Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are radio stations gone to the dogs?

• 25-08-2009 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭

I was on the way to work there yesterday morning and decided to stick on the radio, and mother of jaysus I can't believe these people are paid to talk shite. I just wanted to listen to a few tunes, not a half an hour of shite talk, followed by the same news every five minutes. In one hour of driving, I only managed to hear one good song on the radio. Are radio stations gone to the dogs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes. They are wuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

El Siglo wrote: »
    I was on the way to work there yesterday morning and decided to stick on the radio, and mother of jaysus I can't believe these people are paid to talk shite. I just wanted to listen to a few tunes, not a half an hour of shite talk, followed by the same news every five minutes. In one hour of driving, I only managed to hear one good song on the radio. Are radio stations gone to the dogs?

Was it Newstalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Banter Joe wrote: »
    Was it Newstalk?

No, I was flicking between FM104, Today FM, 98FM, 2fm, i105, Beat etc... amd they were all awful, stupid presenters talking absolute shite!

I have to admit I like a bit of banter and s**te talk on the radio in between songs especially in the morning. I much prefer i102-104 a regional station the west it is much better than the national stations imo, they can get away with a lot more on the radio as well and of course they have the legend of a show that is Tommy(tiernan) and Hector. I have a particular dislike for 2fm for some reason. Today fm can be alright at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

No, I was flicking between FM104, Today FM, 98FM, 2fm, i105, Beat etc... amd they were all awful, stupid presenters talking absolute shite!

all crap, today fm after 7pm is good, and 2fm atfer 10pm is good

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

When I want talk I put on RTE1 or Today FM with Ray D'Arcy. I can't stick rubbish like Colm and Jim Jim.

Seriously, other than tunining for the news and topical relevant discussions about life related items (not what jorden or whatever is up to) - I've given up on music radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Newstalk is where it's at. TodayFM after 7 and sometimes but very rarely 2fm. RTE1 is woeful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Play CDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Is it just me or did something happen to today fm?

Casually flicking the stations i used to find myself stopping on today fm quite a lot. Then one day it's like they just changed completely and they never seem to play anything good anymore.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭BDubliner

Lyric FM has gone to the dogs recently as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

bleg wrote: »
    RTE1 is woeful.

They really gutted the mid afternoon, then Fanning in the evenings, good grief.

I enjoyed Vincent Browne, a bit hammy, but for what the show stood for, I accepted its faults. You only get a chance to catch something 'settled' and stimulating, in the late evening, if at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

vinylmesh wrote: »

Casually flicking the stations i used to find myself stopping on today fm quite a lot. Then one day it's like they just changed completely and they never seem to play anything good anymore.

You just got old. :(

I prefer the BBC stations for (talk) listening to. HERE
    BBC4 - BBC5 - BBC7 (Comedy Channel) being my favourites.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

My CD player broke in my car a few months ago. I felt like killing myself while listening to some of the crap on the radio.
    Eventually I gave up and drove in silence until my CD player was fixed.

If you have Real Alternative installed, you can use:

http://delicast.com/radio/Ireland

..to listen locally, or go global, even catch RTE 1 TV News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

vinylmesh wrote: »

Denis O'Brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

I listen to BBC Radio 1 now, plays decent new music during the day mostly and there's the odd funny bit of banter during their shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kfc1

Agreed- Ray Darcy on Today FM should be renamed the text in show and what is it with pratically every station doing sports shows on Sunday mornings???

Sunday Supplement is good with Sam Smythe on Sunday mornings, Today FM. I'm rarely up to listen to it in full recently though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Colm and bum chum ruined it for me years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

RTE 1 is excellent. The news show in the morning is great, and when i get home from work I listen to the music show between 7 and 8 which plays great tunes. But yeah when i go for coffee every day at 11, the same tunes are playing every day on whatever station it is they play in the cafe, think it's 98fm, f*cking Picture House, Aslan etc. Those DJs should be beaten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead absolutely detests the on air "banter" between presenters on those stupid afternoon radio shows. Tony Fenton or one of those spanners cracking rubbish jokes while Mary who's doing the traffic laughs for way longer than is necessary in an attempt to try and show her station bosses that she can do light entertainment with the best of them.

The absolute desperation in Mary's laugh is a horrible horrible sound. The poor girls sick to death of droning on about "tailbacks and oil spills on the M50" and she has resorted to laughing at rubbish jokes told by a rubbish man who for some strange reason chooses to speak in a rubbish American accent. Get out while you can Mary, it's not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Yes, most of the local home grown radio ststions are *hite, thats why I listen to the Beeb ststions, from Radio1, Radio2, Radio3, Radio4, Radio5, + Classic FM, (the rich mans Lyric FM) ............

Admittedly the choice of UK ststions is limited to many people here, but even if you only have the basic NTL package at home, you can still plug in your HiFi to the FM socket and receive a fairly decent spread, from BBC Radio1 to BBC Radio5 (talk sport).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Q102 isnt bad. I like the "my 9 at 9" driving to work in the morning. Spin 1038 after 8pm though as its just waffle during the day. FM104,Today FM and 2FM are terrible and i cant stand Matt Cooper his voice goes through me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I like FM104... during the day I don't think there's all that much talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

orourkeda wrote: »
    Colm and bum chum ruined it for me years ago.

Ooh, I see what you did there.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Ooh, I see what you did there.

What's the point in saying this when you don't post the pelican?

http://assets.knowyourmeme.com/i/681/original/what-you-did-there-i-see-it.thumbnail.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

bleg wrote: »
    What's the point in saying this when you don't post the pelican?

http://assets.knowyourmeme.com/i/681/original/what-you-did-there-i-see-it.thumbnail.jpg

That's horrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭hideous ape

Radio went to crap when they realised that they could cut down the amount of music played by filling each hour with crap talk with a Mid-Atlantic accent...you don't pay royalties on crap talk. The same trick is used in TV programmes like the Late, Late Show...about 25mins is wasted in an on-air competition which should really be run off air.

Yes I do want to listen to some moron answer questions to win a U2 spoon.
    Yes I really do want to listen to a two person phone in quiz which takes up to 6 mins to complete and is of no benefit to me whatsoever.

Modern music radio should not have any DJ's on air...news and sports fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

I was going to start a thread on this too, I cant listen to the radio any more because the presenters are so frustratingly annoying!!! :mad:
    Especially Corks Ref Fm, none of them seem to be able to pronounce words properly, for example instead of saying coming, going, walking, driving, doing, making etc..... they all seem to pronounce it as ''comeen,goweeen, walkeen, driveeen, doweeeen, makeeeeeen''.
    It alsolutely wrecks my head and Im seriously considering writing in to request that all Corks Red Fm staff members take elocution lessons before ''goweeeeen'' on air again. :mad:

Has anyone else noticed this? And before people start taking the piss out of the Cork accent, I havent heard any other Cork people speaking like this and all the other Cork radio stations seem able to pronounce their words properly so it seems to be a trend with only Corks Red Fm. :rolleyes:
    And its not just the normal show presenters, the news people are after catching onto it now too

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I can't listen to radio stations anymore because they keep playing awful ****e like rihanna and beyonce. Chris Brown didn't hit rihanna hard enough.

There's not only the idiot talk, but the music has been made 'louder' because a strange thing about the human brain is that it can think 'loud' equals better.

The phenomenon is best explained here:

Loudness War - War on Sound

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

I'm convinced that it was 'born' on FM Radio, basically you compress and saturate the signal of any given song to give it more oomph and adrenalise the experience for the listener.

Many stations will also EQ any material they play to even it out with the rest. Sadly, this has spread to CD's over the last decade or so.

Whatever about the 'local' stations being shite (Midlands Radio 3 is probably the worst), but these so-called 'national' broadcasters are God awful. I remember going to school, 4-5 years ago on the bus, and there seemed to be much more music etc... on the radio, it was pretty decent. Now, listening to the radio, it's like as if DJ's have given up on playing decent music with people using their ipods for that and are going for a more talk radio in order to add something different to listeners etc...
    Chart music as well, Jesus it's awful so it is, imagine on the way to work the other day the best music (when it was finally played) on the radio was David Bowie, with "Ziggy Stardust" from 1972 (excellent song, but it shows how bad music standards are nowadays). I hope to God, somebody comes up with a radio station 'My Ipod Playlist FM' - entirely dedicated to music, no competitions or bullshit chit chat, just music of different varieties. Now, that would be worth a listen!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

I would rather tear out my eyes with razorblades and drive red-hot pokers through my ears that have to ever listen to the aural ass-gravy spouted by RTE's Colm and Fat-Fat.

ben bedlam wrote: »
    RTE's Colm and Fat-Fat.

Do you mean this Colm?

And do you mean this Fat-Fat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭googlefan

I used to listen to Ray D'Arcy every morning, but I had to change to Tom Dunne on Newstalk. D'Arcy has gone to hell. He has all the women doing all the work for him, even choosing the songs. In between he is becoming such a moaner as well. I've got totally sick of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭dixierip

Ray Darcys show just seems to have gone stale. He even seems board with the format sometimes himself ie Fix it Friday, Arthurs mailbag etc. These items should all have a shelf life and then be retired. Darcys show initially set out to entertain but in recent times he has become prone to political rants and getting on his moral high horse. People tune in for light hearted banter and not his pontificating. On a good day the show still has it and maybe in just need of a revamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

googlefan wrote: »
    I used to listen to Ray D'Arcy every morning, but I had to change to Tom Dunne on Newstalk. D'Arcy has gone to hell. He has all the women doing all the work for him, even choosing the songs. In between he is becoming such a moaner as well. I've got totally sick of him.
    You listen to Tom Dunne :eek: You poor person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

With very few exceptions I gave up listening to Irish radio as a source of music years and years ago.
    The quality of the music, the "newness" of that music, the non-existent diversity, especially on daytime, the overplaying of stuff from playlists and of course the multitude of hacks they let on the air to fill in between tracks, the incessant filler talk delivered in ever more annoying accents in a usually patronising manner, supremely weak attempts at being funny...and all this regularly interspersed with promotional items and some of the most annoying radio advertising on Earth.

I do listen to some of the talk shows on both national and local radio...we do news, chat and sports very well but we arguably do too much of them and they rae heavily relied upon...on some stations this has been at the expense of music.

I don't know what I'd do if BBC ever drop their FM transmitters in favour of DAB...whenever I travel further south than Drogheda, all that stands between myself and sanity is an mp3 player...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Tom Dunne is actually really good on the radio - it surprised me too. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I usually flicker over to Phantom FM and i did not end up with the same sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

i102-104 is where its at!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Playlists are to blame for a lot of the music

But I hate when a compilation record of say old '80's music is released and you hear the same songs from it on several stations for the next 6 weeks , all anounced as though they were old favorites even though the DJ in question hadn't played them any time in years before

pet hate
    DJ's on ego trips :mad:
    DJ's showing how truly stupid they are while rabbiting on about something they are totally clueless about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

Never listen to radio.. I work part-time (2-3 days a week during summer) and have to work beside the radio 8 hours a day, with no control over it.. The Script, Snow Patrol, some b0llo0cks talk, some more Script, Lady Gaga, The Killers, bit more b0ll0cks talk, bit more Script, Kings Of Leon, The Script looped over and over and over - it drives me fu€king insane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I listen to Newstalk breakfast show in the morning to get me out of bed, which has gone down hill since Ivan Yates starting doing it.

But I have to turn it off once tom fecking dunne comes on or my brain would start to seep out of head....

Now Moncrieff on the other hand it great and always worth tuning into {expect for the kids section and parenting advise on a Wednesdays}.
    googlefan wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

There's your answer pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Breakfast radio has definately gone to **** over the last year or so. The only show I like listening to is Sean Moncrieffe's on Newstalk.

The Adrian Kennedy show is like The Sun of the radio world. Rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    I listen to Newstalk breakfast show in the morning to get me out of bed, which has gone down hill since Ivan Yates starting doing it.

But I have to turn it off once tom fecking dunne comes on or my brain would start to seep out of head....

Now Moncrieff on the other hand it great and always worth tuning into {expect for the kids section and parenting advise on a Wednesdays}.

Yeah, Moncrieff is very good, like the movies and booze section on a friday, starts the weekend for me when im drivin home from work.

Dont even get me started on Colm and Dim Dim on 2fm though. I turn the radio off at work for the duration of their show it is so bad. I find it hard to believe that anyone could find them funny.

- bo - wrote: »
    Never listen to radio.. I work part-time (2-3 days a week during summer) and have to work beside the radio 8 hours a day, with no control over it.. The Script, Snow Patrol, some b0llo0cks talk, some more Script, Lady Gaga, The Killers, bit more b0ll0cks talk, bit more Script, Kings Of Leon, The Script looped over and over and over - it drives me fu€king insane...

Some random DJ: That's an excellent playlist, thank you!