Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen.

• 19-08-2009 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭

Yes? No?

Be nice, but be indifferent? Or be nice whilst being attentive?

What do you do when you're interested in somebody? Do you find you are more or less interested in someone who treats you mean?!

I don't understand it myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Honesty is the best policy, I say.:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

IMHO Speaking from a male perspective I would say, keeping a little of yourself back for many women makes you more attractive. I have noticed in my experience when a woman is 100% sure the guy she's with is hers 100%, they often lose interest down the line. I think being 99% sure is good, but it's in the 1% where she may not be sure where the attraction lies.

Treating someone mean I don't get though. If I get a sniff of that from a woman I walk and fast. Same with "irish mammy" type bossy behaviour.

I think many women(and men at times but in a different way) mistake a guy being a git with strength. The bad boy phase. They learn with time though. Same with guys.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Novella wrote: »
    Yes? No?

What do you do when you're interested in somebody? Do you find you are more or less interested in someone who treats you mean?!

Is... this... a riddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

FunkZ wrote: »
    Is... this... a riddle?

Perhaps :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

In my experience guys that are nice and attentive to their OH's are usually boring, quickly smitten and can't go out without their OH's say so.

For example the last few weekend's we've rang a friend of mine to see if he wants to go out with us, His answer is always the same, either he has to see if his gf is going out or that they are minding her little sister.

It's weird he used to be able to come drinking before he got with her, now it seems he can't go anywhere but to work without her.

They moved in after about 2and a half months and have been together about 6....scary!!

In my experience guys that are nice and attentive to their OH's are usually boring, quickly smitten and can't go out without their OH's say so.

So guys should be dickheads?!! :)

My friend was just giving out to me for being "too nice" and "reasonable" today. :o
    She reckons I need to mean it up.

I just want to be me, if someone really likes you then that will be excitement enough.

As far as I can make out the amateur dramatist's are too busy being in like with themselves, to do that anyways. So it is nothing but a waste of energy.

If a guy is mean to me far from make him more attractive....it makes me wants to lure him somewhere remote and scarcely populated , where I can take my time about exacting vengeance.

So guys should be dickheads?!! :)
    I didn't say that. Guys should be independant. As should wimms once they are in relationships. I really don't get the whole ditching friends once you get into a relationship, or going to a pub you hate just cos your OH is there. If you like a pub I hate, go with your fecking friends and don't try guilt me into going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I went through the phase of "treat em mean" blah blah blah. I went to France on erasmus so was a chance to re-invent myself somewhat as it was a new country, new culture, new people.

Heading out on nights with a bunch of people and seeing my mates head off with gorgeous women. Was more than a lil jealous, so I asked them. They told me straight out, be a mean/cheeky pr¡ck, don't complement the girl, don't give her the time of day, ask her to buy you a drink, don't buy her a drink or even offer, if she asks walk off, let her see you chat up other girls etc. Do this, but don't be too much of an ass, play the cheeky mischievous type but with a bad side sort of. It took some getting used to, but I did and worked pretty well to my amazement.

Before that I was always the guy who girls went to when having problems with their boyfriend, the older brother type, which I fit pretty well into. It amazed me though, that a slight/drastic alteration to my personality had such effects.

I never really veered towards the bad boy side too much, just emphasized my cheekiness and funny side with a bit "i don't give a fúck about you or whether you like me" for good measure. The "i don't care about you" bit really seemed to hit home with some girls, drove them nuts. The idea that i wasn't interested or attracted to them when they clearly made an effort to look well for the night might have been it, I'm not sure.

I'm more or less myself on nights out now, main aim is to have some fun with my friends and drink a few beers. If I was being subjected to the treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen shenanigans in a night club I'd probably go along with it for a while for the laugh, then excuse myself and go home :pac: haha In a relationship I wouldn't really tolerate it. It's all well and good to act the messer on a night out having the craic but if it's anything more serious you really need to be yourself, I think.

Sorry for the rambling post.

Will wrote: »
    Before that I was always the guy who girls went to when having problems with their boyfriend, the older brother type, which I fit pretty well into. It amazed me though, that a slight/drastic alteration to my personality had such effects.

See the thing about relying on playing on peoples insecurities to pull.
    Is that your dooming yourself to attracting dysfunctional loons.

Also I'd wager that before, you were presenting yourself in a "safe" manner to women. And not getting your point across that you were actually sexually interested in them.

I didn't say that. Guys should be independant. As should wimms once they are in relationships. I really don't get the whole ditching friends once you get into a relationship, or going to a pub you hate just cos your OH is there. If you like a pub I hate, go with your fecking friends and don't try guilt me into going.

I don't think it really matters as much in a relationship. Like, I think it's more prevalent at the 'girl meets guy' stage. You know that whole "Oh, I like him so I won't text him back for a few days" and sh!t like that.

Ditching friends is pretty crap but I think that happens more 'cause you are caught up in the excitement or something.

Will wrote: »
    I went through the phase of "treat em mean" blah blah blah. I went to France on erasmus so was a chance to re-invent myself somewhat as it was a new country, new culture, new people.

Heading out on nights with a bunch of people and seeing my mates head off with gorgeous women. Was more than a lil jealous, so I asked them. They told me straight out, be a mean/cheeky pr¡ck, don't complement the girl, don't give her the time of day, ask her to buy you a drink, don't buy her a drink or even offer, if she asks walk off, let her see you chat up other girls etc. Do this, but don't be too much of an ass, play the cheeky mischievous type but with a bad side sort of. It took some getting used to, but I did and worked pretty well to my amazement.

I never really veered towards the bad boy side too much, just emphasized my cheekiness and funny side with a bit "i don't give a fúck about you or whether you like me" for good measure. The "i don't care about you" bit really seemed to hit home with some girls, drove them nuts. The idea that i wasn't interested or attracted to them when they clearly made an effort to look well for the night might have been it, I'm not sure.

I'm more or less myself on nights out now, main aim is to have some fun with my friends and drink a few beers. If I was being subjected to the treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen shenanigans in a night club I'd probably go along with it for a while for the laugh, then excuse myself and go home :pac: haha In a relationship I wouldn't really tolerate it. It's all well and good to act the messer on a night out having the craic but if it's anything more serious you really need to be yourself, I think.

Sorry for the rambling post.

Brilliant post, thank you :)

Yeah, it definitely does work. There is a guy, I have no interest in him, tend not to text him back a lot (not being rude, we're just not close and never seem to have anything to talk about!) etc and of course, he turns around one night and tells me he likes me even though I make absolutely NO effort with him and can sometimes be a bit of a b!tch.

I was completely shocked and that's what got me thinking about this whole 'Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen' thing!

I wouldn't be up for it in a relationship either. I think you should either be in or out at the stage and past the beating around the bush about things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Ah yeah that too, I wasn't "sexualising" myself enough. Coming across as a cheeky fecker and chatting up other women in full view of the actual girl I was trying to score helped emphasize the fact that I was a red blooded male

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If 'mean' amounts to just being yourself, I agree with it.

Speaking as a guy, I always find guys that abrogate their own maleness (for want of a better word) maleness to try and impress women, or that showy, corny way of being overly emphatic with the female side, a bit irritating.

Obviously I don't like the idea of any gender being attracted to bad behaviour or lack of sensitivity/emotion though. Or macho behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Ive been given this advice by so many girls I know its actually becoming ridiculous.
    Actually no, whats ridiculous is its always followed up by being told I dont have a bad bone in my body so it wont work for me.
    So basically they're telling me my only hope is something i wont be able to do.Thats just mean :pac:

Ive been given this advice by so many girls I know its actually becoming ridiculous.
    Actually no, whats ridiculous is its always followed up by being told I dont have a bad bone in my body so it wont work for me.
    So basically they're telling me my only hope is something i wont be able to do.Thats just mean :pac:

Girls are b!tches haha.

Don't take advice like treat girls mean though! It's just tiring and if I thought a guy didn't like me 'cause he was being mean to me, I'd just leave it at that! Be nice, it's easier for everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jinxycat

Personally I think a person should like you for you and people shouldn't pretend to be somethng they are not.

You can't keep the charade up forever and evetually you'll become the person they didn't fall for in the first place. Why be someone you're not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i think the key is to be cheeky in a funny/charming way and dont smother the person with attention. At the same time dont be a feckin eejit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I wouldn't stay in a relationship or go for someone that wasn't treating me properly, so no I wouldn't be into this 'bad boy' attitude at all.
    But on the other hand I dont wanna go out with someone thats all over me and being overly nice all the time either, hate being chased......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

Guys should be independant. As should wimms once they are in relationships. I really don't get the whole ditching friends once you get into a relationship, or going to a pub you hate just cos your OH is there. If you like a pub I hate, go with your fecking friends and don't try guilt me into going.
    completely agree. i watch some of my male friends get into relationships, they ditch all their friends, the relationship breaks up and suddenly all their friends are too busy (not really though, they just kept having a social life while bozo there was wrapped around his gf)
    for me, its even more important to have my own life outside of my relationships

i think the key is to be cheeky in a funny/charming way and dont smother the person with attention. At the same time dont be a feckin eejit!

Yeah, exactly! It's cool not to be all over someone, really clingy etc but I hate guys who think "Yeah, I'll ignore her, that'll drive her crazy"! It will drive her crazy, not in a good way though! Not smothering is great but not enough attention is just as bad, for me anyway!
    Kya1976 wrote: »
    I wouldn't stay in a relationship or go for someone that wasn't treating me properly, so no I wouldn't be into this 'bad boy' attitude at all.
    But on the other hand I dont wanna go out with someone thats all over me and being overly nice all the time either, hate being chased......

I mentioned overly nice in a thread before and it caused a bit of a stir! I know what you mean though! :)
    ciagr297 wrote: »
    completely agree. i watch some of my male friends get into relationships, they ditch all their friends, the relationship breaks up and suddenly all their friends are too busy (not really though, they just kept having a social life while bozo there was wrapped around his gf)
    for me, its even more important to have my own life outside of my relationships

Then they get dumped and come crawling back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

Then they get dumped and come crawling back!
    crawling back looking for sympathy and wondering why everyone is a bit annoyed with them....i have no time for this behaviour at all.
    i've learned the difficult way with a few of them and as a result, i maintain my distance on a constant basis
    shame though, i'd like to get to know them better but such is life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I mentioned overly nice in a thread before and it caused a bit of a stir! I know what you mean though! :)

Must have missed that, glad you got what I meant though:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Nope, it's just more game playing crap IMO.

And the right relationship with the right person shouldn't be about game playing. You shouldn't NEED to treat them mean to keep 'em keen, they should be keen anyway.

Maybe my attitude is too simplistic but I really think that if you want to be with somebody, just be with them, just be yourself, just treat them as you yourself would like to be treated.

Smokescreens and lighting effects have no place in a proper healthy relationship IMO.

And lifes too short for all that **** anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Yes? No?

If I like someone, I don't really have any desire to hurt their feelings or be mean to them! I hate mind games as well - surely confusing them will just put them off you?

I'll show them affection, spend time with them, make an effort but I won't be their lapdog, allow them to play me for a fool or ditch friends to be with them.

Being overly-keen and clingy is a major turn off! So I try to avoid doing that, if part of me ever gets tempted.

I think a happy balance is perfect - you're nice enough to put effort in, but cool enough to know when you should give them a bit of space, take a backseat and let them do some of the chasing!

As for keeping a man keen, there's plenty of ways to do this without having to resort to playground tactics ;)

For example the last few weekend's we've rang a friend of mine to see if he wants to go out with us, His answer is always the same, either he has to see if his gf is going out or that they are minding her little sister.

I wouldn't say he's being "nice and attentive" - more like obsessive! It's not healthy to spend every possible minute you can with your partner, in my opinion.

I'd definitely need time for myself, time to be with friends. I think not seeing each other all the time would make the relationship stronger, as you'd appreciate the time you had together a lot more.

As for your mentioning people who "can't go out without their OH's say so", I find that whole concept bizarre.
    There's a difference between going out with someone and owning them!
    If I had a boyfriend, I'd never make his decisions for him and I'd have no right to either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Treat em mean works on either masochists or commitment phobes or women who need an excuse to abuse you. If you like those type of women, then go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

I made a valid contribution to this thread yesterday and now I see its been removed. Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭scanlas

Be a cheeky sweetheart. I think all guys are cheeky deep down if you peel back enough layers, who most guys think they are isn't really who they are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

enry If you think your posts were a valuable contribution then you either don't understand the word "valuable" or you're not up to speed with the ethos of this forum, or you're stirring for the sake of it. Thems the choices. In fairness you have me on the word "contribution" but only just. If you stir in here you will be taking a break. Simple as that. If you have an issue with that take it to Helpdesk. Do not derail this or any thread, or again you will be taking a break. Equally simple.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

Treat 'em like human beings. If you want to be in charge of something, get a pet. I don't get why people would want to be in a relationship with someone who's really mean to them and doesn't compromise.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Vinny-Chase

Nope, it's just more game playing crap IMO.

And the right relationship with the right person shouldn't be about game playing. You shouldn't NEED to treat them mean to keep 'em keen, they should be keen anyway.

Maybe my attitude is too simplistic but I really think that if you want to be with somebody, just be with them, just be yourself, just treat them as you yourself would like to be treated.

Smokescreens and lighting effects have no place in a proper healthy relationship IMO.

And lifes too short for all that **** anyway.

Here here, well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

I'll never treat 'em mean, it's just not my style. I'm a nice guy, ask any of my exes :D. Even if being a d!ckhead gets you more luck with some ladies, I think you have to ask yourself what kind of feckin eejits are these women and would you really like to date women like that? But there's a difference between being 'mean' and being confident and secure in yourself. AFAIK this is more important to women. They don't want guys who don't have their own lives, whose worlds completely revolve around them. Guys like this come across as lacking in confidence and insecure, very unattractive traits.

I don't know. As Jim Carrey says in the Cable Guy "Women are a labyrinth, my friend".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

Wibbs wrote: »
    enry If you think your posts were a valuable contribution then you either don't understand the word "valuable" or you're not up to speed with the ethos of this forum, or you're stirring for the sake of it. Thems the choices. In fairness you have me on the word "contribution" but only just. If you stir in here you will be taking a break. Simple as that. If you have an issue with that take it to Helpdesk. Do not derail this or any thread, or again you will be taking a break. Equally simple.

ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I used to work in a pub and i am a very friendly person. Some of the male customers used to think i was standoffish but really I just was guarded because they were drunk etc. Also i was afraid of getting a reputation for being flirty in case they thought I was a slapper! The joys of being a woman:D

Where relationships are concerned I suppose I always held myself back a fair bit and was never really that affected by break ups.

My current relationship is a little different I fell quite quickly but he treats me very well and i treat him with the utmost of respect too.

I think i have a 1% kept locked away though... Just for me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

It's weird he used to be able to come drinking before he got with her, now it seems he can't go anywhere but to work without her.

They moved in after about 2and a half months and have been together about 6....scary!!

Eeek that's pretty shi*ty for the guy to be honest and this is coming from a female perspective! :eek:

A few things jumped out at me there, firstly, he can't/won't go out without her. There's definately an unhealthy co-dependancy thing happening there. Secondly, after two and a half months of knowing someone, moving in with them is a bit of a risk. Again, I'd warrant a guess that one (or even both) of them is the type of person who's terrified of being alone/single. Probably a case of one (or both) needing constant validation from a partner. Scary, scary stuff.

I think it's really important to have separate things to do (and friends for that matter!) and if a girl tells her guy that he's not 'allowed' to go out without her then she's way out of line. The same goes for guys telling girls what they can wear, who they can hang out with etc. Nothing wrong with asking your boy/girlfriend to stay in with you instead of going out every now and again, (or of course if it's going to effect plans that have already been made) there's something wrong if you've gotta ask for permission every time.

Relationships like that end with a bang and most likely each of them will end up with another person very quickly afterwards. (that validation thing again!) I've seen it happen soooo many times.

As for being mean to keep them keen, that's just ridiculous! I've never done that to anyone but a few years ago I would have definately said that this approach worked on me. If a guy started being a d!ckhead I'd instantly think about him more. I don't understand it myself and I've luckily turned my energies towards people who aren't immature, game playing eejits. ;) The being mean approach will just get you ignored now. But it definately still seems to work for some people I know. I don't get it!! :rolleyes:

You know that whole "Oh, I like him so I won't text him back for a few days" and sh!t like that.

God yes! That really annoys me too. The amount of times I've had friends shriek at me for attempting to reply back to a guy after reading a text. Apparently you're supposed to wait, let him stew, etc?! Why??? :confused: Isn't it not a bit game-playish? (I'm inventing words :P) If I take a while to reply it's usually because I've either been pondering over what to say or else I've simply not read the text yet. I don't really get the whole 'leaving 'em to stew' thing but maybe I'm just too boring!:o
    Wibbs wrote: »
    I think being 99% sure is good, but it's in the 1% where she may not be sure where the attraction lies.

Yo Wibbs... Teach me this 1% thing! :D

MizzLolly wrote: »
    God yes! That really annoys me too. The amount of times I've had friends shriek at me for attempting to reply back to a guy after reading a text. Apparently you're supposed to wait, let him stew, etc?! Why??? :confused: Isn't it not a bit game-playish? (I'm inventing words :P) If I take a while to reply it's usually because I've either been pondering over what to say or else I've simply not read the text yet. I don't really get the whole 'leaving 'em to stew' thing but maybe I'm just too boring!:o

Haha, that's where this whole thread came from! I got a text from a guy one night and went to text him back and my friend was like "OH! MY! GOD! NO! That is not cool. Wait a few hours or text him tomorrow and say you were busy!". I wasn't busy, I was sitting around at home. I wanted to text him. I was happy he had texted me. Why, oh why would I not reply?!!

I think life is too short for all that stuff and I just can't be bothered! If a guy doesn't like me for texting him back and wanting to talk to him or whatever, then I don't understand men!!

Eeek that's pretty shi*ty for the guy to be honest and this is coming from a female perspective! :eek:

A few things jumped out at me there, firstly, he can't/won't go out without her. There's definately an unhealthy co-dependancy thing happening there. Secondly, after two and a half months of knowing someone, moving in with them is a bit of a risk. Again, I'd warrant a guess that one (or even both) of them is the type of person who's terrified of being alone/single. Probably a case of one (or both) needing constant validation from a partner. Scary, scary stuff.

I think it's really important to have separate things to do (and friends for that matter!) and if a girl tells her guy that he's not 'allowed' to go out without her then she's way out of line. The same goes for guys telling girls what they can wear, who they can hang out with etc. Nothing wrong with asking your boy/girlfriend to stay in with you instead of going out every now and again, (or of course if it's going to effect plans that have already been made) there's something wrong if you've gotta ask for permission every time.

Relationships like that end with a bang and most likely each of them will end up with another person very quickly afterwards. (that validation thing again!) I've seen it happen soooo many times.

As for being mean to keep them keen, that's just ridiculous! I've never done that to anyone but a few years ago I would have definately said that this approach worked on me. If a guy started being a d!ckhead I'd instantly think about him more. I don't understand it myself and I've luckily turned my energies towards people who aren't immature, game playing eejits. ;) The being mean approach will just get you ignored now. But it definately still seems to work for some people I know. I don't get it!! :rolleyes:

You may know this girl too!!! In fact I'm quite sure you do!

Lol thought you'd given up on the mens??

Haha, that's where this whole thread came from! I got a text from a guy one night and went to text him back and my friend was like "OH! MY! GOD! NO! That is not cool. Wait a few hours or text him tomorrow and say you were busy!". I wasn't busy, I was sitting around at home. I wanted to text him. I was happy he had texted me. Why, oh why would I not reply?!!

LOL! Looks like we've befriended a big bag of crazies!! :p
    You may know this girl too!!! In fact I'm quite sure you do!

Lol thought you'd given up on the mens??

Aye, I know, I know. What I mean is, nowdays, if a fella starts acting the maggot, I tend to turn my back on him straight away, rather than making excuses for him or accepting bullsh!t excuses from him. :) (this has only come about in the last 4/5 months as you know)

LOL! Looks like we've befriended a big bag of crazies!! :p

Aye, I know, I know. What I mean is, nowdays, if a fella starts acting the maggot, I tend to turn my back on him straight away, rather than making excuses for him or accepting bullsh!t excuses from him. :) (this has only come about in the last 4/5 months as you know)
    Yeah you've been rejacting lads lately, Me for years :P:P:P. *runs*

You mean that time there a few years ago? Remember? Yeah!! Me too! You weren't rejected!!!!

!! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Do you find you are more or less interested in someone who treats you mean?!
    Never!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Brijoeire

This totally reminds of that book He's Just Not That Into You. The ideas are so simple that they are hard to accept as reality. If a guy really likes you, he'll just call or text without games. He'll be so worried that somebody else will soon discover how great you really are and then you'll be gone. Lads don't treat their mates like sh**e to keep the friendship interesting..so why do it with girls?

I reckon when guys are mean, it's the challenge that I grow keen on...not them. The whole bad boy thing with a slight twist. Even now when I'm married, I work that little bit harder at things when I know he's mad at me...

Brijoeire wrote: »
    This totally reminds of that book He's Just Not That Into You. The ideas are so simple that they are hard to accept as reality. If a guy really likes you, he'll just call or text without games. He'll be so worried that somebody else will soon discover how great you really are and then you'll be gone. Lads don't treat their mates like sh**e to keep the friendship interesting..so why do it with girls?

I reckon when guys are mean, it's the challenge that I grow keen on...not them. The whole bad boy thing with a slight twist. Even now when I'm married, I work that little bit harder at things when I know he's mad at me...

Great post, thank you! I actually understand now, at last! The challenge, that's what keeps me hangin' around, not the guy! Thank you!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Brijoeire

Just sharing my experience with you;) Who doesn't get an ego boost from solving a puzzle or finishing a course or running a marathon? If I can crack that bad boy it means I am still a fit bird...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I'll never forget the best piece of advice I got from a guy.

I had traveled 13 hours on a train to visit my not-really-boyfriend, and he was often "busy" that week -- leaving me to spend time with one of his friends (true story). His friend and I got to chatting one night and I was he said to me: How a guy treats you, how a guy shows you that he feels about you? That's it. There isn't much more to it than that.

Turns out, he was right (and years later, he and I are still friends). :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I got a text from a guy one night and went to text him back and my friend was like "OH! MY! GOD! NO! That is not cool. Wait a few hours or text him tomorrow and say you were busy!". I wasn't busy, I was sitting around at home. I wanted to text him. I was happy he had texted me. Why, oh why would I not reply?!!

I think life is too short for all that stuff and I just can't be bothered! If a guy doesn't like me for texting him back and wanting to talk to him or whatever, then I don't understand men!!

All that stuff is very relevent, women and men are a lot more attractive when their unpredictable when replying to texts, guys and girls hold of on replying because it works, it's when he/she hasn't replied...that's when your thinking about them!!

I don't agree with been "mean" but it's gererally true that the less amount of times you make nice gestures the more their apprecieted when you are nice

Greyfox wrote: »
    All that stuff is very relevent, women and men are a lot more attractive when their unpredictable when replying to texts, guys and girls hold of on replying because it works, it's when he/she hasn't replied...that's when your thinking about them!!

I'd be a lot happier if a guy just called me or texted me tbh! I wouldn't be sitting here thinking "Ooooh, what a babe, keeping me on my toes!" :pac: I'd be thinking "NEXT!"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

When I act sardonic and sarcastic with girls they tend to be more interested in me, I don´t know why, I act like a bastard girls like me, when I am being me, the nice guy I think I come across as boring so noone wants a piece of the pie.

Strange but true, women are attracted to guarded men in general terms, obviously it doesn´t go for all women and all men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

There is a huge gap between being mean and not making yourself available 24 hours a day.

I dunno. Sometimes a nice guy can just sort of fall into the friend category! I don't want a guy to be mean to me or not call me for days or whatever, but if I find myself saying "Awh, he's really nice", that usually means he's just a friend. Why?! I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I dunno. Sometimes a nice guy can just sort of fall into the friend category! I don't want a guy to be mean to me or not call me for days or whatever, but if I find myself saying "Awh, he's really nice", that usually means he's just a friend. Why?! I don't know.
    Right here!:mad::(