Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightlife in DCU?

• 15-07-2009 5:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭

Whats it like? I know the social life topic has been asked before, and a lot of answers involved clubs and societies, which i found a bit worrying. Whats the actual going to clubs and house parties situation like in DCU? Are theyre many alcoholics around the place?:P Im not picking my college on partying, i just have it on the cao and i am curious. I wouldnt know many (or any) people going into it, but im hoping to make friends in campus accomodation. I know there is a lot of criticism about the student bar, but are theyre many clubs/pubs in the area? What was your social experience in 1st Yr. DCU? Did you go out often? Is DCU the wrong college to pick for this type of lifestyle? (i also have NUIG on my cao, but that has too much of a fierce rep lol, and most of my friends are going there) Cheers :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

The student population is large enough that you're question doesn't really make sense... There are and likely always will be people who go into clubs often, people who don't go out much, people who don't drink much, people who have lots of house parties etc etc. It's upto you to join whichever crowd you want to.

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭stainluss

cocoa wrote: »
    The student population is large enough that you're question doesn't really make sense... There are and likely always will be people who go into clubs often, people who don't go out much, people who don't drink much, people who have lots of house parties etc etc. It's upto you to join whichever crowd you want to.

thanks for the reply :D i understand this but is it as common for students there as it is in other Universities in Ireland? I ask this as i have heard the student life/party scene in both DIT and DCU criticised (but im not bothered about DIT anyway) As an example when you go to other universities, does there seem to be more of this party atmosphere than in your college?eg. Would there be many house parties in Larkfield?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

What an ambiguous answer that was...
    stainluss wrote: »
    Is DCU the wrong college to pick for this type of lifestyle? (i also have NUIG on my cao, but that has too much of a fierce rep lol, and most of my friends are going there) Cheers :D

I wouldnt return to DCU. There is always some truth to stereotypes and reputations. Dcu has a reputation as a boring and dull place to be. I even thinks theres a sticky about the topic. Im afraid what you;ve heard about Dcu is true. I realize others dont want to admit it but sadly its true. The bar may be packed once a week but thats full of its own problems too. Theres maybe one or two balls a year but that cost isnt worth it in my opinion.

I see you;re from clare so in all likelyhood you'll end up on campus accomodation. I dunno what the scene is like maybe someelse can fill you in.

You;ll get the same line which holds true "college is what you make of it". If you want to get involved, get out there and have a good time you will. It just shouldnt be so hard to do so. You should just be able to go with the flow.

Theres no flow in dcu.

I have pretty much no experience in other colleges, so I can't compare. To be honest I think c0rk3r's answer sort of confirms what I said, not everyone will have the same college experience.

I stayed in Larkfield last year and hampstead this year. There was always plenty going on in larkfield because it's filled with people in college for the first time. There's plenty of eejits being loud at all hours too if that's what you're into. I preferred hampstead because on average people had more sense, but there was still plenty of parties.

I honestly couldn't fault dcu for the social life I've had there and in my experience it didn't take much effort, I just met up with new people who;s company I enjoyed and had great fun. simple.

EDIT:

I also don't think dcu is a dull place. I love the look of the place and I love the fact that I literally cannot walk around campus without seeing at least 3 people I know. I don't really enjoy the ball scene that much myself (prefer house parties for cheapness + control) so I won't comment on that...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I've been wondering about this too... My friend's brother just finished in DCU and he told me that the nightlife was crap.

I'm now very scared.

Stainluss, I suggest we stick together next year and get plastered at every possible turn. Or even start a Drinking Society! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

DCU has a great social scene. If you're bothered taking part.

Even if you somehow mistakenly think that DCU has a crap social life, you're close enough to the city that it doesn't matter.

DCU has a great social scene. If you're bothered taking part.

Even if you somehow mistakenly think that DCU has a crap social life, you're close enough to the city that it doesn't matter.

Regardless, it'll be hip-flask in the pocket from day one... phew...

OneArt wrote: »
    Or even start a Drinking Society! :)

Now yere talking:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Hewhodares

I've just finished DCU and have to say the nightlife is rubbish. The Bar is a joke, its open once a week and they have bands on who play way too loud, if you want to talk you have to go outside to the smoking area. There's no real atmosphere anymore. They only let DCU students in so you cant bring friends over from other colleges. The Balls are good but they security at them is really fussy especially with most balls being held in town(city centre). Though judging from last year the bar is not going to be there next year. Also RAG week is rubbish or RAG half week as they only have stuff on the monday, tuesday and wednesday.

The campus accommodation is grand, except for room inspections, to live in but there's no real life about the place. Overnight guests must be signed on the day before 12 noon. There aren't many house parties and they are generally small. Also be careful if your apply on your own, from people I know and from experience you can end up living with very unsociable people who can be a nightmare to live with if you don't know many people living on campus.

Clubs and socs scene is either something your are into or not. I wasn't to it much. I joined some stuff but wasn't really in to it, some clubs/socs rarely meet up and organize one trip and then nothing else. Theres alot of stereotypes who are a bit ignorant towards new members. Some friends of mine set up their own society and were really involved with the and the students union for the year and since then they haven't done anything with the clubs and socs or the union. Its generally the same faces who are really in to clubs and socs and I've often heard them use the phrase its what you make of it.

On the plus size there is a lot of nice talent in DCU both male and female, female around the business school and library, male around the sports complex.

A lot depends on what your classmates are like, you can be unlucky like I was and be in a really unsociable class where nobody goes out or be in a class where people have loads of nights out or live around campus near you.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Now yere talking:D:D

Unfortunately due to the new Office of Student Life alcohol policy, beer "appreciation" societies are even more of a non runner than they were in the past. :(

I think something that is oft repeated but still bears saying again is college is what you make of it. I just finished my degree this year and I had a great time, if I could go back to first year and do it all again I would.

Sure, the bar sucks. So what? I dont drink during the week personally, but on any given night there are drinks promotions in various venues in town with hordes of DCU students heading in. Most people prefer to drink in someones gaff and then head into town, sure its only 20 minutes on the bus anyway, then hit up charlies afterwards :cool:

Clubs and Socs in DCU are probably the best in the country. Someone said they found them cliquey and poorly organised. There are certain societies that fall prey to this, definately. However, the vast majority are very active and very open to new members. I probably spent about 70% of my free time involved in various clubs and socs over the years.

The rest is up to you, really. Your classes in first year will be pretty huge, but during any tutorials or labs when you're split into groups, you'll get to know people and start making some friends.

Re the overnight guests situation, I agree its a pain in the hole, but its worth living on campus in first year to get your bearings, and likely you'll be sharing with first years also. However, once second year comes around get the hell out of there. Shanowen Square/Hall are pretty much the same price as hampstead and far more relaxed. Gateway is a bit cheaper but a bit of a trek. A lot of people share houses in the area also.

One important thing about clubs and socs that many freshers sometimes dont realise - they're not purely focused on the named activity of the society, most go on a variety of social outings ; Games Soc this year went ice skating, on cinema trips, karaoke, bit of grub and of course a few pints too. Even if you're not mad into an activity, its still a great venue to meet people to just have the craic with.

Generally people who dismiss DCU's social life as crap think its completely synonymous with getting hammered. Thats part of it sure, but not all of it. Even if the bar is crap, there are still decent balls on and off campus throughout the year, various comedians, plays, pantos, everything under the sun really. If you go into DCU with an open mind you'll have great craic :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

DCU has a great social scene, the clubs and socs scene is brilliant if you bother to get involved. It's just a bit sad that people only seem to care about getting ****faced.

robby^5 wrote: »
    DCU has a great social scene, the clubs and socs scene is brilliant if you bother to get involved. It's just a bit sad that people only seem to care about getting ****faced.

so those sorts wouldn't be as happy at dcu? ive heard a lot of good about your socs but surely there must be more to the social scene than those

• Registered Users Posts: 15 dcuhead

I just finished 4 years in DCU and I think it has mad night life. I remember (vaguely due to the mass amounts of alcohol consumed) partying everynight of the week for orientation and freshers week in 1st year. This is when you will make friends...the friends I made then are still my best friends today.

I lived on campus for the 4 years and could think of no better place. Yeah the overnight rules and inspeactions suck but it IS where all the criac is. There is ALWAYS a party on in some apartment,you are surrounded by all your friends so there is always drinking,fun and hijinx to be had!

Dont mind all those non believers saying how crap DCU is....you need to make the most of your time there. GET INVOLVED. Or even if you are not into clubs and socs you will find your own fun with all your newly made friends.

Some of the above posters saying "the one or two balls a year are not worth the money". What a load of RUBBISH. Any friends I had that visited from other Unis could not believe how good DCU events were. There are sooooo many balls u lose track...orientation ball, freshers ball,casino ball,halloween ball, christmas ball, valentines ball, rag ball, summer ball, clubs and socs ball, pimps and hoes....etc etc. It depends on the SU eachyear to organize good events and good bands...as with any night out the more people you know the more fun you have so again..GET INVOLVED!!

There are also regular cluns that you will end up going to in 1st year...like BARCODE every thursday or XXI every monday...Crawdaddy or TRIPOD on Wednesday... If you wnat to drink and party there will ALWAYS be people to go along with. Dont worry about it...go with the flow,make friends,have fun,go wild...!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

It's always the same answers for this question - people saying that the clubs and socs are great and that there are loads of student nights in town during the week etc.....this is true but it's also true nearly every other university in the country has a student bar that's buzzing most nights of the week in which you can meet loads of new people - DCU doesn't have this.
    Drinking in gaffs and heading to student clubs in town is grand with your mates but not really for meeting new people at college.
    I met some of my best mates now on drunken monday and tuesday nights at UCD student bar when I went there.

Unfortunately due to the new Office of Student Life alcohol policy, beer "appreciation" societies are even more of a non runner than they were in the past. :(

lol

Whoever said it would be a beer appreciation society? I'm more of a wine-and-vodka drinker myself.

I'm sure a Wine Society would fare much better. We'd have an air of sophistication AND get drunk at the same time. Everybody wins :). Except Meg Griffin. Because she sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

OneArt wrote: »
    I'm sure a Wine Society would fare much better. We'd have an air of sophistication AND get drunk at the same time.

Pretty sure you just described Debate Soc. Without the sophistication bit, of course :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Yeah, its a **** night life compared to the other Uni's and the clubs and socs peopole are cliquey and weird

Also, the balls always get sold out because the SU takes a **** load of tickets for themselves to give to their friends and sell on.

But hey, its in Dublin, just head into coppers or something and party with better universities

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Insulting_Bitch

DCU can be dull but so can every other college in the country. Dublin has countless colleges and you can have the best craic and that is simply down to having the right group of friends to have that fun with.

Larkfield is great fun and the best way to meet fellow first years. It's by far the best place to be for first year.

Being from Clare myself, trust me you will not look at the Queens in the same way again.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Nanaki

I couldn't agree more with cocoa's first two posts.
    He's dead right.
    It's a crap "night life" if you do nothing, sure.
    If you make friends, go out, do things, enjoy yourself (thoroughly, as I did the 9 months I was there, mostly in larkfield actually), then what's to bitch and moan about?

People say "college is what you make of it". I'll be totally honest, I agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

so those sorts wouldn't be as happy at dcu? ive heard a lot of good about your socs but surely there must be more to the social scene than those

No thats not the case at all, if you want to go out drinking then, contrary to the naysayers, it's not DCU's fault if you dont do exactly that. There'll be nothing stopping you once you meet all the new people you'll meet in first year.

The people complaing about DCU's nightlife are whingers, nothing more nothing less. So there's only a bar open on campus sporadically, so what? What's to stop all these complainers from getting their classmates to go out to town together for a night out? All it takes is getting up before a lecture or sending out a mail and saying "hey how about a class night out?" and there ya go, tons of people to go out drinkign with! It's pretty simple.

You see the people who complain about DCU's social scene/nightlife are generally the same people who dislike clubs and socs, funny isnt it? That these people who complain about DCU's social scene dont want a part in one of it's biggest driving forces and those involved in clubs and socs have nothing but praise for the social scene.

Its pretty evident most of these people dont give a **** about DCU's social scene and just want somewhere convinient to drink.

Lots of people want the bar back, it'd be great... but its not the end of the world and its not the focal point of DCU's social scene.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Many posters here seem highly confused. The topic is "Nightlife in DCU", when the OP talks about 'social life' s/he seems to be clearly referring to nightlife.

Maybe I'm wrong, but some here and on other threads about this topic also seem to nearly have a problem with drink. Whatever about extrema cases and the demonisation of drink by the few, most people in Ireland and beyond see alcohol as a perfectly ok form of stimulant or relaxant (which ever way you want to look at it). Some people still have to come to terms with this.

In any case, all of this is highly subjective. If you're not into nightlife or not as much as others, or have other reasons, then fine. It's a personal choice. You don't have to like everything others like and they don't have to like what you like.
    The student population is large enough that you're question doesn't really make sense...

If the person's question does not make any sense, isn't strange that so many people on here ask the same question in one way or another again and again?
    ...college is what you make of it. ...
    Nanaki wrote: »
    ..."college is what you make of it"...

"College is what you make of it" [sic]

The thing is, at one level you can't fault the saying -- it's true at one level, everything is what you make of it. For example, a person can make a bad day into a positive one if they want to. A person can blind them selves to something depressing and get on with their life. However, that can be missing the point. It can be being blind to actual problems and letting problem grow, rather than fixing them. Your life it what you make of it, but you're going to have an easer time if you have the right or create the right environment for your needs.

And, yes, I would agree it's a crap nightlife if you do nothing. I'm enjoying my time at DCU so-far, but there seems to be major problems -- namely problems with social cohesion.
    Sure, the bar sucks. So what?...
    So there's only a bar open on campus sporadically, so what?...

The apparent problem in DCU is looks to be social cohesion. There is likely to be other factors, but not having a full-time and decent bar could be seen as a large factor alone. I'm sure there's complex reasons behind this, but put quite simply, it physically separates the social life / nightlife. Other factors could include students many students not even been aware of the the student-focused bar just off campus -- It mainly seems to be people in one soc or another who just go there -- everybody else seem to be blind or unknowing of it. Loose dispersion to other bars in North Dublin and the city centre plays it part too.

I've also had it suggested to me that having a high percentage of students from Dublin as a reason for social dispersion in DCU (more likely to stick to older grouping of friends, more likely to go home straight away in the evening).

Added to this is wider social and economic trends and issues such as more off trade / drinking at home (not good for social inclusion when there's no proper campus bar and where there's cases of social rooms on campus res being locked) and, indeed, people having less money to spend in the last year (but DCU's apparent problems seem to be longer term).

In short, some points been made here are too simplistic. Just because you do not have problems your self does not mean there are no problems. And just because there are ways and means around the problems for some, it does not mean that things can and should not be better.
    You see the people who complain about DCU's social scene/nightlife are generally the same people who dislike clubs and socs, funny isnt it? That these people who complain about DCU's social scene dont want a part in one of it's biggest driving forces and those involved in clubs and socs have nothing but praise for the social scene.

Is this post serious?

If so, would you be shocked to hear that I had more than a few conversations last year with people involved with socs who see that there are clearly problems with the social life?

On the other hand, I know there's also those in socs who will come close to foaming at the mouth if you suggest anything is wrong. But that's another story.

monument wrote: »
    If the person's question does not make any sense, isn't strange that so many people on here ask the same question in one way or another again and again?

Doesn't seem strange to me, I see people do and say things that don't make sense all the time...

IMO, you can be part of the problem or part of the solution. anyone can make the extra effort to stand up and organise a class party, and anyone (sadly) can go around whinging about the lack of class parties. Yes, it would be nice if when you came to college all your social interactions were handed to you on a plate, but the night life has to be made by the students, for the students, and this includes all incoming students...

IMO, you can be part of the problem or part of the solution. anyone can make the extra effort to stand up and organise a class party, and anyone (sadly) can go around whinging about the lack of class parties.

Yes, students have their part to play, and, yes, whining about all the time without doing something at one level or another is counter-productive. But denying there are large problems in DCU -- as many here are doing -- is also counter-productive.
    Yes, it would be nice if when you came to college all your social interactions were handed to you on a plate, but the night life has to be made by the students, for the students, and this includes all incoming students...

On a scale, at one extrema you have everything handed to you on a plate and on the far side you have massive problems for social cohesion. DCU lies somewhere towards the problems for social cohesion side of the scale, but way from the extreme end of the scale.

What exactly is stopping someone from standing up and organising something? What's stopping someone going out with people they met in their course / club / soc?

The only thing I can think of that's missing is some cool place (ok, let's call it a bar) where you can go and be sure to find DCU students. But to be honest, I don't really think DCU students are on average any higher or lower quality of people than anyone else, so I don't really mind...

What exactly is stopping someone from standing up and organising something? What's stopping someone going out with people they met in their course / club / soc?

The only thing I can think of that's missing is some cool place (ok, let's call it a bar) where you can go and be sure to find DCU students. But to be honest, I don't really think DCU students are on average any higher or lower quality of people than anyone else, so I don't really mind...

Nothing is stopping people from doing those things, and I'm not saying there's anything wrong with DCU students.

But without 'some cool place', or a bar, DCU's social life in general is starting at a disadvantage compared to most other colleges. On a simple level, a full time, well run, and popular bar on campus can act as a social place to meet on campus and can allow for more interaction across grouping such as the people in your course / club / soc etc.

And, as mentioned my other post, other factors (such as overly restrictive campus res) also have their affect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

monument wrote: »
    Many posters here seem highly confused. The topic is "Nightlife in DCU", when the OP talks about 'social life' s/he seems to be clearly referring to nightlife.

Maybe I'm wrong, but some here and on other threads about this topic also seem to nearly have a problem with drink. Whatever about extrema cases and the demonisation of drink by the few, most people in Ireland and beyond see alcohol as a perfectly ok form of stimulant or relaxant (which ever way you want to look at it). Some people still have to come to terms with this.

In any case, all of this is highly subjective. If you're not into nightlife or not as much as others, or have other reasons, then fine. It's a personal choice. You don't have to like everything others like and they don't have to like what you like.

"College is what you make of it" [sic]

The thing is, at one level you can't fault the saying -- it's true at one level, everything is what you make of it. For example, a person can make a bad day into a positive one if they want to. A person can blind them selves to something depressing and get on with their life. However, that can be missing the point. It can be being blind to actual problems and letting problem grow, rather than fixing them. Your life it what you make of it, but you're going to have an easer time if you have the right or create the right environment for your needs.

And, yes, I would agree it's a crap nightlife if you do nothing. I'm enjoying my time at DCU so-far, but there seems to be major problems -- namely problems with social cohesion.

The apparent problem in DCU is looks to be social cohesion. There is likely to be other factors, but not having a full-time and decent bar could be seen as a large factor alone. I'm sure there's complex reasons behind this, but put quite simply, it physically separates the social life / nightlife. Other factors could include students many students not even been aware of the the student-focused bar just off campus -- It mainly seems to be people in one soc or another who just go there -- everybody else seem to be blind or unknowing of it. Loose dispersion to other bars in North Dublin and the city centre plays it part too.

I've also had it suggested to me that having a high percentage of students from Dublin as a reason for social dispersion in DCU (more likely to stick to older grouping of friends, more likely to go home straight away in the evening).

Added to this is wider social and economic trends and issues such as more off trade / drinking at home (not good for social inclusion when there's no proper campus bar and where there's cases of social rooms on campus res being locked) and, indeed, people having less money to spend in the last year (but DCU's apparent problems seem to be longer term).

In short, some points been made here are too simplistic. Just because you do not have problems your self does not mean there are no problems. And just because there are ways and means around the problems for some, it does not mean that things can and should not be better.

Is this post serious?

If so, would you be shocked to hear that I had more than a few conversations last year with people involved with socs who see that there are clearly problems with the social life?

On the other hand, I know there's also those in socs who will come close to foaming at the mouth if you suggest anything is wrong. But that's another story.

tl;dr. Summary please.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

monument's post contains some excellent points carlowboy so do yourself a favour and read it.

Fuhrer, less of those posts please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭FeetMagic

Does DCU not have a college bar?

It has two bars, but due to big problems with management they aren't open all the time. Last year only one of them was open and just on Tuesday nights. There's hopes to improve the situation and get new management but it's hard to say what it'll be like next year or the year after, could (hopefully will) be better, could be worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Im not not much of a party person myself, so sounds like ill be ok as long as I find myself some fellow nerds...

Maybe there's not nightlife because everyones sitting around waiting for everyone else to start parties, etc?