Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy electrical unions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

IvySlayer wrote: »
    It's absolutely shocking.

Especially in this Current Economic Climate!

Took ages, I know :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,280 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Boggle wrote: »
    Some employers may be scabby (the big boys on the big contracts) but those are a world away from the small guys bidding for granny's extension and other discretionary projects.

If the price is too high granny simply wont do the extension and there'll be no work. Why do people refuse to see this?

Also, when quoting for new state contracts who will win - the Irish or the Northern Irish (with pay rates much much lower) company??

Or the Polish company- I've had two very professional brochures from Polish contractors in my door in the last week........ Can't say we didn't see that coming........

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I wish the unions would follow the good example of people like our Judges, expenses cheating TD's, etc.....oh hang on, they are...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

galwayrush wrote: »
    I wish the unions would follow the good example of people like our Judges, expenses cheating TD's, etc.....oh hang on, they are...........

Actually they are better than the TD's.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

thebman wrote: »
    Actually they are better than the TD's.

Shocking............:eek:

Grabs coat and runs.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

WindSock wrote: »

Took ages, I know :(

13 posts to be exact. :p

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60975415&postcount=13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Occam

irish_bob wrote: »
    , joe or jim or conor is getting an apprentice as a sparky , seriously , every second young fella when finished school chose this profession where i live , i woud wager they make up the bulk of proffesions on the dole right now

When did electricians become professionals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hmmm listening to that dude Eamonn Devoy this morning, seems to be a fairly belligerent dude and well able to defend his corner.

Throw back to the old days.

Could be a very interesting dispute,except for the poor unfortunates who lose out over it.

I've invested in several bags of tea candles and a large box of kitchen matches. Thank God its not wintertime......

Don't think you need to worry about supply-yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

smccarrick wrote: »
    Or the Polish company- I've had two very professional brochures from Polish contractors in my door in the last week........ Can't say we didn't see that coming........

They have seen an opportunity to wipeout the local competition and no better time. Fair play to them i say.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

From what I understand of the situation, the sparks should have got the increase last year, the companys they worked for then began to factor this increase into the quotes and tenders they had but didn't pass it on to the electricians so in essence the companys have been taking the increase and lining their pockets with it.

Based on that I think they have a right to strike but having said that when it means that other workers end up being placed on protective notice then it's a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Occam wrote: »
    When did electricians become professionals?

profession , not profesional ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Occam

profession , not profesional ,

Its a trade, not a profession.

Occam wrote: »
    Its a trade, not a profession.

Try telling that the TEEU..... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Toupee Chevara of the TEEU and others of the same ilk will destroy this country even more than it already has been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

GDM wrote: »
    From what I understand of the situation, the sparks should have got the increase last year, the companys they worked for then began to factor this increase into the quotes and tenders they had but didn't pass it on to the electricians so in essence the companys have been taking the increase and lining their pockets with it.

Based on that I think they have a right to strike but having said that when it means that other workers end up being placed on protective notice then it's a bit much.

Just to note that it's not true that all contractors began to factor it in. Contract can state that rate that client pays contractor is based on REA so if it wasnt increased then the contractor didnt get increased rate. Some contractors on big contracts or with service contracts may have be able to charge higher rate but it is disingenious to say all contractors charged higher rate and pocketed the difference, the market is so bad out there and competitive that clients wouldnt accept a higher rate based on an REA that hadnt been signed and sealed yet.
    Vast majority of contractors are small and would not have any ability to pass on a higher rate as non union contractors are undercutting them etc.
    Some electricians may be entitled to back pay for some projects around country but vast majprity arent.
    The REA system really needs revamp or scrapping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I would say most of these Electricians will become unemployed in the next two years as the final building projects that are currently underway dry up.
    They will get what they deserve soon enough - a kick up the arse and a P45.

I would also like to add my disgust at the Karl Marx lookalikes that dominate "de wurkers" trade unions - because the rest of us who are not in unions and have a bit of cash are not "wurkers" obviously:rolleyes:

The Government should bring in the emergency legislation it did in 1940 - that gives employers 100% right to sack any "wurker" that strikes. An economic emergency exists that threathens the state therefore I think that should be done immediately. These moron electricians (who have watched 200,000 other construction colleagues being let go) are living on a different planet.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

They were promised a pay rise. It was withheld from then, despite being court mandated. since 2006.

Now they are being asked to take a 10% pay cut.

How are people misunderstanding this position?
    2006 was a long time ago. Yes the companies were wrong not to pay , but without action from the unions they got away with it. And I doubt it's the first time either.

Trades people and builders are well known spending now and not for putting money aside for the future. The world and it's mother knows that that money was spent long ago. Builders going bust with large debts, happens at the end of every building boom here, homebond scheme is a reflection of this. You don't let debts build up for years to an industry where there is a rep of people closing down and re-opening up later with a new name.

I still don't understand why it took so long for this to rear it's head, strikes / threats in 2007 / early 2008 might have done something. Why wait until past the peak in construction ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I still don't understand why it took so long for this to rear it's head, strikes / threats in 2007 / early 2008 might have done something. Why wait until past the peak in construction ?

You have to laugh at the timing, the country going to hell in a handcart and lads looking for an 11% increase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

darkman2 wrote: »
    I would say most of these Electricians will become unemployed in the next two years as the final building projects that are currently underway dry up.
    They will get what they deserve soon enough - a kick up the arse and a P45.

I would also like to add my disgust at the Karl Marx lookalikes that dominate "de wurkers" trade unions - because the rest of us who are not in unions and have a bit of cash are not "wurkers" obviously:rolleyes:

The Government should bring in the emergency legislation it did in 1940 - that gives employers 100% right to sack any "wurker" that strikes. An economic emergency exists that threathens the state therefore I think that should be done immediately. These moron electricians (who have watched 200,000 other construction colleagues being let go) are living on a different planet.

These union /socialist types never smile either do they! Say yer one Claire Daly on Vincent Browne last night and yet again she had a face on her like a bulldog sucking a lemon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

It's been through the LRC in 2007 and been in the high court for the last year, which would explain why it's taking so long.

The TEEC are now taking action to speed up the process. The Unions would settle for no cut/no raise, which the employers won't do as they want to squeeze every penny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

It really seems like the media and public are going to town on them for having patience with their employers during the last part of the boom and following proper procedure.

Conclusion, the public are never happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

These union /socialist types never smile either do they! Say yer one Claire Daly on Vincent Browne last night and yet again she had a face on her like a bulldog sucking a lemon.

Do you ever get the feeling when looking at Claire Daly and people like her that they just never found something that they were happy doing, they are unfilled people who never reached or dared to reach their full potential so they ended up in this place in their minds where they are more in conflict with themselves than they are with employers or these people that they are always out to pick a fight with on TV shows...

There is nothing more unfortunate in this world I think than the person who dares not to reach their full potential...

People like Claire daly and other intransigent people who want to pick a fight with employers should be stuck on a reality TV show and told to start up a business. They have no idea how hard people work to create jobs...

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Do you ever get the feeling when looking at Claire Daly and people like her that they just never found something that they were happy doing, they are unfilled people who never reached or dared to reach their full potential so they ended up in this place in their minds where they are more in conflict with themselves than they are with employers or these people that they are always out to pick a fight with on TV shows...

There is nothing more unfortunate in this world I think than the person who dares not to reach their full potential...

People like Claire daly and other intransigent people who want to pick a fight with employers should be stuck on a reality TV show and told to start up a business. They have no idea how hard people work to create jobs...

No Darragh I never get that feeling.

Reason being that people like her and her cohorts are perfectly happy, I say again,perfectly happy to snipe, destruct, inhibit any modicum of initiative which any business person choses to initiate.

People like her are no fools and have a definite modus operandi.

What they do is embed themselves into a state or semi state employment and then from an almost unsackable position, riddled with privileges,proceed to peddle their outdated mantra and political outlook.
    Far from enhancing the company with their efforts,they use every means at their disposal to make life difficult, and seem to revel in endless and convoluted series of negotiations before even the most insignifcant of work practice changes are agreed.

Take a look around and see if that statement is not true?

In a small private company people of her ilk would be shown the door rapido.

While I don't think that Unions are ,per se, bad things, I certainly feel that they should have some realisation that the economic times we live in should have some bearing in their most bellicose attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Can ye all have a strike in support of me next week?

I've had no pay increase in 2 years, which is effectively a pay decrease due to inflation. And in the last 6 years, my yearly bonus has gone from tax-free €2800 to a taxed €225. Add in the 50% increase in PRSI payments, and the 2% income levy (i.e. tax that they didn't wany to call a tax).

I get no overtime (just time-for-time), no travel allowance & I sometimes have to work unsocial hours.

So please, come out in support of me and my fellow workers next week. I expect at least 10,000 of you on O'Connell street next saturday!

/sarcasm off

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

My mate got put on protective notice today down in Moneypoint.

Did no one think that jobs would be lost by taking this strike route?

He's a single father and is actually thinking about crossing the picket line to save his job.. sure what other employment would he get if he loses this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I've no doubt jobs will be lost. I also know a guy who lost his job some months back, family of 3, got a new contract recently but now can't work because of the idiotic TEEU. He can't show up for work and therefore he doesn't get paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

connundrum wrote: »
    My mate got put on protective notice today down in Moneypoint.

Did no one think that jobs would be lost by taking this strike route?

He's a single father and is actually thinking about crossing the picket line to save his job.. sure what other employment would he get if he loses this?

id cross the picket if i was him , thier is enough sheep who wont cross it , tell your mate to dare to be different , he cannot let other peoples petty short sightedness threaten his livelyhood

Its not that easy- with every good intention in the world- if you cross a picket line you leave yourself open to having your possessions destroyed, being abused and humiliated by colleagues- which may not stop at being spat at and called all sorts of names, and you leave yourself in a position where you simply cannot trust that your colleagues have your best interests at heart- specifically in a situation where electricity, water and building sites are concerned......

Its not a case of daring to be different- its a case of making a conscious decision not to support these people- and believe you me- the sort of people who man picket lines can have very long memories.