Only reason I didn't mention AC is that I knew you're in Cork - so wsn't sure if you wanted to travel. Would recommend them.

Updating your sat nav pc to newer software is simple enough by the way - just involves sticking a CD in the drive.

You can play around with the boot up screen too if you feel like it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Tails142

Have used AC Car sales, they're the bees knees. Traction control went for me too recently on a 5er and it was the control module, apparently the soldering on the circuit board can fracture, got a refurb for about 300, though I've since learnt you can do the repair yourself if your handy with a soldering iron. Only way to determine the actual fault is by hooking it up and reading the codes though.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭caze

TheBazman wrote: »
    As for servicing - my most recent service on the 535d which was at a main dealer including oil service, microfilter service, front brake pads, front discs, replacement brake sensor, as well as a few other bits and pieces was €1400. Obviously that is a lot but it seems that the discs are very expensive on the 535. If I decide that I will be keeping the car for quite a few years, or if it was a little older I would be changing to an independent servicer like AC cars.

Dont think AC Cars are much cheaper than main dealers at this stage, last time I was there got Oil service, front and rear brake pads + sensors, brake fluid changed and microfilters on E60 diesel. Cost was €955 euro, I thought that was very steep. Work is top notch though.
    Some main dealers are now offering discounts on labour and parts for cars 4 years and older, think I saw something in a paper mentioning Joe Duffy's. Haven't a clue what they normally charge labour wise though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Hi OP, you could go to MMW (Murphy Motor Works). They are based on the Monahan Road. The two main mechanics down there are ex-main dealer with a lot of experience between them. They have all the proper diagnostics equipment etc.
    Contact 021 432 2122
    For your model M3 you could go for a DICE unit to integrate your iPod/iPhone.
    Here is a link to the dice unit:

http://www.europeanautosource.com/product_info.php?products_id=1621

I have one in my e39 & it works very well.

Also I have some BMW diagnostics software that may be able to reset or at least check what your traction control issue is. PM me if you want to give it a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

In regards the Nav update, if the system is DVD based, you can buy the discs on eBay. I got a 2008 CD last year for UK & Ireland for about eur60.00, for an 8 year old car.

This is the response I got from Kearys in Cork.
    kearys wrote:
    insp 2 approx 1,200 E incl valve adjustment
    adapter for phone approx 90E depending on phone model
    software update - i will need to check on the day as the software time varies depending on spec
    sat nav disk is approx 200 E depending on the variant of sat nav in your car

a little vague i know but, all these cars vary, no 2 are the same

Should I shop around? Would I save enough to make it worthwhile going to dublin/belfast?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

jimbling wrote: »

Should I shop around? Would I save enough to make it worthwhile going to dublin/belfast?

Will Keary's give you a courtesy car while yours is in ?

Or, if you travel, what do you do........hang around all day in the hope it'll be ready by end of day? And if it isn't ?........ That's the downside of long-distance servicing...........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Will Keary's give you a courtesy car while yours is in ?

Or, if you travel, what do you do........hang around all day in the hope it'll be ready by end of day? And if it isn't ?........ That's the downside of long-distance servicing...........

Either way it might be better off doing it locally. If I have to go back for something etc it might cause problems. Just have to face facts really.... I have a car that costs a mint to keep running.
    Ah, but it's worth it :D

I'll definitely have to look into updating the Sat Nav maps etc myself because 200 is way too much. Ridiculous price really.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,285 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I can see you saving a small fortune by going to northern ireland or a bmw specialist.
    Its only a service. They make out like its rocket science because its an M3 but its not.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,767 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

jimbling wrote: »

thats a good price, ac did my old one and it was near 1,000 and without valve clearances,

as long as that price includes plugs, valve clearances and uprated diff oil (ask them for that aswell the one with the FM booster) id go with kearys.

there is also a guy in abbeyfeale limerick, ger (http://www.bavarianautotechnik.com/), who is excellent

They're totally looney prices for a service, nothing there except the valve work is any way complicated or demanding for any competent DIY guy.

RoverJames wrote: »
    They're totally looney prices for a service, nothing there except the valve work is any way complicated or demanding for any competent DIY guy.

price up the oil(castrol 10w60), the diff oil, the plugs and then the time it takes for the valve clearances, the parts alone will make up a fair chunk

The remainder (another fair chunk) pays for the showroom.

All they do is a load of "checks", change the engine oil, dif oil, air f, fuel f and spark plugs. Madness paying a grand for that. Admittedly anyone driving a modern M3 is probablt not short of cash but a grand is still a grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Is there something special about Inspection 2 - a grand for a service seems like a hell of a lot

Inspection 1 is an oil change and a load of checks, insp 2 is the same except they do more checks and also change the diff oil, and the air and fuel filters. Easy money for them, folks will dish out the cash without questionning it as they think their car is such a sophisticated beast it needs the expensive servicing. Also they want to maintain their FBMWSH for trade in time :rolleyes: It will be more too if the car needs pads, discs, brake hoses, calipers etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,285 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It is lunacy paying those prices for basic maintenance. Inspection II is nothing special.
    I figure if you have receipts for all the service parts required for proper servicing, that would be good enough for any sensible person you would hope to sell it too so no need to pay the dealer prices.

Inspection 1 is an oil change and a load of checks, insp 2 is the same except they do more checks and also change the diff oil, and the air and fuel filters. Easy money for them, folks will dish out the cash without questionning it as they think their car is such a sophisticated beast it needs the expensive servicing. Also they want to maintain their FBMWSH for trade in time :rolleyes: It will be more too if the car needs pads, discs, brake hoses, calipers etc etc.

and do you know how much the engine oil, diff oil and spark plugs cost for an m3? and the time it takes to check the valve clearances?

A poster above paid a grand for the inspection 2 without the valve clearance check. Tell us the price of the oil, diff oil, spark plugs air and fuel filter................. then justify how the labour added on comes to a grand.

Quick googling DCPR8EKP (NGK) x 6 €75
    Castrol 10 60 engine oil 4l €60 lets day €100 as I imagine the M3 takes more, lets say €120 actually
    Lets say oil filter, fuel and air filter can be got for €100 (they defo can, no probs at all)
    Diff oil, an M3 takes 1.7L of 83222282583, €40 tops from the stealers, also other brands are approved

So that all comes to €335, leaving €665 labour to perform the fluid and filter change (an hour at most) and to do all the visual checks.

The Kearys service was €1200 inc the valve work, the other price of €1000 was not inc. I know a BMW tech so if you want I could ask him how long would it take, of course the Kearys price would be the check, if the shims needed adjusting no doubt the charge may be more.

i havent got the receipt any more car is since sold, but the parts were more expensive than that, also the diff oil has been replaced by an uprated on with fm booster

That's the price for main dealer diff oil, if you were charged more than the above for that you got no value at all, no offence but the fact is the grand for an inspection 2 is robbery.

You keep saying this, but what are the alternatives?
    I cant do it myself, and from reading other threads, these bmw specialists are not much cheaper either. So what exactly are you suggesting I do?