Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭Darmstrong

Hey dude, welcome to the grapevine! it's the best chat thread...it's just me and youtube videos! =] haha

Off out to town now but will chat the face off people later and egggg whhhiiite

Oh would you mind picking me up some coffee black and egg whites please, i'm colorblind and need some

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Gym shut at half 3 so i didn't get to go in with 10 minutes left...such fail...I'm confined to the reading room now and this comp is shiiittt, guess I should work or something. and walk home. ahhhhhh
    --LOS-- wrote: »
    They took the blue bits out, ah nooo.
    I hate vending machines, always ripping me off or not filling up coffee enough :mad:
    I didn't want to say about his voice but ye it doesn't there, I had to lol when he did that yeahhhhhyeahhh thing like some boy band.
    Leo was/is a she! Was a smart cat, needed a smart name is all (think da vinci) and so patient letting me dress her up like that.

Hi Darmstrong, oh no you've found the off-topic thread, no-one can save you now, there's no going back :pac:
    They did, it actually ruined my day! I need them to be realllly minty to do better in the exam. First time I had an espresso it was from one of those machines..I had never heard of them so i thought the machine was broken, not filling up the cup, and just threw it in the bin. :eek:

His yeahahahhhhhhhhhhhhhhs are so funny, i think southpark...it's all he said in their episode. Oh a she, oh we had a penchant for calling our animals after artists like Matisse and Picasso but now it's tumtum from the three ninjas and buddy because he is my buddy...step up!
    Maybe onto scientists...I've wanted a Tesla.
    Darmstrong wrote: »
    Oh would you mind picking me up some coffee black and egg whites please, i'm colorblind and need some
    No saving youuuuuu ooooo oooooooo oooouuu echo echo

you can get egg whites by the gallon in buckets for poele working out and stuff, what a waste ...mmm yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

ah walking to the gym and back counts?
    It's the lords day of rest, off to confession with ya.
    Ye I do love them but when he did that slow one in sanitarium, bit cringe.
    Reminds me of the competition Scuzz had before to find the best Hetfield Howler.....

The name depends on the cat, need to take some time to assess their personalities first.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Word doesn't even work on this computer... Time to move and wait forever for another to log in............................. dot

I got the dart here, it's quite a few miles I think but I'm trying to tell myself walking counts! Shh
    i used to have to go to confession so much, mother etc, and I'm a bit...totally honest. Best not go again! I got quite a few hail mary's last time :pac:
    No sound but mp3 player here, can't wait to hear the winner though yeahahhhhhhh
    yeah they do...that's why this one is not an artist. First we called her holly...that changed to tumtum, it was just her...and her ninja ways.

Oh did you not just make something lame up, oh I eh sometimes have civilised debates with my sister. Used to have to go to confession in secondary school, I had to hide out in the study hall a few times and not go.
    Oh I don't know who the winner was.
    The most recent one at home is called Josie after a sweet old woman I used to know, I'm not sure how it makes sense.

Oh did you not just make something lame up, oh I eh sometimes have civilised debates with my sister. Used to have to go to confession in secondary school, I had to hide out in the study hall a few times and not go.
    Oh I don't know who the winner was.
    The most recent one at home is called Josie after a sweet old woman I used to know, I'm not sure how it makes sense.

It was more interesting to say something you did and ahve him go ...errrr o....k. instead of 'eh I got angry this one time and I thought something sinful and welll now here I am, I'm ever so sorry' whihc he gets all the time...do you repent my son....ah gwan sure why not. Used to make up the lame things goodo at the start. My favourite was saying I had impure thoughts or that I coveted the neighbours or something. Wish I could have hid instead though, exciting as the stories were.

Course it makes sense, her spirit is in the cat. Quantum physics did it.

ye well the little time spent talking to priests the better, priest called at home recently after the my grandmothers anniversary mass, awkward.
    The cat can't meow or purr but I suspect if it could it would sound like an old lady :D
    oh hehe he said physics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

We had confession in school one time, and I stood up to go with everyone else because I do like me a free class, and the headmaster (who knew I was a little heathen who didn't even do religion class) called me aside and said very discreetly "Caoimhe, are you practicing?" and I went "For what?" and got sanctions :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

FML! :mad:

Would looooooouuurve to be out in the sunny weather now but cant, due to having to type up around 18,000 words due in tomorrow morning...its gonna be a loooong a$$ night :(

I'm gonna need either a hug or a massage after this...my shoulders are so tense they could break through walls right now :(

ye well the little time spent talking to priests the better, priest called at home recently after the my grandmothers anniversary mass, awkward.
    The cat can't meow or purr but I suspect if it could it would sound like an old lady :D
    oh hehe he said physics.
    'so eh, god eh? he's deadly'
    Maybe it's just that the cat is waiting for the right time or to feel like it. A silent cat would be scarier and more cunning than a normal cat. Imagining a cat with an old woman voice does not bear thinking. I did a funny, besst bit is the physics bit.

We had confession in school one time, and I stood up to go with everyone else because I do like me a free class, and the headmaster (who knew I was a little heathen who didn't even do religion class) called me aside and said very discreetly "Caoimhe, are you practicing?" and I went "For what?" and got sanctions :(

We didn't ahve a choice....catholic school...principal ex priest etc.
    I lvoe your answer haha, did you know what he meant?
    we had demerits, sanctions the same?...best day ever was when my maths teacher read out everybodies....he got to my page and flicked another page...eh you have demerits Paul...laughing to himself and went on to the next person :D Most mine involved yop and fun snaps.
    7 for a detention..I had hundreds and never got one, no idea why. Good times in an all boys school eh

Would looooooouuurve to be out in the sunny weather now but cant, due to having to type up around 18,000 words due in tomorrow morning...its gonna be a loooong a$$ night :(

I'm gonna need either a hug or a massage after this...my shoulders are so tense they could break through walls right now :(

That is a lot of words dude, nearly as long as my undergrad thesis in one day ahhh. best of luck. I'm gonna go home in the sun soon, I'll ell you all about it :D

My shoulders and neck are ****ed too atm, stupid gym machines, sucks doesn't it. Pity you cant massage yourself maestro

:( console yourself with the fact that the weather is always better for the Leaving Cert week!
    We didn't ahve a choice....catholic school...principal ex priest etc.
    I lvoe your answer haha, did you know what he meant?
    we had demerits, sanctions the same?...best day ever was when my maths teacher read out everybodies....he got to my page and flicked another page...eh you have demerits Paul...laughing to himself and went on to the next person :D Most mine involved yop and fun snaps.
    7 for a detention..I had hundreds and never got one, no idea why. Good times in an all boys school eh

Yeah our school was a convent, but they had this official line of being very non-denominational and non-judgemental, but with a Catholic ethos, whatever the **** that means... we won't persecute the jews as long as they don't wear condoms or something, I dunno. I had no idea what he meant, I thought it was a practice confession or that he thought I was practicing walking out of rooms or something. Sanctions were indeed demerits, took 20 for a detention but they got cleared at the end of every term, think I had 18 coming up to Christmas one time, I wouldn't have gotten detention anyway because the teachers liked me because I was a quiet little swot :cool:

:( console yourself with the fact that the weather is always better for the Leaving Cert week!

Yeah our school was a convent, but they had this official line of being very non-denominational and non-judgemental, but with a Catholic ethos, whatever the **** that means... we won't persecute the jews as long as they don't wear condoms or something, I dunno. I had no idea what he meant, I thought it was a practice confession or that he thought I was practicing walking out of rooms or something. Sanctions were indeed demerits, took 20 for a detention but they got cleared at the end of every term, think I had 18 coming up to Christmas one time, I wouldn't have gotten detention anyway because the teachers liked me because I was a quiet little swot :cool:

Better than ours so, at least they knew the evil of condoms. maybe it was the same as mine well kinda, our 'catholic ethos' is that we don't care if you aren't you jsut have to do all the catholicy things when you are at school like go to the masses etc. Yours does seem a bit better, although I was allowed not be a pioeneer when everbody else in the class became one and got sweeties too :mad:

Think it was just all catholicy because the principal was a retard...rang up my parents because I told him I can wear earphones if I like when studying in the hall. No rules against it. The when dad's place hired out the school hall they wouldn't let them use the school chairs and didn't let them know. Tool. We filled up the study hall with bubbles floating about the place a lot to piss him off, he would ignore it when he came in, you could jsut see how angry he was. the old principal was so much nicer. Oh contain the ranting there tawr.

Lol at practicing walking into other rooms. We had 21 for a suspension and they never got cleared I don't think..maybe every year...when i say i didn't know why I didn't get one it was because I was a good little boy. Somehow when peopel gave me an outright detention it got lost in the post or something. Never heard swot before until moonbaby kept calling me that this year. -_-

Our principal was grand, well not really. Like a less unpleasant version of Alan Partridge, as in he was aware of the fact that there were non-Catholics, homosexuals, foreigners etc in the world and really didn't want to offend them, but just didn't really understand what he was doing. Wasn't helped by the fact that there were some nasty nuns still teaching, one was a religion teacher and she put up on the board "the family that prays together, stays together" as the theme of the lesson knowing full well that some students' parents were seperated. And for the section of the course where you have to learn about other religions she cracked out lines like "well I read about that reincarnation thing, apparently they think you can come back as a toad or a rock or something *pause for laughter*" and the best (seeing as it was coming from a nun "Poor muslim women, their lives are totally defined by their religon and it really curtails their freedoms". She also told my brothers' then thirteen year old friends that they'd go to hell becuase they walked down the hall holding hands, they were both girls you see.

We never had to do the mass thing if we didn't want, they always looked at you a bit funny if you opted out though.

'so eh, god eh? he's deadly'
    Maybe it's just that the cat is waiting for the right time or to feel like it. A silent cat would be scarier and more cunning than a normal cat. Imagining a cat with an old woman voice does not bear thinking. I did a funny, besst bit is the physics bit.

It was more like try not to swear or say jeezuz to everything he's saying and eh ye I do physics, oh.
    I did step on the cat before by accident and she made a distinct sound then so she has it there the sneaky thing, just doesn't use it.

Demerits and sanctions :confused: never heard of such things, it was all detention and the odd person getting expelled. There was one sad male teacher who would put anyone on detention in an all girls school, probably just didn't want to eat with all the female teachers or something.

couple married by robot - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8685184.stm

Less unpleasant...lol! One of my religion teachers was like her and one was a lovely priest, bought us coffee and all. Would answer questions logically and things instead of lolgoddidit. Pretty harsh of her to put that up but I wouldn't be surprised. We had sex ed given by a nun. Masturbation is a sin rant was good, I got all the boys kicked out with my 'are wet dreams like bad dreams' type innocent questions...so only the girls got the sex ed :p
    My religion teacher wasn't quite as bad as the holding hands wan...well she didn't say it.
    Poor muslim women..believing in their different religion. :pac:

Oh, she must have been to mass earlier, of course!

man that trip home was loooong

It was more like try not to swear or say jeezuz to everything he's saying and eh ye I do physics, oh.
    I did step on the cat before by accident and she made a distinct sound then so she has it there the sneaky thing, just doesn't use it.

Demerits and sanctions :confused: never heard of such things, it was all detention and the odd person getting expelled. There was one sad male teacher who would put anyone on detention in an all girls school, probably just didn't want to eat with all the female teachers or something.

'you know when it says jebus on page 578, is that a mistake?' :pac:
    Know of some really religious people that did physics...gravity not pulling you down....god pushing you down!

Hidden weapons there...save it for when she really needs something. Opposite of my cat, does not stop purring from when I see her at all...maybe when digging nails into me.

None eh, no suspensions too? They were supposedly punishments...off school for three days! Wish I got one of those bad boys. Haha he had the ghey.

We had a lovely priest too, father Peter Rabitte! He went on our TY ski trip with us and had the room next to me and my friends, he came in to tell us to be quiet and we were clearly pissed, but all he said was "If Miss Nagle hears ye ye'll be in trouble girls, keep it down!" Never had sex ed from a nun, but my friend did, and apparently substances with the texture of yoghurt were alluded to :eek: weird nuns and their strange ideas.

Principal thinks my brother is gay, coz my parents complained about that nasty nun and said that in all probability there are one or two gay kids in the year so those kinds of comments are really damaging (bloody liberal crusader parents :rolleyes:), and my dad said he could see realisation dawning on the principal's face, but at that point could hardly just go "but my son's not gay!"

Oh I just remembered the other nun, she was oooold when I came to the school and I've been finished for three years, but god love her she's still alive. She wasn't allowed to teach anymore but she'd get drafted in to supervise classes if it was short notice and make us all do Speech and Drama, and one time we were reading To Kill A Mockingbird and she gave us all her views on 'da blacks'-'There's some terrible discrimination in this book isn't there children? Though I suppose nowadays they get away with everything, one of them moves in and then the next thing you know it's like Boyz in the Hood'. I was just impressed she'd seen the movie tbh. She hit my friend one time for opening a window as well, she used to go into these rages which her fragile body couldn't support so she'd just end up standing there panting. My sister's friend was messing in the corridor and could see her hobbling up to give out so he legged it round the corner and went off somewhere else, the school's kind of built in a circle and he said ten minutes later he came across her again, he'd lapped her but she was still chasing him:D

Aaaah school stories

'you know when it says jebus on page 578, is that a mistake?' :pac:
    Know of some really religious people that did physics...gravity not pulling you down....god pushing you down!

Hidden weapons there...save it for when she really needs something. Opposite of my cat, does not stop purring from when I see her at all...maybe when digging nails into me.

None eh, no suspensions too? They were supposedly punishments...off school for three days! Wish I got one of those bad boys. Haha he had the ghey.

My physics teacher in school was very religious, needless to say she was a crap teacher.
    I don't think we had them, probably suspensions.

Btw the video for the 2nd night in Belfast is up on metontour, I like to think I'm not the only one interested and you're all rushing off to look at it now :pac:

linky

We had a lovely priest too, father Peter Rabitte! He went on our TY ski trip with us and had the room next to me and my friends, he came in to tell us to be quiet and we were clearly pissed, but all he said was "If Miss Nagle hears ye ye'll be in trouble girls, keep it down!" Never had sex ed from a nun, but my friend did, and apparently substances with the texture of yoghurt were alluded to :eek: weird nuns and their strange ideas.

Principal thinks my brother is gay, coz my parents complained about that nasty nun and said that in all probability there are one or two gay kids in the year so those kinds of comments are really damaging (bloody liberal crusader parents :rolleyes:), and my dad said he could see realisation dawning on the principal's face, but at that point could hardly just go "but my son's not gay!"

Oh I just remembered the other nun, she was oooold when I came to the school and I've been finished for three years, but god love her she's still alive. She wasn't allowed to teach anymore but she'd get drafted in to supervise classes if it was short notice and make us all do Speech and Drama, and one time we were reading To Kill A Mockingbird and she gave us all her views on 'da blacks'-'There's some terrible discrimination in this book isn't there children? Though I suppose nowadays they get away with everything, one of them moves in and then the next thing you know it's like Boyz in the Hood'. I was just impressed she'd seen the movie tbh. She hit my friend one time for opening a window as well, she used to go into these rages which her fragile body couldn't support so she'd just end up standing there panting. My sister's friend was messing in the corridor and could see her hobbling up to give out so he legged it round the corner and went off somewhere else, the school's kind of built in a circle and he said ten minutes later he came across her again, he'd lapped her but she was still chasing him:D

Aaaah school stories
    I think most of us just wish T-dawg was gay. I can imagine your dad and the principal there, ahaha. Fair play to him, I love your dad. :D :pac:

I haven't even seen that, she is down with the home team. Straight out of Compton! Good chase scene...got chased by a religious person too, was just passing through the cathedral at lunch to meet someone(oh the boys school meeting the girls school ooooh haha) and I absentmindedly kicked one of the pole yokes sticking out of the ground. you know the things that stop cars but you can put them into the ground for deliveries or something...more body of christ and things. Anyway for some reason it just shot into the ground and water flew like a dozen feet in the air...and well there were more poles...and I'm me...anyway in the end I get chased by a guy saying god will strike me down and shouting that I was kicking gods property. He wanted me to go in and apologize to this lad on a cross and my friend started running so I wasn't gonna stay! He had a trench coat! So yeah I kicked those into the ground every lunchtime forever...the water thing was so much fun and it was like we found a secret to a level in some game :p
    My physics teacher in school was very religious, needless to say she was a crap teacher.
    I don't think we had them, probably suspensions.

Btw the video for the 2nd night in Belfast is up on metontour, I like to think I'm not the only one interested and you're all rushing off to look at it now :pac:

linky

I was about to scold you for no link, and now I have like 20 minutes to look at ahhhhhhhhhhh as well as an essay to finish -_-

some guy tries to claim on the video that what's the craic is just a Belfast thing.................they'll be claiming the republic is part of the UK next.

Ah you love writing essays really :D

Aha, must watch that after a few hundred more listens of this songo.

Yeah I do :o :pac:
    I'd keep going without the limit too. haha

actually feck it, new song for the second half of my essay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

*lurks*

I fail at trying not to be a lurker.
    Wish my teachers were like yours. Or maybe not.

With such strong opinions as yours I don't see how you don't post the face off the place. :)

I find it funny how much you will know about everybody without posting though! How's life with you missy?

Bah... sick. I had a fever this morning but decided to go out anyway. Didn't do as much good as I hoped it would lol

But enough about me. *goes back to lurking/stalking*

How is tar-chan?

Aw, not for long I hope! I think coke kills most lesser infections. It does for me! The greater evil. Or kids calpol, you're only little...nah it tastes waaaay better.

yeah you have revealed too much now! Back to stalking with you...see you in the same bush outside with sandwiches.

Oh the chan bit made me smile, you win this round stalker. Pretty great for once, happy out with mah choonz, my boards and soon my food. When you off inter railing again? Actually you have those exams first don'tcha

Ah, the Leaving Cert, yes. I'd be lying if I said I care about the exams. I get 200 points for free for speaking 2 other languages fluently, French is a doss, I absolutely adore Maths and Physics. English I quite like and I'm aiming high for that, and Accounting... ugh.. but I don't need it for points.
    Basically dossing through this. Aiming for 500 just because I can. I don't even need that much.
    As much as I hate school.... nahh I can't even convince myself that I'm gonna miss it, because I SO won't :D

Gonna start interrailing from Paris on the 10th of July. But I'm going to Madrid first on the 31st of June. Can't wait ^^

And ewwww coke...

I didn't care less about mine either...I was up all night playing games before the exams and such..you could roll your face on the page with a pen in your mouth and get the points for the course I wanted. Even though a few years before ti was as high as medicine, love the system! Languages will see you through easy, adore maths and physics too, and chemistry...didn't do biology - the lesbian sister of maths. What do you want to do? Ah you will miss some of it, it's college that is the real fun though, it can be amazing and terrible, but can be lots of amazing!

Fun summer for you, I'm on the beans and water!

Don't you bad mouth my coke -_-

Engineering. TCD because it's handy to get to. Backup option (as in, the only non Engineering course on my CAO form) is European Studies. Also TCD. I'm getting a strong sense of deja vu here. Now cocoa tells me to go to DCU or something. I think that's how it goes :P

I doubt I'll miss school because I barely went in anyway. Mitching ftw lol I told myself "ok, you're in 6th year now. This is the year where you'll be in every day". I'm still waiting for that to happen. The worst part is that my parents are totally fine with it (in fact my mum actually convinced me of staying home last friday, and the monday before that... You can't reject your mother's wisdom can you?)

And coke is sooo sweet and horrible. Too addictive >_< Coke is a mixer, not a drink in its own right. Mmmm wish I had a double chocolate frappé now.

Ah, the Leaving Cert, yes. I'd be lying if I said I care about the exams. I get 200 points for free for speaking 2 other languages fluently, French is a doss, I absolutely adore Maths and Physics. English I quite like and I'm aiming high for that, and Accounting... ugh.. but I don't need it for points.
    Basically dossing through this. Aiming for 500 just because I can. I don't even need that much.
    As much as I hate school.... nahh I can't even convince myself that I'm gonna miss it, because I SO won't :D

Gonna start interrailing from Paris on the 10th of July. But I'm going to Madrid first on the 31st of June. Can't wait ^^

And ewwww coke...

Hi!
    I was the same, my course was stupidly low points, 360 or something, could never get the motivation to to ace everything for the sake of it.
    Engineering. TCD because it's handy to get to. Backup option (as in, the only non Engineering course on my CAO form) is European Studies. Also TCD. I'm getting a strong sense of deja vu here. Now cocoa tells me to go to DCU or something. I think that's how it goes :P

I doubt I'll miss school because I barely went in anyway. Mitching ftw lol I told myself "ok, you're in 6th year now. This is the year where you'll be in every day". I'm still waiting for that to happen. The worst part is that my parents are totally fine with it (in fact my mum actually convinced me of staying home last friday, and the monday before that... You can't reject your mother's wisdom can you?)

And coke is sooo sweet and horrible. Too addictive >_< Coke is a mixer, not a drink in its own right. Mmmm wish I had a double chocolate frappé now.

go to dcuuuuu! nah don't tbh, trinity is way convenient if you want to do engineering, DCU is good for engineering too but I think trinity is good the way it's general stuff for the first 2 years.

And ye coke is a mixer not a drink, I hear ya!