Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Like mother like daughter

• 21-08-2009 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭

Well ladies, are you like your mother? Looks wise? Personality wise? Do you have the same quirky little habits or funny sayings as them? The same laugh? Or are you the complete opposite? Do you get on with her? Do you clash? Do you see more similarities as you get older?

Just thought it would be an interesting discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Jesus, perish the thought...If I EVER start acting like my mother I'll take a long walk of a short pier.
    * shudders, goes off to open wine*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭A Doozer

Not a lady but from what I've seen through 4 major relationships (not at same time obviously) there is definitly truth to that legend.

Three in four chance you are now or will be the same as your mother. Sometimes this is not a bad thing btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

Yep, I look like her . (Not a bad thing though, she looks a lot younger than she is so hopefully when I'm her age I will too).

I'm quite like my mum, personality and looks but I'm different too! She can be a bit neurotic, i'd be more laid back. I get on really well with my mum, she's one of my best friends. She always makes me tea and yummy things and buys me bargains from penneys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

She always makes me tea and yummy things and buys me bargains from penneys!!!

Mammy's are great for that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I'm quite like my mum, personality and looks but I'm different too! She can be a bit neurotic, i'd be more laid back. I get on really well with my mum, she's one of my best friends. She always makes me tea and yummy things and buys me bargains from penneys!!!

Sounds like you have my mum.

Think I'm probably getting more and more like her even though I'd never admit it!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Well I do get my looks from my Mum more so I think. I'm noticing more similarities as I get older, but I do think I'm more like my Dad personality wise! :P I've recently realised I do all the same gestures and make the same facial expressions as her though.... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i wouldnt mind if i turned into my mam,she looks s**t shot for her age,she still coems out with me and my firends sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

No.No.No. and No.

No way similar. Polar opposite if there ever were and No we do NOT get on either. We see each other about three times a year max. So far this year its been once, will probably be Christmas before I see her again so that will make two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

Oh yeah, from the icy stares to the getting angry so easily, I'm just like my mother. And my brother reminds me of it constantly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I look like my mother and that's about it. Used to be very close to her but we don't speak anymore. I really, really hope I don't end up like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Maybe I look a tiny bit like her, but personality-wise, we are nothing alike. Not in a bad way, but we just have very different attitudes to just about everything. We still get on well overall though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I look a lot like my mom physically, according to everyone. It's mainly the nose and the coloring (we don't have the exact same nose, but it's very similar and everyone outside of my immediately family thinks our noses are exactly the same). We don't actually share any other physical features, but that seems to be enough for people to think we look exactly the same.

We are somewhat similar, but we also have our differences. We're both introverts. We're both really good about accepting people for who they are and encouraging others instead of putting them down or doubting them. We're also very liberal and believe very strongly that there are many, many ways to live a good and happy life. We're not fixed on one idea or belief system.

In other ways though, we're different. She's very passive-aggressive whereas I can be confrontational. She'll fake enjoying the company of those she's not very fond of to keep the peace whereas I don't do fake very well, for better or for worse. She's very organized and linear. She doesn't like to put herself out there for criticism, so to speak, so she enjoys working behind the scenes. I'm a performer. I sing, I write, I act and while I can organize if I put my mind to it, I'd really rather not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I'm adopted but my Mum & I are quite similar in a lot of respects. I do occasionally catch myself coming out with one of my mum's phrases - horrible! - especially when I hear myself saying to the kids what used to bug me hearing from my mum! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I was always told that I looked like my mother, but it wasn't until I was 18-19ish that I actually began to see it. I think it's kind of cool when kids look like their parents. I know they should, but still!

Personality-wise, I think I'd be a little bit more blunt/to the point than my mother. I do think, however, we'd be similar in that we'd both be very good at the nice-on-the-outside, regardless of how you felt about someone. We'd always gotten along, but it wasn't until I moved away for school that I actually started talking to her as a friend, and not a parent.

I miss her.

I'm adopted but my Mum & I are quite similar in a lot of respects. I do occasionally catch myself coming out with one of my mum's phrases - horrible! - especially when I hear myself saying to the kids what used to bug me hearing from my mum! :o

I don't think having your parents personality has anything to do with genetics. You learn from them as you grow up. For example, I say thanks so many times during a purchase, when I hand my clubcard over, wen she gives it back, when she gives me a bag, when she tells me how much it is, when I hand her the money, when she hands me the change, and then when I'm leaving I say it one last time! - My mother has always done this!!!

My daughter is exactly like me too. She's sarcastic, cheeky (in a fun way), laid back but has a temper! Says thanks all the time too, even when I just dress her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Pythia wrote: »
    I look like my mother and that's about it. Used to be very close to her but we don't speak anymore. I really, really hope I don't end up like her.

Same here. If my boyfriend wants to really annoy me he'll say that I'm just like my mother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I dont look like her, nor would I want to.

I'm quite like my mum, personality and looks but I'm different too! She can be a bit neurotic, i'd be more laid back.
    Im not at all like my mother, and clash a lot because of it. She can be more than a bit neurotic, the woman is bat-shit crazy. Im very like my Dad in personality, very laid back and have the same sense of humour. My mother has said in the past that my Dads face lights up when I come in the door, and shes quite angry about that too. Shes painfully serious all of the time, and she has an evil streak in her too. Shes particularly insulting to me, very obviously jealous, and pretty much grabs every chance she can to shit-stir things between me and my siblings. I avoid seeing her at all costs because of this, which means I see less of my Dad for it. But he understands, and we keep in touch.
    I get on really well with my mum, she's one of my best friends. She always makes me tea and yummy things and buys me bargains from penneys!!!

Would you like to trade mothers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Abigayle wrote: »
    I dont look like her, nor would I want to.
    Im not at all like my mother, and clash a lot because of it. She can be more than a bit neurotic, the woman is bat-shit crazy. Shes painfully serious all of the time, and she has an evil streak in her too. Shes particularly insulting to me, very obviously jealous, and pretty much grabs every chance she can to shit-stir. I avoid seeing her at all costs because of this

Oooo Abi ... you just described my mother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I turned into my mother years ago. People can't tell us apart on the phone, and haven't been able to since I was about 14. We clean the kitchen in the same way - I've even started seeing that her method of doing the laundry is the best.

We've each had experiences that the other hasn't, which has moulded us slightly differently, but at the core, I'm her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

It always makes me sad to hear when girls don't get on with their mothers or don't speak to them. But it happens I know.

My Mum can drive me crazy sometimes but it's just because we're very different. She's great in small doses. I see her every few weekends and that's just right. We start to get on eachothers' tits if I'm around any longer :) I'm more like my Dad personality wise. Very easy going, have his sense of humour, very black and white - if we don't like someone that's it and we've both cut people out of our lives who have annoyed us or done wrong to us where as my Mum is a people pleaser and wants to be everyones' best friend even if they're not worth knowing. The traits I get from her are definitely her worrying side, I'm a big worrier like her and I hate that. Probably her lack of confidence and some of her sayings too. Our main difference is that she's a very negative person, always seems to see the worst in everything where as I'm a lot more positive and happy. If she won the lotto she'd probably say it's too much, she didn't want that much :rolleyes: Never happy but it's just how she is. I don't look like her either. None of us look alike.

All in all even though we're different I can't say a bad word about her, the woman would do anything for us. She's a real country Mammy and I love her for it.

Oooo Abi ... you just described my mother!

Im sorry to hear it :pac:

Seriously though. Dont you just envy the women that seem to have 'normal' relationships with their daughters? Theres been quite a few instances while growing up and other milestones as an adult where I wish I had a mother I could talk to =/
    She is very old fashioned, in that she thinks I should be leading the life of a 'kept woman' rather than going to college next month, or succeed in anything. She is spitting venom over it rather than encouraging me to do well, although my Dad is great about it :)

I'd go so far as to say she has effected how I form friendships with women, its always somewhat awkward as I'm not entirely sure how to relate to them. I'm not as enthusiastic about hair / clothes / makeup etc as most women seem to be, don't get me wrong - I know how to put myself together :pac: but there has never been any shrieking over shoes or nail polish and the likes. I learned quickly that Im better off on 'neutral ground' which is with male friends / Dad / brother hanging out or watching a match together.

What we have Banshee, is the "begrudging Irish mammy" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I think I'm more like my Dad really.... My mum was great fun! She used to drive me to distraction sometimes but all in all I must admit I miss her, she was a great judge of character and was kind. She was not judgemental and actually two local gay lads got her to tell their mothers they were gay. Our home was like an open house.Always lots of tea and tissues.

My sister is quite like her actually.She has the same voice and sense of humour she was incredibly witty. Physically I could be more unlike her. She was a very attractive woman. Very small and Dark with lovely sallow skin. I'm blonde and normal skin. I have her eyebrows... everyone says that

She's dead eight years since Jan and the taxi company drivers still talk about her when they collect me to go out! They're always saying "God Jenny was a gas woman" & stuff like that. Even when my friends are headed home by cab they get it. People are always telling me i'm a scream so maybe I'm more like her than i know:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

That's lovely to read MJOR. Sounds like she really made her mark and touched a lot of peoples' lives. Sorry to hear she's no longer with you but your post was lovely.

Physically we don't really look alike at all. She has pretty dark skin, looks Spanish. Her hair is naturally black. And she's about 4 inches shorter than me. Apparently we've the same bone structure on our faces, but I don't see it.

The one thing we have the same is, according to at least 7 different people, the same walk! So we walk the same. Weird.

Our personalities are not really alike. She has very little patience with anything, whereas I've loads of patience. Er, we are both the same in that we can work loads, she's a chef in a busy hotel so she's always working. Never get to see her really because of that. We are both pretty outgoing I guess. When I was younger and quieter I used to be jealous because the whole town knew her and she's really popular and all that. She's more of a b*tch that me, sorry Mum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭emma82

Interesting one here ladies as I've just started looking at my mother with new eyes in the past few yrs. We look and talk alike, have similiar mannerisms and voices but thats where it ends! Growing up I thought she was great, fun, lively, kind, good to all- esp sick people, older folk etc...

But recently I've got to see that yes she's great to all on the outside but she's actually a deeply unsatisfied, uncaring, hurtful, jealous person. She thinks nothing of running my dad down to all & sundry (v embarrasing as you know what- my daddy is a good guy- that I've only really copped onto in past few yrs because of her). I've recently lost almost 4 stone in weight (that pesky 3.5lb left) & not once has she told me I look great. Just got engaged to my great other half & she's totally negative about the wedding, our plans- everything!!

I live away from home & she's been to my house twice in the past 3 yrs!!! Even I'm expected to come up for the opening of a hat! She doesn't ring unless I ring her & recently we've had a big falling out over a trip she's taking & the way she treats my daddy & she actually stopped speaking to me- all is false now for other peoples benefit.

Sometimes things are easier when you're younger & you look at your mammy through those eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

My mother resents me because I have achieved a lot of things she never did, like go to college or travel. She also dislikes that I am thinner than her.

She holds the fact she became a housewife to raise us against us and thinks that we were the reason she didn't achieve what she wanted to. She had us in her mid thirties so it's not like she didn't have the chance!

My mother resents me because I have achieved a lot of things she never did, like go to college or travel. She also dislikes that I am thinner than her.

She holds the fact she became a housewife to raise us against us and thinks that we were the reason she didn't achieve what she wanted to. She had us in her mid thirties so it's not like she didn't have the chance!

Exactly the same problem, down to a T. Well done for pushing ahead and doing your own thing! We were basically shoved out the door to work after secondary. I did very well on my own. Though I left a mangerial position to go to college this year, and I'm thirty now. Shes bloody seething :) I've always been a good saver, so I can afford some time out to do this.

They are their issues Pythia, not ours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I am constantly told that I look like my mother, I'm even sometimes mistaken for her (which isn't all that cool considering I'm twenty and she's in her forties!). A week doesn't go by without me bumping into someone who'll say "I know this sounds really strange, but you're not *Novella's mammy's name goes here* daughter, are you?! It's just I went to school with her and you look SO like her!"! :o

So I suppose we must be pretty similar!

Personality wise, we are not as alike. She's quite calm, whereas I'm a bit of a drama queen. That being said, I'd love to think I'm similar to her 'cause she is one in a million zillion and I was blessed with her! She is, and will always be, my best friend!

I don't live with her but when I come home, we tend to spend about four hours talking the heads off each other! She's the best, I love her :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Men become their fathers women become their mothers. You can't fight the natural order of things, you can deny it, but that changes nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

My 3 sisters never had a great mother /daughter relationship with my mother but it wasn't for the lack of trying and they would hate to be told they look like or have any of her mannerisims .But then my mother is a very complex person and even we family members had , and still have a hard time working her out now,even in her golden years .

I think above is best way to also describe my mother .My mother resented the freedom and Opportunities her daughters had that she never could and they were determined not to be like her ie , typical irish mother syndrome '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I don't think having your parents personality has anything to do with genetics. You learn from them as you grow up.

Obviously. The OP asked if we were like our mothers looks-wise too. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My older sister has literally become my mother since she had her son, and the scariest thing is that she is engaged to someone who is exactly like my dad :eek:

I don't think I'll go the same way. They're both mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Hagar wrote: »
    Men become their fathers women become their mothers. You can't fight the natural order of things, you can deny it, but that changes nothing.

Rubbish. I'm more like my dead father than my live mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

It makes me so sad to read about these 'begrudging Irish mammies'.

My mother would quite literally do anything for myself and my sisters and beams with pride over even the littlest of our achievements. I don't think she even puts herself in the equation most of the time, she's so wrapped up in doing her best for us, so I honestly don't think she has it in her to begrudge us anything.

It's funny, when I was a kid I would have died at the idea of turning out like my mother but now nothing would make me prouder. She's a legend of a woman! I like to think I have her drive, she's incredibly driven and has worked herself silly and done quite well in her professional life, and I think that sort of set the template for me.

After years of shyness and introversion, I've become quite a people person in the last while and I think I relate to people in the same way my Mum does. I have this innate curiosity about other people, their lives (OK let's just call it nosiness!) and I can be quite emotional...definitely mammy traits!

Physically, I got her faulty eyes and (lack of) height!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

beks101 wrote: »
    It makes me so sad to read about these 'begrudging Irish mammies'.

My mother would quite literally do anything for myself and my sisters and beams with pride over even the littlest of our achievements. I don't think she even puts herself in the equation most of the time, she's so wrapped up in doing her best for us, so I honestly don't think she has it in her to begrudge us anything.

Mine is the same - one of the most selfless people I know. She's a fantastic, generous, loving person who drives me up the wall sometimes :P She'd do anything (and has done) for myself and my brothers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

I'm nothing like my mother at all. Maybe looks wise a small bit, most people say I look more like my dad. Personality wise I'm more my dad as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭madbev90210

Im so unlike my mam in every single way, I seriously used to think I was adopted! Im blonde, blue eyed, pale, practically teetotal, religious, studious and highly anxious. Shes dark haired, browne eyed, tan, LOVES her drink, atheist, never read a book and is so laid back I dont know how she stands!

Consequently, we dont get on too well.. we dont understand each other..

Im also angry she didnt give me some of her tanned-ness :mad::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

me and my mum look alike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I'm very, very close to my mam, she's one of the most important people in my life, and I'm probably very like her. I have the same features as she did when she was my age, and I sound very like her when I answer the house phone (God love my nana, every time she rings and I answer, she just goes "Oh hi Ger, cmere and I tell ye..." and goes off on one before I even tell her it's me). I've got her eyes and her nose, and her easily irritated nature.

I'm the oldest, and so's my mam, so I think she understands sometimes why I'm so overprotective of my sisters and why I worry so much. She can be dreadfully narrow minded though, and mood wise, she's menopausal at the moment so that speaks for itself... :rolleyes:

She's a fantastic mother though, and I wouldn't swap her for anyone else in the world, I'd be completley lost without her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

Hagar wrote: »

Well my mom is a proper native american and so her skin is a deep reddy-brown with dark brown hair and brown eyes. She was absolutely stunning but years of the usual native american addictions and certain other *ahem* circumstances have changed her looks permanently.

I WISH I looked like my mom before all the bad stuff! The only likenesses are the hair and the eyes, didn't even get the nice dark skin! :) I look like my grandpa and his family more so than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm much more like my dad looks-wise and personality-wise really. But I get on great with my mom. She's very easy-going, tolerant, good listener, patient, and funny and I love having a chat with her over a cup of coffee. :) I think she likes to have someone who understands my dad and can talk to about to let off steam at times :eek:

Seems like I'm lucky. She's not really the typical Irish, overbearing, religious, judgemental, interfering, controlling mother that so many of my friends have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I got my mom's pale (acne prone :mad:) skin, and her mouth. But the rest of my features more resemble my dad (well, he has a beard, but if you look at photos of him as a child and photos of me at the same age, we look like brother & sister... same expression and everything.)

My mom is the kind of woman who doesn't take any sh!t, and I got that from her. I'm always getting involved in side projects and stuff, which is also like her. However, she's a TERRIBLE driver because she has awful spatial perception (she was crap at geometry in school) and couldn't save money if her life depended on it. I, on the other hand, am awesome at judging space (my husband calls me tetris due to my ability to fit a huge amount of stuff into a small space efficiently) and I'm a great budgeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

I hope for my sanity this aint true... my wife may resemble her mother slightly but in no way are they anything alike mentally... my wife is an intelligent woman who's extremely organized and works in finance.... Her mother is a socially inept woman who's never had a job and is unable to deal with the slightest bit of admin... even the home finances!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

well looks wise, i take after my dad's side, without doubt. personality, i reckon i've inherited from both but there are some traits i can squarely pinpoint from my mother
    bless her but they irritate the bejebus of me and i just go a bit nuts thinking i've got that too.
    my sister and i have a pact....if we start acting like our mother in the ways we both hate, we are justified in kicking the arse of the person who did. fair and square.
    and we're not allowed to argue about the arse kicking:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

I don't know what I would do if I grew up to be like my mother. Suffice to say it is the very last thing I would want, in every way imaginable.

I cannot think of a single trait I would like to have inherited from her.

So far so good though, since I seem to be more like my dad in every way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 VexedRed

I think i'm very like me mother-not so much looks wise (other than us both being short @sses) but very much so personality-wise.
    She is probably one of the best people I know-entertaining, supportive, level-headed, she gives the best advice-she's always ALWAYS right-even my girlfriends come to her for advice, she's fun, she's so young at heart (although she is not even that old!), I could just go on and on-so cheesey but the more I think of it the more I realise she really is like a best friend to me.

I'm glad I have picked up her unique way of thinking about things and her relaxed nature towards life. I would be a stressed, emotional wreck if I didn't. One of her favourite things to say is "it will all work out in the end", I have applied this little saying to all areas in my life and I must say it really had made making the big decisions/getting over things that went wrong a lot easier for me.

I had been quite ill for the last 9 months and I have spent the entire time at home with my mother and although we had our little ups and downs (we are spending 24 hours a day together after all!) we still get on like a house on fire and want to do loads of things together.

All my friends love her-the girls want to be adopted by her and the boys just drool at her. If I ever have kids of my own I would aspire to emulate my mother. She instilled so many good values into me over the years...

Only this week I was wandering around the house in my underwear and I had the realisation that although I haven't got the "ideal body" (and currently I'm very bloated due to all the meds) it didn't really bother me at all and it's all down to her-she never talks about weight, diets etc. so it was never an issue in my house and I am so glad it wasn't as i'm surrounded by girls who think the be all and end all of their lives is their weight! With a lot of them it was ingrained in them at home that you had to be thin to be happy/successful by their mothers who were on constant diets trying to achieve "perfection". Whereas I look at my mother (who is prob a size 18-20 and doesn't give a damn-she exercises all the time and is very healthy) who is happy as a lark, has more friends than the Dalai Lama and is happy just doing her day to day things and looking after her family and her community-I'm so proud.
    Of course she has taught me many other things but that is the one that is in the forefront of my mind at the moment!

So all in all-I would love that I'm kind of turning out like my mother-she's a legend! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

No.No.No. and No.

No way similar. Polar opposite if there ever were and No we do NOT get on either. We see each other about three times a year max. So far this year its been once, will probably be Christmas before I see her again so that will make two.

I don't get why people are thanking this post? I think that's really sad - it's unfortunate that some people can't choose their parents!

I get on well with my own mum, and while she can be a bit batty sometimes, and some of the things she says/does make me cringe, she's still my mum at the end of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I don't get why people are thanking this post? I think that's really sad - it's unfortunate that some people can't choose their parents!

I agree. When reading this thread I found it astonishing how many girls don't get on with their mothers. Or even abhor the thought of ending up like them.

I don't want the same things my mom wants and I have very different views on life in some ways but I could do a lot worse than turning out like her.

Do you think the mothers who are being complained about thought the same things about their own mothers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 CatLady1

I look like her and I love her. Always feel proud when I'm told how alike we are. As an only child I'm glad I don't have to share her!:p And definately since moving out she has become even more of a best friend than just a mother.

Best Mammy ever! :D