Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was I an idiot?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

WindSock wrote: »
    How do you know she was his daughter and not some teenage prostitute? :eek:

You just had to go there didn't you?

tut tut

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Yep you were an idiot! Knowing his daughter disapproved he still went ahead and spent all his money. Maybe having none wouldve thought him a lesson.Gambling can be an addiction and ruin families just like any other addiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

OP Banned - we don't want your sort around here.

;)Nicely done, lad, nicely done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Maybe try earwig less, might save you a few quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

Meh .. mixed feeling about this really...

I'm gonna go with idiot ... unless you really have €50 to be giving away and don't value money. I really don't think it was a great thing to do. He's not learning from his mistakes and the daughter is being given false impressions of her father possibly beating a gambling addition and may not help out as much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Maybe you could take a leaf out of the OP's book and be a bit more understanding. Gambling is an addiction, some people can't control it-many need help. Don't judge, especially when you don't know all the facts.

In fairness to snyper though, he's right, if a little blunt.

It's like giving a chronic alcoholic a cold shower, a cure for their hangover and a gift voucher for O'Brien's Off license...it gets them out of the mess temporarily, but it doesn't impart anything that the addict will learn from...how about the next time the guy goes and blows his wallet; stuck at the back of his mind now will be the time that guy gave him a nifty...and also stuck at the back of that mind will be the possibility that it might happen again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Having looked at your poll, it dawned on me that you could have bought too bottles of sex panther with that 50. Just thought i'd fire that out there OP. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Maybe you could take a leaf out of the OP's book and be a bit more understanding. Gambling is an addiction, some people can't control it-many need help. Don't judge, especially when you don't know all the facts.

oh i know enough about gambling and ive seen the destruction caused by it. It certainly is an addiction. Problem is with gambling is that if you are a drunk you can spend only so much before liver damage kicks in and you die.

Gambling is perhaps the worst. You could bet any amount of money you have earned or ever will earn and put it on black.

It doesnt change the fact that the father is a bollocks. He needs to cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Random wrote: »
    Meh .. mixed feeling about this really...

I'm gonna go with idiot ... unless you really have €50 to be giving away and don't value money. I really don't think it was a great thing to do. He's not learning from his mistakes and the daughter is being given false impressions of her father possibly beating a gambling addition and may not help out as much?

Maybe a better term to use is, he values money, but values the lives and problems of others above it-hence he gave a 50 euro note to him.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 932 ✭✭✭PaulieD

Thanks for the fiddy, brought herself home and headed straight back down to the bookies. Won a fortune, I post this from the Costa Del Sol. Chao!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

I was in the bookies today....actually I was in about 4...basically registering in all of their free comps for the soccer season ahead. They know me in all of them cause a few years ago I frequented them one too many times. Anyway, while I was picking out my players for a comp in one shop my attention was taken by a conversation that was starting beside me.

It transpired that the father was supposed to meet his 13-14 year old daughter at 3pm but she was 45 minutes late...in that time, while waiting around, the father - probably trying to win more more to do something nice with the daughter - lost all his money. She was giving out to him saying she was well used to being let down by him etc...

He told her that he had his last tenner on a horse that was about to run - Captain McGarry, intrigued by this I stayed to watch the race, and the horse get beaten by a head. The feeling of having that last roll of the dice throwing up the wrong numbers was one I knew too well. He left with his daughter...I followed him out and called him over pretending I knew him, and then gave him €50 without the daughter seeing.

This is something that I know will provoke revulsion in most people as there are a lot more people out there who'd need the money more. I dunno...I guess I can't explain it.

You just fell for the oldest trick in the book pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

I voted yes before I read the post.

snyper wrote: »
    oh i know enough about gambling and ive seen the destruction caused by it. It certainly is an addiction. Problem is with gambling is that if you are a drunk you can spend only so much before liver damage kicks in and you die.

Gambling is perhaps the worst. You could bet any amount of money you have earned or ever will earn and put it on black.

It doesnt change the fact that the father is a bollocks. He needs to cop on.

He's not, he's just a man with a serious, sometimes uncontrollable problem, which he can and should get help with.

Dave! wrote: »
    It's a nice thing to do when you give a homeless person some money, but there's a good chance that they'll spend it on drugs,

"But that's what I was going to spend it on"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

We should really have a thumbs down button on boards.ie......

Why? It is possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Wertz wrote: »
    In fairness to snyper though, he's right, if a little blunt.

It's like giving a chronic alcoholic a cold shower, a cure for their hangover and a gift voucher for O'Brien's Off license...it gets them out of the mess temporarily, but it doesn't impart anything that the addict will learn from...how about the next time the guy goes and blows his wallet; stuck at the back of his mind now will be the time that guy gave him a nifty...and also stuck at the back of that mind will be the possibility that it might happen again.

But there's nothing to say that this man definitely had a chronic gambling problem. He was waiting for his daughter who was 45 minutes late, he might have decided to throw on a few euros as a once off thing, and next thing all his money was gone.

(As for her giving out to him about being used to being let down by him all the time, come on, she's a 13-14 year old girl! It's all part of the daily "I hate you/you've ruined my life/nobody understands me" rant.)

If you want to be really optimistic - and I'm just in that kind of mood right now - you could assume that he made a one-off mistake, learned his lesson hard, but thanks to the kindness of a stranger, no damage was done. But hopefully he won't do it again.

Yes I'm aware that the chances of this scenario being true are very slim, but I'll choose to believe it anyway :)

Regardless of what the man was doing, the OP should be congratulated and praised for giving €50 of his own money to benefit someone else. It was selfless, it was generous and above all it was unbelievably considerate. So he's not an idiot, the opposite really. If there were more people like him, the World would be a great place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

But there's nothing to say that this man definitely had a chronic gambling problem. He was waiting for his daughter who was 45 minutes late, he might have decided to throw on a few euros as a once off thing, and next thing all his money was gone.

Normal people wait in coffee shops or go for a walk.

WindSock wrote: »
    Why? It is possible.

How?:confused: Which button do I press?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

He's not, he's just a man with a serious, sometimes uncontrollable problem, which he can and should get help with.

i understand where you are comming from, however, ive seen too many people.. some in my family, and close friends whos lives were destroyed by addictions, but more unfortunate is the lives of those around them that have been destroyed. Im not grouping all addictions as the same because there are some exceptions, but i look at gambling as somewhat a "voluntary addiction" ie, you are not under the influence of any drug when you walk into the bookies to throw away your weeks wages and money to feed your family and children. Ive seen it happen. Ive seen the excuses.

Until you go and get help, you are a bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

snyper: Couldn't one argue that addiction after taking drugs or alcohol is also a "voluntary addiction"? People had informed you of the risk in most cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Regardless of what the man was doing, the OP should be congratulated and praised for giving €50 of his own money to benefit someone else. It was selfless, it was generous and above all it was unbelievably considerate. So he's not an idiot, the opposite really. If there were more people like him, the World would be a great place!

Not for addicts and their families.

snyper wrote: »
    i understand where you are comming from, however, ive seen too many people.. some in my family, and close friends whos lives were destroyed by addictions, but more unfortunate is the lives of those around them that have been destroyed. Im not grouping all addictions as the same because there are some exceptions, but i look at gambling as somewhat a "voluntary addiction" ie, you are not under the influence of any drug when you walk into the bookies to throw away your weeks wages and money to feed your family and children. Ive seen it happen. Ive seen the excuses.

Until you go and get help, you are a bollox.

No, but you're under the influence of a severe compulsion, almost an obssession to gamble. How can he be 'a bollox'? He has a problem, he needs help, to me compulsive gambling is an illness, just like alcoholism. You dont know about this man's life, how hard it could be-so going around calling the man names isnt appropriate-especially as he's not here to give his side of the argument.

Oops
    @mayogeian

@chatterpillar

In any bookies, casino, amusements, or anyplace else you can place a bet, on any given day, you'll find that 9/10 people in attendance at any one time have some form of compulsion to gamble...and the majority of those will be regular gamblers. To call anyone of them a chronic gambler might be a stretch without knowing specific detail...but it's a safe bet (damn it) that that guy, or any one of thousands like him have a problem with addictive/compulsive gambling.

Nothing pessimistic about that...merely depressing realism.

Not for addicts and their families.

I would think that addicts and their families would have a better World if there were people out there who were out trying to help-dont you? More people who were understanding and non-judgemental.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Normal people wait in coffee shops or go for a walk.

Oh yeah, and then they get hooked on caffeine :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I would think that addicts and their families would have a better World if there were people out there who were out trying to help-dont you? More people who were understanding and non-judgemental.

No. They need to know that people aren't going to be able to dig them out every time they're up **** creek. If everyone gave in to them like that what reason do they have to give up? And I say this as the son and brother of two alcoholics.

I didnt mean a 'world where everyone would give them money to feed their habit'. I meant a better world for them where people would be more understanding and help them get help for their problem. Maybe that was unclear in my post. I wasnt referring primarily to the OP's experience.

Theres always a risk in these things, one can only hope the recipient realises how lucky he was.

The one who is forgiven the most loves the most :)

Yup. In this case abouttobebanned is the enabler that allows the father to go on in his denial that he most likely has a problem.