Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Love

• 23-08-2009 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I am feeling very soppy and reminiscent tonight so I wanna hear about your first love :)

Do you believe you never love anyone like you love your first or what are your opinions?

Mine was a boy called Phil and I thought he was the bees knees 'cause he had the straightest teeth I had ever seen and I had braces at the time!!! He broke my heart in the end but we're good friends again now. Tell me of your experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

My first real love completely shattered my heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

First love is the only time it doesnt dawn on you that it could/will end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I remember my first love. He took me to my P7 qualification dance (the end of senior infants just before moving to high school)...

I bumped into him again years later when we were at uni & had a brief fling - it was a disaster, lol.

I've been in love three times - he was my first, bless him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jinxycat

Does it count if you've never even been with the guy???

I'd such a crush on a guy I was best friends with when I was younger, never had the courage to tell him. One day I plucked up the courage, like 3 years later and asked him. He said no :( He thought I was only joking so I acted like I was then out of pure embarrassment.

I still get butterflies when I see him:o Eight years later:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Well the first guy I ever had a crush on was Simon Coleman!I loved him from 4- 17 . The one and only time I have ever been in love is with my OH. I have never told anyone else I loved them nor have I ever been in Love but when I met my OH bang! it happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Jules wrote: »

Mine too :( I am anti-love these days!!!!
    I remember my first love. He took me to my P7 qualification dance (the end of senior infants just before moving to high school)...

I bumped into him again years later when we were at uni & had a brief fling - it was a disaster, lol.

I've been in love three times - he was my first, bless him. :D

Those flings are never good. Been there myself, bad idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I usually see my first love once a week with the fella she left me for. We all get along so well we dont need to talk to each other or acknowledge each others existance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

The first person I ever truly loved is the same person I am truly in love with now. Never realised I loved him as much as i did until he was gone. But we got together after a few years after a broken friendship that was repaired. Love him :)

I guess I had a romance with someone I thought I loved but I didn't really. I was 19 and was naive and went along with everything. But never gave of myself completely as in a way I always knew it was never going to be a long term thing.. it's a hard one to explain.

I'm sure I 'loved' lots of lads growing up, writing their name in my journal and doing those silly quizzes where you find out how much he loves you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I'm actually starting to resent the girl I 1st loved(fortunately/unfortunately i dunno).My entire love life pretty much circled around her from the age of 16-20 even though we weren't together for a lot of that time.
    When we weren't together she seemed to have this unbelievably stupid timing of coming back into my life whenever I was actually growing close to someone else(3/4 fcuking times this happened :mad:) and me being the dumb git I am got back with her everytime instead of giving it a shot with the new girl.
    Wish the stupid bint fecked off after the 1st break-up and just let me be :(

EDIT: This is actually the 1st time I admitted all this.
    I think I just had an epiphany :eek: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

My first love was computer gaming, best love ever. Better than the love Irom experienced from girls anyway. The games never broke my heart and they kept me happy. If I only could go back to those days.

Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

SLUSK wrote: »
    My first love was computer gaming, best love ever. Better than the love Irom experienced from girls anyway. The games never broke my heart and they kept me happy. If I only could go back to those days.

Does that count?

Virgin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Teferi wrote: »
    Virgin

No I do get lucky one way or the other a few times each year. This drive is to strong to be ignored, otherwise I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

At the grand ol age of seven I am ashamed to admit I have never been in love......yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I haven't really had a first love. I've liked people and been in awkward situations that have made me afraid to open up or get involved with anyone.

My first huge crush was Mattie Jay from Busted. I talked about him all day, every day, when I was fifteen. My friend and I wrote letters to the band, expressing our love for them. Covered the letters in glitter, Loveheart sweets and lipstick marks. We included a photograph we'd dressed up especially to take as well! :pac:

We actually forgot to send the letters, found them about a month later and decided we'd keep them and open them after our Leaving Cert, before we went our separate ways for college.

Opened them in a cafe in Cork city about this time three years ago. The two of us sat there and read them, crying with embarrassement. I'm SO glad he never got to read that letter!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

My first love was one of my best friends' brother. I had a huge crush on him for about 2 years, and then he asked me out one day :P We were together for almost a year, til he dumped me because I "clearly had no interest" in him anymore :mad: I wasn't able to see him as much as he wanted, so he ended things and broke my heart. Luckily everything remained fine between myself and my friend :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

He's an absolute prick.

tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Despite all the people I've had crushes on, and all the (rather short-lived) relationships I've had, I don't think I've ever truly been in love. There's something a bit sad about that. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

My first love thinks I'm the biggest w@nker in the world. We broke up when she moved away for work, we remained friends and still spoke all the time.
    We talked about it a lot and She said she'd move back home and get a job here so we could be together. I agreed and she told her family she was coming back. A few hours later I changed my mind, another girl had already managed to get into my heart (my second love)

So when I told her I didn't want to get back together she took it badly and I don't blame her after what I had just done. So she never moved back, told me she'd never speak to me again and she hasn't. It's been nearly 4 years now

But to go back to the start, we were very much in love and after a turbulent start to the relationship we were very much in love. I still think of her and wonder how she is. I had just turned 18 when we got together and I wasn't too far off 22 when we broke up.

My God, writing this has just made me realise how much I have changed as a person in the 7 and a half years since I turned 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Despite all the people I've had crushes on, and all the (rather short-lived) relationships I've had, I don't think I've ever truly been in love. There's something a bit sad about that. :(

I'm the same. Something someone said earlier in the thread confirmed it for me. You're not really in love if you can see an end to the relationship. I was with someone for nearly 2 years and not once during that time did I think 'this is it, this is the person I love and I can't see a time we won't be together'. If I thought of my future I never saw it with that person, I was very young at the time but still. Sure, I said it at the time, that I loved them, but looking back it was certainly not love, it was... I dunno, really. I don't think there's a name for it cause it was more than lust and like and romance but it wasn't love. It was special, of course, cause it was my first real relationship but it wasn't 'it'. Not that I know what 'it' is, but I know (at least I hope, anyway) that that wasn't 'it' :P. I don't really jump in to relationships or casual relationships. I have to really like the person and get to know them a bit before we go out. I'm strange that way. Super shy around people I've an interst it until I get to know them, never make the first move if I want it to go somewhere. I'm also a bitch for getting ... depressed is the wrong word but 'down' if the person, after a few dates or whatever, decides they're not interested.

In other words, I've yet to be in love. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I thought I loved someone once, then I met my last bf and that was love.
    Now, I say fcuk you love, you're overrated!:rolleyes:
    *bitter*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

my fist love was awesome, I know Il never meet her again which was a shame because when i look back.
    she was what I like in a woman she was awesome.. :D
    and to be honest we had nothing but happy times together, we never argued!

but ya know if my first was that great im just sivin through dirt trying to find my little nougat.

I'm not comparing her to any of the other girls I've been with.

we broke up because I had to go away for 5 month's, when i was 16, to work in the west so we couldn't see each other....

Broke my heart, then i had the chance to rekindle things and never did, :(. Just.... couldn't see past the end of my hurt. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

I finished with my first love about a year ago. Was with her for nearly 4 years of which the first 3 were great.

I dont talk to her at all anymore which is kinda sad but Im happy that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

i think my first love was ryan giggs. and still is 15 years later. but when it comes to boys in reality was a country boy called michael butler. was with him for nearly 2 years. used to think it was great to be with an older guy as he was 4 years older than me when i was 17. now i look at him and i cringe. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Ye same here. I thought I'd never ever be able to feel anything again. Thank god that's a good few years ago and it didn't turn out to be true. But thinking back, oh dear, the end and the next couple of years after that were painful. And while I have fallen in love again since, I don' think it was ever this intense again. Which is probably a good thing. Or is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

My story is odd and complicated and strange so I won't go into it... Ah but I'll always remember how he taught me how to love someone and if it wasn't for him I wouldn't know how to or how much I love my OH. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

It developed over a short period of time, through letters (which I still have!) and phone conversations, movie dates and making out in the car. We became extremely close and I was on top of the world . . . until I told him something about myself that pretty much shattered his expectations. We tried to get past it, but things were never the same after that. He couldn't get over it, and there was nothing I could say/do about it. It really hurt because I hadn't changed as a person, and yet he couldn't be with me anymore. We remained friendly enough afterward, but I never stopped hoping that he'd realize how much he missed me and wanted to be with me.

As a footnote to this, we were chatting online several years later (several years ago), and he apologized for everything that had happened between us, and how he knows he made me feel. I was shocked. I had completely gotten over it, and told him that it would've been nice to hear five years prior, but I didn't need it anymore.

And that, my friends, is closure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

I had been with my boyfriend a few months when one day while I was walking through a carpark, I realised I couldn't stop thnking about him, then I got this weird feeling inside my chest (sounds corney but i really did) and I realised I was falling in love, something I had thought I was incapble of doing. It's been almost 3yrs now, and I still think he's the bees knees, and he still gives me that funny little feeling inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

mattchristine.jpg

My absolute best friend from when I was small. I moved away when I was 11.

I still have a bunch of valentines day cards he gave me when we were 7/8 (at my parent's house)

We found each other on facebook again. I'm still kind of fraternally in love with him, all these years on. I'd love to see him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Been in love once. Ended amicably but not happily. Hardest thing I've ever had to endure and hope I never ever have to go through it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Been in love once. Ended amicably but not happily. Hardest thing I've ever had to endure and hope I never ever have to go through it again.

My first love was like this. Now I think I'm falling in love again and I thought it would be more difficult, but in fact it's just as easy, only far more terrifying. The first time around you have no bad expectations, so it's easy and lovely. The second time round after a heartbreak is pretty damn scary, or so I'm discovering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭iwannagoonstric

I'm still with my first love love. 7 years on : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Dinxminx wrote: »
    My first love was like this. Now I think I'm falling in love again and I thought it would be more difficult, but in fact it's just as easy, only far more terrifying. The first time around you have no bad expectations, so it's easy and lovely. The second time round after a heartbreak is pretty damn scary, or so I'm discovering.

Exactly, I love the idea of falling in love again but that whole "once bitten" syndrome will probably remain. I dunno anyway, I've not met nor been with anyone long enough since to worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭JCDenton

I had a summer job after finishing secondary school, and I started work the same day as 3 other people. (I'd never met any of them before.)

I can still remember walking into the room, and stopping in my tracks when I saw her for the first time...

Not normally being a "ladies man", I somehow managed to come across as being a funny chap in that meeting room, and I was convinced that she kept looking over at me; even when I wasn't talking.

Over a few weeks, we only met a few times after that, as we were on different shifts; but, each time we met, a "house on fire" happened.

Nervous as hell though, it took me an awfully long time to actually work up the courage to ask her out or anything, so, when I saw her outside one evening, on her way into work; I skipped away as silently as I could, and went outside to "accidentally" run into her.

When I did, I was greeted by the sight of her in the arms of another guy.
    Worse still, I recognised him instantly from my school; and he was the one guy I just couldn't stand. (And I normally like everybody!)

Downtrodden, I went back to work, and, (thankfully I guess!) I actually never saw her again after that day.

There were other girls before, and after then, but not like her.
    I guess for that reason, I'd call her my first love!
    (Even if it was unrequited!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I have never really truely been in love, although I did fool myself into thinking lust was love a few times.

I hated myself after I realised. Now I realise I am an idiot for it, but I will likely make the same mistake many times.

Women have a peculiar hold over me, espècially ones I get on well with.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I had many, many crushes over the years where I thought I was in love, but only now with my current boyfriend do I know what love is. I'm absolutely head over heels in love with him. Sometimes, just to torture myself, I think "what if we broke up?" and the thought alone kills me! I honestly couldn't even imagine how much it would hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I'm the same. Something someone said earlier in the thread confirmed it for me. You're not really in love if you can see an end to the relationship. I don't really jump in to relationships or casual relationships. I have to really like the person and get to know them a bit before we go out.

In other words, I've yet to be in love. :p

yep same as that here. have had relationships but i wasnt really really in it. Thought I was in Love once but even at the time I changed my mind every second day! Now looking back I see I wasnt and I see it for the dysfunctional mess it was, however just because it was dysfinctional doesnt mean i wasnt really upset when it ended.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Exactly, I love the idea of falling in love again but that whole "once bitten" syndrome will probably remain. I dunno anyway, I've not met nor been with anyone long enough since to worry about it.
    I'd be similar. I've been truly madly deeply in love twice, with 14 years between the two.

The second hit me much harder than the first. It was like how Faith describes her own love. The thought we wouldn't be together down the line would have been rejected as unimaginable. TBH I doubt I'll ever open myself up to that degree again. No way. I even reckon I'd nip it in the bud. Utterly daft and stupid though I know it is, a part of me would be thinking of the pain of loss I felt before. There's no way in hell I would go through that again for anyone.

A good mate of mine said to me, "god luv ya, she really broke your heart" and she was right, but in a way more than she meant. I think that part of me is broken. I envy those who can reset the mechanism. Though maybe I'm just too intense with that stuff for my own good. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

So many sad stories and broken hearts! :( Fcuk you love!

Met my first love when I was 15 - he was 18, he thought I was 16! Was head over heels in love. He went traveling to Europe with his mates for 2 months and came home after a month cos he missed me so much!

We were married 6 years in May!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

my 1st love still makes me go weak at the knees when i see him pass by..

to quote a shameful band! " he's what i went to school for " :pac:!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Salome

My first love was when I was 15 - first boyfriend - was in my class. We went out for 4 blissful weeks. Awwww.

My first Love (with a capital LLLLL) was more recent. I'd had other men in my life but I fell for this guy in a big way. It was a very complicated relationship though and I ended it for self-preservation reasons - he was a wonderful man but we couldn't be together for reasons I won't get into. I was totally devastated though and I spent several months being miserable.

But then I took a chance, a few months later, I re-grouped. Met my Last Love and had my last First Kiss. We're wonderfully happy and we're building a life together. Yippeeeeeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Novella wrote: »

Nah, Love is wonderful. It's the people who make things messy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

We all blame you for reminding us!! :pac:

Some people had happy stories!!!!! I was hoping for more awh moments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

"Ill never forget the first day I met her
    That september morning was clear and fresh
    The way she spoke and laughed at my jokes
    And the way she rubbed herself
    Against the edge of my desk
    She became a magic mystery to me
    And wed sit together in double
    History twice a week
    And some days wed walk the same way home
    And its surprising how quick
    A little rain can clear the streets"

Sorry I just had to. Her name was Jill :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Some people had happy stories!!!!! I was hoping for more awh moments!

Awh moments can burn in hell too :mad:
    *gets torch and pitchfork to hunt love*

SeekUp wrote: »
    Nah, Love is wonderful. It's the people who make things messy.

It's also the people who love! I don't want either! :rolleyes:

Awh moments can burn in hell too :mad:
    *gets torch and pitchfork to hunt love*

I'm gonna buy a cat! Tomorrow! Seriously! No more mens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Just adding in a quote I found ages ago in another forum here.
    When you breath - breath deeply, and say Thank You.
    When you dance - dance with abandon, and say Thank You.
    When you love - don't try to protect yourself from heartbreak, and say Thank You.
    When you are in the sun - close your eyes and feel it on your face....and say, Thank You!