Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I know a lot of women like bad boys but...

• 20-07-2009 2:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭JohnGalt

How exactly does this work? Like do all women find themselves attracted to bad boys, and how exactly would you define this? Does the definition of what a bad boy is vary from woman to woman, and is it the case that the worse the boy the more attractive he becomes? Would a woman be attracted to a genuinely evil boy like me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

Well I once went out with a guy who didn't drink and he was the worst person to go out partying with or whatever. I found him really boring. I know it was probably just his personality but since then I've been known to fall for the bad boys:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Jood

Well I hate to admit to this but I find that I fall for the treat em mean kind all the time!! It's like a guy can be the best in the world to me and I'm like meh not all that interested, but give me a guy that'll cancel dates and generally keep me at a distance and I'm in love with him, no logic to it at all I know :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

JohnGalt wrote: »
    How exactly does this work? Like do all women find themselves attracted to bad boys, and how exactly would you define this? Does the definition of what a bad boy is vary from woman to woman, and is it the case that the worse the boy the more attractive he becomes? Would a woman be attracted to a genuinely evil boy like me?

why? are you looking for advice on how to be more attractive to girls? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

When I was younger I went out with bad boys, one guy had a motorbike and I went out with him because it was all very "Rebel without a cause" Rebel without a clue more like :rolleyes:

But my boyfriend now is most certainly not a bad boy, he is the loveliest man I know, doesn't do the whole treat her mean thing, instead he treats me like a princess and I absolutely adore and love him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭JohnGalt

sar84 wrote: »
    why? are you looking for advice on how to be more attractive to girls? :rolleyes:

Not as such. It is an interesting phenomenon to say the least, and I am also wondering to a certain extent if the spawn of satan himself should be a chick magnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

I have loads of self-respect and laugh at the "treat them mean" types :) I treat my partners well too. Life is not a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

In my experience, women are attracted to "bad boys" because they play hard to get, which intrigues us and we believe we can be the one who can 'change' them.

Of course, this rarely works - our efforts fail, the bad boy continues being bad and we end up hurt.

Speaking from my own experience, having been through the whole "bad boy" thing, I'd never go back. I'm older and wiser now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

treat them mean, keep them keen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

I personally would always treat my partner like a princess, and in my opinion, the girls who like assholes deserve what they get. I've never met a clever/interesting woman who was that way inclined though, thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Speaking from my own experience, having been through the whole "bad boy" thing, I'd never go back. I'm older and wiser now!

Aren't you 20 or so? On to Bad-men rather than boys then?:p

I hate this whole bad-boy thing, simply because I can't do it, unless I am in a happily drunk mood. I am good enough at acting, but I can't keep up being mean to someone for very long.:mad:

To be honest I wouldn't like to be treated like a Princess, I've had guys treat me like that in the past and I've just felt smoothered. It's not that I like to be treated badly or anything, I just like to be kept on my toes or I get bored, each to their own I say!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Not as such. It is an interesting phenomenon to say the least, and I am also wondering to a certain extent if the spawn of satan himself should be a chick magnet.

If you haven't already, you should listen to Bill Hicks talking about Ted Bundy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BX-2xAwsyw

Aren't you 20 or so? On to Bad-men rather than boys then?:p

I hate this whole bad-boy thing, simply because I can't do it, unless I am in a happily drunk mood. I am good enough at acting, but I can't keep up being mean to someone for very long.:mad:

Yeah, I'm 20! No bad men for me, I like nice men! I'm so over the teenage obsession with ... bad eggs! :pac:

I think it's a shame when people feel they have to be a certain way to attract partners. Be yourself! Some women might like bad boys, but they'll learn in time that the appeal of those guys wears off pretty quickly.
    You get sick and tired of being treated like dirt!

Jood wrote: »
    To be honest I wouldn't like to be treated like a Princess, I've had guys treat me like that in the past and I've just felt smoothered. It's not that I like to be treated badly or anything, I just like to be kept on my toes or I get bored, each to their own I say!!

I'd agree with you! I think a happy balance is nice - when a guy treats you well, but isn't texting you all the time, or smothering you with too much attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Kept on your toes? Does he punch you in the face after telling you he loves you?

I'd agree with you! I think a happy balance is nice - when a guy treats you well, but isn't texting you all the time, or smoothering you with too much attention.

Exactly, I would often tell my ex not to text me and ring me so much, and he used to get really hurt and couldn't understand why I didn't want to be talking to him all the time, I told him he had to give me space to miss him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I did the whole bad boy thing for a while, worked pretty well but it was more my own un-happiness and insecurity showing at the time more than anything else.

Figured a woman should like me for the real me and not because I didn't call her for a week on purpose to make her jealous. I also think it's bad karma to be behaving like that. Treat others, specially people you care about as you would like to be treated yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

genericguy wrote: »
    Kept on your toes? Does he punch you in the face after telling you he loves you?

Overreaction much? I think I know what Jood is talking about.

I am a complete brat at times; petulant, sulky, bossy and manipulative. I had a lovely lovely bf who would do anything for me, and did do everything for me. Was great for 5 years until I lost all respect for him.

I didn't like who I was when I was with him, and more to the point, I didn't like who he was anymore. I have learned now that I need someone to keep me on my toes as well - someone who will indulge me to a point, but draw the line. Someone who is prepared to draw some boundaries and say no when I push them.

That's not exactly a bad boy, that's just a confident guy who knows what he wants from a relationship. I do not want a "nice guy" - someone who'll pander to my every whim. But I don't want an asshole either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Would a woman be attracted to a genuinely evil boy like me?

*yawn*

genericguy wrote: »

Ah here, as Shellyboo said, that is an overreaction. What I meant by that is that I need someone basically who'll remind me every so often that the world doesn't revolve around me, I'm no good in a relationship where my partner will let me away with things just because he loves me, I need to be with someone who is confident enough to challenge me or eventually I will lose all respect for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

How exactly does this work? Like do all women find themselves attracted to bad boys, and how exactly would you define this? Does the definition of what a bad boy is vary from woman to woman, and is it the case that the worse the boy the more attractive he becomes?

Have never been into the bad boy thing, and I never understood why people wasted their time with it. To be honest, I've never really dealt well with all of the games, either. The hunting, the chase. Bleh. Do I like you? Do you like me? Yes? Great. Are you a jerk to me? Am I a jerk to you? No? Great. This could go somewhere.
    shellyboo wrote: »
    I do not want a "nice guy" - someone who'll pander to my every whim. But I don't want an asshole either.

Why does being a nice guy have such a negative connotation? He can be funny and compassionate and caring, and exciting, and actually have opinions . . . A nice guy isn't necessarily a doormat -- he could just be a nice guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Im curious John,what makes you such a
    genuinely evil boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I've never been into the whole bad boy thing, I prefer boys who spoil me and treat me like a princess :D And I hate the whole game-playing, power-struggle thing.

At the same time though, I don't like boys the other side of the scale, who are excessively soppy and romantic. An ex of mine used to write me these long poetic letters with kisses written all over the envelope ... ugh! It made me cringe soooo much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

SeekUp wrote: »
    Have never been into the bad boy thing, and I never understood why people wasted their time with it. To be honest, I've never really dealt well with all of the games, either. The hunting, the chase. Bleh. Do I like you? Do you like me? Yes? Great. Are you a jerk to me? Am I a jerk to you? No? Great. This could go somewhere.

Why does being a nice guy have such a negative connotation? He can be funny and compassionate and caring, and exciting, and actually have opinions . . . A nice guy isn't necessarily a doormat -- he could just be a nice guy.

So true. My boyfriend is all that and he is really intelligent, we can actually have really good conversations about anything. We still spend hours talking on the phone or going for a walk we find somewhere nice to sit down and waffle for ages. He's fricking hilarious aswell :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Do women who date bad boys, do so as deep down they do not want to settle down and more often that not bad boys tend to never want to settle? So, dating a bad boy will not mean any long term commitments? I could be way off the mark but I once heard that as a reasoning to why women do date bad boys.

I suppose what it comes down to is that we're all very different. Women don't like bad boys but a woman might. Each woman looks for something different in a potential partner and thank god for that or we'd all be after the same man :D

Do women who date bad boys, do so as deep down they do not want to settle down and more often that not bad boys tend to never want to settle?

Well, speaking for myself, I went for the bad boy (several times!) because I want to change them.

I wanted to be the girl they'd change their ways for, the girl who made them see sense.

Sadly, it never worked and I got burned.

Now, I see the appeal of the guys who are honest, genuine people.

SeekUp wrote: »

I have no idea why it has a negative connotation, but it does - that's why I used quotation marks. Nice guy is essentially another way of saying doormat in this day and age - I'm not defending that, just stating it as an observation.

For me, I discovered that nice isn't enough. I need intelligent, confident, savvy and strong as well as nice. And while the ex I was talking about was both intelligent and strong for himself, he was too nice to me. I'm not blaming him for the demise of the relationship, far from it - it was more my fault than his. But his attitude played a part. I tested my boundaries with him early on and discovered that there were none. I could do what I liked, and I could get him to do whatever I wanted. That's not healthy for anyone in a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

shellyboo wrote: »
    For me, I discovered that nice isn't enough. I need intelligent, confident, savvy and strong as well as nice. And while the ex I was talking about was both intelligent and strong for himself, he was too nice to me. . . . I tested my boundaries with him early on and discovered that there were none. I could do what I liked, and I could get him to do whatever I wanted. That's not healthy for anyone in a relationship.

No, it's not. I just meant what you said a few lines before, that nice can also be more than just nice, and nice doesn't have to equal being wishy-washy.
    Do women who date bad boys, do so as deep down they do not want to settle down and more often that not bad boys tend to never want to settle? So, dating a bad boy will not mean any long term commitments? I could be way off the mark but I once heard that as a reasoning to why women do date bad boys.

That's an interesting idea. Excitement + unpredictability = bad boys = fun and up for a good time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's the confusing of dominat with domineering, assertive with abusive and not being a wuss with being a wanker.

'Nice' gets a bad rap cos people seem to assume that nice = push over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I have never gone for the bad guy.
    I'm much too lazy to 'change' these fellas
    Have always been much more attracted to respectful 'gentlemen' types.
    Any gobsheenery and you'll be shown the door swiftly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Yeah, I never went for the bad guys.

I always went for the kind, funny, intelligent guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Fugly

Hmm interesting, I never really cared for the rebel/fixer-upper, if a guy needed fixing, not my problem. I went out with guys who may seem to some as "bad boys" weren't the typical lovely guy but they always treated me well and I knew where I stood. All of these relationships were casual or poly. My preference.

Then I took a risk dated a college friend, the guy everyone knows/likes, never argues with anyone, not a charmer in a sleazy way but just a genuine nice {good} guy. My first exclusive "proper" relationship.

Biggest mistake ever!:eek::eek: The only thing I regret in my life, How "nice" he appeared was critical to him, what his friends thought of me/and "us", how people saw him being the nice guy etc.
    I was a moron to put up with it, and only have myself to blame. I am ashamed of staying when I knew better. But the "he's such a nice guy," bs was stuck in my head. Even though he dumped me in a bar, {I took him back, (Yes I am an complete moron:rolleyes:)} spent hours months talking bout how sexy one of our friends was and eventually cheated with another friend he is still considered "A really nice genuine guy" by our friends {some of whom used to be my best friends}

I learnt a lesson I should have already known, "nice boys" can be utter w@nkers, while "bad boys" can be amazing/respectful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Ah this always interested me. I used to go for them, bad boys that is. It's the chase! But no more, you get tired of running after something that is not worth it and not what it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

In my experience, women are attracted to "bad boys" because they play hard to get, which intrigues us and we believe we can be the one who can 'change' them.

Of course, this rarely works - our efforts fail, the bad boy continues being bad and we end up hurt.

+1 i've been through the bad boy scenario, doesn't end well BUT! I'm still attracted to these idiots BUT! I would never go out with one again SO, i end up drooling over boys i can't have and turning my snot up to fellas i can have. Its a lonely life.... !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭lizzyvera

This should be a poll. There should be more polls in general!

I don't like bad boys, I think it's silly and immature. I always think they read stupid pop psychology books on how to be an alpha male. Lame.

Love letters and the likes, as someone mentioned, are also embarassing. Think of Ireland's most romantic man
    Ireland's most romantic man has been stripped of his crown following protests that he'd been convicted of "committing two acts which were offensive to public morals and decency", viz; "following women around Galway City in his car while masturbating".

Aidan Clifford and partner Ellen Spence, who met on a skiing trip in 2007, "beat off stiff opposition"* to secure the Irish Wedding Journal's "Ireland’s Most Romantic Couple" title.

According to The Clare People, the pair won a €46,000 prize, which included "a wedding reception in the renowned Parknasilla Resort in Kerry, a designer wedding dress from either Kathy de Stafford in Dublin or Blush Bridal in Belfast and a luxury Sandals honeymoon from Tropical Places".

However, the Irish Wedding Journal was unaware that Clifford appeared last year in Galway District Court where he admitted driving to Galway on his days off from work "specifically to follow women around in his car while fondling himself".

According to the Evening Herald, his solicitor claimed Clifford's lifestyle was to blame and that he was "working himself to the bone".**

The couple currently live in Kinvara, County Galway, but Clifford works in nearby Ballyvaughan, where unimpressed residents queued up to express their outrage. One declared the whole thing a "total disgrace", adding: "My own grandchildren play down in Ballyvaughan all the time. It’s bad enough to think that this man is around, never mind putting him up on a pedestal like this."

Another insisted there was “a lot of animosity here about it. Everybody is disgusted."

The Irish Wedding Journal duly responded by withdrawing the couple's €46k booty. The magazine told the Evening Herald: "The nature of his conviction is entirely incompatible with the ethos of Ireland's Wedding Journal and the competition and we regard his entering this competition in the first place as a breach of good faith on his part.

"With regret we have come to the decision that no prize will be awarded this year."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i havent a bad bone in my body except for my wrist and ankle :mad:...

I dunno what i am I do as a i please I aint got no ball and chain. I dont hold women on a podium, I can do gentle manly things but I'm not going to do it at the start, i ain't handing my self over on a platter with an apple in my mouth. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

My most recent ex was a "nice guy" who prided himself on this. While we were together he wasn't a challenge at all and when we broke up he insisted on coming to my house to keep in contact with my housemates and going to parties of friends he knew through me for the same reason. He never understood why being too sickly sweetly nice is just not attractive. As someone else said, it's smothering.

What this thought me was that nice equals smothering, however true that actually is. I'm instantly turned off lads who are too nice now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I wouldn't say I'm attracted to "bad" boys.... But I don't like nice guys at all! Guys who return your calls, text you, say sweet things or generally act interested - BORING!!!!! I have had typically nice boyfriends in the past but the guys who have had me hanging on their every word and tripping over myself were always guys who were a bit 'whatever' about things! Nothing is more attractive than a guy who just doesn't give a fcuk! So no to genuinely evil but HELL YES to cool, anything goes, I'm a lil bit bad boy haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

I like men with polished manners. So I suppose I'm of the good contingent. But I don't mind them having a 'bad' side, in its place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah here, as Shellyboo said, that is an overreaction. What I meant by that is that I need someone basically who'll remind me every so often that the world doesn't revolve around me, I'm no good in a relationship where my partner will let me away with things just because he loves me, I need to be with someone who is confident enough to challenge me or eventually I will lose all respect for him.
    But that's not a "bad guy". shellyboo, neither is what you're describing. A simpering doormat/a guy who "worships" you - that's not attractive either.

However, "nice", while it can have connotations of "doormat", it can also simply mean "sound".

And a grown woman who is attracted to bastards (for relationships, not casual fun) is obviously just lacking in self esteem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Novella wrote: »
    I wouldn't say I'm attracted to "bad" boys.... But I don't like nice guys at all! Guys who return your calls, text you... or generally act interested - BORING!!!!!
    But these are just very basic social mores - I don't think adhering to them is something only boring guys would do. And I do think a lack of adherence to them is just straightforward bad manners. Yes, it's especially "nice" to return a call... :confused:
    As for "generally act interested" - oh noez, what a drip! :eek:

A kind, warm, sweet guy can also be headstrong, confident (without being arrogant) and have backbone - these aren't mutually exclusive things at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Weidii wrote: »
    My most recent ex was a "nice guy" who prided himself on this. While we were together he wasn't a challenge at all and when we broke up he insisted on coming to my house to keep in contact with my housemates and going to parties of friends he knew through me for the same reason. He never understood why being too sickly sweetly nice is just not attractive. As someone else said, it's smothering.

What this thought me was that nice equals smothering, however true that actually is. I'm instantly turned off lads who are too nice now.

Why does being with somebody have to be a challenge?

Dudess wrote: »
    But these are just very basic social mores - I don't think adhering to them is something only boring guys would do. And I do think a lack of adherence to them is just straightforward bad manners. Yes, it's especially "nice" to return a call... :confused:
    As for "generally act interested" - oh noez, what a drip! :eek:

I totally agree with you.

I think some women can be attracted to men who act pretty cold towards them, don't return their calls, or text too much, because it keeps them on their toes.

It's a challenge - and we want to win.

In the end, what most people end up concluding is that the "bad boy" was a wasted effort.
    Why does being with somebody have to be a challenge?

I find anyone who's been seriously burned by a "bad boy" will realise a relationship has enough problems without having to chase the guy you're seeing to return your calls and messages, let alone treat you with respect!

Once you've tried it, most people learn it's wise not to go back there!

I think women like a happy medium ; We want someone to care, but not to smother us. We want a guy to show his interest, but not freak us out by trying to be in contact all. the. time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

There's a difference between a nice guy who has a mind of his own aswell and a 'yes' man. I personally like guys who are decisive, assertive, and well able for me but they have to be considerate aswell. Someone who agreed with me all the time and just tried to 'keep me sweet' wouldn't impress me at all. I've dated guys like that and it just didn't work, I got bored to be honest, you need a healthy debate now and then.

Then again, there's the other side of the coin - guys who are just on complete power trips - and I'm not too keen on those either. You know the type of guy that plays games; texts back a week later or plays it cool 24/7 just to keep you interested. I'm really not into that kind of game playing at all. I have to admit though, sometimes that does work for a few weeks, it shouldn't but it does. If you really like someone then sometimes you want to give them a chance, just in case, but most of the time they don't change.

I think there's a fine line, and nice guys do get it tough, but I think it's that metrosexual vibe as well - some guys can take it too far and some girls just don't go for it. I mean, I'd like a guy who's sensitive and able to talk about how he feels etc, but at the same time I also want to know that he has some backbone and that I could rely on him if I ever needed to.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Now this is just my take such as it is, but I think there are a few things going on, but deep down it's generally based on healthy reasons.

I do think women are social brakes on young men especially. Young men on their own have a tendency to destructive behavior. Women disapproving of that chill them out. So a bad boy may be plugging into that social brakes thing. She wants to change him. Could explain why women have more of a tendency to want to change men full stop.

The other thing is that it's emotionally stimulating. It's fun. As some say it keeps them on their toes. I do think IMHO obviously that woman more than men want and need more emotional stimulation than men in general. More of a rollercoaster ride.

There can be an element of social competition with other women too, again especially when young. The "I've got and tamed the guy that no one else could" scenario. More common among younger women. Of course if and when they tame him, they may start to lose interest.

Bad boys tend to have more women after them and have been with more women, so straightaway their currency is strong and that makes them attractive too.

If the woman has self esteem issues, on top of all the other stuff, the bad boy is also very attractive. Any sign of him meeting her halfway is seen as justification of her and gives her a momentary lift. Plus he also plugs into her lack of self esteem by bolstering what she already feels about herself. That she may be worthless etc. A "nice" guy who tells her she's wonderful she simply doesn't believe and indeed thinks he's an idiot deep down for believing that. Attraction wanes at that point. On top of that a guy who is dominant takes away a lot of her responsibility. I have found a lot of women like that and want that control. They actually want to be led. Some have really surprised me.

I think one of the biggest attractions is that the bad boy compared to the nice guy gives off more (false and exaggerated) signals of a strong stable mature man. If a woman has never been exposed to the real deal, she can be easily fooled by the bad boy.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

But that's not a "bad guy". shellyboo, neither is what you're describing. A simpering doormat/a guy who "worships" you - that's not attractive either.

That's exactly my point though - the logic seems to go like this:

Women don't like guys who are too nice, ergo they like bad boys.

That's not the case. Women DON'T like guys who are too nice, but that certainly doesn't mean we want to be treated like crap either. I don't like "nice guys", the type of guy I described above, I like a man who knows himself, knows what he wants, and isn't afraid to tell me that.
    However, "nice", while it can have connotations of "doormat", it can also simply mean "sound".

And a grown woman who is attracted to bastards (for relationships, not casual fun) is obviously just lacking in self esteem.

You're right, of course. The problem here is the language we're using to describe what we want - of course we all want to date a guy who is, on some level, nice. Everyone on the planet, on some level, is nice. We're talking about overall behaviour here more than a specific characteristic - is he, on the whole, nice; or is he bad? That's the question. My ex, overall, was too nice. It didn't work. Likewise, it wouldn't work with someone who was too bad. My ex wasn't nice 100% of the time, we had screaming matches aplenty, huffs, falling outs, the whole works - but at the end of the day, I always got my way.

It's all about balance. Neither extreme is conducive to a healthy relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I've no interest in "bad boys". Too much work and very irritating. Give me quieter, smarter, with a little dark wit any day.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Never was one for someone who kept me guessing to be honest. Nor was I ever one for a fawning sycophant who agreed with all I had to say.

The best way to describe what I find attractive personality-wise is someone who respects my opinion but when his opinion differs will tell me and discuss why. He is also a person who will be open and honest about their feelings and not be afraid to say if something is bothering them.

I definitely couldn't be doing with a game player!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭I'lllearnye

Wibbs wrote: »
    I do think women are social brakes on young men especially. Young men on their own have a tendency to destructive behavior. Women disapproving of that chill them out. So a bad boy may be plugging into that social brakes thing.

That would have gone down well in the 'RSA are being sexist' thread in After Hours :pac::).

I think that 'bad' men are labelled as such (usually by 'nice' men) because they go out and get what they want while at the same time giving the girl time to make her own decision. Even if the 'bad' guy seems pushy and arrogant to outsiders, he has the social skills and the confidence to know how to charm a girl.

Onto so called 'nice-guys'. The difference between a true nice guy and a 'nice-guy' is that a true nice guy will not be offended when he's turned down. He won't whinge and moan that 'girls just go for a**holes', or 'what did I do wrong?', or 'that's it, the next girl who comes along, I'm just going to let the door slam in her face...that'll teach 'em!'. The true nice-guy is aware that sometimes, despite being a perfect gentleman, the chemistry just isn't there. On the other hand, so called 'nice-guys' egos are so big they can't believe that anyone would turn them down. It's easier for them to think that there's something wrong with the girls they're chasing ie they just go for bad guys, instead of thinking 'ah well, that didn't work out, who's next?'. From less than happy experiences, I've found that 'nice-guys' are essentially bad guys in nice-guy's clothing.

Luckily, I can now see 'nice-guys' coming from a mile off and usually make my excuses and leave. However I give true nice-guys all the time in the world. Specifically because they are aware that I have my own mind and do not assume that they have marked their territory just because they've deigned to talk to me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

+1. I would say nice guys and bad boys are two sides of the same coin. Both are insecure, but that insecurity is expressed differently. Both have little clue of women, but the bad boy has stumbled on a better strategy as he apes a strong man more than the wimp does.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.