Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"English Pigs" not welcome in Latvia - should we follow?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Schism wrote: »
    Go to Portugal, no drinking age iirc.

Ok that's it, I'm done hijacking the thread. Sorry OP.

Oh didn't know that, cheers.. love the Algarve.

Yep, snap.. sorry OP.

That Latvian bloke sounds like a racist ****er

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

darkman2 wrote: »
    But they tend not to have alot of money according to surveys. I read that a wealthy family taking a holiday would spend more then a whole stag party put together. I think that is also an issue. More people but less revenue and the problems to go with it.

You might not have noticed but the country is completely in the ****, our biggest tourist market is the UK, every penny now counts for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 TCRG

It happens. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Irish people do the exact same thing. In fact alot of the time when Irish people fcuk up overseas they are mistaken for English people, unless of course they are wearing the obligatory GAA jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Lobster

Irish people do the exact same thing. In fact alot of the time when Irish people fcuk up overseas they are mistaken for English people, unless of course they are wearing the obligatory GAA jersey.

I often see people get much friendlier with me when abroad when they figure out i'm not english.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Last year, the country's then interior minister, Mareks Seglins, hit out at "English pigs" for being a "dirty, hoggish people"
    unquote

People on mainland Europe often confuse English and Irish people. Mr. Seglins was obviously speaking about the Irish. Young people nowadays may not know about our close connection with our porcine cousins.

We Irish keep pigs in the parlour (sitting-room our lounge nowadays, if you prefer). We ignore personal hygiene, drink to excess and have fiery tempers which leads to us fighting and brawling a lot.

On the positive side we love the craic and break into song spontaneously on any occasion.

Toor a loor a laddy -- Toor a loor a lay.

We're everybody's favourite tourists when we go abroad.

Top a' the night to ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭samurai kebab

North side Dublin, bad parts of Limerick stags behave far worse in Europe IMHO.

Yeah those howth,malahide,clontarf,sutton etc stags really go wild i mean no class or decorum like the stags coming from some of the southsides more notorious areas.....thats what you were getting at right not insinuating the whole northside is a kip equalled only by the worst parts of limerick or anything like that right....cause that would be a pretty ridiculous opinion wouldn't you agree....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Yeah those howth,malahide,clontarf,sutton etc stags really go wild i mean no class or decorum like the stags coming from some of the southsides more notorious areas.....thats what you were getting at right not insinuating the whole northside is a kip equalled only by the worst parts of limerick or anything like that right....cause that would be a pretty ridiculous opinion wouldn't you agree....

exactly, you would never see people from the like of dolphins barn, tallaght, clondalkin, ballyfermot, ballybrack, shankill, mounttown, crumlin, drimnagh, ranelagh and other such areas on the southside cause trouble:rolleyes:
    the pub i work in in harolds cross had one of the charity boxes robbed last night by a scumbag from crumlin who is well known to the police, but then again he wouldnt cause any trouble if he was on a stag in temple bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I agree the English pigs should be banned..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Noooo!!English sausages are delicious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Latvia had a civil war?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I've never encountered any trouble from English people over here for a stag.
    I was threatened by a bunch of Scots on the Isle of Man when I was 12 though.
    You get arse holes in every country.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Terry wrote: »
    I've never encountered any trouble from English people over here for a stag.

yes, but they're very loud & cocky and they've got a "swagger" about them that really irks me:mad:

i just don't feel comfortable when they're around

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    I agree the English pigs should be banned..

Swine flu and all that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

North side Dublin, bad parts of Limerick stags behave far worse in Europe IMHO.

In your humble opinion? There's nothing humble about it. You're just a dumb snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭numanuma

You would think they would put a toilet beside the freedom monument.... problem solved...:P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Latvia had a civil war?
    yes, once a fight broke out in a bar

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

fryup wrote: »
    yes, but they're very loud & cocky and they've got a "swagger" about them that really irks me:mad:

i just don't feel comfortable when they're around

"They"? Surely a generalisation?

The majority of English people are absolutely sound (look at that study that showed the British to be the 'best' tourists around the world); but there's some idiots that go around giving us a bad reputation; doesn't mean we're all like that... it really irks me people forming their opinions of a whole nation from a few idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Míshásta wrote: »
    We Irish keep pigs in the parlour (sitting-room our lounge nowadays, if you prefer). We ignore personal hygiene, drink to excess and have fiery tempers which leads to us fighting and brawling a lot.

What's this we business? Speak for yourself now. Maybe you're a mean drunk with bad hygiene, but don't drag everyone else into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I encountered an English stag in Prague, all I could think of was how much I'd like David Attenborough to do commentary on how some humans have not evolved yet and feature them in it. Absolutely disgraceful stuff, however though before I go calling the pot black alot of the Irish that goes abroad are downright scum too so I won't generalise too much.

Irish hot spots for scummy behaviour would be Majorca, Playa Del Ingeles in Gran Canaria. I swear to god how some people go to these resorts is beyond me, if anyone ever wants to torture me force me to endure one of these places.

I spoke to Americans in Natural History Museum in Praha and they were generally astonished at what they had encountered in their pan European travels. I best explained that these areas are treated as 24/7 versions of Las Vegas permanently on Spring break.

I have encountered some negativity being mistaken for a British Tourist but generally an Irish Rugby jersey or jacket helps to identify, wearing a GAA Jersey abroad is like the Irish International Scummer Flag especially if it sprouts an Arnotts badge.

The British are so aggressive and around the time the IRA shot dead the two sappers up North I encountered a large crowd of burly brits getting on an Easyjet flight at Franz Josef Strauss International and got nasty comments about being a paddy and over the activity by the 'ra up north. I swiftly returned a few expletives in Irish and German and left them bamboozled and went back to my own terminal after finding the right type of Cigarettes.

I then flew home with Aer Lingus with some civilised Germans whom I explained alot about Ireland and they were grand people altogether. They especially liked my praise for Helmut Kohl and his help pumping billions into Ireland in the early nineties.

Riga is definitely the dodgiest city in Europe I have been too.
    Police don't care about all the brothels and dirty casinos.Only city I never felt safe walking around ever.Although the ice n the main river is cool to mess about on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 932 ✭✭✭PaulieD

netwhizkid wrote: »
    wearing a GAA Jersey abroad is like the Irish International Scummer Flag especially if it sprouts an Arnotts badge.

Good post, pity you felt you had to get a sly dig in on us Dubliners though.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 932 ✭✭✭PaulieD

Latvia is a basket case, it needs tourism from the UK. Shall the UK retaliate by repatriating all Latvian citizens? Only fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Expresso Bongo

Doesn't bother me to have them here spending their money. Then again I'm not stupid enough to spend more than 30 seconds in temple bar at any given time.

As to people who say we are Irish are generally the same as the members of an English stag, may I draw attention to their bizarre slow loping walk (as tho they are having a secret competition so see who can hold a small brick between their buttocks the longest) and their fondness for staying on the tanning beds too long, leading to a universal dark-pink hued face and premature aging. Truly a different breed of individual I'm sure you'll agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

It's amusing to think that some people apparently believe that there are hordes of wealthy families waiting in the wings to descend en masse to places like Riga, if only it wasn't for the maurading bands of English stag parties.

I'd heard Prague had a similar reputation before I visited some years back. When I got there I didn't notice that many stag parties at all - there were signs up in some bars saying stuff along the lines of "no stag parties" but other bars welcomed them with open arms. In essence, if you didn't want to encounter stag parties, you just didn't go to the places catering to them.

Fairly obvious, I would have thought - don't go to the places being touted by dodgy looking men on the street as "all you can drink" for flat flee, or promising "pretty ladies" and strippers, and you likely won't encounter them.

Not like they were prowling the museums in the mornings, or having drinking parties around Kafkas grave.

It's kind of like spending all your holiday in Temple Bar between the hours of 6pm and 4am and complaining that Ireland was overrun by drunks, stag parties and hen parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This solution to the problem seems to get the message across, yet doesn't target all Brits.....
    A Greek woman appeared in court in Crete today accused of setting fire to a British tourist after he allegedly pulled down his trousers in front of her.
    Marina Fanouraki, 26, was charged with assault after the incident in the holiday resort of Malia in which she is said to have poured a flammable liquid over the man and set fire to it with a lighter.
    Stuart Feltham, 20, from Swindon, suffered second-degree burns and is recovering in a private clinic. He was reported as having suffered burns to his genitals, but the Foreign Office said it understood that his chest and abdomen were injured.
    The story made headlines in Greece, where some have hailed the woman a hero. Tension between drunken British tourists and locals in Crete is on the increase. Only last month two British visitors were beaten up in Malia after one crashed a motorcycle into a supermarket.
    Fanouraki, a student, turned herself in to police and she appeared in court in Iraklion, the biggest town in Crete, wearing jeans and large dark glasses.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/aug/07/tourist-set-alight-crete-greece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

PaulieD wrote: »
    Good post, pity you felt you had to get a sly dig in on us Dubliners though.:rolleyes:

Sorry, just Dublin probably with its population has just some scumbags, although on a per capita basis it may be less. In all fairness the behaviour of Irish people abroad is hardly saintly now is it. Case in point

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Nodin wrote: »
    This solution to the problem seems to get the message across, yet doesn't target all Brits.....
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/aug/07/tourist-set-alight-crete-greece

From that website:
    She claims she was acting in self-defence and only threw a drink in Feltham's face.
    Her lawyer said: "He fondled my client's breasts and buttocks and she poured her drink over him and left. Shortly afterward she heard cries and saw her friends trying to extinguish him."
    If this is true then I'm not surprised but what the heck was she drinking, ethanol? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

slimjimmc wrote: »
    If this is true then I'm not surprised but what the heck was she drinking, ethanol? :eek:

possibly ouzo