Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitting in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Why? I would have thought the "jocks" would have been a fairly common teenage clique.

Ah yeah but arent jocks usually just sporty guys? Would have thought the country equivalent would be GAA in general, not just hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

Piste wrote: »
    Ah yeah but arent jocks usually just sporty guys? Would have thought the country equivalent would be GAA in general, not just hurling.

Nah, it's usually either a football or a hurling town. Even if they've both there'll be bigger support for another, makes sense to culchies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Some counties like Mayo or Kerry are mostly football. Others like Kilkenny or Tipperary are all hurling. Some like Galway play a lot of both but its usually different areas of the county that play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I'm too socially inept to try to fit in. Chances are I'd do it wrong. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Some counties like Mayo or Kerry are mostly football. Others like Kilkenny or Tipperary are all hurling. Some like Galway play a lot of both but its usually different areas of the county that play them.

There are a few towns in Tipperary where football is the more popular sport. And I'd say rugby could end up becoming the more popular sport in a couple of places in Clare and Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I dont believe in stero-typing peopls its bull really I mean I fit into soo many groups and am wanted in them all because people like me for who I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Earth Dweller

When I finished school I was looking forward to getting away from all the b*tchy types and all the cliques mentioned in the first post and then I found that it's the exact same story not only in college but in work, in every job I've had it's the same score with different groups and people trying to fit in- forty year olds and all trying to be cool and fit in and stuff so basically f*"! everyone and just do what you want, people are going to talk about you anyway no matter what you do yknow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I dont fit in with any group?? Weird.
    It seems that im friends with people from alot of those groups.
    So am i an all-rounder? :/

theres probably 10 hurling groups in my year alone (we have a large school all into clare hurling). Too bad its feckin clare hurling.
    See a 5th year going around in a limerick GAA jacket so at least 1 persons on my side!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 goosey gander

Piste wrote: »
    Lol, I'm amazed "hurlers" are their own little group :D

that doesnt surprise me kilkenny love Hurling!!!! My bf is from kilkenny and if your not a hurler your no1!!!!!! His sis is 15 and her friends(not so much her) only fancy fellas that play hurling!!!!!

Am I one of your sisters friends?
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 goosey gander

LOL could be!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭cathysworld

I had a few close friends in school and we still hang around together 8 years after it finished, there's no point trying to be friends with people you dont fit in with or have a laugh with, it wont work for long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

I had a few close friends in school and we still or have a laugh with, it wont work for long!
    What!? The people you have a laugh with are usually friends for life no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Walsh wrote: »
    What!? The people you have a laugh with are usually friends for life no?

Post edit fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Sophsxxx

Davidius wrote: »
    I'm too socially inept to try to fit in. Chances are I'd do it wrong. :pac:

Ha! Same story here! I get along with different kinds of groups of ppl except skangers...hate having convos where all they talk about is their last wild night out or how many Js they smoked in a night...don't really care lads!!!
    I prefer to be the clumsy, neurotic, foot-in-mouth girl that is moi!!:D

Sophsxxx wrote: »
    I prefer to be the clumsy, neurotic, foot-in-mouth girl that is moi!!:D

i hear ya! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

I'd have to say I'm in the Smart Kids group but we don't act any differently to anyone else except our humour has matured a bit more into and including political jokes... No one has to try to fit in the group... We're mostly all intelligent naturally without having to put in the work...

Other than our IQ we are normal teenagers... Dress normally (we don't go around with our shirts tucked into our pants and with our ties strangling us as seen on tv!!!) and act normally!!! We're all interested and play sports and we all spend most of our time chasing girls so nothing abnormal there!!!:P ;) Only thing that is different is that we don't struggle in our tests!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Jackobyte wrote: »
    I'd have to say I'm in the ARROGANTLY SMUG Smart Kids group but we don't act any differently to anyone else except our humour has matured a bit more into and including political jokes... No one has to try to fit in the group... We're mostly all intelligent naturally without having to put in the work...

Other than our IQ we are normal teenagers... Dress normally (we don't go around with our shirts tucked into our pants and with our ties strangling us as seen on tv!!!) and act normally!!! We're all interested and play sports and we all spend most of our time chasing girls so nothing abnormal there!!!:P ;) Only thing that is different is that we don't struggle in our tests!!!
    Fixed that for you there.

Me and my friend have both done IQ tests which are aimed at adults!!! We're 14.

Average IQ:100(of an adult)
    My IQ:135 (with still 7 years of growth left, brain stops maturing at 21)
    My Friend's:125 (also with 7 years growth left)

Its a fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Me and my friend have both done IQ tests aimed at adults!!! We're 14.

Average IQ:100
    My IQ:135
    My Friend's:125

Its a fact!
    Wow,you've really proved me wrong there.
    NEWS FLASH-SMUGNESS AND IQ NOW DIRECTLY RELATED!!

Wow,you've really proved me wrong there.
    NEWS FLASH-SMUGNESS, IQ AND GOOD LOOKS ARE NOW DIRECTLY RELATED!!

FIXED THAT FOR U!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 mother_rucker

also note the inversely proportional relationship between arrogant intelligence and social skills, as show-cased so excellently by our friend jackobyte here.
    Judging from your posts so far you're a prodigy
    you'd best start practicing playing chess against yourself now, you're going to need it for your lonely old age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 LumpyChicken

Futurism wrote: »
    Anyone else think this reads like a Junior Cert English essay?

I think I've heard this rant so many times before, that those who spew it out are becoming their own little clique.

It might read like an English essay but your mam reads like an Ann summers novel, one with all the nice , hairy, over 50 pics left in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 LumpyChicken

I'd have to say I'm in the Smart Kids group but we don't act any differently to anyone else except our humour has matured a bit more into and including political jokes... No one has to try to fit in the group... We're mostly all intelligent naturally without having to put in the work...

By the way jackobyte, I ****ed your mam too and she moaned like a ride on lawn mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Thread locking in,

moderators are fairly slow tonight
    must be dealing with teenage angst of their own

Believe it or not, being a moderator isn't a job... They have real lifes too, you know. I'm sure one will take care of this eventually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Pulltheplug

**** you dickhead i ****ed your mam

Believe it or not, being a moderator isn't a job...

it's a calling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Cleeky Sheik

whats with all this mother humping all of a sudden?