Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

just talking to friends and watching stargate, off now to bed!
    it was ugly, but cheap, dont really car what cars look like, wouldnt want an expensive one.
    It was blue, my sisters is red! I miss driving, it's really fun

night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Does having a hot ass entitle you to run the country if you're male hmmm

let's see....Brian Cowen, Bertie Ahern, John Bruton, Albert Reynolds, Charlie Haughey.......................................not the sexiest mofos ever........

I couldn't do worse than Cowen though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Absurdum wrote: »
    let's see....Brian Cowen, Bertie Ahern, John Bruton, Albert Reynolds, Charlie Haughey.......................................not the sexiest mofos ever........

I couldn't do worse than Cowen though

I don't understand...are you saying Briand Cowen isn't sexy? Now he's no Enday Kenny I'll grant you. Drooool

Edit: Some knacker set fire to a skip outside my house and I got to see a fire engine up close! Woo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

Edit: Some knacker set fire to a skip outside my house and I got to see a fire engine up close! Woo!

=/

I've a group of around 20 kids outside my house. It was ok when it was only snowballs... They broke my front door now and the guards won't come out because of the snow. Nothing we can do against 10 year olds anyway.

There's something seriously wrong with kids these days.

Kids need to be beaten severely, that's the only way to learn 'em.

I agree.

The fact that they think I'm 15 means that I could totally beat them up. The fact that I'm actually 19 means that as soon as they complained to their mammy she'd report me!

They're sorta gone now. They were annoying my dad (chasing kids away doesn't work anymore). I came out, they went "oh is that your daughter? How old is she?" I went back inside, heard "I think she's around 15. She's a pretty one." So now I'm considering the morality of luring kids inside with the promise of boob-showing, and then kidnapping until the guards can come (could be weeks as I've never seen them come to anything in Lucan, not even proper crimes literally down the road from them). If the kids starve to death it's not my problem.

There's my maternal mood gone.

jesus :eek:

I think you should have a drink, I'm gonna hit the Captain N Coke soon, don't think I'll be driving anywhere anytime soon

jesus :eek:

I think you should have a drink, I'm gonna hit the Captain N Coke soon, don't think I'll be driving anywhere anytime soon

Well guess who'd be paying for a broken door? If it weren't for the new door that we were going to install in the next few days anyway, I'd be seriously pissed off and would probably be finding out where the kids live, just about now.

In case it wasn't obvious: I wouldn't hurt a kid! I don't actually agree with solving things with violence. Much less if it's against children. If I really did, those kids would have broken limbs already, wounds inflicted by my underage friends. It's not that hard, but I wouldn't do it.

Seriously, it's not nice having 21 children (I counted) pretty much attacking your house for no reason at all. And yes, it is an attack if it involves stones, insults and banging.

I don't usually drink in the house, though it is tempting.
    Are you drinking by yourself like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Woah...what a little bunch of cnutbags!! I'd gladly take a charge sheet for destroying a few of them...I've told you before that if it involves my home or personal safely, all bets are off:mad:

I've been told about Lucan gardai before, and that they are about as useful as a cocolate teapot, lazy bunch of idiots!

Hope you're ok out there! How dare they just decide to break your door:eek: Oh it's such a good thing I'm not there grrrrr!

Mmmm unfilled chocolate teapot..

They're kids. They know they can do anything. They're not even old enough to get arrested.

My neighbour had problems with teenagers years ago and of course the police wouldn't do anything. So he fought back. He didn't get convicted because even though it was a very violent situation (won't go into details for obvious reason), the guards had enough complaints from him that it was considered self defence and defending his property.

Well guess who'd be paying for a broken door? If it weren't for the new door that we were going to install in the next few days anyway, I'd be seriously pissed off and would probably be finding out where the kids live, just about now.

In case it wasn't obvious: I wouldn't hurt a kid! I don't actually agree with solving things with violence. Much less if it's against children. If I really did, those kids would have broken limbs already, wounds inflicted by my underage friends. It's not that hard, but I wouldn't do it.

Seriously, it's not nice having 21 children (I counted) pretty much attacking your house for no reason at all. And yes, it is an attack if it involves stones, insults and banging.

Fight fire with fire, or snowballs in this case. I was out for a walk with my dog earlier, the doggy poo bag was ready to be thrown at any snowball attacks!

I'll be drinking with the other half! Drinking alone is to be frowned upon I guess....
    I've been told about Lucan gardai before, and that they are about as useful as a cocolate teapot, lazy bunch of idiots!

All they ever do is checkpoints for tax and insurance, I know cuz I get stopped at one at least once a week. Probably too cold for them these days though.

Fight fire with fire, or snowballs in this case. I was out for a walk with my dog earlier, the doggy poo bag was ready to be thrown at any snowball attacks!

Would have to be stones as well, and random banging against them, and insulting them. Oh wait, they're underage. Nevermind.
    I'll be drinking with the other half! Drinking alone is to be frowned upon I guess....
    Awww I hope you have a nice evening with her ^_^ (So cute!)

All they ever do is checkpoints for tax and insurance, I know cuz I get stopped at one at least once a week. Probably too cold for them these days though.

Once a week? That can't be around here then. You'd rarely see the Guards doing anything, even if it's just to get fines off drivers. The only time in recent memory I remember the Gardai doing some work in Lucan (bar car accidents, because if they don't show up then people complain more), is the night before my Junior Cert night, them telling us not to drink. Oh and when they came to my school in 1st or 2nd year to show us a video about the dangers of alcohol.

Can't remember any more than that. Not even when my school got robbed... My school being down the road from them.

Awww I hope you have a nice evening with her ^_^ (So cute!)
    and my 9 month old daughter and my dog :)
    they'll be asleep

Once a week? That can't be around here then. You'd rarely see the Guards doing anything, even if it's just to get fines off drivers. The only time in recent memory I remember the Gardai doing some work in Lucan (bar car accidents, because if they don't show up then people complain more), is the night before my Junior Cert night, them telling us not to drink. Oh and when they came to my school in 1st or 2nd year to show us a video about the dangers of alcohol.

Can't remember any more than that. Not even when my school got robbed... My school being down the road from them.

I often go through the village around 11 or 12 at night on my way home from or going to work (avoiding M50 toll :rolleyes:).

and my 9 month old daughter and my dog :)
    they'll be asleep

^_^

(Damnit! Maternal mood is back. ffs I'm only 19!)

I often go through the village around 11 or 12 at night on my way home from or going to work (avoiding M50 toll :rolleyes:).

Awh they must like you then! Then again at around that time the guards (Idk from which station) are off to Kylemore road McD, and again very late when my bf picks me up on nights out. Maybe the gardai from here also go there and decide to stop you on the way? My dad's only been stopped around here once, and it was actually outside Lucan. In fact it was more like middle-of-nowhere-ish.

Jeez, what a bunch of little scummers. Have to admit though, kind of have to admire their dedication to being bollixes if they're still at it in this cold! Ooh you should get one of those things that plays the high pitched noises that only kids can hear!

I've never really had problems with kids before, and those things would keep ME away from my house!!! We used a signal generator in Physics class a few months ago and some of us (18/19 year olds) could still hear the frequencies that those things emit.

I was so depressed when I stopped being able to hear the one at the end of A Day in the Life, but then recently I was listening to it full blast through headphones, turns out I could still hear it, nearly gave myself a heart attack!

Be careful when you're using headphones! They can be dangerous... and funny sometimes >_>

When you're close to reaching your upper threshold the sound becomes softer and softer until you can't hear it anymore. That's probably why you couldn't hear it when the music wasn't as loud. ;)

Be careful when you're using headphones! They can be dangerous... and funny sometimes >_>

When you're close to reaching your upper threshold the sound becomes softer and softer until you can't hear it anymore. That's probably why you couldn't hear it when the music wasn't as loud. ;)

I'm so oooooooooooooold :(

Anybody snowed in or anything? Cold down here, but I'm inclined to agree with my friend's facebook status "pathetic amount of snow! it looks like Kate Moss's handbag spilt in my yard!".

I'm so oooooooooooooold :(

Anybody snowed in or anything? Cold down here, but I'm inclined to agree with my friend's facebook status "pathetic amount of snow! it looks like Kate Moss's handbag spilt in my yard!".

Awww don't feel old! You'll make older people here feel bad! :p

I've a good layer of snow here, but I think transport and businesses around here are still working.

Awww don't feel old! You'll make older people here feel bad! :p

I've a good layer of snow here, but I think transport and businesses around here are still working.

I'm yoooooooooooooooooung! Tis just freezing here, had to wear a hoodie tucked into wooly leggings tucked into ski-socks underneath my jeans and other hoodie to go to the shop yesterday, it's going a bit beyond a joke. God love anyone living rough.

Yeah the layering gets a bit mad after a while.

I realised yesterday as I undressed that I was actually wearing 4 pairs of socks over wooly tights. And I was wearing leggings as well. Though if it weren't for all the layers I probably wouldn't have survived having to walk all the way from Heuston station to the east end of trinity college! And then back :(

I feel really bad for wearing leather gloves. But they're mad comfy and very warm and I'm not gonna get rid of them just because they're made of poor dead animals' skin =/
    Meh I feel terrible for that :(

Good! :p

Good! :p

But my hands are warm!

:(

But you aaaaaarrrreeeeeee young!! You wrapped up well there anyway, couldn't have been cold at all.

The sleeping rough would be bad for anyone, a bunch of my cousins and some others went out last night giving hot food and drink etc to lots of them last night, fair play to em...such a nice thing to do!

I realised yesterday as I undressed that I was actually wearing 4 pairs of socks over wooly tights. And I was wearing leggings as well. Though if it weren't for all the layers I probably wouldn't have survived having to walk all the way from Heuston station to the east end of trinity college! And then back :(

I feel really bad for wearing leather gloves. But they're mad comfy and very warm and I'm not gonna get rid of them just because they're made of poor dead animals' skin =/
    Bit over-dressed maybe? It's some walk that, but nothing too bad. Lots and lots of socks there too! Did you have boots too?

Comfy is good too.
    But my hands are warm!

:(
    You have no pockets? :p

It's soooooo warm indoors and I dont wanna go outside tomorrow AT ALL!! Watching The Panel on tv, they have a guy on discussing Z-Day (zombie apocalypse) :D They have little chance of survival for all the mockery they are giving him!:pac:

Bit over-dressed maybe? It's some walk that, but nothing too bad. Lots and lots of socks there too! Did you have boots too?

Comfy is good too.

You have no pockets? :p

It's soooooo warm indoors and I dont wanna go outside tomorrow AT ALL!! Watching The Panel on tv, they have a guy on discussing Z-Day (zombie apocalypse) :D They have little chance of survival for all the mockery they are giving him!:pac:

Overdressed?! NO!!! Jesus Darren... you live in town! You should know better!! My friend was wearing less layers and the poor thing was freezing.

My hands WERE in my pockets! But mostly because then they were very warm. Outside my pockets they were warm enough. Without gloves they got stiff and horrible... I only really wear gloves when I absolutely must, but you know how bad my circulation is, and the way my hands go literally blue in the cold :(

Please tell me you're not going to college tomorrow =/ I'd be so worried about you if you were.

It's about 40cm of snow outside my house now. And it's still snowing.

Overdressed?! NO!!! Jesus Darren... you live in town! You should know better!! My friend was wearing less layers and the poor thing was freezing.

My hands WERE in my pockets! But mostly because then they were very warm. Outside my pockets they were warm enough. Without gloves they got stiff and horrible... I only really wear gloves when I absolutely must, but you know how bad my circulation is, and the way my hands go literally blue in the cold :(

Please tell me you're not going to college tomorrow =/ I'd be so worried about you if you were.

It's about 40cm of snow outside my house now. And it's still snowing.
    But 4 pairs of socks? lol! Your friend certainly didnt think ahead quite as much as you did:cool:

I know about the circulation aye, and that sucks! Sure same as myself when my feet get cold, I'm gonna freeze up. Not a big fan of gloves or scarves either, takes away the sensation and feels wierd. And strangely, I hate central heating being on in my room, prefer things to be a little chilly so I can use my body to warm up naturally (plus it makes me feel ill).

Oh we have no college until Monday earliest, they decided today in their infinite wisdom:rolleyes: to shut it until it was deemed safe for students to get there and back...so no need to worry about it.

There's around 45cm snow here right now, same as your area...still building up. Not as bad as Carlow anyway, it's over a metre high there in some places and near my college it's close to 2ft high!

But 4 pairs of socks? lol! Your friend certainly didnt think ahead quite as much as you did:cool:

I know about the circulation aye, and that sucks! Sure same as myself when my feet get cold, I'm gonna freeze up. Not a big fan of gloves or scarves either, takes away the sensation and feels wierd. And strangely, I hate central heating being on in my room, prefer things to be a little chilly so I can use my body to warm up naturally (plus it makes me feel ill).

Oh we have no college until Monday earliest, they decided today in their infinite wisdom:rolleyes: to shut it until it was deemed safe for students to get there and back...so no need to worry about it.

There's around 45cm snow here right now, same as your area...still building up. Not as bad as Carlow anyway, it's over a metre high there in some places and near my college it's close to 2ft high!

Plenty of thinner layers is better insulation than fewer but thicker layers. They weren't very very thick socks (they were still quite thick but not very). It worked very well.

Oh so you don't actually need to go outside then? *Relief*

Yeah I feel your pain, I have a pair of what I think are leather boots (I bought them in a charity shop, didn't think they were real at the time, but the way they're lasting I'm not sure). Warmest things in the world, my feet don't even know they're outside. They make me look a bit Nazi-ish as well.
    But you aaaaaarrrreeeeeee young!! You wrapped up well there anyway, couldn't have been cold at all.

The sleeping rough would be bad for anyone, a bunch of my cousins and some others went out last night giving hot food and drink etc to lots of them last night, fair play to em...such a nice thing to do!

Yeah, the hat, scarf and gloves did kind of push it into overkill, got some funny looks...that's really nice of your cousins, would love to get involved with something like that. Most of the regulars from round here (they have homeless people parties in the carpark down the road) have disappeared, hopefully indoors. Sad thing is a lot of them won't go to the shelters because they can be very dangerous, I guess when the temperature drops below zero they have to..

Yeah, the hat, scarf and gloves did kind of push it into overkill, got some funny looks...

You wouldn't get funny looks in Dublin, I don't think. I saw a man using two walking sticks, sticking them into the snow to support himself as he walked, a bit like ski poles I guess.

Gahh why does studying thermodynamics have to be SO boring! Especially with this guy's notes. I still don't get why I sort of fancy the man. He's so annoying..

EDIT: It's not the thermodynamics actually. It's the having to study a bit of it so I can tackle the stupid questions. The topic of thermodynamics itself seems strangely appealing. Which brings me to: Why is humans' attraction to other things so weird and unpredictable?