Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU HEAR Orientation Program:

• 17-08-2009 9:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

30/08/09-04/09/09.

Anyone along with myself attending this?

On my HEAR Handout it state's:

'Dublin City University (residential) 30 August 2009 - 4 September 2009'
    Does the 'Residential' mean staying on campus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

Residential means staying on campus. All participants stay on campus regardless of where they live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

On the letter that told me I was eligible for the HEAR it says nothing about DCU being residential but on the original handout it says it is?

Does anybody know the story?

Also see you there Michael!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

Yes it is residential. It says it in the HEAR application guide and stated it on your eligibility letter. It's a great week :)

phasers wrote: »
    On the letter that told me I was eligible for the HEAR it says nothing about DCU being residential but on the original handout it says it is?

Does anybody know the story?

Also see you there Michael!

stringy wrote: »
    Yes it is residential. It says it in the HEAR application guide and stated it on your eligibility letter. It's a great week :)
    Thanks for letting me know, I was just confused because on my eligibility letter DCU didn't have residential written next to it but others did :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 MichealConroy

Just got a phone call from the DCU Access office, Making sure i was to attend the 4-day week. All accomodation is paid for and all applicants will recieve an infomation pack in the post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭fabgooner

k i jus got rang. me 2, i'll b goin

I haven't gotten a phone call :(

I definitely got it though, I hope DCU didn't forget me!

I haven't gotten a phone call :(

I definitely got it though, I hope DCU didn't forget me!

I would'nt worry, Im sure they will be in contact soon enough, Most likely just making there way down a list.

ya its prob a big list lol

yous from dublin?

fabgooner wrote: »
    ya its prob a big list lol

yous from dublin?

From Dundalk myself,

Not sure if im communting yet though will cost me €1600 in Bus journey's for the year.

From Dundalk myself,

Not sure if im communting yet though will cost me €1600 in Bus journey's for the year.

cheaper dan rent doh

i'm from arklow, co. wicklow

quare need accomodation ha

cheaper dan rent doh

i'm from arklow, co. wicklow

quare need accomodation ha

Went through it a few times when i was camping in Red Cross.

ah ya redcross is jus out de road

do u think der'll be many in this programme thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 crazysky

Hey all just got a letter from dcu i guess i'll be joining you!:D

They sent me a letter today, it's definitely residential!

It says bring sports gear and swimming stuff :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Postman-Layla

In my glue am I cracking out the ol' swim togs!
    Heard good things about the week from a fair few people now... Hopefully it'll be a laugh!
    Were they ringing people from a private number today/yesteday? I got a load of missed calls but I don't like answering random withheld numbers. Hope they don't decide to not let me in now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 stylee

I got a letter today in the post, kind of dreading it because not sure what to expect:( ha i never did PE at school nevermind sporting activities:P haha.. I'll take my swimming clothes aww i hope it's good :( does anyone know what we're going to be doing?

Yeah I'm really curious! And pretty nervous...

Also I am the least sporty person ever, plese say there are some other hopeless people going? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

I will be joining yourselves on Sunday week then. Are yous doing the HEAR Access Programme or DCU's Access Programme??? The two "Summer Schools" (How childish does that sound) seem to be running at the same time, so I think after the selection process they just become the same thing.

I was in contact with the access office a few times this week because I had to sort out holidays from work, and she forwarded me on the Timetable for the week, looks like fun, but long days. If anyone wants the timetable send me a PM with your email, just don't want ton post it on here in case I get in trouble.

Whats the story with the no drinking policy??? Thought this was college ! ! !

I know - didn't wanna say it in case I sounded like a right lush! Unless they're planning on letting us out in the evenings so we can hit the pub across the road?
    Hopeless doesn't even come close - I can't stand up without falling over!

Im a bit nervous too! Yeah talk about hopeless - I cant even swim... :D

Sounds like the swimming thing is optional though, so ya might just survive it crazysky!

You all seem really nice, I'm getting excited now!

The no drink thing will be a laugh anyway, are they planning of searching bags? If not I think there'll be a bit of "Crouching tiger, hidden naggin" going on :P

Yeh my mate did it before and he said it was just a mad laugh, they weren't meant to be drinking but every night they just got locked anyway. And when I was at some meeting with the co-ordinator of this a while back they said that the people who are taking care of us bring us all out on the last night into town, and for the people who I sent the timetable to they will see that the last night that we are there it just says "free", so presumably so that's the night we go out.

Anyway I ain't completely thinking about drinking here, just making a point, but I'm looking forward to it anyway.

(I will send the timetable to the rest of yous now in a minute . . . . )

You all seem really nice, I'm getting excited now!

The no drink thing will be a laugh anyway, are they planning of searching bags? If not I think there'll be a bit of "Crouching tiger, hidden naggin" going on :P

haha lol hidden naggon

i agree yous do seem nice

and alcos aswell lol

haha lol hidden naggon

i agree yous do seem nice

and alcos aswell lol
    Ah we just like to have a good time ;)

Too right we do ! ! !

just to let you all know, the timetable that I emailed a few people is actually the co-ordinators timetable so just ignore the first thing on Sunday about a meeting, thats not for us, you still meet up in campus res as the letter says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

I got two phone calls, and I will be attending also.
    As for the swimming togs, I'll bring them but no guarantees.
    Hopefully it will be good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

you guys talking about alcohol might wanna remember this is a public forum..... just sayin is all

We're not talking about anything illegal :confused:

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

We're not talking about anything illegal :confused:

If you're talking about smuggling alcohol in when it has been specifically banned, you're just asking for trouble to come your way. Anyone can read these threads and you might just wanna be a bit more careful, especially if people can easily tell who you are from your boards posts/name.

We were only joking, we won't actually be doing it, if its the rules then its the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Kates923

Hey all.
    Il be join ye to. Cnt wait now to make friends up there cuz at least then il no someone when i go up proper.
    Hey splinter wil yu email me the timetable please. Pwitty pweez. Ha. Its kates.bywater9@hotmail.com.
    Sure if yur goin add me as a friend on bebo or facebook or tagged or smething and write a msg. The more friends the better hey.
    Shuld be gud. I love sports too so be gud.
    Wats this wit alcohol, were old enough.
    Eh does any1 no if we have to say at the uni al the time or can we like go out to dublin shoppin or something.
    xXx

Oh and does any1 no wat app. Complex we wil be stayin in ?
    xXx

T-minus 4 days boys and girls!
    Kates, I'm pretty sure we're staying in Larkfield. This tells you all about the place, but you probably won't need to read the whole lot since we'll only be there for a week. Gives a pretty good jist of it though if you're wondering.

SHARED BATHROOM :eek:

That's my worst nightmare!

Just seen in the Leaving Cert forum that all HEAR applicants get funding?:eek: Does anyone here know anything about it?

Sorry I can't send that timetable to anyone else, you will get it when we get in there on Sunday. Its just that it has been changed and stuff so theres no point.

Seee yous all in a few days.

Im all Xcitd now. :) im sittin on a borin bus from cork to dublin all on my own :( for 4 and a half hrs.
    Never mind that i have to walk from the bus station to o connals st (where ever that is) and find a bus to dcu.
    Is any1 else travelin far ?
    xXx

Well im taking a bus from co Westmeath, its not that far about an hour.. still i've never been to dcu before, no clue how to get there.. :D i think taxi would be the best idea here...

I've a 20 minute drive down the M50 :cool:

Sorry that was mean ;)

I can't really remember what time we're supposed to be there today, was it 2 o'clock? I'm really afraid I'll turn up an hour early or something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Le Cuid A

The leaders are watching our posts on this thread, the "crouching tiger hidden naggin" was mentioned in the introductory seminar, and they said they are watching us on social networking sites and stuff. Scary business!

The said poster should be hunted down and held to account.

Did anybody get "spoken to" about that actually?

I figured anybody that actually used their names might be, I wasn't though! ;)

Did anybody get "spoken to" about that actually?

I figured anybody that actually used their names might be, I wasn't though! ;)

As far as I know, no. It was a class week :)

Yeh Registration.
    Yu Can Register Online Now :) Wiv That Sheet Wiv Yur Password And All That Which Yu Got In The Post !
    But If Yur Waitin On That Grant Thing Which The Access People Wil Pay For Yu Cant Finish Of The Registration Cuz The 1538 Is Still Up.
    I Calld Up And Cathy Said It Wnt Be Sorted Till Around Tuesday(2mro) !
    So We'l Jst Have To Wait Nd C ! :)
    xXx

Kates923 wrote: »
    Yeh Registration.
    Yu Can Register Online Now :) Wiv That Sheet Wiv Yur Password And All That Which Yu Got In The Post !
    But If Yur Waitin On That Grant Thing Which The Access People Wil Pay For Yu Cant Finish Of The Registration Cuz The 1538 Is Still Up.
    I Calld Up And Cathy Said It Wnt Be Sorted Till Around Tuesday(2mro) !
    So We'l Jst Have To Wait Nd C ! :)
    xXx

So the online thing will be updated?

I registered ages ago and it didn't ask me for any money