Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sending a text to someone's computer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

trish990 wrote: »
    There's nothing I could do I suppose, just put it down to bad luck. I don't trust men anyway, so I should have known not to hand it over....but you would assume somebody who worked as a Garda and Security manager might have been a little more honest.
    No harm in trying though if you did manage to meet him, but I reckon you won't see your money again. If he had any intentions of paying it back, he would have done it by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

There's nothing I could do I suppose, just put it down to bad luck. I don't trust men anyway, so I should have known not to hand it over....but you would assume somebody who worked as a Garda and Security manager might have been a little more honest.

He worked as a Garda he is not a garda.

Your best bet would be to pop around to where he lives and demand the money back.

If he refuses I would recommend sending him a postcard every couple of weeks asking for the money back, you might be able to shame him into repaying his debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

I sent him a letter about 3 weeks ago, but a postcard is a better idea :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't trust men anyway

Neither do I, men are pigs. You go girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

This thread has the makings of a judge judy episode

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

try calling his number from another number (a phone box or another number he won't know) and see if it gets through. even try putting a '5' after the 086 or 087 in his number (so 086 5 1234567) to go straight to voicemail to see if it's connected or not.

if you can't get through to the number at all and it's saying it's not a valid number then he's had it disconnected and probably bought another phone (or just got a new sim card with a different number) to avoid you and all the other people he borrowed money off.

if you DID have an email address for him you *could* have sent a text message to his email address as a multimedia message. just take a picture of some money or something, (or maybe a sledgehammer) and send it as a text to him@hisemailaddress.com and it will get through to him like a regular email.

but, if you don't have an email address for him that's no good to you, just wanted to let people know it's not 100% impossible to do. ;)

the most likely thing is he's just bought a new sim card for his phone which will give him a new number and none of his old hassles (like you). you need to find someone he knows and get his new number, or just find out where he's going to be and confront him. don't be afraid to make a show of him either, stealing money off a girl, how low could he get etc. etc. shame can do wonders.

good luck anyways, but don't hold your breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

vibe666 wrote: »
    try calling his number from another number (a phone box or another number he won't know) and see if it gets through. even try putting a '5' after the 086 or 087 in his number (so 086 5 1234567) to go straight to voicemail to see if it's connected or not.

if you can't get through to the number at all and it's saying it's not a valid number then he's had it disconnected and probably bought another phone (or just got a new sim card with a different number) to avoid you and all the other people he borrowed money off.

if you DID have an email address for him you *could* have sent a text message to his email address as a multimedia message. just take a picture of some money or something, (or maybe a sledgehammer) and send it as a text to him@hisemailaddress.com and it will get through to him like a regular email.

but, if you don't have an email address for him that's no good to you, just wanted to let people know it's not 100% impossible to do. ;)

the most likely thing is he's just bought a new sim card for his phone which will give him a new number and none of his old hassles (like you). you need to find someone he knows and get his new number, or just find out where he's going to be and confront him. don't be afraid to make a show of him either, stealing money off a girl, how low could he get etc. etc. shame can do wonders.

good luck anyways, but don't hold your breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

The end of May, he got let go from work in February due to the recession, so he had problems keeping up with his rent and stuff.

Take him to the small claims court.
    here is the courts application form.

link.http://www.courts.ie/Courts.ie/Library3.nsf/pagecurrent/224D3F40A61421D280256DA6002EB56B?opendocument&l=en

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

What kind of interest are you chargin him? let say you stick 2 points on that a week you're talking about €670 now.

I reckon you'll need to smack him around a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Riverpineapple

Too expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Knock on his door like they did in the good old days and ask him in person for the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Riverpineapple

I love the good ol days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 ontheway

If you want to track this guy down, then you have to create and build a profile of everything you can find out about him.

You once went out with him, depending on the length of time since the break up, then his circumstances might not have changed too much....

So do you know people he knows?
    Find out if he is still attached to that mobile number? (use technique from poster above)
    Do you know where he lives?
    When is the last time you spotted him?
    Does he have any known enemies?
    Do you know where he socialises?
    Do you know where he currently works?

I think a BIG MAN like that wouldn't do well with his personal or professional reputation being somewhat tarnished. Spread around the fact that he owes you €500 and has refused to pay you back. Only do this of course after you track him down and he down right refuses. You could contact his place of work and ask to speak to "his boss". Don't ring up and say "Can I speak to HIS NAME'S boss?", Just ask to speak to a manager in the company or someone of authority that would be above him. Then ask them "Does HIS NAME still work for them, because he owes you a considerable amount of money and you are concerned that you will not be seeing any of it and that he has abused your trust". That is sure to raise a few eye brows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 couch13

How do you send a text to a computer? makes no sense and Im clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

couch13 wrote: »
    How do you send a text to a computer? makes no sense and Im clever.

Modern Technology... its fucking marvellous!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Neither do I, men are pigs.

No her ex used to be a Pig :D

Hey Trish if your that stuck im sure we could work something out ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

pebbles21 wrote: »
    No her ex used to be a Pig :D

Hey Trish if your that stuck im sure we could work something out ;);)
    im gonna guess you're far too young for her.. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Call 11811. Big shower of detectives them lot are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Ha ha ha. I laugh at ye common plebs worrying over 500.

Why I probably would have forgotten I gave it to him, for I am a tradesman and we are wealthy beyond our wildest dreams.... oh wait, i forgot about stephen

anyone lend me a fiver 'til Thursday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I expect him to repay the money because he's off having the life of riley, a holiday in Spain, off to a wedding yesterday, etc etc...

Pfft. I spent €5 total at a wedding last week. OP, you're not going to get the money back without some serious persuasion. It's happened time after time and you're the latest victim. Lesson: Never, ever loan money to your other half unless you are very sure about the relationship. And even then don't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 couch13

That's not very fair now is it!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

When you find him, get American History X on his Ass Jaw