Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Africa wants another like $67Billion per year.... I didn't make that number up.

• 24-08-2009 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭

http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/LO569667.htm

Africa wants $67 bln a year in global warming funds
    24 Aug 2009 15:10:17 GMT
    Source: Reuters

* Africa seeks unity ahead of Copenhagen talks *

Climate change seen hitting poor nations hardest (Recasts, updates with quotes, details) By Tsegaye Tadesse ADDIS ABABA, Aug 24 (Reuters) - African leaders will ask rich nations for $67 billion per year from 2020 to cushion the impact of global warming on the world's poorest continent, according to a draft resolution seen by Reuters on Monday.

Environment and agriculture ministers from several nations are meeting at African Union (AU) headquarters in the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa to try to agree a common stance before a U.N. summit on climate change in Copenhagen in December. Experts say Africa contributes little to the pollution blamed for warming, but is likely to be hit hardest by the droughts, floods, heatwaves and rising sea levels forecast if climate change is not checked.

"This is the time for Africa to aggressively engage to ensure that climate change is effectively addressed," Jean Ping, chairman of the AU Commission, told delegates. "Africa's development aspirations will be destroyed unless steps are taken to arrest the impact of climate change." The draft resolution, which must still be approved by the ministers, called for rich countries to pay at least $67 billion annually to counter the impact of global warming in Africa. AU sources said that, if passed, the resolution would call for the funds to be paid each year beginning in 2020. No date was set for them to stop.

AU officials say there had been serious limitations on Africa's ability to negotiate in the past because of a lack of a coherent stance on global warming by African governments. "The negotiating team need to be backed with the political weight at the highest level in the continent to ensure that the African voice on climate change negotiations is taken with the seriousness it deserves", the document said.

CALLS FOR COMPENSATION

The discussions in Addis Ababa attracted senior officials from countries including Algeria, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria and Uganda. Earlier this year, Ethiopian Prime Minister Meles Zenawi called on rich countries to compensate Africa for warming, arguing that pollution in the northern hemisphere may have caused his country's ruinous famines in the 1980s. [ID:nLP93207] A study commissioned by the Geneva-based Global Humanitarian Forum that was released in May said poor nations bear more than nine-tenths of the human and economic burden of climate change.

The 50 poorest countries, however, contribute less than 1 percent of the carbon dioxide emissions that scientists say are threatening the planet, the report said. Africa is the region most at risk from warming and is home to 15 of the 20 most vulnerable countries, it said.

Other areas also facing the highest level of threat include South Asia and small island developing states. [ID:nLS1002309] Developing nations accuse the rich of failing to take the lead in setting deep cuts in greenhouse gas emissions, and say they are trying to get the poor to shoulder more of the burden of emission curbs without providing aid and technology.

A new climate treaty is due to be agreed in Copenhagen in December. But a senior U.N. official has warned the discussions risk failure if they are accelerated. [ID:nLE676941] Yvo de Boer, head of the U.N. Climate Change Secretariat, said only "selective progress" had been made towards trimming a 200-page draft treaty text in Bonn earlier this month, one of a series of talks meant to end with a U.N. deal in Denmark. (Writing by Jeremy Clarke; Editing by Daniel Wallis)

Is it even certain that The Man and his factories are the cause of global warming?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What do you want me to do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Were gonna need bigger Trocaire boxes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I want hayden panettiere lying on my bed wearing nothing but a smile, doesn't mean I'm gonna get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Belgium should pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

67Billion per year? don't they know theres a recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

feck em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

67 billion :rolleyes:Tis pittance, look what our Government can afford from our tax money to set up NAMA and bail out the greedy pig bankers.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What about all that money from the dead princes floating around ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Hello Africa. Request denied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

KTRIC wrote: »
    What about all that money from the dead princes floating around ??

They want to send all that to Ireland, strange one that.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Overblood wrote: »
    Africa wants $67 bln a year in global warming funds

Is it not already warm enough for them over there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

I bet they got this request via email and it has to be sent via Western Union.

I think I smell a scam or possibly scamola :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 bmtannam

Africa wants a kick in the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

bmtannam wrote: »

No....it was definitely money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tarbuck

I'd gladly pay it if it was in 67billion worth of birth control rather than cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

They said dollars but they didn't say which type...

..67 Billion Zimbabwe dollars coming right up.

Sorted.

They should make me president of the world universe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭tarbuck

Banter Joe wrote: »
    They said dollars but they didn't say which type...

..67 Billion Zimbabwe dollars coming right up.

Sorted.

They should make me president of the world universe :D

Sah, they've stopped using the currency so it would be of no interest to them.

Nevertheless I would like to get my hands on one of these!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Zimbabwe_$100_trillion_2009_Obverse.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Keep giving, eventually they'll have enough to buy some serious weapons and invade someplace. That's how you get the gold, diamonds, oil... oh, wait a sec...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Africa wants, Africa wants...
    Isn't about time they started stop shoving the begging bowl out EVERY time they are short of something and once in a while actually worked out more often how to get it them frakin selves for a change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

FFS They can get their eyes done for just €2.50, it costs €499 an eye in Dublin. Chancers, I say, chancers, the whole lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Decades of pumping money into Africa and it's still a ****hole.

I think it's clear enough that they can't rule themselves.

Re-colonize them I say, and rule them with a firm hand, the only thing an African really understands :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

Why don't they just add on another 2billion, make it up to a nice 69billion. that way we cant laugh while we hand over the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I'll sort Africa out forever for half that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Decades of pumping money into Africa and it's still a ****hole.

I think it's clear enough that they can't rule themselves.

Re-colonize them I say, and rule them with a firm hand, the only thing an African really understands :pac:

If you knew how ****ed up nearly every single country is on that continenat then you'd know that there's sweet f*ck all they can do, ball is the NH court sadly.

Also they are already under neo-colonialism which is cheaper and more profitable to maintain for the rest of the world it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

I just gave him one a minute ago, will i give him another one for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Yawn, spend the money we gave ye on food and water instead of guns. Next request..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Better be careful and do what they say or they will start kidnapping our charity worker...s.....f*ckers...motherf*ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Africa can Foxtrot Oscar...

I will give them a tenner if they take all their natives home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Mike... wrote: »
    Africa can Foxtrot Oscar...

I will give them a tenner if they take all their natives home.

Including the one in your sig?

I have one in my kitchen, and he'll go home for a €5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Isn't this just a legality to release those surplus funds that are waiting for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Ask Bono ,im sure he a spare 67 bil in his arse pockets !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

I think all inhabitants of Africa should become our slaves to start paying us back instead of looking for more.

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    I think all inhabitants of Africa should become our slaves to start paying us back instead of looking for more.

Mine has it all nearly paided back for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

If they were allowed to trade fairly they wouldn't have to 'ask' for aid.
    And i have to laugh at idiots here saying that African countries can't govern themselves.
    We were given every chance and, somehow, managed to get ourselves in a hole we may not emerge from. Certainly not anytime soon.
    Still, some of you had nice cars and handbags while it lasted.
    All payed for by the banks; whether through loans or jobs directly related to the laughable property bubble we created and sustained.
    So drop the misplaced smugness.
    In the not to distant future, many African countries will become economic powers.
    I hope they remember the good work that some of the honest people of this country carried out there.
    And ignore you idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

On one hand I laughed reading this thread (some funny responses). Yet on the other hand I'm amazed it's lasted! Not that that's a bad thing by the way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

ascanbe wrote: »
    And i have to laugh at idiots here saying that African countries can't govern themselves..

They can't, how much aid has they been given to them since the 80's? And they are still begging for more, time they learned to fend for themselves.

If Ireland was in the same situation I wonder how much money we would receive from them. Fck all I imagine. So they can go fck themselves, plenty of worthy causes here in Ireland.

In the not to distant future, many African countries will become economic powers.

How do you reckon that then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Africa want 67 Billion, just like i tell the african who tries to dry my hands in pub toilets, **** yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

What do you want me to do about it?

I love when people try to get a load of thanks in the first reply to an AH thread, and then fail miserably. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Simi

And i have to laugh at idiots here saying that African countries can't govern themselves.
    We were given every chance and, somehow, managed to get ourselves in a hole we may not emerge from. Certainly not anytime soon.
    All payed for by the banks; whether through loans or jobs directly related to the laughable property bubble we created and sustained.
    I hope they remember the good work that some of the honest people of this country carried out there.
    And ignore you idiots.

Economic powers? Get a grip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

And ignore you idiots.

Dont freak out until you know the facts.
    Relax.
    Max.

Any idea when this African superpower will start taking over the world? You have me scared now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Do they have a paypal account. I'll forward the money on if they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Now now, we all know AK's are expensive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Biggins wrote: »
    Africa wants, Africa wants...
    Isn't about time they started stop shoving the begging bowl out EVERY time they are short of something and once in a while actually worked out more often how to get it them frakin selves for a change!

Isn't that what certain parties said about us and the EU?

They wants tree fiddy ??

Dey aint aving my tree fiddy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Dear Africa,

I thank you for your recent application for an increase in your overdraft facility. After conducting a thorough review of said application I regret that we are not currently in a position to progress with the proposed increase at this point in time. The main reasons informing this decision are outlined below:

1) Robert Mugabe is not a very nice man, please get rid of him.
    2) We do not believe that the proposed number of machetes on order will all be used for agricultural purposes, please revise this accordingly.
    3) We believe that you have under-estimated projected income from Somalian piracy ventures.
    4) There is an outstanding issue involving aid workers in Darfur.
    5) You appear to be still hogging all the decent long distance runners.
    6) For social reasons we have an issue with continuing funding for your current female genital mutilation programme.
    7) We are alarmed at the growing rate of HIV - please stop riding each other wantonly.
    8) Our past investments have actually yielded a decrease in productivity.
    9) Kofi Annan
    10) Bono

We look forward to meeting again next year to discuss progress in the above areas. In the meantime, we would like to thank you for your continuing custom.

P.S. Due to prevailing, market driven funding issues, we are increasing your current interest rate.

Kind Regards,

The developed world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I have exactly 67 billion monies resting in an account that Africa can have by simply sending me a blank cheque which i will deposit into 4 separate joint government accounts then give them back their share in interest, I had a rich uncle who was the prince of Ireland you see and his most unfortunate passing has left me with this business proposition for you today my continent friend , most anxious to hear via email or bebo to execute this most advantageous to you offer, this monies will be a big success to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Computer says NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

He's waiting for their return....
    krudler wrote: »
    I have exactly 67 billion monies resting in an account that Africa can have by simply sending me a blank cheque which i will deposit into 4 separate joint government accounts then give them back their share in interest, I had a rich uncle who was the prince of Ireland you see and his most unfortunate passing has left me with this business proposition for you today my continent friend , most anxious to hear via email or bebo to execute this most advantageous to you offer, this monies will be a big success to you!

Dear Sir,

Merciful Lord Jesus, I am most sad to hear of the passing of youe uncle the prince of Ireland. Jesus be good that you have contacted me at this time.
    I pray with Jesus that this business deal can be of advantage to us both.

I will sacrifice my most beloved goat to your uncles tribute, Most glorious jesus how do we start this transaction. I have opened a bank account and deposited 238 beads to help with the business deal.

In the hands of the most blessed jesus I await your reply.

Charles N'Bog'N'Apoo'Z'Fez OoOoOoderja