Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Release of A Serial rapist. (Dublin)

• 18-07-2009 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭

Hi Ladies.

Just a heads up.

Micheal Murray, a rather infamous serial rapist who lived in Sallynoggin has been released after 18 years.

Apparently the prison he was kept in is not to big on rehabilitation, so the suspicion is that he may re-offend.
    He was described by Gardai as "Extremely Dangerous"

Just like back in 1995, take care and don't walk around alone at night in DLR.

I have been urged to tell all women I know about this, so I figured a thread might be helpful.

Link: http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/serial-rapistrsquos-release-sparks-security-alert-1824984.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭scubasteve

Got a discription or a pic? Gf regularly walks home alone from Dun Loaghaire at night after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

scubasteve wrote: »
    Got a discription or a pic? Gf regularly walks home alone from Dun Loaghaire at night after work.

There was a pic in Fridays print edition of the herald.

Just found this link with pic.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/back-on-the-streets-the-convicted-predator-who-raped-four-women-in-six-days-1827204.html

I don't like the tone of that article, at all.
    Its a step too far in my book.

Edit: Just to be clear, its possible that this man may have "learned his lesson".
    I personally hope he has and will live within the laws and not commit any offence.
    But I felt the nature of the case warranted a heads up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

No,its not.He deserves everything that he gets.

Edit:rapists/paedophiles do not learn their lesson.Its a mental deficiency that causes them to commit these horrible crimes,its always going to be in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

d'Oracle wrote: »
    There was a pic in Fridays print edition of the herald.

Just found this link with pic.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/back-on-the-streets-the-convicted-predator-who-raped-four-women-in-six-days-1827204.html

I don't like the tone of that article, at all.
    Its a step too far in my book.

Edit: Just to be clear, its possible that this man may have "learned his lesson".
    I personally hope he has and will live within the laws and not commit any offence.
    But I felt the nature of the case warranted a heads up.

Thats your opinion and you are entitled to it - personally I would be banned if I posted my opinion.

I do think that the article highlights the fact that there us a serial rapist released from prison and regardless of rehabilitated or not (especially as the prison he was housed isnt big on rehabilitation) ..... regardless of if he has seen the light or not - its in the public interest to know that this man has previously raped on more than one occasion.

there are very few reasons to make this kind of criminal change their ways while in prison.

EDIT : I think it might be worth noting this line in the article: The last time he was set free, he attacked six women in six days, raping four of his victims.

the Gardai believe this guy will re-offend so I think the article is justified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

If they have the suspicion he'll offend again, is there nothing they can do to protect people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

If they have the suspicion he'll offend again, is there nothing they can do to protect people?

Like what?

Obviously I'm also not going to suggest that the Gardaí could or should be unprofessional and constantly pick him up on suspicion. But even that doesn't keep him away the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

He's obviously a danger to society and, the law can't do anything about him until he offends again.:eek: That's seriously fecked up.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

amacachi wrote: »
    Like what?

Obviously I'm also not going to suggest that the Gardaí could or should be unprofessional and constantly pick him up on suspicion. But even that doesn't keep him away the whole time.

Well, the article mentions that if people see him, they're supposed to alert the gardai, so obviously, he is a serious threat and danger to our country.

If they're aware he's in Dublin, then my suggestion should be that the gardai are especially vigilant at this time. Most definitely at weekends, when a lot of people will be going out and will be consuming alcohol. Perhaps put extra gardai on the streets, to ensure that people are kept safe and so there's noticed garda presence around.

Well, the article mentions that if people see him, they're supposed to alert the gardai, so obviously, he is a serious threat and danger to our country.

If they're aware he's in Dublin, then my suggestion should be that the gardai are especially vigilant at this time. Most definitely at weekends, when a lot of people will be going out and will be consuming alcohol. Perhaps put extra gardai on the streets, to ensure that people are kept safe and so there's noticed garda presence around.

Ask a Garda about how many more of them there are around to put on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Like what?

Would it be possible to have him sectioned? Then again, that could set a dangerous precedent for the use of mental health laws to target criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

994 wrote: »
    Would it be possible to have him sectioned? Then again, that could set a dangerous precedent for the use of mental health laws to target criminals.

the mental health act is there for use on those people who present a danger to themselves or others because of a mental illness

if there is no evidence of a mental illness, then someone cannot be "sectioned" or detained against their will in a psychiatric hospital.

someone like this guy will be called "sick" "crazy" "psycho" etc etc ect by the press and the public, but that does not mean the guy actually has a mental illness.

it is far more likely that he has a psychopathic personality disorder. personality disorders are not considered psychiatric illnesses, in that they are part of someones personality, their usual "state". personality disorders are defined as "enduring patterns of thinking and behaviour whicha re maladaptive...". they are not teh same as illnesses or "traits" that come to the forefront when someone is ill, eg manic or depressed.

the current mental health act (2001) specifically states that soemone cannot be treated under the act purely because they have a personality disorder, or are socially deviant.

these people fall within the remit of the criminal justice system, not the psychiatric services.

there was a move in england a few years back to make a new category called "dangerous and severe personality disorder" and have these people dealt with by the psych services, but i dont think it actually came to pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭gillo_100

From the first link: "He was given 10 concurrent terms of 18 years and three concurrent terms of three years."

I really don't understand this, why wouldn't they have had the terms run consecutively and let him spend the rest of his life in jail, by Irish law do they have to run concurrently? Obviously he has some serious problems and should not have access to the general public as he is simply a threat to them.

I sincerly doubt he has changed his ways, and even if he has after his previous actions he doesn't deserve to have any sort of decent life.

gillo_100 wrote: »
    From the first link: "He was given 10 concurrent terms of 18 years and three concurrent terms of three years."

I really don't understand this, why wouldn't they have had the terms run consecutively and let him spend the rest of his life in jail, by Irish law do they have to run concurrently? Obviously he has some serious problems and should not have access to the general public as he is simply a threat to them.

I sincerly doubt he has changed his ways, and even if he has after his previous actions he doesn't deserve to have any sort of decent life.

not 100% sure if its not in law - but its common practice.... which is why some criminals continue to commit crimes - as they will all be put together when it comes to sentencing

Sometimes criminals continue to commit crimes after they have been charged and most of the time they receive consecutive sentences when before the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

"He has served less than 13 years of the 18-year sentence"

From the first link.

That's just excellent, isn't it. People like that should be put away for good, they're clearly a danger. Does another woman have to be raped or another child be flashed at before he's put away again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭IceICEbaby

Reading that article gives me the creeps...

Its so incredibly messed up that a man like this is allowed to walk the streets.
    Its also really sickening to think that it will take more peoples' lives to be destroyed before he can be put back where he belongs.
    If he re-offended once, there is a great chance he will do it again.

Cheers for the warning...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I think he should be tagged electroniclay and this kept up for the rest of his life, like they do in england with azbow's if he seen out side his area he gets put straight back in prison do not pass go to not collect 200 euros. it is disgusting that he has been released , he has spent 18 years behinde bars and his face is in all papers so we can all safely no what he looks like. But that does not help anything at all he's still aloud to walk the streets :mad:....

Acacia wrote: »
    "He has served less than 13 years of the 18-year sentence"

From the first link.

That's just excellent, isn't it. People like that should be put away for good, they're clearly a danger. Does another woman have to be raped or another child be flashed at before he's put away again?

thanks to the system that is "europe" and civil rights campaigners ....AND several cases of innocent people convicted on evidence which was later found to be wrong/misleading.

Unfortunately - due to a small amount of incompetence amongst investigating gardai (get the blinkers on a particular suspect and not following other possibilities) and the amount of legal red tape that follows criminal charges in this country the system fails to punish these people properly and keep them off our streets (not to mention the lack of prison facilities and that judges dont live in the real world)

I think he should be tagged electroniclay and this kept up for the rest of his life, like they do in england with azbow's if he seen out side his area he gets put straight back in prison do not pass go to not collect 200 euros. it is disgusting that he has been released , he has spent 18 years behinde bars and his face is in all papers so we can all safely no what he looks like. But that does not help anything at all he's still aloud to walk the streets :mad:....

he spent 13yrs behind bars (remission etc good behaviour)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

galwayrush wrote: »
    He's obviously a danger to society and, the law can't do anything about him until he offends again.:eek: That's seriously fecked up.:(

Insane isn't it? They know he's scum, they know he's dangerous and they're pretty sure that he is going to re-offend so they're going to wait till he ruins the life of at least one more woman until they lock him up again...they let him out early too. Justice at it's very best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

While obviously it can't be posted on a Message Board, hopefully some friendly red-top journos will take it upon themselves to print this animals address, or at least the street he's living on. Bit of community 'look out' wouldn't go astray, a bloke like that can't be allowed walk to the shops on his own as far as I'm concerned, obviously it should be up to the state (in the form of its police service) to keep an eye on him, seeing as it was the state that thought it ok to release him :rolleyes:
    Eighteen months before his rape conviction, Murray received a four-month sentence for indecently exposing himself to a five-year-old girl and a three-year-old boy.

I can't believe they released this man. I'm sure there's plenty of people in Dublin that would love to see him out to be honest, maybe he'll want a police escort everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

PCPhoto wrote: »
    he spent 13yrs behind bars (remission etc good behaviour)

and ? If it was up to me he and the rest of the scum sex offenders would be lea

Living on an of shore island, out cast's of society... with am monthly food drop if there lucky..... I don't see them, as a deserving even to live. they should be used for experiment the pain of rape/child abuse never leave's a family not only do they affect the person but the people with in the family as much as the victim.

Regardless off how long he served behind bar's a man like that should not be allowed in public.

Im sorry I even started this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

Normally things like this don't scare me, but I am scared of this man. Especially since they reckon he will go back to where he is from. Although I can't see the people being too happy about that.

Still I will be extra vigilant from now on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

If it was up to me the death penalty would be brought in for evil f*ckers like this, what purpose do they have in society.

Scary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Im sorry I even started this thread.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

I honestly think he and people like him should just be shot. nevermind sending them to prison or any of that rehab stuff, it never works. just shoot them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

It's a terrible inditement of the judicial system in this country. If he committed these crimes in the US, he'd never walk outside the walls of a correctional facility again in this lifetime.

I wonder how long it will be before he rapes another woman? It's weird, there is a woman out there somewhere right now, probably living and/or working in Dublin, working happily away and minding her own business, whose life is in all probability going to be shattered beyond description when this animal reoffends again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

Darragh29 wrote: »
    It's a terrible inditement of the judicial system in this country. If he committed these crimes in the US, he'd never walk outside the walls of a correctional facility again in this lifetime.

I wonder how long it will be before he rapes another woman? It's weird, there is a woman out there somewhere right now, probably living and/or working in Dublin, working happily away and minding her own business, whose life is in all probability going to be shattered beyond description when this animal reoffends again...

I think people at the very least should be allowed to have mace.

Darragh29 wrote: »

very true, I think its time we got the death penalty in ireland.

Acacia wrote: »
    Why?

This kind of stuff:
    very true, I think its time we got the death penalty in ireland.

I am extremely uncomfortable with the idea of people reacting in this kind of way. He did the crimes, he got a sentence. I don't think it was long enough, but I cannot pass judgement.

There is a risk he will offend again.
    This does not mean he will.
    And any serious offender like this will be under supervision. Just because the herald doesn't say it, doesn't mean he won't.

Killing is wrong. A wig and a gallows does not make it right.
    Taking a life for rape or murder is not justice, its blind hypocrisy.

fair enough, but theres still the chance he'll do it again. id rather see him shot then women in ireland having to go around with one of those rapex things inside them on a daily basis.

I am extremely uncomfortable with the idea of people reacting in this kind of way. He did the crimes, he got a sentence. I don't think it was long enough, but I cannot pass judgement.

There is a risk he will offend again.
    This does not mean he will.
    And any serious offender like this will be under supervision. Just because the herald doesn't say it, doesn't mean he won't.

Killing is wrong. A wig and a gallows does not make it right.
    Taking a life for rape or murder is not justice, its blind hypocrisy.
    Yeah, looks like the thread got into AH mode of gory revenge-fantasies fairly quickly.

Would love to read the judgement, cases like this where judges are shown up for what they are.

fair enough, but theres still the chance he'll do it again. id rather see him shot then women in ireland having to go around with one of those rapex things inside them on a daily basis.

Problem is there is as much a chance that he won't rape again.
    I think it is a fairly MASSIVE chance that the women of this fair isle will not have to walk around with guns and chastity belts because someone raped a few times.

If that was the case then the entire female and u18 male population of the country would have to be locked away for their own safety.

You are talking about executing someone for something they might do.
    Hitler did stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

There's also the chance that the next person you get into a taxi with will rape you though. Should we shoot him too?

Yes, there's a greater risk with this guy. But it's not a risk that can't be minimised by greater awareness, which is what the OP was trying to do by starting the thread. I live in Blackrock, work in Dun Laoghaire, and I'll be extra vigilant from now on... but I'm not going to live in fear just because there's a rapist on the street. There's thousands of rapists on the streets already - difference being, they haven't offended yet, or haven't been caught yet.

Unfounded panic and the introduction of the death penalty isn't going to change anything.

Would love to read the judgement, cases like this where judges are shown up for what they are.

Im not sure what you mean by that, but there are some really stirling people in the judiciary, who are bound by the structures of the law.

There are some bad bastards in there too.

I wouldnt exactly class the death penalty as a fantasy. its just my opinion. i wouldnt have said it if he hadnt offened again. but if you'd rather i say that he should have been left in prison for life at least, there ya go!

Im not sure what you mean by that, but there are some really stirling people in the judiciary, who are bound by the structures of the law.

There are some bad bastards in there too.
    What's the maximum term for rape? Thought it was more than 18 years.
    I wouldnt exactly class the death penalty as a fantasy. its just my opinion. i wouldnt have said it if he hadnt offened again. but if you'd rather i say that he should have been left in prison for life at least, there ya go!
    I'm half in favour of the death penalty myself, but life in prison is probably a better idea. I wasn't referring to your post, more this:
    they should be used for experiment the pain of rape/child abuse never leave's a family not only do they affect the person but the people with in the family as much as the victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yeah, looks like the thread got into AH mode of gory revenge-fantasies fairly quickly.

I fail to see how expressing opinions of fear and anger is a 'mode' of any kind. The topic itself is a serious one, and likely to stir up all kinds of emotions.

OP if you open a thread like this, expect people to want to express their opinions - whether they are ones you agree with or not.

Im for chemical castration for repeat offenders, that is my tuppance worth.

life in prison would be a better option obviously but theres a reason why the death penalty works so well in the states. i mean the system we have here is beyond a joke. although saying he should have life in prison, i mean until the day he dies in there not the 35 year sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

I'm glad you posted the thread, I do think awareness is important in this case.
    I've had the conversation a few times with people, about what would be a just sentence. I wish I had the answer. In this case it seems there's a high chance that he will re offend(has reoffended before, and no rehabilitation) and I think when a person commits crimes like this repeatedly, they give up some of their rights. The most important thing imo is to ensure it doesn't happen again. I'm not convinced that castration or death penalty is the answer.

That's interesting what you said Sam34 about him possibly having a psychopathic personality disorder. It would possibly be the best course of action to have someone like this hospitalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

Abigayle wrote: »

I saw soemthing on RTE not long ago about chemical castration. It was somewhere in eastern Europe, can't think where! Some offenders were apparently requesting it because they knew otherwise they would re-offend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

dearg lady wrote: »
    I'm glad you posted the thread, I do think awareness is important in this case.
    I've had the conversation a few times with people, about what would be a just sentence. I wish I had the answer. In this case it seems there's a high chance that he will re offend(has reoffended before, and no rehabilitation) and I think when a person commits crimes like this repeatedly, they give up some of their rights. The most important thing imo is to ensure it doesn't happen again. I'm not convinced that castration or death penalty is the answer.

That's interesting what you said Sam34 about him possibly having a psychopathic personality disorder. It would possibly be the best course of action to have someone like this hospitalised.

I think part of the answer here is tagging people like this. Someone like this being tagged could mean the difference between him reoffending or not reoffending. If he knows for a certainty that he can be picked up within minutes of him reoffending as gardai would know his exact whereabouts via GPS technology, and can be landed back in custody, then he might not reoffend in a hurry, or at least if he did, he could only reoffend once...

life in prison would be a better option obviously but theres a reason why the death penalty works so well in the states. i mean the system we have here is beyond a joke. although saying he should have life in prison, i mean until the day he dies in there not the 35 year sentence.

How does it work?
    It fails as a deterrant.
    There is a constant stream of murders there.

People who have shown well documented rehabilitation have been executed.
    Tookie Williams was probably more of an asset than threat to society when he was killed.

There is literally NO logical reason to claim the death penalty works in the U.S. bar that people who did something bad are now dead.
    Which is hypocracy.
    I.e. We are going to kill you because its wrong to kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

life in prison would be a better option obviously but theres a reason why the death penalty works so well in the states.

What's your definition of "works so well"? That it's made people not commit those crimes? That taxpayers are spending so much less money on the people who are executed and it's keeping down the prison population?

I'm not sure how I feel about the death penalty, but neither of those statements is the case, really . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Abigayle wrote: »
    I fail to see how expressing opinions of fear and anger is a 'mode' of any kind. The topic itself is a serious one, and likely to stir up all kinds of emotions.

OP if you open a thread like this, expect people to want to express their opinions - whether they are ones you agree with or not.

I'm inclined to concur. But even that is not enough for a man who, while on release pending DPP, raped another five women in short order, appearing to be trying to get as much done as he could before he got locked up.

And whats more, what the hell is with this Mental Health nonsense?

You would prefer to lump a serial rapist in with people with genuine mental health problems?
    People with depression or schizophrenia?

What the hell?
    I hope that having said that you never have someone close to you need treatment for a mental health disorder. Cos you when you get an idea what mental health is about, and the problems faced by people with mental health issues (or even the problems faced by the mental health services), you just might have a problem living with yourself.

This **** is actually distressing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Fair enough death penalty may be extreme, but what he does is extreme! It stirs up a lot of emotions and people are right to be angered by this news, he should not be out free. Why give him a chance? He had his chances and pissed them away ruining someones life for god sake. If the death penalty existed in ireland it would make people think twice about committing horrible crimes such as murder. Punishment should fit the crime, this guy in my opinion should be in for life and never see the outside world again, and i mean life not 35 years or whatever it is. Also OP hitler ordered the execution/death of millions of innocent men, women and children, key word there is innocent, this man is far from innocent.

And whats more, what the hell is with this Mental Health nonsense?

You would prefer to lump a serial rapist in with people with genuine mental health problems?
    People with depression or schizophrenia?

What the hell?
    I hope that having said that you never have someone close to you need treatment for a mental health disorder. Cos you when you get an idea what mental health is about, and the problems faced by people with mental health issues (or even the problems faced by the mental health services), you just might have a problem living with yourself.

I'm getting out of here.
    This **** is actually distressing me.
    Well this is another problem, I mean where does society draw the line between mental health problems and just plain "badness" or "evil"? And who the hell gets to decide?

Looking to America for solutions really really isn't a way to try and combat crime. My favorite piece of their logic is "Right, this guy is going to be out in 15 years, let's treat him like an animal until then, he'll surely be a well-adjusted member of society when he's released." Sure some of them are always going to reoffend, but especially in the case of people who are going to be released at some point it's ridiculous to treat them as they are.

zero19 wrote: »
    Punishment should fit the crime.

Well then he should be repeatedly raped by a meat cleaver or at least a very large stick in that case!

OP, Its all well and dandy posting this to make people aware of the fact that yoke is let loose, and thanks for that but you seriously need to open your head up to other peoples opinions and not get distressed over the conversation youve started.

zero19 wrote: »
    If the death penalty existed in ireland it would make people think twice about committing horrible crimes such as murder. Punishment should fit the crime, this guy in my opinion should be in for life and never see the outside world again, and i mean life not 35 years or whatever it is. Also OP hitler ordered the execution/death of millions of innocent men, women and children, key word there is innocent, this man is far from innocent.

The death penalty does not make people think twice about anything.
    If it did then why do people still get murdered in the US?
    Thats nonsense talk.

And don't bloody twist things around. Are you going to tell me that every person hitler killed was totally innocent?

They weren't all jewish paupers.
    Ever heard of the night of the Long knives?