Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do u save

• 25-08-2009 2:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭

Right ladies heres a question "How much do you save each week/month?"
    I'm a women and have needs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

I save 500 euro a month from my wages that goes directly to the Credit Union and another 80 that goes to a separate account..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

i dont have a set amount. and i dont hve a separate savings account which i probably should, but its generally about 500-600 a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

As little as I can.

I'm such a bad saver! If I do save up for something, it's usually an item of clothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Nothing. I used to do but I spent ALL of the savings on a house deposit. Now the money goes on mortgage, bills, car. I'm doing FE1 (Law) exams, that's costing me a fortune. I have no left over money to save. In case of emergency I have a credit card with a fairly high limit I can use.
    carly_86 wrote: »
    I'm a women and have needs

Female things like waxing and hairdresser cost a lot. Unless you earn a lot it's difficult to save.

I met somebody last week who saved €7000 on the dole in the last year. They are now using it to go off travelling. The person lived at home with parents, contributed nothing financially, just saved almost all of the dole money.

We are the same age but my circumstances are so different. I have a mortgage, car and every single household bill from the esb, internet, tv licence is in my name. On a salary 4 times the dole I can't save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't save! I work to get paid to spend! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

sunnyside wrote: »
    I met somebody last week who saved €7000 on the dole in the last year. They are now using it to go off travelling. The person lived at home with parents, contributed nothing financially, just saved almost all of the dole money.

That's kind of sickening!!! Gah!!

After I first got my mortgage I was savin zilch but these days I save around 200-300 a month. I like to have a decent cushion, especially knowing interest rates can only go up! Its actually gotten easier to save as everyone else is watchin their money too, more likely to have cheaper get togethers I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

€500?!?!?! How can anyone afford to save that much?! :( I couldn't, and I'm not badly paid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carly_86

I try and save between €800-€1000 a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

i have 800 a month going into a savings account but i'm never at zero on payday so could probably save more. i have no loans as i had my car paid off in 6 months(i didn't go out for 6 months!) i'm living back at home with the folks since last october after 7 years renting so thats a big factor in my savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Saucey-Susie

I used to be able to save at least 1k every month (commission is a wonderful thing) but after being made redundant and changing jobs save a min of 500 every month. I have an account set up just for savings which will go towards the deposit on a house, plus i spend 500 on rent and then bills come up to about 200-300 a month too. boo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Well done you guys for saving so much! I'm seriously jealous.
    shellyboo wrote: »
    €500?!?!?! How can anyone afford to save that much?! :( I couldn't, and I'm not badly paid!

I think it's time for you and me to leave this thread and return to the "payday treats" one. We fit in better there:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

I'm not very well paid but I should be putting something away... this thread has made me shed a little tear for all the wasted money.... think I may have to open a savings account somewhere that just takes the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Surely a percentage of your take-home pay is a better indicator of whether this is a lot of money?

I save between 25-33% of my take-home every month.

i save 25% each month (u can easily figure out what im on, hehe) im due a raise next month so that extra money each month will go straight into my savings, so i dont get used to it. and i do owe a few hundred on my CC so once thats paid off, the money i was using to pay that will go into my savings too. So im hoping to save at least 800 a month by november/ dec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Malari wrote: »
    Surely a percentage of your take-home pay is a better indicator of whether this is a lot of money?

I save between 25-33% of my take-home every month.

Wow, that still seems like a crazy amount of money to me. I wouldn't be able to manage it.

Not that I'm saying anyone's crazy! Just marvelling at how much better you all are with money than me :)

If u want it in % i would save about 40-50% of my wages each month

wow, fair play. 50% is deadly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I save nothing. Get paid (badly) every 2 weeks and will usually have to bum some cash off the OH to get me over the end of the month. Its relly bad. We need to start saving though. Want to buy a house at some point :)
    sunnyside wrote: »
    I think it's time for you and me to leave this thread and return to the "payday treats" one. We fit in better there:D

Wait for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

Saucie Susie you're getting a raise? I thought they did away with those things!

This thread is depressing. I am going travelling in less than two months for a year and still find it impossible to save anything, even though I'll need it. Planning to hit the CU for a loan.

yeah it was part of me accepting this job that after 6 months my salary would go up. yipee

Wow, that still seems like a crazy amount of money to me. I wouldn't be able to manage it.

Not that I'm saying anyone's crazy! Just marvelling at how much better you all are with money than me :)

I don't know, it's always been in me! My sister is useless with money though. I had to reeeeally scrimp and save through college and even when I started earning good money I had to be eased out of the saving mentality. Not that I'm cheap! I just seem to be reluctant to treat myself that much.

I have a great job, and I got a raise recently too and good bonuses but at the back of my head I think "well, it's not going to be here forever". So I am very sensible :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

It's actually hard to say -- what I usually do is pay my bills and everything from one account and then whatever's left I transfer almost all of it to a savings account. (That way, I'm not tempted to spend it.)

Some months are good, I can save about 25-30%, others aren't so good (holiday travels always put a damper on the bank acocunt!), but at least something's always going into savings.

When my OH and I combined accounts, we figured that since we make about the same amount of money, I'd be in charge of saving and he'd be in charge of spending. We're both good at our jobs. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I couldn't afford that and I get paid a lot.

I'm just wondering, what's the purpose of all your saving? This thread is a big eye opener for me. BIG!

I save 0 money per month. ZERO! If I ever have spare cash I use it to pay off the credit card debt that I built up slowly and foolishly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Cleopatra12

I save €200 a week . Get paid weekly and it comes out of wages before i get them, also pay Health and car insurance from wages before they hit the bank (job is great for payroll deductions)

Also pay approx 70 quid a week into defined benefits pension scheme.

Am currently saving for house deposit. Will have it by december. Thoughts of buying on own is scary... Live at home, but pay rent.

Am trying to cut expenditure at the mo. Stopped buying makeup and want to use up what i have. Moved mobile networks and have cut bills by almost 50% so will save extra few bob there.. now its just the fags and then i can buy a new car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

nothing, my half of the mortgage is over half of my weekily wage. :( fecking recession

EDIT: I did have €20 hidden in a drawer from myself , but I just found it and am off to ring the chipper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Unfortunately I can't as i spend e300 a eweek on childminding. After food there's nothing to spare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Khannie wrote: »
    I'm just wondering, what's the purpose of all your saving? This thread is a big eye opener for me. BIG!

I save 0 money per month. ZERO! If I ever have spare cash I use it to pay off the credit card debt that I built up slowly and foolishly.

The purpose of my saving started as a travel fund; whenever I could get a chance to go somewhere, it was always nice to have the money ready. More often than not, though, it's nice to have money handy for random unforeseen expenses like new tires or a vet bill or *$@^&!# cavities . . . the things that don't happen every month, but that pop up every now and then and you have to deal with it. I'd much rather have the money ready for whatever than have to wait another x amount of time scrimping until I have the money. It also came in handy when my OH and I moved and were out of work for months. Savings to the rescue!

Also, I have a couple of credit cards . . . but one is for emergency use only (as in, the country is sinking into the ocean, I need flights to another one immediately), and the other I put daily expenses on and try to pay almost all of it off every month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Shaws

Last year I was sooo good, I saved roughly 300 a month, except for one or two months, Christmas, etc and bought a car - cash in hand - so proud of myself :D so I tried again this year and since April, at this moment, I have 600 saved :(, I keep dipping in to my savings for stupid things. I need HELP!!!!! And I'll have to dip in again this month as I'm royally broke - no mon, no fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I have saved for as long as I can remember. It became a bit of an obsession around the time the teacher started the Cyril the Squirrel savings scheme in class :D

I have a transfer set up from my current account to my seperate savings account, so theres no excuse not to save. The amounts have varied over the years, depending on how much I got paid. With my last job I was saving €120 pw. Im going to college f/t from next month so thats going to take a dramatic drop! Something is better than nothing though.

There is absolutely no reason whatsoever for anyone not to save, no matter how small the amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

i pay way too much in rent:(. i really need to move somewhere cheaper so that i can save properly again:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭emma82

I find saing soooo hard- some months I'm great- others iIm a complete disaster zone- god damn those shoes that were talkin to me. Getting married in 16mths so that'll put manners on the saving front- so from next pay day on I'll be saving between €300 - €400 pm. OH doing same. Saving sucks a5s though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

I save about 300 a month!!
    I used to save a lot more but situation has changed!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I'm saving about 600 or 700 a month at the minute but I've no mortgage and my rent is low so I've no excuse not to.

Saved a huge amount last year, was saving 1500 some months.

I was in a tricky situation a while back and needed a few grand that I couldn't get. Will never forget it. Always vowed after that that I'd have enough put by, just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Between my rent and my student and car loans that's half my monthly income.

Out of the other half about 20% goes on transport, 20% on food, 10-20% on bills... that leaves 20-25% of my monthly income for my weekly driving lesson, petrol, clothing, entertainment, treats, car tax, insurance and any car maintenance that crops up, and any other unexpected expenditure.

Needless to say, my savings are pathetic - usually just prep for my car tax and insurance, but my pension is looking pretty ok. Pity it'll be worth nothing when I retire. (I'm 24).

I'm delighted when I get to the end of the month even. I always clear my credit card monthly, but I hate having to do it out of the new month's cash, not the month I used the card in.

If I ever have extra over I put it towards my loans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Show_me_Safety

while my boyfriend was working we were saving 1600 per month. I always spend 1/3 on rent, 1/3 for living, 1/3 for savings. Boyfriend has been unemployed for the last 6 months so haven't saved as i took over all expenses. The month before he was made unemployed we spent 13,000 in new york -eek! But now he has a job again so i.ll get back on track with my savings. Originally he was to be part time but is actually fulltime so we can afford to save more since we rent somewhere cheaper now. While i like saving it's not my biggest priority- i enjoy being able to treat myself and i want for nothing. From new year it will be more important as we will prob start saving towards a deposit (which will be a 5 year plan)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

we spent 13,000 in new york -eek!

:eek::eek::eek:

How on earth did you manage that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Oh dear god. I wish I hadn't read this thread. I'm going to set up a savings account in the morning. I have a holiday coming up next week but after that I'm going to live like a beggar and put it all away.

I was in college for years and years living like a pauper so when I started working last year, I went a bit mad and blew my pay checks. I've calmed down a bit lately but i had always said throughout college man, when I start working I am going to enjoy my wages!! But i think now it's time to cop on.

Realistically speaking I think after rent and food and bills I could possibly save around 500 a month. I'm hoping to anyway. but that would leave me with little to play with afterwards. Living in Dubin sucks for rent, it swallows so much before you've even enjoyed just getting paid. if i could move home to the country, even if I was still renting, i'd be able to save sick amounts of money.

Thanks girls for giving me the motivation to get off my arse and save!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Salome

I've been saving between 450-500 per month for the last year and a bit - this has been going into our joint account as we're buying a house shortly. Basically, when the time comes to pay the mortgage, the amount we're saving in our joint account per month will well cover our mortgage and some of our bills so the monthly mortgage payment won't be so painful! We're used to not having that amount in our pockets anyway!

We've had a relatively quiet year, occasional dinners or cheapie weekends away but it's going to be worth it when we get our keys in the next couple of weeks.

pookie82 wrote: »
    Oh dear god. I wish I hadn't read this thread. I'm going to set up a savings account in the morning. I have a holiday coming up next week but after that I'm going to live like a beggar and put it all away.

I was in college for years and years living like a pauper so when I started working last year, I went a bit mad and blew my pay checks. I've calmed down a bit lately but i had always said throughout college man, when I start working I am going to enjoy my wages!! But i think now it's time to cop on.

Realistically speaking I think after rent and food and bills I could possibly save around 500 a month. I'm hoping to anyway. but that would leave me with little to play with afterwards. Living in Dubin sucks for rent, it swallows so much before you've even enjoyed just getting paid. if i could move home to the country, even if I was still renting, i'd be able to save sick amounts of money.
    Thanks girls for giving me the motivation to get off my arse and save!!!!!!!!!!

See that you do Pookie! :)

You'll always have rainy day money to just jump on a plane whenever you spot a good deal. And for anyone who is thinking about buying a car, always be sure that you have room to save outside of paying off HP (avoid at all costs) or bank loans. Depreciating assets need to be thought over carefully, and always buy on reliability rather than going for the car cosmetically alone. If you are sensible about saving you will eventually have a new car every year / second year, and by doing so you will always have a car with merely minor problems.

Saving might mean sacrifices, but it is essential because you just cannot predict what is around the corner.

/swot

:eek: I think Abigayles

a

a

(dare I say it)

Accountant!

I aim to spend every penny right now.
    I'll save when I figure out something to want.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    :eek: I think Abigayles

a

a

(dare I say it)

Accountant!

No comment =P

Wouldn't it be so much nicer to be able to afford the thing you want, when you want it? :pac:

Abigayle wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be so much nicer to be able to afford the thing you want, when you want it? :pac:

But then there would be no chase :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭squishywishy

I save €1000 a month. Could save more but thats the max my savings account will take a month. Live at home so I suppose I have it easy really. Saving for the big mortgage and cant wait to get the deposit saved! I actuallt get such a thrill from watching my savings stack up and thinking I'm rich even though I'm not but its a lot of money to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

I don't know how people can't save that much (I am talking about someone in a full time job, no major loans etc..), especially couples - I am a single parent, earning less than 40K a year, I get no child support - but I am a very good budgeting which equals we normally go on two to three holidays a year :D, this year one of them was Flordia... so I am always stunned when couples moan about being broke - what are they spending their money on?!!.. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I save 200 a month at the moment, but I'm currently paying 400 a month into a loan which will be paid off in December, so after that I want to save at least 500 a month. I think it's not that hard to save if you are organised but it takes more discipline than I had when I was younger!

Moonbaby wrote: »

The last thing I spent a large packet of money on was a car. So I definitely wanted to have the money there when I decided what car to get.

Then I spent money on a holiday at the other side of the world.

My next object of desire is probably a house. Not just any house. I want to be somewhere I actually want to live, in the city, so that would probably be expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

im not especially well paid (that said, i love my job, my work and my colleagues, so get heaps of job satisfaction :pac:), and live quite frugally. at the moment, im saving up for a tattoo in february, that's gonna cost $1500-2000. after rent, i usually have about $120 left to spend, so after food and transport, i can usually put away about $70-80 per week. though im on a strict no junk food/alcohol/discretionary stuff thing right now, so i can meet my target figure. im a good saver, but now and then i do go a little nuts and spend a substantial amount of wages on fleeting things.

im saving up for a tattoo in february, that's gonna cost $1500-2000.

What kinda tattoo is gonna cost that much i love tattoos have some myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

one that's gotta be done over one weekend and will take up most of my arm and contain a fair element of detail. plus, the artist is flying down for the weekend, so im saving on my plane/accommodation fees too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Usually save about €700-€800 a month. Broke my leg almost 3 months ago so been living at home and it's gone up to €1,500+ since then! Amazing how much rent and stuff like that actually costs.