Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will the current decade be remembeered?

• 03-07-2009 2:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭

As the decade reaches its end, I was thinking.
    How will people remember the naughties? What major earth shattering events have taken place in the last 9 1/2 years? What will be the stereotypical "00's style"? What will be the decades cultural legacy?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Y2K, 9/11, Afghanistan, iPod, iRaq, Saddam Hussein, Youtube, Face****, 2girls1cup, Kilkenny winning the hurling again, recession, depression, Britney Spears, Obama, Wacko Jacko. We didn't start the fire it was always burning since the world's been turning.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

reggae reggae sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Spose we'll have to wait...does it not just seem like "the 90's continued"? A few memorable events...

- Millenium 2000 (Millenium Bug, remember that?)
    - CELTAAAAC TIGGGGER WOOOOHOOO
    - Growth of mobile phones
    - Growth of internet
    - Growth of computers
    - 9/11 and related events
    - Invasion of Middle East
    - Russia and Georgia conflict
    - North Korea's continued unsettlement
    - Ireland see's relative peace in the North
    - Ireland and the Nice Treaty, Lisbon Treaty
    - The Tsunami in Sri Lanka and surrounding areas
    - Ireland winning Grand Slam and Triple Crown in rugby
    - The late 2000's recession
    - Inauguration of first black US president
    - H1N1 swine flu scare (first pandemic in 50 years)
    - The Ryan Report
    - Death of Michael Jackson

That's about all that I can quickly recall

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 8,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rhyme

The internet exploded, leaving a sticky mess on everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

javaboy wrote: »
    2girls1cup

I've never seen this:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

War, death, destruction, economic ruin and High School Musical.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Boards.ie's domination of Irish media

Looking forward to Friday pints I take it OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

9/11, Obama and Recession are the three I will remember most vividly.

Musically, it was the ****test decade ever and it's getting worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

K4t wrote: »
    9/11, Obama and Recession are the three I will remember most vividly.

Musically, it was the ****test decade ever and it's getting worse.
    I agree, only like 10 songs out of an entire decade I can think of worth remembering. Pop culture **** is well and truly in control now, and online downloading is causing this kinda mass-production of fast selling music.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I remember going into the bar ordering my first pint of Jameson but it's a bit hazy after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

White headphones..

Seriously...
    Imagine you were shown a photo of somebody and asked to pick when it was from..

Flares and mad shirts = 70's
    Insaine hair or a suit with a power tie = 80's
    slightly different outdated clothing (Possibly involving Xworks) = 90's
    White headphones=00's

Say what you want about apple but WOW thats impressive :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

eddiehead wrote: »
    I've never seen this:confused:

It's scat porn. NSFW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

massive worldwide economic boom followed by apocolyptic collapse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Lushed1

The Birth and Death (thank fück) of Big Brother

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

javaboy wrote: »
    It's scat porn. NSFW.

NSFW? Its not safe for the undead eyes of Lucifer himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭gandhi123

It'd have to be death of the most influential persons to have ever lived... His presence will always be felt and his existence never forgotten.. Never was man so missed as the day he passed.

R.I.P Mr. Miyagi :(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,510 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

They'll probably look back at the reality tv of the noughties and react to them with the same bemusement we do with many things from the 80's.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

Its funny how musical trends go too. At the start of this decade, anything 90s was considered so naff. Now, look at all the 90s bands etc making comebacks. We moan about the music nowadays, but it'll probably come full circle too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

9/11
    Iraq War
    Simon Cowell
    Lost
    YouTube
    Superhero Movies
    1st U.S Black President
    Big Brother
    Abramovich buys Chelsea
    Hair Straighteners
    Cristiano Ronaldo
    "Metrosexuals"
    Hurricane Katrina
    Kanye West
    Fox News
    Britney goes insane
    Lord of the Rings films
    Recession
    Greece somehow win Euro 2004
    George Bush
    Hip Hop becomes Pop
    Bebo/Facebook/Twitter
    iPod
    The Simpsons stops being funny
    Nintendo Wii
    MJ dies

• Registered Users Posts: 15 -El-Nino-

The creation of The Sub of the Day... oooh Meatball Marinara;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Possibly something that hasn't yet happened! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

mike65 wrote: »
    The fall of Capitalism and the rise of Socialism. That would be quite funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,510 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

K4t wrote: »
    The fall of Capitalism and the rise of Socialism. That would be quite funny.

Speak for yourself! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭gandhi123

mike65 wrote: »

Never even tot of it like that...

This music is appropriate for that post:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

9/11
    iPods
    Internet goes mainstream
    Recession
    Obama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

reality tv......shudder

Dubya
    Tony Blair
    Katrina
    7/7 London Bombings
    9/11
    Obama
    Indian Ocean Tsunami
    Chelski
    Michael Phelps - record haul
    Usain Bolt - 2 WR 1 Olympics
    Global Warming
    Social Networking
    Hip Hop
    Grand Theft Auto
    Wii

erm

erm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭well horse

One thing I'd add is this massive increase in the number of atheists, partly due to the efforts of dawkins and others I would imagine.
    Just reading these boards seems to show how few and far between believers are these days; progress being made in my opinion!

Other things this decade will be remembered for in Ireland;
    Vastly improved relations with the North
    Bill Clinton visit in 2000
    Foot and mouth disease
    Introduction of Euro
    Miraculous (and eventually squandered) economic growth until the end of 2007
    World cup 2002 and the Roy Keane story
    Bertie Ahern
    Brian Cowen
    Economic Crisis towards the end of the decade due to mismanagement of boom-time wealth
    Wet summers of '07 and '08
    Oxegen music festivals
    Massive level of inward migration leading to much greater racial diversity
    Countrys youth becomes more "americanised" (a bad development in my opinion...also become more expectant and ungrateful)
    Lads hairstyles start off short, start getting longer around 2006

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Remembeering things gets more difficult the longer the decade goes on. Its a good thing I spent all that lotto money on Marks and Spencers beer 9 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

On a personal level, it will be the decade I grew to adulthood in.

In history, it will be the decade where the west started a long and terminal decline in power after over 200 years on top.