Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Adebisi Shank are brilliant, went to them not so long ago, fantastic gig! Not as good as And so I watch you from afar though imo. Dunno any of the rest at all. hmm /googles

Yeah, and so i watch you...are on a different level. Unbelievable, they're getting loads of attention now which is good to see and well deserved. Loads of good instrumental bands around lately...Enemies are another good shout, check them out if you've not heard them. Their new album is up for free streaming on state.ie.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

cool cheers will check them out now. been loving the instrumental gigs recently, saw some like adebisi on a band crawl thing for a weekend. just pay for your armband and getting into dozens of pubs to see gigs. will have a look at enemies now!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

http://www.state.ie/2010/06/mp3/stream-enemies-album-weve-been-talking/

for anybody that is interested

/listens half asleep at desk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

course you hate, no matter how you try...but gawd I love piazza, new york catcher.

/gets camera
    do go on
    /throws sweet potato under her foot

those poeple will liek anythign

well I know somebody living beside the castle where it is on so thats tempting, said she would show around all drinking spots etc hmmmmmm

Didn't try too hard tbh :pac:

subscriber privileges only :cool:

oh sounds like vip styley :D
    You've probably already awarded the points for just being on in castle grounds :pac:
    Not too shabby LOS, just tired and can't sleep if that makes any sense! Yourself?

I do know about a few of the bands at that thing actually...Adebisi Shank are out of this world, insofar as you're left wondering how the hell three lads can do what they do...it's instrumental, hard to pigeonhole...seriously talented though.

Also Cast of Cheers, O Emperor and Yes Cadets are good if you're into the aul indie, First aid kit are Swedish twins that play folk music very endearingly... they got big by posting a cover of a fleet foxes song on youtube, and then Fionn Regan...talented, a very good songwriter but not really my cup of tea. But worth seeing anyway.

There's loads more too I wouldn't know but in a way that's more fun than the bigger festivals cos you can go with no expectations or idea of what you're gonna get, and chances are you'll see a handful of great stuff that you won't otherwise have heard.

I'm tired of this bloody slow net, arrrrr.
    Otherwise my hearing was gone a bit for a week and now it's back so delighted! Have tickets for Sepultura on Sunday and Iron Maiden on the 30th, hmmm we'll see how long my hearing will last then :pac:

I don't know any of the bands from looking at the line-up. I don't just like metal though, I could like them. I listen to phantom a lot too and like a good bit on there but couldn't name them!

I think James Vincent McMorrow is at it and I liked him after someone here posted up some stuff! Will check up some of those though.

Tar I loved ASIWYFA, are adebisi shank like them? ASIWYFA are at electric picnic but also in Liverpool in Nov, hmmmm hello sis!

http://www.state.ie/2010/06/mp3/stream-enemies-album-weve-been-talking/

for anybody that is interested

/listens half asleep at desk

Enjoy, although you won't be half asleep for long! Every time they go into a nice subtle little melody it goes all heavy a few seconds later...the joy of shift dynamics!

ps is it the Tullamore tourist office coercing you into taking those tickets by any chance? I hear they'd do just about anything to drag people there;)

They call his daddy biffo :P

Going to give up on the net for tonight folks, g'night!

edit: zomg £6.50 for asiwyfa in Liverpool

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Didn't try too hard tbh :pac:

subscriber privileges only :cool:

oh sounds like vip styley :D
    You've probably already awarded the points for just being on in castle grounds :pac:

I'm tired of this bloody slow net, arrrrr.
    Otherwise my hearing was gone a bit for a week and now it's back so delighted! Have tickets for Sepultura on Sunday and Iron Maiden on the 30th, hmmm we'll see how long my hearing will last then :pac:

I don't know any of the bands from looking at the line-up. I don't just like metal though, I could like them. I listen to phantom a lot too and like a good bit on there but couldn't name them!

I think James Vincent McMorrow is at it and I liked him after someone here posted up some stuff! Will check up some of those though.

Tar I loved ASIWYFA, are adebisi shank like them? ASIWYFA are at electric picnic but also in Liverpool in Nov, hmmmm hello sis!
    Bet you tried really hard. But I'm right as always

/clicks button heh heh

somebody knows me well, a freakin' castle!
    Just need so somebody with a tent now

she doesnt jsut like metal...just 99% metal and 1% britn...

they were fantastic life... just the first two songs i found
    hi sis
    <_<

Enjoy, although you won't be half asleep for long! Every time they go into a nice subtle little melody it goes all heavy a few seconds later...the joy of shift dynamics!

ps is it the Tullamore tourist office coercing you into taking those tickets by any chance? I hear they'd do just about anything to drag people there;)
    ah really enjoying here mm! now it will be my gaming music for the evening
    ha! I would like to try the tullamore whiskey there, that's their biggest attraction

nn again los, jeez gway :p

They call his daddy biffo :P

Going to give up on the net for tonight folks, g'night!

edit: zomg £6.50 for asiwyfa in Liverpool

£6.50 is mental, basically a pint and a packet of crisps in a bar over here...tempted to head over now, ryanair flights to Liverpool are often only about €6-7...hmm.. Night anyway!

@tar, cracking video...I love the way the bassist always wears that masky yoke, I'd say he'd be sweating to fúck by the end of their set!

Ye love prices over there! was just over there and double 46% whiskey + coke was 2.40 or something. I got a pizza, chips and a coke for 6 lol... flights over and back were 6 euro. I'll talk to a friend about going to this. gig buddy!

ye loved that when watching them, little gimmic but good. he must be dying all right.

boards veggie trip to liverpool? :p

Yeah it's brilliant...when I lived in Manchester, even the snazzy bars did Sailor Jerry's and coke for around £2, and then the sweaty student places did pretty much any drink for about 80p...loved it.

/moves to england. it was soooo cheap and nice there, love it when i go there. soon again! and its only a few weeks since i was there /craving.

mm penderwyn whiskey

Think I might link this thread to the folks in RaN for the lulz...cure the 4am boredom!

What is RaN?

'Republic and Nationalist', it's a hosted forum...maybe that was a bit risqué...

lmao! anyway, time for zzz's chatcha

Yuss...last veggie standing!

Nighty night.

next time gadget, next time!
    /strokes cat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

My cat is often mistaken for a dog.

/random contribution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Welcome to the forum SomeFool, she be a sturdy looking horse you have there...we have someone who knows more about them than I in here, maybe she can tell? >_>

L...stole what now? :pac:

Tar...yeah I got that one for sure, good stuff hehe!

I'm alive and well, actually went to Galway in the end and had soooo much fun!:D Were in some bar called Massimos, then moved on to Cuba and Bar 903, then back to Boardsie's apt for some wine...fun times on Salthill beach at 6am too lol:)

Have to go there again, oh yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

I'm alive and well, actually went to Galway in the end and had soooo much fun!:D Were in some bar called Massimos, then moved on to Cuba and Bar 903, then back to Boardsie's apt for some wine...fun times on Salthill beach at 6am too lol:)

Galway woo! Love that place :D Cuba was a good choice too, they play awesome music upstairs <3

I've never heard of Massimos... where abouts is it?

Hotaru wrote: »
    Galway woo! Love that place :D Cuba was a good choice too, they play awesome music upstairs <3

I've never heard of Massimos... where abouts is it?
    When walking past the Roisín away from the river, there's a Number 1 shop on the corner, go past that and keep going up the left hand street, it'll be on the right hand side...lovely place, live music (as you do in Galway) and decent beer:) (Think its called William St.?)

Cuba was class, mostly stayed in there as there was a reggae band playing on stage upstairs yeah, full of crusties on the dancefloor too lol:D Awesome night I officially love Galway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Hotaru wrote: »
    My cat is often mistaken for a dog.

/random contribution

my dog is quite "cattish" sometimes, he prances around like one a lot

pussyish sounded too much like an sti

feline is too sensible

fml

£6.50 is mental, basically a pint and a packet of crisps in a bar over here...tempted to head over now, ryanair flights to Liverpool are often only about €6-7...hmm.. Night anyway!

ye the difference is unbelievable, I have a sister in college over there, might pay her a visit around then hmmm :pac:

boards veggie trip to liverpool? :p

yes pwease :D

the brown thing :D

someone had themselves a good time! You didn't even need anywhere to stay at that rate!

Here's something from my walk home:

Oh good stuff, shure massimos just around the corner from my old home and they have the dyson blades! I went to cuba a few nights a week for 5 years lol! upstairs only :cool:

Here is blending in with the wall there :p
    301216219a3712934382b402075995l.jpg

Gawd all these old photos are cringey good. heh
    my first night in galway was in 903 and cuba, and what a night it was! I <3 galway

inception was good, as are slipknot der!

the brown thing :D

someone had themselves a good time! You didn't even need anywhere to stay at that rate!

Here's something from my walk home:

<gooooood song>
    Ah thats alright so, thought it was my soul...oh wait dont have one :p Yer welcome to it shure!

Damn good time had down there!:D Got some sleep in tho, 7am till 3pm lol

Nice tuneage there:)
    Oh good stuff, shure massimos just around the corner from my old home and they have the dyson blades! I went to cuba a few nights a week for 5 years lol! upstairs only :cool:

Here is blending in with the wall there :p
    <camouflage pic>

Gawd all these old photos are cringey good. heh
    my first night in galway was in 903 and cuba, and what a night it was! I <3 galway

inception was good, as are slipknot der!
    <tuneage>

Aye its a nice place that, only stayed for one though then off to Cuba:)

Lol 5 years of it? awesome!:D

Good blending there, could turn you into a utensil yet, or a ninja...

My first proper night out in Galway too, ended in same places *high 5* <3 it too!

I've heard lots bout it, all good:) When ya see it, or where/who?

These guys were playing in Cuba last night...awesome sauce they are:

sure it's all about the Cuba! My sister is just off there in a plane too!
    Twas a great 5 years of drinking crepes and govindas and poker and gaming and degrees :pac:

dun wanna be a blender anyway, scary things, like escalators >_>

Ye it's good, better than aul **** greenberg yesterday, which some people like puke.
    we tried to see it yest but it was sold out and I didnt want to walk home but saw it tonight when it was sold out again and had to go to a later one and walk home anyway lol! cineplex, only like one showing in savoy or sth stupid

they remind me of this song which I listened to loads in college...not sober or..low <_<

Je ne t'aime plus mon amour. Je ne t'aime plus tous les jours!

sure it's all about the Cuba! My sister is just off there in a plane too!
    Twas a great 5 years of drinking crepes and govindas and poker and gaming and degrees :pac:

dun wanna be a blender anyway, scary things, like escalators >_>

Ye it's good, better than aul **** greenberg yesterday, which some people like puke.
    we tried to see it yest but it was sold out and I didnt want to walk home but saw it tonight when it was sold out again and had to go to a later one and walk home anyway lol! cineplex, only like one showing in savoy or sth stupid

they remind me of this song which I listened to loads in college...not sober or..low <_<

<youtube>

Je ne t'aime plus mon amour. Je ne t'aime plus tous les jours!

5 years of great times it sounds like! :D
    /was talking to an old skool boardsie there last night about Las Vegas, the gist of it was "that Tar Aldarion...used to beat me alot in poker games":pac:

Or elevators:o

I heard that was good...then again everyone's a critic:p
    Sucks that you'd have to do all that and end up seeing it anyway and walking home lol...oh well!:D

That song has a good sound to it, not as heavy but worthy :)

Oh Vraiment? ooh la la!:pac: Gots yerself a lucky lady on the end of that comment I hope!

oh ye couldnt have been happier for most of those. Lol which boardsie was it!

I raped people at poker in college, it paid my way through it. I hosted a tournament and cash game every week...on the night I wasn't in the casino taking money off cocky middle aged men :pac:

Played my friend a lot, 200E buy in minimum, was great fun!
    Was funny back then, was known for only using the atm to take out 700E at a time, no less.Most you could take out on my card in 24 hours. I'm poor now though :D

sure go see it and say what you think! I wouldnt wish it on anybody ha
    Ah walking home at night is great with slipknot in my ears anyway, and had a bit of a run. love the night and stars and walking and music at home mmmmm
    Love that song, c'est vrai :pac: Ah that is just the line i used to sing ALL the time driving people mad :p